Skip to main content

Full text of "Memories of Malling and its valley; with a fauna and flora of Kent"

See other formats





















THE LIBRARY 

OF 

THE UNIVERSITY 
OF CALIFORNIA 
* LOS ANGELES 






'>& 
















m 

-'"X.^fir**^. "s 







n I 



v 



MEMORIES. 

OF 

MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



MEMORIES 

OF 



MAILING AND ITS VALLEY; 



WITH 



0f 



KEY. C. H. FIELDING, M.A., 

SBCOND-CLASS LAW AND HISTORY, OXFOKD ; EXHIBITIONER OF TONBRIDGE SCHOOL 

AND LINCOLN COLLEGE, OXFORD ; CHAPLAIN OF MALLING UNION, KENT. 

AUTHOR OF "SYMBOLISM," "HANDBOOK OF HICHAM," ETC. 



DEDICATED BY PEKMISSION 

TO THE 

EIGHT HONOUEABLE EAEL STANHOPE. 



HENEY C. H. OLIVEE, 
PUBLISHER, WEST MALLING, KENT. 

LONDON AGENTS : 
E. MARLBOROUGH & Co., 51, OLD BAILEY, B.C. 

1893. 
[All Rights lieitrved.] 



TO THE EIGHT HONOURABLE EARL OF STANHOPE. 

MY LORD, 

I have much pleasure in dedicating this book to your 
lordship, because of the lively interest you take in all matters 
historical and archaeological which concern England in general, 
and, more especially, this county of Kent. It would take a 
lifetime to describe accurately all that can be learned in these 
matters in our whole county ; more particularly if, as I have done, 
one attempted anything like its flora and fauna : I have, there- 
fore, selected a district of Kent known to me from childhood, 
which affords us many monuments and records of individuals, 
who have lived in the varied scenes of English History, that 
teach us by the means of the small valley of Mailing how one 
of the many similar districts into which our country can be 
divided gives existing proofs of what has happened in it from 
the very earliest times. Scattered about us, though frequently 
unnoticed among the rough flint stones that bestrew our paths, 
are the uncouth though sharp tools of the earliest races that 
lived in our island ; but hereabouts the prehistoric period is still 
more plainly marked by monuments like Kit's Coty House, 
the Countless Stones, the Coffin Stone, the fallen stones at 
Addington, and the Dolman at Coldrum. 

Leaving this period behind, we find ourselves amidst written 
annals and archaeological facts, that record in this valley the 
different scenes of English history from the earliest times to 
the present day. 

The British period is marked by weapons, coins, and orna- 
ments ; perhaps by the paved causeway under the Medway at 
Aylesford, and the grass road popularly known as the Pilgrims' 
Path. 

The Roman period can be traced by relics found at Holboro', 
Snodland, and in most of our parishes, which prove beyond a 
doubt that the world-subduing race once trod this valley. 

The Saxon period is distinguished by weapons, by ornaments, 
by coins, by roads, by ancient battle-fields, and by documents 



590752 

ENGLISH LOCAi 



vi TO THE RIGHT HONOURABLE EARL OF STANHOPE. 

that record the grants of many of the Saxon princes of this 
country, such as those of Egbert, king of Kent, Offa, king of 
Mercia, Egbert, Ethelwulf, Et heist an and Edmund, and perhaps 
by some of the oldest parts of the church of Trottescliffe. 

The Norman period has left us most of our churches, Mailing 
abbey, St. Leonard's tower, and the castles of Alliiigton and 
Aylesford. 

The Barons' wars, during the reigns of John and Henry III., 
are exemplified here by the history of Koger de Leybourne and 
his compeers. 

The Crusades are marked by the heart shrine in Leybourne 
church of Sir Eoger de Leybourne and by the friars at Aylesford, 
built for the Carmelites by Lord Grey of Codnor on his return 
from the Holy Land. 

The Scotch wars of Edward I. are called to our memory by 
Sir William de Leybourne and his contemporaries. 

Edward II. 's reign is connected with this district by the dis- 
grace of one of the abbesses of Mailing. 

We had some of our landowners holding castles in France ; 
while the Black Death clearly stopped the church-building 
about here, as well as carried off some of our clergy ; and it 
would appear that Jack Straw, who joined Wat Tyler with a 
ruffianly mob, was a native of Off ham. 

Though not one of the battles of the Wars of the Koses was 
fought in Kent, still, the Nevills, who at this period obtained 
a settlement in our valley, as all the world knows, were well 
to the front, and no doubt drew away large numbers of the 
inhabitants of this part to fight for York. The rebellion of 
Cade was aided specially from the neighbourhood of Mailing. 

Tudor Times are marked by the history of the Wyatts. At 
Allington lived Sir Henry Wyatt, the poet, and Sir Thomas, 
the rebel leader. 

The conspiracy of Babington found partisans in this neigh- 
bourhood, and in Pole's " Kegister " we learn that a vicar of East 
Mailing was presented by the serene princes Philip and Mart/, 
King and Queen of England. This period is farther marked 
by the dissolution of Mailing abbey and the Carmelites at 
Aylesford, and by changes in property and by the commence- 
ment of some of our registers. 

In the times of the Stuarts the Kentish people from Bluebell 
hill watched Fairfax and his army proceeding from Gravesend 
to Maidstone ; and at East Mailing, Judge Twisden, who tried 
the regicides, and Colonel Tomlinson, who took Charles I. to 



TO THE RIGHT HONOURABLE EARL OF STANHOPE, vii 

his trial, lie side by side. We have many matters of interest 
belonging to this eventful time brought to our notice by the 
parish registers, and the records of the Twisden family. At 
this period we have the first mention of hopping and paper- 
making. 

Though the Georgian Era has less points of interest connected 
with this valley than the preceding ones, still, many entries in 
our parish registers speak of our foreign wars. 

The present period is marked by the railways and the great 
impulse given to population and manufactures by the rise of the 
cement trade in the parishes of Birling, Hailing and Snodland, 
and in Burham and Wouldham, across the river, all of which 
form one large town that may be fitly named Cementopolis. 

From the time of Edward III. down to the present day we 
have monuments and inscriptions telling of various persons. 

I have refrained from crossing the river except for Aylesford, 
or recording anything about places that cannot be seen from 
Holly or Punish (Povenashe) hill. I have added to this book 
a list of gentry, and of the older names of other persons, and 
their occupations. Besides, I have given the entries in the 
registers of the chief families who have occupied the valley, 
and have traced the clergy, from the earliest times, of the 
parishes of 

Addington, Hailing, Ryarsh, 

Allington, Ley bourne, Snodland, 

Aylesford, Offham, Trottescliffe, 

Birling, Paddlesworth with West or Town Mailing. 

Ditton, Dode, or Dodecirce, 

East Mailing, 

I have also given Kentish proverbs and the names of animals 
and flowers in the Kentish dialect. To these I have added 
the birds, beasts, flowers, and fish to be found;in Kent, principally 
obtained from fourteen years' research into the Natural History 
of the county. 

In conclusion, I will only add that on page ix. I have stated 
whence I obtained assistance from friends and from the writings 
of others ; and I trust this book will be found useful to my 
readers in studying the story of Kent, and the history of 
England. 

CECIL HENRY FIELDING. 



BOOKS CONSULTED. 

" Burns on Parish Registers." Harris. 

" Archaeologia Cantiana." Hasted. 

Domesday (Lambert Larking). Hussey. 

Dugdale's " Monasticon." Lambarde. 

Tanner's " Monasticon." Philpott. 

Thorpe's " Ancient Monuments of Burke's " Peerage." 

the Rochester Diocese." Debrett's u Peerage." 

Thorpe's " Custumale Roffensis.'' Morris's " British Birds." 

Manuscripts of the Antiquarian Yarrell's " British Birds." 

Society. Yarrell's " British Fishes. 

Stalschmidt on Bells. Babington's " British Botany." 

Records of Bradbourne. Hooker's " British Botany." 
Greenwood. 

The Records of Lambeth and Rochester. 

The Registers of 

Addington East Mailing Ryarsh 

Allington Hailing Snodland 

Aylesford Leybourne Trottescliffe 

Birling Offham West Mailing 

Ditton 

I have received much valuable assistance from the kindness and 
courtesy of the clergy of the various parishes, from the Dean of Rochester, 
from G. Knight, Esq., and from S. W. Kershaw, Esq., librarian of 
Lambeth Palace, and from the Archbishop of Canterbury, who have 
allowed me to consult the ancient records under their charge, and I 
must also add that I have obtained useful aid from the following ladies 
and gentlemen : 

Mr. Allchin, librarian of Maidstone museum; Rev. J. G. Bingley, 
rector of Snodland ; Rev. A. L. Brine, curate of Town Mailing ; 
Mrs. Cator, late of Mailing Abbey ; * Lord Clifton ; Miss Dudlow, West 
Mailing ; Rev W. F. S. Fraser, rector of Offham ; * Mr. Green, Rainham, 
Kent ; Rev. J. Guise, rector of Addington ; Rev. C. C. Hawley, rector 
of Leybourne ; Rev. E. B. Heawood, rector of Allington ; t Mr. 
Hepworth, Rochester ; f Professor Holmes, Pharmaceutical Society ; 
H. St. John Hope, Esq., Sec. Antiquarian Society ; Rev. G. P. Howes, 
vicar of Hailing ; Rev. Canon Knollys, rector of Wrotham ; * Mr. Lamb 
of Maidstone ; Rev. G. M. Livett, minor canon of Rochester ; G. Payne, 
Esq., Sec. Kent Archaelogical Society ; Rev. Canon Scott Robertson, 
vicar of Throwley ; Rev. C. W. Shepherd, rector of Trottescliffe ; Rev. 
J. H. Timins, vicar of West Mailing ; Rev. J. Twisden, Bradbourne ; 
H. D. Wildes, Esq., West Mailing. 

* Information on Kentish Birds, 
f Information on Kentish Flowers. 



The following places are mentioned in the book : 

Addington (near Maid- Cumbwell, Priory of. Kit's Coty House. 

stone). Dartford. Lampeter-upon-Severn. 

Allhallows (Hoo). Deptling. Langley. 

Allington (Kent). Ditton. Larkfield. 

Altesdon. Dode or Dodecirce. Laver 1'arva. 

Ash (next Wrotham). East Farleigh. Lea (Gloucester). 

Ashburnbam (Bucks). East Mailing. Lee (Kent). 

Aylesford, Battles of, etc. East Peck ham. Leeds, Castle of (Kent). 
Barming. Eatonbridge or Eden- Lessness Abbey. 

Barustone. bridge. Lewes. 

Bearsted Eccles. Leybourne. 

Beat rich's den, i.e., Be - Elmsted. Long Melford. 

thersden. Elmley. Longsole Chapel. 

Beddington. Estburgate. Luddesdown. 

Bennondsey. Euston. Lullingstone. 

Bexley. Evesham, Battle of. Lynn (Norfolk). 

Betchworth (Surrey). Excete (Chichester). Lynstead. 

Betshanger. Exeter. Maidstone. 

Bickley. Eyhorne. Mailing Deanery. 

Birling. Farningham. Maltham. 

Birmacham (Birrning- Faversham. Marden. 

ham). Fetcharn. Margate (St. John's). 

Bookham, Great (Surrey). Field of the Cloth of Gold. Mayfield. 



Bluebell, Lower. Frant. 


Medway, 


Bluebell, Upper. Frindsbury. 


Mendlesliam. 


Boreham. Fringe. 


Meopham. 


Boroughbridge, Battle of. Frittenden. 


Mere worth. 


Boston. Fullmere. 


Merton. 


Boughton. Genes or Genoa. 


Milton. 


Boughton Monchelsea. Gillingham. 


Nettlestead. 


Boughton under Blean. Goodnestone. 


New Hythe. 


Brampton. Goudhurst. 


New Romuey. 


Brandbridges. Grayne, Isle of 


Northampton. 


Brenchley. Greenwich, West. 


Northfleet. 


Brixton. Hackington. 


Norton. 


Burham. Hadstocke. 


Offham. 


Burwash. Hardres, Lower. 


Orpington. 


C'aerlaverock, Siege of. Harrietsham. 


Otham. 


Caermarthen. Hailing. 


Paddlesworth. 


Canterbury. Hastings. 


Penenden Heath. 


Canterbury (St. Mary Higham (near Rochester). 


Penshurst. 


Magdalen). Hoathe. 


Perth (Western Australia). 


Canterbury (St. 1'eter). Holboro. 


Pilgrims' Path. 


Chatham. Hollingbourne. 


Preston Hall. 


Cheswick. Holly Hill. 


Preston (next Wingham). 


Chilham. Horstead. 


Rainham. 


Champigny (near Melun). Horsmonden. 


Reigate. 


Chislett. Hunton. 


Ridley. 


Clifton (in Bristol). Jghtham. 


Rochester (St. Margaret's). 


Cobham. Itchen (Hants). 


Rochester (St. Nicholas). 


Coldrum. Kemsing. 


Rochester Castle. 


Colebrooke. Keston. 


Rochester Deanery. 


Comp. Kingsdown with Mapis- 


Rucking. 


Cossiugton. comb. 


Ryarsh. 


Cowden. King's Plain. 


Rye. 



Saint F.lasius. 

St. Lawrence in Hailing. 

St. Leonard's Street. 

St. Mary Graces. 

St. Martin's Outwich. 

St. Michael's, Lewes. 

St. Paul's, London. 

Saltwood. 

Sandwich (St. Clements). 

Scale. 

Sheldwich. 

Sheppey 

Shorne. 

Snargate. 

Snodland. 

Snoreham (Essex). 

Southborough. 

South Mailing. 



South Mimms (Middlesex). 

Speldhurst. 

Stepney. 

Stopham. 

Sutton Deanery. 

Swindon (Stafford). 

Tenterden. 

Teston. 

Tettenhall (Stafford). 

Tewkesbury, Battle of. 

Thanet. 

Tonbridge. 

Tonbridge School. 

Tottington. 

Trottescliffe. 

Union of Mailing. 

Veles. 

Vigo. 



Wadhurst. 

Warlesworth. 

Welcomestow. 

Welcombe. 

Wenlakesbarn. 

Westgate. 

West Farleigh. 

West Mailing. 

West Peckham. 

Westminster. 

Windsor (Berkshire.) 

Win wick. 

Woking (Surrey). 

Wouldham. 

Worth. 

Wrotham. 

Yalding. 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I. 

PACK 

INTRODUCTORY REMARKS . . 1 

CHAPTER II. 

THE EARLY PERIOD OF ENGLISH HISTORY .... 4 

CHAPTER III. 

THE SAXON ERA . i> 

CHAPTER IV. 

NORMAN TIMES 13- 

CHAPTER V. 
THE THREE EDWARDS . . . . ' . . .24 

CHAPTER VI. 

THE WARS OF THE ROSES 4(> 

CHAPTER VII. 
TUDOR TIMES 40 

CHAPTER VIII. 

STUART TIMES . 67 



xiv CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER IX. 

PAGE 

THE GEORGIAN ERA 98 

C 4 HAPTER X. 

WILLIAM IV., AND QUEEN VICTORIA 122 

CHAPTER XI. 

THE REGISTERS 145 

CHAPTER XII. 

FAMILY REGISTERS .221 

CHAPTER XIII. 

KENTISH PROVERBS 249 

CHAPTER XIV. 

NATURAL HISTORY MAMMALS ...... 253 

CHAPTER XV. 

NATURAL HISTORY BIRDS, REPTILES, FISHES . . .255 

CHAPTER XVI. 

NATURAL HISTORY PLANTS 263 

CHAPTER XVII. 

CHARITIES 280 



MEMORIES OF MAILING AND ITS VALLEY, 



CHAPTER I. 

INTRODUCTORY REMARKS. 

AMONGST the many fovely valleys of which Kent can boast, none 
perhaps excels in beauty the Vale of Mailing, which can be so 
well viewed from the neighbouring chalk hills. Not only its 
beauty, but its varied flora and fauna, and above all its history, make it 
repay the lover of nature or antiquity, or the student who prefers 
the chronicles of his own native land to those of the Continent. In 
the county of Kent (as will be seen by the appended lists of natural 
history specimens at the end of this book) are to be found a great 
number of the most beautiful of the various members that form the 
fauna and flora of the British Isles, most of which may be found in 
this fertile vale. 

From Holly Hill (642 ft.), or the Vigo (680 ft.), the eye may 
wander over this lovely valley, from the ground beneath one's feet 
to where the greensand hills, clothed with the Mailing, Great Comp, 
and Mereworth woods, shut out the scene ; and from the banks 
of the muddy, meandering Medway, to where the valley is almost 
closed near Wrotham. The parishes inclosed in this tract are 
West or Town Mailing, East Mailing, Ditton, Aylesford, Allington, 
Snodland, Hailing, Paddles worth, Birling, Leybourne, Ryarsh, 
Trottescliffe, Addington and Offham. These parishes were at one 
time all of them in the bishopric of Rochester, saving East Mailing, 
which was a peculiar of the archbishop ; but during the recent 
changes of that see, all except Aylesford, Hailing and Snodland 
(whose fortunes have been attended by Paddlesworth, now no longer 
considered, though really a separate parish) have been transferred to 
the archbishopric of Canterbury. Addington, Birling, Ditton, East 
and West Mailing, Leybourne, Offham, Ryarsh and Trottescliffe 
continue in the deanery of Mailing, to which deanery East Mailing 
was added. Allington was during these last twelve months transf erred 

1 



2 



MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY. 



to the Button deanery, without any regard to geography or history. 
While Aylesford, Snodland and Hailing, which belonged to the old 
Rochester deanery, now make part of the division of Rochester 
diocese which is known as the Cobham deanery. These parishes are 
all in the jurisdiction of the Mailing division of magistrates, with the 
exception of Hailing, which is in the Rochester division ; and with 
the same exception they all form part of the Mailing Union. They 
are all in the Lathe * of Aylesford. By the different Reform Bills 
these parishes have been transferred to the Parliamentary Divisions 
of West Kent, Mid Kent and Medway, according to the different 
ways into which the county has been divided. 

Though these parishes have never been very populous, they have 
maintained their own through every period of English history, owing 
to the bountiful supply of water and the fertility of the district. We 
subjoin a table of their population in the order of the last census : 



. 
PARISH. 


1841. 


1851, 


1861. 


1871. 


1881. 


1891. 


Snodland with Paddlesworth 


500 


900 


1078 


1844 


2826 


3187 


Aylesford . 


1344 


1487 


2057 


2100 


2800 


2937 


East Mailing 


1578 


1741 


1974 


2326 


2383 


2380 


Hailing 


448 


550 


760 


838 


1273 


2091 


West, or Town Mailing 


1784 


2081 


2086 


2077 


2242 


2028 


Birling 


511 


620 


662 


718 


884 


1384 


Ditton . 


244 


235 


255 


287 


336 


878 


Ryarsh 


431 


449 


447 


475 


552 


514 


Offham 


358 


372 


411 


448 


358 


397 


Trottescliffe 


305 


253 


293 


288 


296 


286 


Addington 


208 


220 


211 


261 


264 


273 


Leybourne 


255 


268 


289 


271 


277 


270 


Allington 


37 


51 


66 


93 


147 


130 



This district has been always well supplied with water, for not 
only does the Medway bound the valley, but also several other streams 
that spring from the foot of the chalk hills in the G-ault on one 
side, and from the overflow of the reservoirs that lie in the greensand 
range on the other flow through it. The most important of these 
streams takes its rise at Nepicar, in Wrotham, and is fed by one of 
those peculiar underground springs known in Kent as Nailbournes (a 
word of uncertain origin), which overflow.at certain periods in a number 
of years, and finding its way though Addington Park and past Ryarsh 
Church, is joined by a considerable rivulet that rises near St. Leonard's 
Tower, in Mailing, where there is an archway and a paved bottom 
(perhaps this once formed a baptistery to St. Leonard's Church), 
passes under the Mailing and Tonbridge road, forms an ornamental 

* Kent is divided into five divisions, called Lathes : these Lathes, proceed- 
ing from west to east, are Sutton at Hone. Aylesford, Scray. Shepway, and 
St. Augustine. 



INTRODUCTORY REMARKS. 8 

pond, and proceeds onwards to the abbey grounds, where it once 
fed the fish ponds of the nuns; leaving them by the cascade 
built by Mr. Foote in the year 1810, so well known to all visitors 
to Mailing for its picturesque appearance, it runs through the 
bottom of what are called Banky Meadows, where it formerly was 
utilised for the tanyards which once gave Mailing the importance it 
possessed. The two streams together unite to form the Ley bourne 
mill pond, just below which the rivulet no doubt in ages past was 
used for the mote to Leybourne Castle, traces of which may still be 
seen. Keeping not far from the road it runs to Snodland, before 
reaching which place a considerable stream from Birling joins it, one 
of the heads of which is an iron spring, said to have been one of 
the constituents of the Birling drink, a bottle of this is reported to 
have been an infallible cure for the bite of a mad dog. At Snodland 
this rivulet supplies the water to the paper-mills, and falls into the 
Medway after a winding course of about seven or eight miles. This 
stream was once, no doubt, the river that formed the valley. 

Another brook that rises in the uplands of East Mailing, and turns 
the corn- and paper-mills there, once formed a mote round Brad- 
bourne House, where there is still a pond ; and then, passing across 
the London and Maidstone roads, it falls into the Medway a little 
below Aylesford. On the other side of the river the Boxley stream 
and Cosington spring are both well known. 

This great supply of water has, from time immemorial, been most 
serviceable for corn- and paper-mills, for which East Mailing and 
Snodland have been famous for two hundred years. At the former 
place, we are told, the cardboard called millboard was first manu- 
factured by Mr. Barling some forty or fifty years ago. The plentiful 
moisture has made this land valuable for orchard purposes, and at 
Leybourne and Snodland forms fine pasture land ; at the former 
place were bred the famous horses that won the Derby for the late 
Sir Joseph Hawley, viz. : Musjid, Teddington, Bedesman and 
Blue Gown. 



CHAPTER II. 

THE EARLY PERIOD OF ENGLISH HISTORY. 

valley which we have already described, which forms the 
subject of our history, was filled in the earliest days by the great 
forest of Andredswolde, which appears to have covered the whole 
country between the North and South Downs, and was one hundred 
and thirty miles in length. We may here remark, in passing, the 
statement that the beech not being a native of Britain, resting as it 
does on the sole authority of Julius Csesar, who says that timber of 
every kind which is found in Gaul also grows in Britain except the 
beech and the silver fir,* can hardly be believed, since the short time 
that that commander stayed in this country was not sufficient to 
explore this mighty forest. 

At the foot of the chalk hills this great forest was bounded by 
what is most probably the oldest road in this country, which is 
popularly known as the Pilgrim's Path, and which, entering this 
county from Surrey, runs on to Canterbury. This road passes 
into our district from Wrotham at Trottescliffe, and traverses that 
parish and Birling to Snodland, then on to Hailing, where a branch 
road went on to Rochester ; but the main road crosses the Medway, 
and proceeds under the Downs by Debtling and Hollingbourne. 
As might be expected, this road forms the basis of all discoveries 
of an early period. At Wrotham have been found a number of 
British bronze celts. At Trottescliffe, not far from this road, still 
stands the ancient cromlech called Coldrum : this not only has three 
upright stones remaining, but one, though broken, still on the top the 
front one has gone ; besides this, part of the circle round it continues, 
consisting of stones to the number of nineteen, which, though 
fallen prostrate, are in their original places. When the Coldrum 
monument was re-discovered some years ago, two young gentlemen 
found under it a skeleton, which was removed and buried in the 
churchyard of Meopham by the vicar of that parish. Upon this the 
Rector- of Trottescliffe, in which parish Coldrum stands, wrote to 
ask the Vicar of Meopham what he meant by stealing his oldest 

* Materia cujusque generis ut iu Gallia est praeter Fagum et Abietem. 

4 



THE EARLY PERIOD OF ENGLISH HISTORY. 5 

parishioner. At a mile or so distant, farther off from the old road, 
are a number of stones of the same kind, in Addington Park. Wright 
speaks of the elliptical group as a circle : the heap I do not hesitate 
to consider a fallen dolmen. In the parish of Ryarsh many of these 
stones are scattered about, and some have been built into the walls 
of different buildings, as the one so especially noticeable in the foun- 
dation of Trottescliffe Church. At Tottington, in the parish of 
Aylesford, many of these stones are found ; one of them has been 
named the " coffin stone " by Dr. Stukely, and this name was sealed to 
this stone by the learned Thorpe. This monument is not far from 
the well-known Kit's Coty House, which consists of three upright 
stones and one above. There is another group of stones in a field 
under some trees, called the " countless stones " or numbers, locally, 
which are evidently remains of another dolmen . At Tottington may be 
seen the ruins of a fourth, and Mr. Shaw, of Eccles, assures me that he 
has had a large number of sarson stones, of which these erections are 
formed, ploughed up nearer the Medway on his farm at Howe's Place. 

Now what do these stones mean ? It would seem, by comparing 
Coldrum and Kit's Coty House, we can come to a fair conclusion, when 
we think over the different customs of races and nations at the same 
time. It requires no great stretch of imagination to make the 
centre-piece of Coldrum into a perfect Kit's Coty House : all we have 
to do is to mend the stone that stood at the back of the two, and the 
one on the top. But if Kit's Coty House was thus like Coldrum, 
why should it not have a circle round it of stones like Coldrum ? If 
we look at the last monument, the bank and stones have been gradu- 
ally got rid of in days gone by,* and this advises us that the same 
has been done most probably, or done more completely, at Kit's Coty 
House. 

The stone in the foundation of Trottescliffe Church, those in the 
walls of buildings in Ryarsh village, and pieces in the walls of Birling 
Place, once known as Comfort, the ancient seat of the Earls of 
Abergavenny, and those scattered about at Aylesford, all advise 
us that this work of destruction went on to no small extent during 
the Middle Ages. Superstition alone, perhaps, saved the relics that 
are left. Thus the field of the " countless stones " near Aylesford, the 
writer can remember, when a boy, was said to be impossible to clear ; 
and that several who had taken the farm were ruined because they 
wickedly attempted to move the stones. Again, whoever attempted to 
measure Kit's Coty House was frustrated in his task, as he always 
forgot the size of the three stones when he measured the fourth. 

But to proceed. If these monuments have been tampered with, 
surely we may go a little further and compare them with others, 
which we find were made with four upright stones and one on the 

* I am pleased to state that my friend G. Payne, Esq., Secretary of the Kent 
Archaeological Society, has prevented Coldrum being destroyed any more, by 
having obtained it to be placed under the Ancient Monuments Act. 



6 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

top, and around them stood a circle of stones; but whether with 
others laid upon them, as Stonehenge, it were difficult to say. 

What was the purpose of these erections? Persons have disputed 
about them as temples, altars, and tombs, and each has rejected the 
other's theory ; still those who deny them to be tombs must explain 
how skeletons were found beneath them as at Coldrum. The fact is, 
these circles were probably temples, and the dolmen was very likely 
the altar. When some great chief died they buried him there ; and 
thus perhaps to our Celtic forefathers we and other Christians owe 
the custom so long prevalent of burying in our churches a practice 
that was certainly not borrowed from the Jews, who would have been 
disgusted with the idea, as all unclean objects (of which dead bodies, 
both animal and human, were considered the worst) were never 
allowed within the sanctuary. 

As regards Kit's Coty, which I believe means Catigern's Stone 
House quoits being still used for the game originally played with 
stones or (as some like to think that the word means wood) 
Catigern's Wood House, the latter word simply tells us where the 
monument stood, or what it was made of, which is immaterial : it 
is to the word Kit, which is the name that has always clung to 
this monument, that I look for an explanation that Catigern was 
buried in it or near it. We learn that the Saxons and Britons had 
a severe contest at Aylesford, A.D. 465, and tradition says that 
Catigern and Horsa fell in hand-to-hand conflict. If this was so, 
where did they bury him ? Where more likely than in the sepulchre 
of the kings, as we so often find expressed in the Bible, "they 
buried him in the sepulchre of the kings " or, " with his fathers," 
or not, according as a prince had deserved well of the nation. Thus, 
the fact of Catigern's burial at Kit's Coty House does not preclude 
any former burials at the place, or cause it to have been erected at 
the time he fell, or suggest to us that it was then used as a temple 
and an altar. I believe it points out to us that he was placed here 
in an honourable burying place, which the Britons knew of, handy 
to the battle ; and though they had become serfs, still the conquered 
race pointed to the tomb of the man who died for his country. 
And when the Celt mingled his blood with his Saxon conqueror, 
we cannot tell whether out of mockery, or from the inconvenient 
length of the word, Catigern got shortened into Kit ; but the word 
has survived to point out the grave of the hero, while not far off 
the name of Horsted is given to a place traditionally declared to be 
the grave of his equally brave Saxon antagonist Horsa. These two 
places appear to me to contradict the sceptics who would deny these 
men a position in the history of our island, and show us that Celt 
and Saxon were as worthy ancestors of the English race as Dane 
and Norman. 

These groups of stones lead us to consider that this wooded valley 
must have been much frequented by the earlier races in these islands, 



THE EARLY PERIOD OF ENGLISH HISTORY. 1 

and the finds which have been made of objects of archaeological 
interest point us to the same fact. At Ryarsh, British gold coins 
of a period before the Christian era have been found, and the same 
at Chequer Lane in Oftham, and St. Leonard's Street in Mailing, as 
well as coins elsewhere in the latter place. At Aylesford drift 
implements have been found, as well as late Celtic instruments ; and 
in the Medway itself, British torques and armillae of gold. More- 
over, a paved ford was discovered at Aylesford, some 30 ft. wide, 
formed of boulders. These matters all point out to us that there 
were some important early settlements here. At Halting the 
cremated remains found in the quarries point us to the Roman 
custom of burial near their roads. The recent discovery of a Roman 
villa at Snodland, the treasures of Roman times found at Holborough, 
and the sepulchral deposits there, declare to us the fact that the 
Rochester and Mailing road follows one of great antiquity. The 
roads from Wrotham to Maidstone, and Mailing to Mereworth, and 
Wrotham to Teston, were probably other passes through this wooded 
valley of an early date : it would seem that the latter was the via, 
militaris an ancient Roman road. 

In September and October 1892, under the road near St. Leonard's 
Tower, were found two Roman urns of Upchurch ware (one 
standing in a Samian saucer), and broken pieces of others ; and a 
little farther off bones of cattle, principally the parietal bone 
and the horns, the jaw of a sheep, and the tusk of a pig. The urns 
contained cremated human bones, which Dr. Tannahill of Borstal 
identified thus : (1) The smaller urn contained portions of the skull, 
ribs, vertebral column, arms and legs; the whole weighing 3*75 oz. 
(2) The larger urn contained portions of the skull, vertebral column, 
sacrum, ribs, sternum, arms, and legs, and was part of the body of 
a man ; the whole weighing 8'5 oz. The bones of the animals so 
close to water, and a cemetery, seem to point to sacrifice. Not far 
off was discovered some time ago a paved way, and this, with the 
fact that the old road ran past St. Blaise's Church, points out that 
St. Leonard's Street and Kent Street once joined the straight road 
through Malting, and form part of the old Roman via from 
Rochester. 

Besides the relics we have already spoken of, a British burial at 
Altington ; foundations of Roman buildings, instruments, and coins 
at Eccles ; a Roman urn found in the Hermitage Wood at Malting, 
probably pointing out a burial; together with Roman foundations 
and a tile tomb at Altington, all declare to us the early history of 
this part, and show us that when Saxon and Briton joined battle 
at Aylesford the Saxon was fighting to gain an important British 
ford and settlement, which, on his victory, gave him the key to open 
his way into the centre of this country. 

The walls of East Mailing chancel are constructed almost entirely 
of materials taken from the Roman buildings which seem to have 



8 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

largely existed in these parts; and a great number of the other 
churches about here bear proofs that those who built them used 
veiy lavishly the materials thus placed ready at hand, without the 
slightest regard to the damage they were doing posterity by 
destroying the relics of the past. Since the author commenced this 
work a number of Roman urns have been found this spring (1892) 
near his house at Larkfield, by Mr. Wigan, which appear to point 
out that there was a Roman cemetery there also. 



CHAPTEK III. 

THE SAXON ERA (465 1066). 

PROCEEDING onwards from the first battle of Aylesford, we 
come to that time when Christianity was introduced amongst 
the Saxons by St. Augustine, in the year 596 ; and in the year 
604 the see of Rochester was founded. When any of our churches 
in this neighbourhood were first built it were difficult to say, but 
the parish churches of Meallinges, Meallingetes, Leleburne, Dictuna, 
Eddituna, Riesci, Offham, Birling, AUington, Trottesclive, Aylesford, 
Hailing, Esnoiland, Paddlesworth, Dodecirce and Tottington appear 
all to have been in existence when 

" Conquering William brought the Normans o'er." 

Besides divers relics in the shape of Saxon coins and weapons, 
and also perhaps parts of the churches being Saxon, and the names 
of most of these places, but not all, being wholly or partly of Saxon 
origin (for I am amongst those who consider that Aylesford is 
Eglwysford, or the ford of the church which I think Eccles points 
us to, and thus is a name partly British). We have certain grants of 
lands for ecclesiastical purposes from the Saxon kings. The earliest 
of these records is that of the parish of Hailing, from which Egbert, 
king of Kent (770-785), gave ten ploughlands, according to the 
Textux Roffensis, to Dioran, bishop of Rochester, and the Church of 
St. Andrew there ; this grant is signed by Egbert, king of Kent, 
and the Archbishop Jaenberht. The next oldest is that of Offa, king 
of the Mercians, who gave six ploughlands in the parish of 
Trottescliva, or TrottesclifFe, for the relief and safety of his soul, in 
the year of Our Lord's Incarnation, 788 ; the boundaries of this land 
are, on the east and south Birling, on the west Wrotaham, and on 
the north Meapaham. His grant is signed by the king himself, his 
queen Cynedrith, Jaenberht the archbishop, who put on it the sign 
of Christ's Cross, Hygeberht (archbishop,) and Ceolwulf (bishop), 
amongst others. This grant is very interesting, inasmuch as it shows 
the power a Mercian king possessed in Kent, which, in consequence, 
was not likely at that time to have been a separate kingdom ; and 
also because it mentions the adjoining parishes of Wrotham, 



10 MEMORIES OF MALLING ANJ) ITS VALLEY. 

Meophani, and Birling. After this we learn of Egbert, king of the 
Angles, " Hie dedit ecclesise Christi villam quse Meallinges vocatur." 
He gave to the Church of Christ a villa, which is called Mailing the 
date is 827, at the earliest, but probably a year or two later. In 836 
Egbert and Ethelwulf jointly gave to Bishop Beornmode four plough- 
lands in Snoddingland, and Holanbeorge, or Holboro', in the royal 
bica called Frericburn, and a mill on the torrent called Holborough 
burn, and on the king's mountain (mons regis) fifty carrabas of wood, 
four being added at Denberri, Hwetonstede, Heahthen, Helffe, 
and Helmanhiu-st ; this is signed by Egbert, Ethelwulf, Archbishop 
Ceolnod, Bishop Beornmode, of Rochester, and Bishops Eahlstan, 
Eadhun, Cynred, and Ceolberht, and others. An interesting fact 
connected with this grant is the mention of the great antiquity 
of the mill on the stream at Holborough, this brook having been 
utilised, we thus learn, for its water power, over one thousand 
years ago. After this, Ethelwulf, in 841, styling himself king of 
the West Saxons, gives the same Bishop Beornmode two ploughs in 
that part which is called Holanbeorges tuun ; this gift is signed by 
Ethelwulf, King Ethelstan, and the same archbishop and bishop of 
Rochester as the last, and Bishop Helmstan. The next event is 
Alfred's decisive triumph over the Danes, which took place almost 
on the very ground at Aylesford where his ancestors defeated the 
Britons. No doubt the Danes, as the Saxons before them, having 
poured in from Sheppey, found the Medway hard to cross below, and 
so came over the hills to seek a ford. This victory appears to have 
put an end to the depredations of Hastings about the year 895. 

But of all the charters of this period, the one that had the most 
influence upon the future of this district was the charter of King 
Edmund, which ran as follows : 

' In the name of the Supreme God, and our Saviour Jesus Christ. Who 
Himself reigns for ever, and disposes all things pleasantly : Wherefore I, 
Edmund, king moreover of the Angles and Mercians, grant to my beloved 
bishop, by name Buhric, so much of my land which is called Meallingas as 
three ploughs, for the relief of my soul, for an everlasting heritage, to increase 
his monasteiy, which is dedicated in honour of Saint Andrew the Apostle, 
brother of St. Peter, and his companion in suffering ; with all things pertaining 
to it, with fields, woods, pastures. Moreover fowling also ; and this also with the 
advice of my chiefs and princes, whose names are written beneath, from hence I 
swear in the name of Jesus Christ, who is the just judge of all, that this land 
be freed from all royal service for ever. If any one shall presume to diminish 
or defraud this donation, may he be separated from the assembly of the saints, 
so that while living he be deprived of the blessing of God, and be damned in 
the lowest hell, unless he shall have by full satisfaction atoned before his death 
for what he hath unfairly done, although this still by no means should remain 
in force. And he who would at any time increase our gift, may the Lord 
increase to him His heavenly gifts, and give him eternal life." 

The above is in Latin : then follows, in Anglo-Saxon, a description 
of the boundaries : 

" From the south bounds to the King's Plaine, and from thence to the bounds 



THE SAXON ERA (4651066) 11 

of the ville of Offham, and thence to the military way and along the said way 
over Lillieburn to the bounds of the parish of East Mallinges, and so southward 
from the east of the cross or gallows to the broadway towards the south in a 
direct line along the said way to the King's Plaine." 

To which the king added certain denberies for the pannage of 
hogs. Then follows : 

" I, EDMUND, king of the Angles, have confirmed this by the sign of the 
Cross. 

' I, EDRED, the king's brother, have corroborated this. 

' I, EADGISE, the king's mother, was present. 

* I, ABCHBISHOP ODO, have subscribed. 

' I, .ZELFEH, bishop, have agreed. 

' I, DEODRED. bishop. I, ALFRED, bishop. 

4 1, WULFSTAN, archbishop. I, ^LFRic, bishop. 

' I, CENWALD, bishop. I, JSTHELGAB, bishop. 

; I, -5SGILF0, the king's wife, was present. 

( Duke Wulgar, Duke Athelstan, Duke Edmund, Duke Senla, Sigferd, 
minister, Wulfric. minister, Ealdred, minister, ^Elfstan, minister, Ordeah, 
minister, Edward, minister, Wulfric, minister, Odda, minister, JElla,, minister, 
Duke Offa, Whitgar, minister, Wulfsige, minister, Birthwald, minister." 

Though this charter is undated, since Edmund reigned only from 
941 to 946 we know within a very few years the date of the charter. 
The charter is very interesting in many ways. In the first place 
it informs us that the parishes of Offham, Leybourne, and East 
Mailing, as well as West Mailing, were then in existence. The 
King's Plaine seems to have been, from the other places mentioned, 
somewhere towards the south, and near the Union-house. We find 
the name of King's Mill still survives ; probably a relic connected with 
the old name. 

Thorpe is of opinion that the military way here mentioned was 
the road from Town Mailing through St. Leonards to Teston, etc., 
and so on to Cranbrook. The word street added to St. Leonards 
may confirm this statement ; but " along the said way, over Lillie- 
burn " from Offham to East Mailing, appears to me to point rather 
to the present London and Maidstone road. From these facts, how- 
ever, we learn the antiquity of the roads in this district. 

The property which Edmund granted to the Church did not con- 
tinue in the hands of the see of Rochester, but was lost in the wars 
with the Danes. Upon the succession, however, of William I. to the 
throne, it became the property of the rapacious Odo, bishop of 
Baieux, who was afterwards compelled to disgorge it ; and we shall 
have occasion to mention it as being the origin of Mailing Abbey. 

^Elfstan, Buhric's successor in the see of Rochester, witnessed the 
will of a Saxon gentleman and his wife, giving a firma of two days 
from Birling and their property in that parish to Wulfege, to pay 
1000 denarii to the church of St. Andrew, in Rochester, besides 
giving their property in Snodland to the same church. This gentle- 
man and lad}', Brihtric and ^Elfwitha, have in this way descended 



12 MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY. 

to posterity as the oldest private landowners known by name in this 
district. This bequest adds to the parishes we have already heard 
of no new ones, since Birling and Snodland are both mentioned 
previously. 

The continual landing of the Danes at the mouth of the Medway, 
and their incursions into this part of Kent from Sheppey and Sitting- 
bourne, must have caused many changes in the parishes of which we 
are writing, as is shown by their having wrested from the monks of 
Rochester the lands granted by Edmund in Town Mailing. In the 
early part of the eleventh century they attempted once more to 
occupy this part of Kent, and appear to have again tried to ford the 
Medway at Aylesford, but were defeated by Edmund Ironsides, 1016. 
The Saxon period has not left behind it too many annals, but it is 
strange that the village of Aylesford should be the scene of three 
decisive battles, if there were not some great strategic point to be 
gained by coming this way when Rochester was too well defended 
to allow of their gaining a passage there. With this last victory at 
Aylesford our annals so far as Saxon times are concerned close ; as 
from this time up to the days of William the Conqueror, we have no 
account of the doings of our predecessors in the Vale of Mailing. 
We do, however, know that Allington was the possession of the fourth 
son of Godwin, Gurth, at the time of the Conquest.* 

* A beautiful relic of Saxon times was shown me by Col. Luck, J.P., of the 
Hermitage, West Mailing : it was discovered in his grounds. The ring is of 
silver, on it are three figures placed transversely, not upright, as in ours. 
The upper figure is a bishop, the centre a king, and the lower a prince, as 
would appear from what looks like a cap of maintenance. It was not the 
pioperty of an ecclesiastic of Mailing Abbey, as Mr. Surtees surmised, since it 
was not opened at this date, but may refer to the grant of the land (near which 
it was found), by Edmund to Buhric, which was witnessed by the king's brother 
Edred. 



CHAPTER IV. 

NORMAN TIMES (10661216). 

THE acquirement of the throne by William of Normandy, through 
conquest, naturally led to a redistribution of lands ; as the con- 
queror would of course remove those who were in power who were 
likely to oppose his authority, as the Saxon landlords, and replace 
them by Normans, who, with their retainers, would keep the country 
in awe. The consequence is we find at this time the landowners 
have Norman and French names ; and this is the great period of 
building monasteries and castles throughout the country, as well as 
the time of improving and enlarging our churches. 

This was the time, as we shall find, during which the nunnery 
of Mailing was built, as well as the castle of Leybourne and the keep 
of St. Leonards ; and the churches round here show distinct signs of 
early and late Norman.* 

All these parishes that we are considering are mentioned in Domes- 
day, and all, with the following exceptions, appear to have become 
the prey of the unscrupulous, ambitious, and greedy Odo of Baieux 
(who had been created Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports, and must 
have been a well-known man in Kent, since he fortified the castle 
of Tonbridge against Rufus), viz. : East Mailing, which continued 
the property of the archbishop, and Aylesford, which was a royal 
demesne. Lanfranc, the Archbishop of Canterbury, however, suc- 
ceeded, at a meeting in 1076 on Penenden Heath, in obtaining from 
the king an order to make Odo give up West Mailing and Hailing, 
and it seems uncertain whether he ever really obtained Snodland 
and Trottescliffe. At any rate, soon after, when William II. dis- 
graced the bishop and marched on Tonbridge (perhaps through this 
very valley), all these places changed hands once more. 

It was in the year 1077 that the famous architect Gundulf was 
appointed Bishop of Rochester, and it is to him we owe the building 
of the nunnery at Mailing, and St. Leonard's Tower, which Parker 
declares to be the oldest Norman keep in existence ; and where the 

* Behind Mri Jarvis's and Mr. Carman's shops in Mailing High Street, are 
the remains of a Norman house outside the abbey wall, but prolably eccle- 
siastical. It may have been the home of " prebendarius magnje jnissse in 
monasterio de West Mailing." 

13 



14 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

curious may examine the strange way in which the Normans laid their 
courses of masonry, and how carefully they mixed their mortar and 
lined the corners of their buildings with tufa. It is a plain, massive. 
square building, with clasping buttresses, showing all the character- 
istic features of early Norman work in general, and of Gundulf's 
in particular. The walls are between 7 and 8 ft. in thickness; 
the material is Kentish rag and tufa, the latter used for all quoins 
and faced work, and running in bands round the building at the 
set-offs. The building is divided into two stages ; a covered 
staircase, running up the north-east corner of the building (entered 
from the bottom on the inside), communicating with the upper 
stage by a lobby leading out on the roof the latter, with the 
upper part of the tower, was dismantled. Each stage is lighted 
by a narrow round-headed opening, splayed internally in the lower 
stage, but not so in the upper. The dividing floor formerly existed 
at a height of 24 ft. from the foundation level. The total height of 
the tower in Thorpe's day was 71 ft., taken by a theodolite; last 
year it was considered to have been somewhere about 60 ft. There 
appears to have been no entrance or doorway to the original 
building, entrance being probably gained through one of the light* 
by means of ladders or ropes. The east side of the tower is adorned 
with an arcade, and a greater number of lights than the other sides. 
The now blocked opening in the basement, on the north side of 
the east wall, appears to be not contemporaneous with the original 
building, but slightly later. Probably steps led down to St. Leonard's 
Chapel from it. 

When this chapel was built is uncertain. In Thorpe's day the 
following information could be ascertained about the chapel : it was 
70 ft. long and 33 ft. broad ; and we are further told that the return 
of the east wall of the church was visible for about 3 feet. The fields 
beyond and part of the wood above being known as Abbey Fields and 
Abbey Wood, it is evident that Gundulf built this tower to defend 
his newly-acquired domains towards the south, and perhaps to over- 
awe the Saxons in that direction ; as on the north the rising towers 
of Leybourne promised to protect him, and his own keep which he 
was building at Rochester offered further assistance in that direction.* 

When the chapel of St. Leonard's was built we cannot say, but 
it is mentioned in the Texius Roffensis as important enough to pay 
six denarii for chrism to the see of Rochester. 

Mailing Abbey was built about the same time as St. Leonard's 
Tower, though its tower was not completed till much later, as it 
exhibits early Norman at the lower, succeeded by later Norman in 
the second story, and again by early English in the upper part ; this 
latter part, however, may have been built because the upper part was 
destroyed in the great fire. The cloisters of Mailing Abbey, now built 

* In the books of the Manor of Mailing, dating from Queen Elizabeth. 
St. Leonards is known as the precinct of. Ewell. 



NORMAN TIMES (10661216). 15 

into the modern dwelling house, are unique. The windows show that 
there were five bays consisting of three separate lights in one case 
four. There are none to be found like them elsewhere in England. 

Philpott and Hasted tell us the abbey was founded in 1090, while 
Leland gives in his Collectanea the date 1106 for the opening of the 
abbey this date is very unlikely, as Gundulf died March 7th in 
that year. At the time of the opening of the abbey Gundulf 
bestowed the government of it on the nun Avicia, or Avice, from 
whom he extorted an oath of fidelity and subjection. We are told 
" On that day on which Gundulf, Bishop of Rochester, gave the 
Abbey of Mailing to the nun Avicia, the same nun swore fidelity 
and subjection to the same bishop and his successors, and to the 
Church of Rochester, and that she would not try by her own means, 
or by any other person, to break this subjection. When this oath 
was made, the aforesaid Avicia promised the bishop by a firm and 
sure compact that, without his consent and licence, she would neither 
place nor displace a prioress in the abbey given to her, nor receive 
any nun, nor grant nor take away thence any land." The witnesses 
of this deed hearing and seeing her were : 

Radulf , abbot of Belli (Battle) ; Orduvinus, prior ; Paulinus, 
secretary ; Alured ; Andrew, doctor ; Arnulf, chaplain of the 
bishop ; John ; Goisford ; Alberic ; Odo ; Beringar, sub-prior ; 
William ; Hunfrid ; Erngrin ; Hugh, nephew of the bishop ; 
William, a young man ; Radulf, a clergyman ; Ansfrid, a 
clergyman ; Godard, a clergyman ; Robert, keeper of the closet ; 
Hugh, keeper of the closet ; Ansfrid, steward ; Hunsf rid, porter, 
and many others. 

The nuns of Mailing were to be held in high esteem, for it is 
ordered that, " amongst what we ought to do for our dead brethren, 
that the same be done for the nuns of Mailing as for a monk of 
Christchurch, Canterbury, viz. : seven full offices, and for thirty days 
mea verba, and one priest says seven masses each, and others the 
psalms." Tanner recites the charters of William II., Henry I., 
and Henry II., concerning the subjection of Mailing to the bishopric 
of Rochester; and Hasted informs us that the donation was con- 
firmed by William II., Henry I., Stephen, and Henry II., as well 
as by Archbishops Anselm, Ralph, William, and Thomas A'Becket, 
and by Bishops Ralph, Arnulf, John, and Ascelin, who confirmed 
to the monastery Mallinga's Parva, a market, St. Leonard's 
Chapel, and the Church of St. Mary. Anselm, in the time of 
William II., gave the nunnery the church of East Mailing. In 
the year 1190 both the abbey and town were much damaged by 
fire. Soon after this, we learn from Dugdale, " John conceded by 
this charter, and confirmed to God and to the church of Mailing 
and the nuns worshipping God there, the church of East Mailing 
with all pertaining to it, which Lord Hubert, archbishop, restored 



16 MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY 

to them, and converted into their proper use, as the charter of 
the same archbishop devises. Wherefore I wish. . . . Given by 
hand Hugh de Welles, Archdeacon of Wells, at Rummenall, April 5th, 
seventh year." This would be in the year 1206. 

At a little distance away from St. Leonards, in the woods, about 
three-quarters of a mile to the left of the Wrotham and Teston 
road, stood a chapel, which lasted into this century as a ruin ; but 
you can now only perceive that there has been a building on the 
spot. Thorpe describes this as " Blair's Chapel, or rather, perhaps, 
cell, for the accommodation of a father confessor of the abbey." It 
was probably dedicated to St. Blasius, whose feast is on February 3rd, 
as a black-letter day in our Prayer Book ; for the wood is still known 
as Blase 's wood, and as it appears to have been under the hospital 
at Strood, most probably had nothing to do with the abbey. 

Besides the tower of the abbey there are considerable remains 
of the church behind, showing its high pitched roof and the fine 
arch leading into the refectory and the cloisters, which, with 
a more modern dwelling house, form a quadrangle. In the square 
are three stone coffin lids, erroneously thought to be tombstones. 
They were probably the covers of the depositories of the bodies of 
some of the nuns, who were buried, as was so customary, in the 
cloisters ; this would not, of course, necessitate that there should have 
been a burying ground at the spot.* In the square court there are 
two angels with scrolls, on one of which is " Benedictus Deus in 
domo ejus " ; on the other, " et in omnibus operibus suis." Over a 
passage in the western wall, in the same character, is " R. Morton." 
Strange to say, Rose Morton was one of the nuns who received, at 
the dissolution, an annuity. In another place there is the inscrip- 
tion " Orate pro domina benedicta." At the western entrance, on 
shields, are the instruments of the crucifixion, a heart distilling blood 
on a shield ermine, and a crozier on a bend sinister ; and on a chef, 
three annulets. Just by the entrance is the gateway chapel of the 
abbey : this has been a carpenter's shop, and in 1773 it was used as 
a meeting house. It was renovated by the owners, and has been 
used for daily service since All Saints' Day, 1858. It is about 
22 ft. long and 13 ft. broad, and there is an ante-chapel behind the 
screen about 15 ft. long. Above the doorway is a recess for the 
images, and at the side of it a place for the holy water. We 
mention these matters as connected with the existing building of 
the abbey, but of course many of them are of far later date than 
the eleventh and twelfth centuries. Soon after the beginning of the 
thirteenth century we find the chapelries of Longsole, near Banning 
Heath, of .St. Laurence in Hailing, and of New Hythe on the Medway 
mentioned ; but as we have no record of their building, and very little 
of their remnants, we can hardly do anything more than suppose 

* Lately another has been found (and buried there), together with a pillar 
support ot a crowned angel and a ring, and certain pieces of carved stones. 



NORMAN TIMES (10661216 17 

them to have been built about this time. In the year 1115, Ernulf, 
Bishop of Rochester, composed the Textua ftqffensia, in which we 
learn that all the parishes whose history we are writing contributed 
nine denarii for chrism to the see of Rochester, and in addition to 
them Paddlesworth and Dode as parish churches ; and St. Leonards 
also, as already mentioned, gave six denarii. Henry I. granted to 
Gundulf , and the church in Rochester of St. Andrew, the churches 
of Dartford and Aylesford, and all the whales found in the bishopric 
of Rochester.* When the chapel of St. Laurence in Hailing was 
founded, as already stated, we cannot find out ; but certain we may 
be that it was originally built for the convenience of pilgrims to good 
St. Thomas' shrine about this time, as they came along the old 
British path, from them called the Pilgrims' Way, since it conveniently 
stood near that track after they had passed Paddlesworth church, 
and was possibly placed near one of the turnings where they left the 
road to cross the river Medway. The Normans built their churches 
from material found close at hand, till they imported Caen stone 
later on. Thus the sarson stones, greensand rock, the latter some- 
times used when coated with iron, perhaps for ornament, and tufa, 
which has been found even lately at East Mailing, formed their 
materials in Kent. . Though many people trace their family to the 
Norman Conquest, it is a fact that in this district we have but few 
names amongst those who held the manors to record in this chapter, 
which reaches down to the time of John. 

The manor of Addington at the time of the Conquest was in the 
possession of Odo, Bishop of Baieux, and was held by William de 
<5urnay from him. 

The manor of Allington was the property, as has been already 
stated, of Harold's brother Gurth at the time of the Conquest ; from 
him it passed to Odo, from whom Anschitil held it ; it then became 
in succession the property of William de Warenne and of Lord 
Fitzhugh, whose daughter conveyed it to Sir Gyles de Allington. 
Warrenne is said to have fortified it. The place is already stated 
to have possessed a castle in Saxon times, which was razed to the 
ground by the Danes. Philpott declares the castle to have been the 
erection of William de Columbarius in Stephen's time, but we are 
inclined, from circumstances which we shall speak of in the next 
chapter, to hold this castle of later date. 

Aylesford manor was the property of the king. It is said to have 
been held by Estrangea in 1157, a name wonderfully like a stranger, 
and not ill-fitted to the men of Norman and French times. In the 
ninth year of King John it was held by Osbert de Giflard, whose 
father appears to have held it before him from 1175 1185. 

* Whales are still caught in the bishopric, one being taken near Graves- 
end in 1883, and one at Gillingham on August 30th, 1888, as shown by the 
published records of the Rochester Naturalist Club, and as mentioned in our 
appendix. 



18 MEMORIES Of MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Birling also became the property of the Bishop of Baieux, from 
whom it was held by Ralph de Curbespina (Crookthorn).* This 
family continued till the reign of Henry II., and were succeeded in 
the estate by Magminot de Wakelin, who died without children in 
1191, when Alice, his sister, carried the property to Geoffry, second 
son of William de Say ; but the living was granted to the monks ot 
Bermondsey, with whom it continued till the Reformation. 

Ditton, which consisted of the manor of Sifletone as well as that 
of Ditton, with the appendant manor of Brampton, was all held by 
the Bishop of Baieux, of whom Hamo, the sheriff, held Ditton and 
Brampton, and Vitulus, Sifleton. These manors reverting to the 
crown soon afterwards, appear to have become the property of 
the Earls of Gloucester. 

The ancient manor of Tottington, in Aylesford, we are told, in 
these days was held by Robert Malgerius de Rokesley and Robert 
de Rokesley, who paid tithe to the monks of St. Andrew; their 
landlord was Odo. Richard Fitz Turold held Eccles, which soon after 
came into the same hands as Tottington. Odo also possessed the 
manors of Paddlesworth and Ryarsh. As the latter was held by Hugh 
de Port, and the former by Hugo, it may be that the same person 
had them both. Early in John's reign we find William de Crescie 
held the manor of Ryarsh. Paddlesworth became the possession of 
the Chetwynds, who changed it with Hamo de Gatton, of Throwley, 
who sold it to Sir William de Huntingfield, whom we find Lord 
Warden of the Cinque Ports in the time of King John. Offhani 
was another manor that belonged to the king's half-brother, Odo, 
who let this also to Hugh, but afterwards to Anschitil ; it reverted 
to the crown, together with other manors, after Odo's disgrace. 

At Preston, near Aylesford, stands an old barn dated 1102, with 
" T. C. " on it the initials of Thomas Colepepyr ; but the arms 
quartered, as well as the writing, are later than Edward III. We, 
however, find Sir Thomas Colepepper was a judge in the time of 
King John. East Mailing, as has been already stated, was in the 
hands of the archbishop. West Mailing, after being held a short 
time by Odo, was given up to the see of Rochaster, and its fortunes 
we have followed. That prelate also possessed the manors of Hailing, 
Trottescliffe, and Snodland or Esnoiland. 

The palace of Hailing was another construction of Gundulf's, and 
was built in 1077; it was rebuilt by Gilbert de Glanville in 1185. 
It is possible that when Richard, Archbishop of Canterbury, died 
there in 1 1 84, from fright it is said at what he had seen in a dream, 
if the place were out of repair, the howling of the north-east wind in 
the gorge of the Medway may have had something to do with it. 

Gundulf had the manor of Trottescliffe to support his table, and 
as part of the bishop's share of the spoils when Odo was compelled to 
restore the lands of the monks of St. Andrew's in 1293. The bishop 
* Crookhorn wood still keeps up the name. 



NORMAN TIMES (10661216). 19 

being called upon to prove the right he had to the manor, claimed 
it from time beyond memory ; the palace was in ruins when Gilbert 
Glanvil came to the see, but it was then rebuilt, and became a 
favourite dwelling-place of the Bishops of Rochester. The manor of 
Leybourne was possessed by Odo, Bishop of Baieux, and soon after it 
reverted to the king, who had given in marriage Amy, daughter and 
heiress of Robert Fitzgerald. Charles Seymour, who wrote a survey 
of the cities, towns, and villages in the county of Kent under 
Leybourne, tells us that " Sir William Arsick was the owner of 
Leybourne in the time of William the Conqueror, and Lord Leybourne, 
of an ancient and illustrious family there, was at the same time 
possessed of the castle built by his ancestors: it was a place of 
strength." It would, however, appear that Leybourne Castle is not 
older than Norman times. In the year 1194, we find Sir Philip 
de Leybourne died in possession of the manor, which then passed 
to his son Robert de Leybourne, whose son, the first Sir Roger de 
Leybourne, was in arms when quite a youth against King John with 
his brother barons, was taken at the siege of Rochester Castle, and 
had to pay two hundred and fifty marks for his liberty, which he did 
not regain till the following year. The oldest of the buildings of 
which the ruins now remain were probably antecedent to that date. 
These were on the south side of the enceinte, and were on the plan 
followed in all manor houses of Norman as well as Saxon times, 
and perpetuated in our collegiate buildings. On the western side 
we have the remains of the vestibule, with the sewery for the 
storing of linen and provisions, and the buttery for wine and beer. 
There must have been a drawbridge over the moat, about 20 ft. 
to the westward of the vestibule. The vestibule would be con- 
nected by a porch with the hall, which was the principal building 
of the castle, being used in the day-time as the banqueting-room 
and sitting-room, and at night as a dormitory. 

Facing the upper end of the hall was the solar, the private room 
of the lord of the castle, over the cellar. There are no remains of 
the chamber itself, but the building which must have been connected 
with it is perfect and interesting. Its lower portion was connected 
with the cellar by a square shaft, of which the part is on a level 
with the second story, and at the further side, which is the east 
end of a vaulted passage, 2| ft. wide, 7 ft. high, and if we include 
the top of the shaft, 8 ft. in length. There are four apertures, viz. : 
the doorway, the shaft, the upper part of a large arched window 
over the shaft, and a small aperture on the north side. Above the 
shaft, on the north and south sides of it, are cavities in the stone- 
work, evidently designed to receive the ends of a beam or roller, 
over which a cord might be passed for the purpose of drawing up 
things, and possibly persons also, there being no internal staircase 
to the solar. It was built close to the moat. 

What is now the north wall of this arched passage must have 



20 MEMORIES OF MALL ING AND ITS VALLEY. 

been part of the inner wall of the solar. It is throughout of good 
workmanship, and was very strongly built, which has led to its 
preservation. Immediately below the passage there is an arched 
doorway, communicating with the chamber below. This lower 
chamber apparently was the lady's bower. It was nearly circular, 

21 ft. in diameter, and it was provided on the south side with 
a row of seats, formed by carrying up the full thickness of the 
wall only for a short distance from the ground. At a distance of 
38 ft. from the buildings above described, proceeding northward, 
are the remains of buildings which must have been the chapel, with 
small rooms for the priest and other officials built to the west of 
it, and to the south of the passage leading to it. The chapel rtmst 
have been a remarkably fine building. The entrance to it was by 
an arched porch and a passage of 20 ft. in length, and the red 
sandstone jambs of the doorway of the chapel are very perfect. 

The greater part of the north wall remains, but it has been much 
altered, first by the erection of a dwelling-house on the remains of 
the chapel late in the sixteenth century, and again by the conversion 
of this into a farmhouse in the early part of the eighteenth 
century. 

The nave, as was usual in chapels of that age, was divided into two 
stories. The upper chamber was for the lord of the castle, his 
family and his guests, and the lower one for the other inmates of the 
castle. They were separated from the sacrarium by screens, and 
as they were not consecrated they were used for other purposes 
than those connected with religious worship. The sacrarium, which 
was consecrated, was the whole height of the building. When the 
dwelling-house was built the walls of the chapel were raised and 
a third story was added. Fireplaces were formed for the first and 
second stories, with a long chimney. The fact of these having been 
of that later date is shown by distinct lines of demarcation between 
the masonry of the wall and that of the chimneys. A fireplace 
was also formed on the third story, which had no chimney ; the 
smoke having been carried into the long chimney by a short lateral 
flue. 

Chambers were formed at this time over the sacrarium. Their 
comparatively modern date is shown by the fact that the joists of 
the floor were let into the wall : whereas in the original building 
these were affixed to beams supported by corbels. When the 
dwelling-house was converted into a farmhouse, the chapel was 
turned into a dairy. The two floors which had been placed over 
the sacrarium were removed, and the space which had been oc- 
cupied by the fireplace, in the third story, was filled up with 
stones built into the level of the wall; the chimney place having 
been built in with them, its face remaining so as to show its 
position. These details of an ordinary dwelling-house have led to 
the general belief that the building has never been a chapel ; but 



NORMAN TIMES (10661216). 21 

a careful and minute examination shows this opinion to be entirely 
erroneous. 

The fact that the original building was a chapel, and that it 
could have been nothing else, may be proved by the following 
evidence : First, by its orientation, and by the remains of narrow 
windows in the eastern wall. Secondly, by its eastern half having 
been of the full height of the building, while its western half, or 
nave, was divided into two stories. Thirdly, by the distinctly 
ecclesiastical character of the north window of the sacrarium, which 
was evidently divided by a central pillar into window lights, with 
pointed arches formed of Caen stone ; there are no remains of the 
pillar or of the keystone, but the voussoirs which were on either 
side of it remain, and on the lower side of each of these there is a 
triangular incision, showing the position of the tops of the pointed 
arches, and in one of them a fragment of the Caen stone remains. 
Fourthly, by the distinct remains of an Easter sepulchre, such as 
are to be found in a few old English churches, but never before, 
so far as I have been able to learn, in any castle chapel : it 
projects about 8 in. from the north wall at its eastern end, and 
is recessed for 2 ft. into the main wall. A stone which formed part 
of an ornamental arch has been found by the author of this book 
among the rubbish ; this stone was the segment of an arch with a 
radius of 2 ft. 6 in., and as the width between the imposts on the 
two sides of the sepulchre was 4 ft. 8 in., the stone was probably 
part of a semicircular arch over the sepulchre ; it is chamfered on 
its lower side, and the chamfered portion, as well as its inferior 
surface throughout, is covered with fine red cement. Fifthly, by a 
corbel stone, which must have been placed there for the support of 
a rood beam at its north end ; its distance from the east wall is 
14 ft. 3 in., and its height above the ground 5 ft. 6 in. Allowing 
2 ft. for the length of the wall-piece rising from it, this would 
make the height of the rood beam 7 ft. above the floor of the 
chapel ; from the position of the corbels which supported the 
beams of the floor of the second story of the nave, the rood beam 
would appear to have been about 2 ft. to the eastward of it, and 
8 ft. lower ; of the three corbels which supported that floor two 
remain, and the third was removed when the fireplaces were made. 
Sixthly, the roof of the building had arches, supported by corbels 
24 ft. above the ground. The corbels in the north wall remain 
at the east and west ends : the intermediate corbel must have been 
removed for the construction of the fireplace in the third story of 
the sixteenth-century building. The length of the chapel was 
29 ft., and its width 24 ft., and there was probably a Mary chapel, 
or chantry, on the south side. If there was a partition wall, 
every vestige of it must have disappeared when the chapel was 
converted into a dairy. 

Sir William de Leybourne, who alienated Leeds Castle to the 



22 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Crown as we shall have occasion to mention in 1276, returned to 
Leybourne ; and then, no doubt, he built the gatehouse to the 
castle, which was not a usual addition to these buildings before the 
reign of Edward I. The gateway was strongly and scientifically 
fortified. The towers projecting before the main walls are pierced 
with loopholes ; besides the portcullis there is a water-cullis, for 
throwing down water to prevent the gates from being destroyed by 
fire. Provision was made for an ample supply of water for this 
means of defence, by an aqueduct communicating with the moat and 
passing under the west tower, from which there is a shaft rising 
up into the tower. In the west tower, which was washed by the 
water of the moat, are a series of foot log-holes, by which a wooden 
gallery could be carried across the front and to the west side of it, 
serving as an advanced position for the defenders, and a passage 
for them to and from the interior. 

The author is indebted for the above remarks on Leybourne 
Castle to the Rev. J. H. Timins, Vicar of West Mailing. They 
were read before the Kent Archaeological Society in July 1891, 
and objection taken to the Easter tomb ; but the author himself 
discovered the stone mentioned in the above article, and is certain 
it could have been part of no other arch but one over such a tomb. 

Twice, if not more, this valley in those times must have been 
the scene of war ; for if it escaped the ravages of William the 
Conqueror, probably Rufus marched through these possessions of 
Odo, after defeating the proud prelate at Tonb.ri.dge, and John, 
after his victory at Rochester, if not before, ravaged the lands of 
the Kentish barons here who opposed him. Mr. St. John Hope, 
of the Society of Antiquaries, is of opinion that the two shafts 
led to the places of the gardes-robe of the castle, and that there was 
undoubtedly a chapel, but that it was on the first story the two 
drum towers, as any one can see, are of much later date. The port- 
cullis arrangements were much praised by him, but he ignored the 
water-cullis. It may perhaps be worth while to mention that all 
persons who know anything of antiquarian research doubt the 
vulgar tradition that there was an underground passage from the 
church to the castle. Richard de Tonebriclge possessed land, in 
the time of the Conqueror, in Aylesford, Hailing, Leybourne, 
Offham and West Mailing. 

This old ruin, which stands close to the Rochester road to Mailing, 
forms with the church a very picturesque scene. The late Sir 
Joseph Hawley had this ancient ruin cared for and enclosed in 
a fence, so that, though there is no dwelling-place at the castle, it 
is kept safe from wanton depredation. 

Amongst other relics of this period are the churches of all these 
parishes except Hailing, which contain more or less Norman architec- 
ture. Parker speaks very highly, especially of the piscina of Ryarsh 
church in his Glossary, as a specimen of the work of this era. 



NORMAN TIMES (10661216). 



23 



At this period we have the earliest mention of the names of any 
parish priests; we accordingly give them, with the accompanying 
archbishops and bishops of Rochester, from the end of Henry I.'s 
reign: 



Date. 


Archbishops of 
Canterbury. 


Bishops of Rochester. 


Rector of Allington. 


Vicar of 
Ayleaford. 


1132 


William Corboil 


Ascelin 


Robert de Donam 




1138 


Theobald 










... 


1148 


... 


Walter de Canterbury 








Jordan 


1162 


Thomas a Becket 


... ... ... 










1174 


Richard 


... ... 










1182 




Gualeran 










1184 


Baldwin 


... 








... 


1185 




Gilbert de Glanville 










1193 


Hubert Waiter 


... 










1207 


Stephen Langton 


... 










1215 





Benedict de Sansetum 











CHAPTEK V. 

THE THIiEE EDWARDS (1216 1399). 

fT^HE times of Henry III., the three Edwards, and Richard II. 
were stirring times in the history of our valley, owing to the 
various disputes between the barons and the kings, the Crusades, 
and perhaps also the Scotch and French wars. In these we find 
the family of the De Leybournes, whose castle we described in the 
last chapter, coming to the front as representatives of our valley. 
The Sir Roger who was freed from Rochester Castle appears to have 
had a son, another Sir Roger, a veritable knight of those days. We 
agree with Rev. Lambert Larking in this matter, that Dugdale is 
wrong in considering that there was only one Roger de Leybourne, 
for one of the greatest arguments against this is that the rebel baron 
of 1215 could hardly have been at Evesham fight in 1265. But in 
Henry III.'s rolls we actually find Roger de Leybourne described as 
" patrem predicti Rogeri " ; it would appear the first Sir Roger died 
about 1251. The first mention of the Kentish knights and squires 
in these tumultuous times is that of Hugh de Crescie, who held a 
manor called Crescie Park, in Trottescliffe ; he also possessed the 
manor of Ryarsh. We find him fighting against the King at Lincoln 
(1217), but as he died in 1263 we do not know what side he would 
have taken when the barons were in rebellion. He was succeeded by 
his brother in 1264, who appears to have died shortly afterwards, 
when the family became extinct. 

Aylesford about this time became the property of Lord Richard 
de Grey, of Codnor. He does not appear to have been endued with the 
turbulent spirit of his brother barons, and in 1230 was made Lord 
Warden of the Cinque Ports and Constable of Dover Castle : he went 
soon after to the Holy Land, and returning to England founded the 
first Carmelite priory at Aylesford. Soon after, the first European 
chapter of this order was held in that village. One of the Carmelite 
friars of this period who rose into notoriety was John Stock, so 
called, says Camden, " because he was found in the hollow trunk of 
a tree near this place " (Aylesford). 

In the year 1252, Roger de Leybourne, whose knightly spirit had 
now reached its most turbulent period, murdered Ernulf de Muntney 

24 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 25 

in revenge for injuries received from him at a former joust at the 
round table. (This meeting was so named because previous to the 
joust, that no cause for any malice should arise, the combatants 
partook of refreshment at a round table, to show that no precedence 
could be given to any one.) He received pardon from the king for 
this deed of violence. 

We now come to that period of English history which is called 
the Barons' War, in which the barons tried to prevent the king from 
giving land to foreign favourites, being quite forgetful that they 
themselves were but the sons, or grandsons, or in the third and 
fourth generation of foreign favourites ; and we learn, from the 
pardon obtained next year from the king, that amongst the barons 
who had opposed the king in the Provisions of Oxford, were Sir 
Roger de Leybourne and William de Huntingfield, of Paddles- 
worth. Sir Roger, however, appears from the earliest to have been 
more or less attached to Prince Edward, and thus, contrary to the 
wishes of the general body of barons, he persuaded Edward to go on 
a round of tournaments in France, as they feared that Edward would 
seize the occasion to hire foreign troops. So different was the feeling 
of the queen, that she tried to alienate her son from Sir Roger, 
evidently feeling that he would strive to prevent the prince from 
acting in this unpopular manner. Whatever was the cause, however, 
we soon find the two brothers-in-arms separated for a period, and 
Sir Roger, who was steward of the household, is charged with misap- 
propriating 1000. Being driven to despair, the baron, in company 
with Sir William de Deptling, appears to have found the means of 
subsistence by commanding an armed band, with which he was 
reported to have been making arrangements for an attack upon 
Dover Castle. This, however, was declared frivolous ; nevertheless Sir 
Roger, with others, marched into Wales and Herefordshire, took 
Hereford, and made prisoner Peter de Aqua Blanche, the bishop. 
After this we find him, with Simon de Montfort and others, driving the 
mercenaries through Kent, and finally expelling them from Dover in 
July 1263. 

At this time, it would appear, the song of the Barons was made 
in which the hero is thus described : 

" Et Sire Roger de Leybourne, 
Que sa et la souvent se torne 

Moat a la conquerrant ; 
Assez mist paine de gainer 
Pur ses pertes restorer, 
Que Sire Edward le fit avant." 

[" And Sir Roger de Leybourne, who often turns him on this side and on 
that, made great progress conquering, he laboured much to gain and to restore 
his losses which Lord Edward caused him previously."] 

In September, Sir Roger and several other barons, whose 
quarrel seemed to be over with their monarch as soon as the 



26 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

foreigners were expelled, were pardoned, and joined the king. And 
thus we find Sir Roger fighting bravely for the king at Lewes and 
Northampton, and with many another from this valley he defended 
Rochester Castle against Simon de Montfort in 1264, and was 
wounded at Evesham while assisting the king against the rebels. 
In the pardon of Kenilworth were included Lord John de Grey, of 
Aylesford, who died 1272, and William de Say, of Birling, who died 
1293. 

In 1265 matters in England had become at last settled, and in 
the year 1268 we find Sir Roger exchanges with Crecquer, or Creve- 
queur, Trottescliffe. But this restless baron could not be quiet, though 
he was made Sheriff of Kent (1264-68), also Lord Warden of the 
Cinque Ports ; still he desired more active life, and thus, amongst 
those who followed Prince Edward in his expedition to the Holy 
Land in 1270, we find Roger de Leybourne's name and seal. About 
a year after, on November 7th, 1271, we find Sir William de 
Ley bourne giving in his homage to Henry III. as son and heir of 
Roger de Leybourne, deceased ; thus we conclude that the grand 
old knight was dead, but whether before or after the landing of the 
Crusaders at Acre, which took place at Easter 1271, we cannot tell. 

The heart shrine in Leybourne Church, I consider, has been 
incontestably proved, by the late Mr. Larking, to be the tomb of 
our great Kentish baron ; but for whom the second casket was 
intended it is difficult to determine. Mr. Larking has evidently 
shown why his wife, who survived him, had not her heart deposited 
in the companion niche, she being a second wife, and he being her 
third husband. 

We must be pardoned if, though slightly out of order, we 
conclude the history of the Leybournes. The son of the great 
Sir Roger was Sir William, but he, long before his death, gave up 
his interest in Leybourne ; nevertheless, it is to this owner of the 
castle that this valley was indebted for the only royal pageant it 
seems ever to have witnessed, when, in 1286, Edward I. visited the 
castle of his old companioii-in-arins, and perhaps went into the 
church and saw the famous heart shrine. The two crowns which 
the present rector (Rev. C. C. Hawley) is so anxious about, may 
possibly have something to do with the votive offerings of himself 
and his queen at this period. Sir William was a brave soldier : 
" vaillans horns sans mes e sans si " (a valiant man without buts and 
ifs), as he is described when present at the siege of Caerlaverock in 
1300. He was one of the hundred and four nobles who, headed 
by Bigod, Earl of Norfolk, and Bohun, Earl of Hereford (when 
Boniface wrote to Edward I., ordering him to make peace with the 
Scottish chiefs and nobles, and to send representatives to give 
evidence of his claim within six months to the papal court, in which 
the Pope professed to settle such questions), subscribed a document, 
saying that if Edward proposed to argue the matter before the 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 20 

Pope they would not allow him to stoop so low. This letter was 
written January 20th, 1301. He died in 1309, and two years 
previously his son, Sir Thomas, to whom and his wife he had 
alienated Leybourne, predeceased him. His other son, Sir Henry, 
was one of the most violent and restless men of his day, whose name 
occurs again and again on the Curia Regis as a turbulent ruffian ; 
in 1309 he was one of the knights in the tournament of Stepney, 
got up by the Earl of Lancaster, and as one of his partisans was 
taken at Borough Bridge in 1323, having apparently only been 
released from Scarborough Castle the year before. He was finally 
outlawed. Sir Thomas * left an only daughter, Juliana, commonly 
called, from her enormous possessions, the Infanta of Kent. Juliana 
married John, Lord Hastings, by whom she had a son, Laurence, 
created Earl of Pembroke, who was succeeded by his son John. This 
family became extinct in 1389. She afterwards married William de 
Clinton. She died at Preston-next- Wingham, November 1st, 1367, 
leaving, it would appear, effects worth ,3160 13s. 4c. an enormous 
sum for those days. She confirmed her manors in Kent to trustees 
for her life, with remainder to the king, and for religious uses. 

The De Leybournes seem to have been generous benefactors of 
the Church, especially Sir Roger (perhaps on account of the murder 
he committed) ; being anxious for his soul, he gave lands from his 
estate to the priory of Cumbwell, and also certain properties which 
he had acquired from Ralph Ruffyn, as an endowment to the church at 
Leybourne, for two capellans. Out of this the latter's wife, Feodina, 
received her dower. Sir William de Leybourne confirmed this 
endowment. It appears that Roger Ruffyn trespassed on these 
lands. We learn from Thorpe's Registrum Roffeuse the land was 
in Leybourne and Caumpes, the meadow called Ruffynsmead being 
reserved ; to the original grant Sir William de Leybourne gives five 
marks from the manor of Radleke. The land at Caumpes,f 100 acres, 
still belongs to the glebe of Leybourne. This grant is interesting, 
as giving us the names of the first clergymen we know of connected 
with Leybourne, viz. : Thomas Bacun, who, in order to maintain 
better the chantry founded by Sir Roger in 1279, was allowed to 
hold Leybourne and Langley ; Peter, another rector ; and John, the 
capellan or chaplain. It, moreover, caused several disputes as to 
boundaries between the family of Leybourne and the clergy, and in 

* On the death of Sir Thomas we have the first intimation of Mailing being 
considered an assize town, as the Inquisitio post mortem was held here on 
July 8th, 1307. 

t Great Comp Wood and Comp are still where there is a detached portion of 
Leybourne. All kindsof food except bread and drink are called companage, which 
Spelman interprets : " quicquid cibi cum pane sumitur." In the manor of Fisker- 
ton, Notts, some tenants, when they performed their boons, or work days, had 
three boon loaves with companage. In the time of Mary Wade, widow, there 
was given one parcel of ground to " fynde a compe in the church of Trottescliffe, 
also two garden plotts to fynde two compes, one in the church and the other in 
the chancell." 



28 



MEMORIES OF CALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



the fourth year of Edward II. we learn, through these disputes, that 
Walter de Leghton, or Lecton, was incumbent of Leybourne in 1311, 
and he was still so in 1314. The manor of Leybourne was, it would 
appear, in accordance with the Countess' will, given to the abbey 
of St. Mary Grace's on Tower Hill, upon Sir Simon Burley, who 
had been Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports (1387), and the king's 
governor, being attainted for treason. He was executed, together with 
Tressilian, in the year 1390. We subjoin the pedigree of the De 
Leybournes : 



Sir Philip de Leybourne, 
died 115)4. 



Amia, daughter and heiress of Robert Fitzgerold. 



Sir Robert de Leybourne, =j= Margaret, 
died 1199. 

Sir Roger de Leybourne =f= Alianore, one of the daughters of 

Stephen de Thuruham. 

Alianore, Countess of Winchester. =p Sir Roger de Leybourne, died 1271. 



~ i 



Sir William de Leybourne.=j= Juliana, Roger de Leybourne,=p Idonea Vipont. 



died 1309. 



daughter of 

Sir Henry de 

Sandwico. 



died 1284. 



John de Leybourne. Robert de Leybourne. 



Sir Thomas de Leybourne. Sir Henry de Leybourne, 
died 1307. an outlaw, 1329. 

The late Wykeham Martin, Esq., M.P. for Rochester, of Leeds 
Castle, claimed to be descended from the De Leybournes. Sir Roger's 
arms were d'azure, six lioncels, argent and Sir William's six lions 
rampant, argent. The granddaughter of Sir Roger, Idonea de Say, 
was the ancestress of the Lords de Say and Sele, and it is through 
her the Wykeham Martins claim their descent. 

The manor of Cressy Park, in Trottescliffe, which, as we have seen, 
came to the Crevequeurs in 1248, and for which they obtained full 
rights from the De Leybournes in 1276, went to the Bishop of 
Rochester in 1278. In 1292 Trottescliffe was valued at <6 13s. Id. 
for ploughlands, ,1 5s. for beasts, and 5. for hens a total of 
8 3s. 4d.; in 1360 it had risen to 15 3s. IQd. The Bishop of 
Rochester, after this date, is the sole lord of the manors of Trottescliffe. 

Birling appears to have continued during this period in the hands 
of the De Says, of whom Geoffrey, who succeeded his father William, 
died in the twenty-third year of Edward III. ; William his son 
died twenty-six years afterwards, when the property came to his 
grandson John, who died in 1384, and left the estates to Geoffrey, 
Lord de Say, who, towards the end of Richard II. 's reign, alienated 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 29 

the manors to Richard Fitzallan. Of these Geoffrey and William 
were both summoned to Parliament. 

In Edward I.'s reign the manor of Ryarsh, the remaining 
property of the De Cressie's we have not spoken of, was given to 
the great family of the De Mowbrays. John de Mowbray joined 
the Lancastrians, and was taken at Borough Bridge and hung at 
York (1322) ; nevertheless his son John was received into favour, 
but came to a premature end in the plague (1348). His son 
John was slain by the Turks at Constantinople in 1369. His 
eldest son, John, was created Earl of Nottingham, and was present 
at the coronation of Richard II., but died in 1383, .and was 
succeeded by his brother Thomas, Lord Marshal and Duke of 
Norfolk, the famous peer who quarrelled with Henry of Lancaster, 
then Earl of Hereford, afterwards Henry IV. On account of then- 
disputes Richard banished both the discontented nobles; but our 
Kentish hero did not return, like his more successful rival, and died 
at Venice. His son Thomas succeeded him. 

The castle of Allington, which was surrounded by a moat filled 
from the Medway on three sides, and the Medway itself on the 
fourth, presents us with a fair opportunity of seeing how these 
ancient defences were made, as much of it is very perfect (especially 
the gateway), and will repay a visit. 

In the end of Henry III.'s reign, Stephen de Penchester, who 
was Sheriff of Kent (1269-70), Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports 
(1275), and Judge of Common Pleas, having married Margaret, 
daughter of Hugh de Burgh, acquired this manor, and obtained 
leave from Edward I. to fortify this place, hold a free market, 
and have free warren. This would lead us to think that he really 
was the founder of Allington Castle ; and when we consider that 
there is nothing Norman, apparently, about the place, the date 1300 
seems a good time to consider as that of its erection. The fair 
was held on St. Lawrence's day. He died without children, and was 
buried at Penshurst. By his daughter Margaret it passed to the 
noble family of the Cobhams, of Cobham Hall, in this county, who 
held it till the days of Edward IV. In the year 1307 Stephen 
de Cobham was summoned to Parliament, and died 1333, and was 
succeeded by John de Cobham. 

In the year 1216 King John pardoned William de Cosyngton 
for taking the oath of allegiance to Louis. His son Sir Stephen 
was at the siege of Caerlaverock, and founded the chapel wliich stood 
on the manor for many years. His son Sir William, who was Sheriff 
of Kent 1307, appears to have died here about 1332, and the manor 
continued in the family down to the reign of Henry VIII. The 
chapel dedicated to St. Michael, Thorpe seems to think he traced ; 
but Philpott says that even in his days it was crumbled into so 
desolate a .heap of rubbish that he could hardly trace its form 
amongst its ruins. However, the author and a friend saw distinct 



30 MEMORIES OF MALL2JVG AND ITS VALLEY. 

traces of there having been a manor house and a chapel here this 
year (1892). 

The manor of Tottington was held by Richard de Rokesley of 
Hamo de Crevequeur in Henry II.'s and Edward I.'s reign. In 
Edward II.'s reign, Sir Richard de Rokesley, Governor of Poitou 
and Montreuil, in Picardy, held it. In Edward II.'s reign he left, by 
his wife, daughter of John de Oriol, two daughters, the elder of whom, 
Agnes, married Richard de Poynings, whose son Richard, Lord 
Poynings, died 1383. He founded a free chapel in honour of St. 
Michael, of which Thorpe found traces in his days in an orchard. 
This fact may account for a singular entry in the burial register of 
Aylesford, 1666. " A travelling man, who sold earthen pots and 
other earthenware, being found dead in Thomas Smith's barn, was 
buried in the said Thomas Smith's orchard the seventh day of 
February." If the orchard was the one in which Tottington Chapel 
stood, he may have been buried there because the country folk still 
held it as sacred. There is a farmhouse here now, and many blocks 
of building stone lying about, besides a number of sarsons, but no 
traces can be seen of the ancient manor-house and chapel. 

Of the De Greys of Aylesford, John, whom we have mentioned 
as being pardoned at Kenil worth, died in 1272, and left Henry his 
son as heir ; though he served in Wales, Edward I. brought a trial 
to evict him, which, however, failed, and he died 1309. His son 
Richard obtained royal favour, and gained a market (1331) on 
Tuesday, and a fair on the eve and clay of the Ascension, for Aylesford ; 
he also added three acres to the Carmelite friars' possessions, and 
died 1336. His son John, for his knightly acts, was presented by 
the king with a mantlet of white cloth embroidered with men 
dancing, and having buttons of pearls ; he was exempted also from 
serving in Parliament in the year 1372, and had accoutrements of 
Indian silk with the arms of Penchester bestowed upon him ; he 
died 1393, and was succeeded by his second son, Richard, his eldest 
son, Henry, having predeceased him. Henry de Aylesford, Abbot 
of Battle (1281-97), was a native of Aylesford. In 1272 it is 
noticeable that a felon fleeing into the church of Elsford (Aylesford) 
was declared to have abjured the realm. Aylesford was not subject 
to the Constable of the Hundred. 

The manor of Addington was in the possession of Roger de 
Mandeville and his son Arnold, according to Hasted, in the times 
of Henry III. and Edward I. ; the former of these warranted the 
manor to Roger de Scaccario, and three years later we find the 
said Roger entailed the manor on his wife and son, Laurence, who in 
1271 did homage for it. In Edward III. 's reign, according to Hasted, 
John de la Chekere held it ; and I am inclined to think with Rev. 
T. S. Frampton, that the stones with Lombardic characters in the 
south chapel of the church at Addington are his monument. As Mr. 
Frampton says, they run : S^fljRaffiia : &'$.>'& ... on one stone, 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 31 



and on the other .... E<ZB : 3!2D/f2a/2<E : >< : Ha$eE$<a>. The 
inscription, Mr. Frampton says, may have run : " Sire Johane de 
Leschekere, gist en ce place " ; but though I agree with him as to 
the one stone being the tomb of Sir John, I fancy that possibly the 
other stone may be another tomb of the Chekeres. Nicholas de 
Daggeworth obtained the manor, and alienated it soon after to 
Hugh de Seagrave, who was Steward of the Household and Keeper 
of the Great Seal and Treasurer of England ; he conveyed it to 
Richard Charles, who is buried in the church, and whose monumental 
brass is still nearly perfect. The inscription runs : " Hie jacet 
magister Ricaixlus Charles, qui obiit in festse sanctae. . . . anno 
domini Millesimo CCCLXXVIIL, Cujus animse propicietur Deus" 
(Here lies master Richard Charles, who died on ... of the sacred 
festival ..... in the year of our Lord 1378, on whose soul may 
God have mercy). His daughter Alice, who survived her brother 
Robert, married William Snayth, to whom she conveyed this manor. 
These monuments are the oldest in this neighbourhood. 

The manor of Preston, in Aylesford, was held by Sir Thomas 
Colepepper, judge, in Bang John's days. His son Sir Thomas had 
two children Sir Thomas of Bayhall, in Pembury, and Walter. Sir 
Thomas of Bayhall, in Pembury, had a son John, who was sheriff in 
Edward III.'s time ; his son Sir Thomas was Sheriff of Kent in 
1394 and 1395, and was commissioned with Nicholas atte Crouch to 
go against the rebels Wat Tyler and Jack Straw, the latter of 
.whom was said to have been a native of Offham. At any rate, John 
Sales of Mailing took part in the rebellion, and came to Canterbury 
with a great multitude; but the descendants of the second Sir 
Thomas are those whom we follow as heirs of Preston Hall. Of this 
branch of the family his second son Walter was the founder ; his 
eldest son, Sir Thomas, dying without children, the estates passed to 
Sir Jeffrey, who was Sheriff of Kent in 1366 and 1374. 

Another manor in the parish of Aylesford was called Rowe's Place, 
and was in the possession of Robert Rowe in Edward III.'s reign. 
There are squared stones in the wall of the garden of what is still 
called Rowe's Place, at Eccles, kindly pointed out to me by the 
present owner, that suggest a handsome mansion and probably a 
chapel : Mr. Shaw also kindly informs me that he has ploughed up 
a number of sarsons on his property. 

Offham was held by William de Offham in Henry III.'s time, one 
of whose sisters was married to Stephen de Penchester, his other 
sister, Matilda, claimed a third from Richard de Courtone. Robert 
de Courtone passed the manor to Ralph de Ditton, whose daughter 
Isabella, being granted it, carried it in marriage to Thomas de 
Plumsted : it afterwards went to the Colepeppers. The other manor, 
Goldwell, passed from Robert de Courtone to John de Melford, by 
whom it was conveyed to the Brownes of Beechwood Castle. 

Ditton was held by William de Ditton (1290), of the Earl of 



32 MEMORIES OF MALLINO AND ITS VALLEY. 

Gloucester, in the time of Edward I. He also held Brampton and 
Sifletone. In the reign of Edward II. (1307) Ralph de Ditton, 
who was in 1259 convicted of injustice, and Joan de Leukenoe, 
were owners both of Ditton and Brampton ; these soon after passed 
to the Aldons. Sifletone passed into the hands of Robert de Burgh- 
hersh, Constable of Dover Castle and Lord Warden of the Cinque 
Ports. In 1305 his son Stephen obtained a charter of free warren 
from Edward II. He was succeeded by Bartholomew, Lord Burwash, 
who acquired the three manors, from whom they passed in 1347 
to Thomas de Aldon. He died in 1362, and in 1392 they passed to 
Sir Walter de Pavely, from his family to that of Windsor, whence 
they were sold to Lord Clifford of Clifford, in Herefordshire, in 1392. 
We have already spoken of Walter de Huntingfield * being one of 
those who took part in the Provisions of Oxford. He appears to have 
been in possession of Paddlesworth in 1313, when we learn that he 
and his son John had a dispute with John de Wereslee concerning 
the manor of Paddlesworth, and Dodechirche and Paddlesworth 
churches. Two years previously, Philip de Povenasshe had a dispute 
with Reginald de Boclonde concerning lands in Snodelonde, Berlyngg, 
Paddlesworth and Dodechirche. Now, as the ruin of Dode Church 
stands about a quarter of a mile from a farm called Bocland, these 
disputes are interesting, as showing us how Dowde about this time 
became stitched on to Paddlesworth, and the two parishes virtually 
united ; since it would appear that, being small, and the lord of the 
manor not residing at Buckland, but Paddlesworth, the former was, 
allowed to fall into decay. Richard Charles, of Addington, possessed 
one-third of this manor, which had belonged to Basing in Richard II. 's 
reign. The Povenasshes, who appear to have been long connected with 
this district, had their name still surviving in Punish Hill till a few 
years ago, when the same place got re-named Holly Hill. It maybe 
from the fact that the parishes of Paddlesworth and Dodecirce having 
passed away, Snodland and Birling contested the tithes of this part, 
and it thus got called Holy Hill. 

As the rest of the valley was at this time in the hands of the 
Church, we cannot do better than go on with the Church history of 
the part, which gives us a fair insight into the history of the Church 
of England generally during this period. In the year 1319 Hamo 
de Heth obtained the see of Rochester, and was probably as good a 
specimen of the episcopal bench of his day as could be found. He 
was loyal to a fault to Edward II., yet did not shrink from inform- 
ing him that had he been commanded to preach before him at 
Tunbridge he should have chosen Haman for his subject. He was 
persecuted for being one of the only four bishops who refused to 
agree to Edward II. 's resigning the throne, and would not join in 

* The arms of the Huntingfields were or on a fesse gule, three plates. Robert 
<le Huntingfield's arms are described as a (Vor " a la fess des goules. ct tres torteux 
(Fargent en la fesse." 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 33 

the acclamations of praise to Edward III. ; but when he learnt his 
master had resigned, he joined in the act of the coronation of his son, 
and in the same year, in Lent, dined with the king. 

It is from this bishop's time that the registers of Rochester 
are well kept, beginning in 1326. At this period the parishes of 
Snodland and Hailing had vineyards in them, showing how much 
better our fathers knew the use of the sunny southern slopes of 
the downs than the present holders; for it would appear that 
they made wine of the grapes, and certain of the bishop's tenants 
in Hailing and Snodland had to gather blackberries to mix with 
the grapes, to make a beverage which the bishop then thought 
fit for the board of Edward II. Perhaps this mixture may have 
been the origin of Port. Soon after this we find the bishop repair- 
ing the palaces of Hailing and Trottescliffe, and at this period 
we notice the chapels in these palaces were the scenes of his and 
his successors' ordinations. His statue, we are told, was outside the 
palace in Hailing, and being blown down about 1720 was presented 
by Dr. Thorpe to Bishop Atterbury : what became of it after is un- 
known. 

It would appear that all Hailing was not under the Bishop 
of .Rochester as Trottescliffe was (where Hamo also restored the 
palace) ; but the manor of Langridge belonged to Adam de Bavent^ 
whose son Roger shared the estate with John Melford, lord of the 
manors of Offhani and Goldwell in Offham in 1347. On De Ba vent's 
death, in 1 358, John Melford possessed the whole manor, which, after 
continuing some time in his family, was at last alienated to the 
Raynvells. The bishop also possessed Snodland, or as it is called in 
Domesday Book, Esnoiland. 

Hamo de Heth, in 1323, built a mill here ; possibly where the 
present mill on Holborough brook is. 

The Palmers were tenants here during the period we are now 
considering. Greenwood tells us of a quaint epitaph once in Snod- 
land Church : 

" Palmers al our faders were, 
I, a Palmer, lived here ; 
And travylled till worne wythe age. 
I ended this world's pylgremage 

On the blest Assention daie, 

In the cheerful month of Maie, 

A thousand wyth four hundred seven, 

And took my journey hence to Heaven." 

This epitaph, however, appears to have been gone in Thorpe's time 
as he does not mention it. This family continued in Snodland down 
to 1660, as we have in the registers of the parish the following 
entries : 

1607. Mr. William Palmer was buried the first day of June. 

1607. John Handsylde, gent, and Mary Palmer, were married the first of July. 

3 



34 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1608. Bridget, the daughter of William Palmer, was baptised the third day of 

July. 
1612. Buried was Joan Palmer, the widow of William Palmer, gent, the 19th 

day of February. 

1631. Buried was Elizabeth Palmer, ye wife of Will Palmer, gent. being 

Saturday paid for her interring in the Church, July 23rd, 6*. Sd. 

1632. William Palmer was buried, and paid for his interringe in ye Church. 

6s. 8d., on Easter Monday. 
1646. Samuel, the sonne of Thomas Palmer, was baptised the third of 

April. 
1659. Thomas Palmer was buryed April the eighth. 

The ancient manor of Veles belonged to the family of Vitulus, 
or Veles, from whom it borrowed its name in the thirteenth century. 
In 1209 Ralph Camerarius gave land to the wife of Robert Vitulus, 
in Sifleton, Aylesford, Ryarsh, and Farleigh : thence Veles was 
transferred to Blunts, Turvyes, and Harveys in turn. 

Holloway Court, also in Snodland, was in the possession of Henry 
de Holloway in Henry III.'s reign. In Edward I.'s thirtieth year, 
1302, William de Holloway had inherited it, and from him it passed 
to the Tylghmans, of whom we shall speak in the next chapter. 

In 1272 Archbishop Boniface confirmed the grants of Hallingas, 
Snodelonde, Trottesclyve, and Mallingas to the monasteries. 

In 1295 Solomon de Rochester was fined and imprisoned by 
Edward I., with other judges. He was a justice itinerant, and appears 
to have lived at Snodland, the parson of which parish, Wynand de 
Dryland, has come down to us as one of the first known clergymen 
of the place ; but with the unenviable notoriety of having poisoned 
his unfortunate parishioner. 

East and West Mailing were at this period both under the rule 
of the abbey, of which the following is an historical sketch : In 
the year 1278 the abbess claimed certain liberties granted by Henry 
III., and a market, weekly, on Wednesday and Saturday this was 
held in Dugdale's time, but has now long been discontinued; and 
though an attempt to resuscitate it was made in this century, it failed. 
In 1272 we learn that a man was attached in Mailing market for 
debt, and they threatened to carry him to Tonbridge Castle and 
keep him till the money was paid. West Mailing was not subjected, 
we understand, to the Constable of the Hundred at this period. 
The abbess also claimed, as granted by King John, to have out- 
f angtheof and warren on all her lands at Mailing ; and to hold fairs, 
as granted by King Henry, time beyond memory, on the eve, day, 
and morrow of St. Matthew, which would be October 9th, 10th, and 
llth; and on the eve and day of St. Leonard, November 16th and 
17th; and on St. Peter ad Vincula, August 12th (old style). The 
fair on November 17th is still maintained, and Messrs. Codlin & 
Short's puppets, Mrs. Jarley's wax-works, with toys and ginger- 
bread, worn-out horses, and hot sausages, still attract an admiring 
crowd. In 1292 Edward I. granted such franchises to the nunnery 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 35 

that Mailing became an important place, and losing its old title of 
Little Mailing, received the name of Town Mailing instead. The 
abbess paid annually to the see of Rochester, at this time, a boar 
and 10 Ibs. of wax. In 1321 the bishop proceeded to appoint 
Agnes de Leybourne abbess, on account of the affairs of the nunnery 
having been badly managed The abbess complained of was one of 
the powerful family of the De Badlesmeres, of whom Bartholomew 
was the head at this time his nephew was Bishop of Lincoln. 
His wife refused Queen Isabella admission to Leeds Castle on 
October 13th, 1321 : she was imprisoned for this conduct, and De 
Badlesmere lost, for the time, his land. Now we learn that the 
Bishop of Rochester, a great friend of Edward II. 's, visited the 
abbey, and heard the complaint of the nuns at the king's request ; 
and though the nunnery was said to be ruined by her bad manage- 
ment, he did not allow them to choose and himself assent to and 
nominate the new abbess, which he would have done had the com- 
plaint come by the ordinary channel of his clergy. We can thus 
easily fancy that the " She-wolf of France " really caused the disgrace 
of the abbess because of the insult offered to her by one who was so 
nearly related to the abbess as Lady de Badlesmere, whose sister-in- 
law she most probably was, and at any rate one of a family whose 
power Isabella feared would upset the plans of herself and Mortimer. 
In 1324 the bishop, on the death of Agnes de Leybourne, appointed 
Laura de Retling, but forbade her to give a corrodium * to her maid. 
He further sequestered the common seal of the abbey, inhibiting its 
being used without the bishop's permission the seal, we are told, 
represented the Virgin crowned, under a Gothic canopy, with the 
Holy Jesus in her right hand and a sceptre in her left ; in a niche 
a figure praying. The motto ran : " Sigillum commune Monasterii 
Beatse Marise, de West Mailing." 

In 1339 a dispute arose about the tithes of West Mailing, when 

* A corrodium, or corrody, signifies a sum of money, or an allowance of meat, 
drink, and clothing, due to the king from an abbey or other house whereof 
he was the founder, towards the sustentation of such a one of his servants as 
he thought fit to bestow it upon. The difference between a corrody and pension 
seems to be that a corrody was allowed towards the maintenance of any of the 
king's servants in an abbey, and a pension was.given to one of the king's chap- 
lains, for his better maintenance, till he was provided with a benefice, and as to 
both of these see Fitz, Nat. Brit., fol. 250, where are set down all the corrodies 
and pensions that our abbeys, when they were standing, were obliged to pay 
the king. Corrody is ancient in our laws, and it is mentioned in Staundf. 
Prcerog. 44 ; and by the Statute of Westminster, c. 2, s. 25, it is ordained that 
an assize shall lie for a corrody. It is also apparent by statute 34 & 35 Hen. 
VIII., c. 26, that corrodies belonged sometimes to bishops and noblemen from 
monasteries ; and in the new terms of law it is said that a corrody may be 
due to a common person, by grant from one to another, or by common right 
to him ; that is, a founder of a religious house not holden in frankalmoigne, 
for that tenure was a discharge of all corrodies in itself. By this book it 
likewise appears that a corrody is either certain or uncertain, and may not be 
only for life, or years, but in fee. 



86 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Robert de Beulton, the vicar, was granted the lesser tithes, and the 
personal tithesi n Holyrode Street and Tan Street;* the greater 
tithes and the prebend's house were to belong to the abbey. The 
vicar, in return for the lesser tithes, was to find everything for the 
use of the church bread and wine for the sacraments, processional 
tapers, lights for the chancel, accustomed minister's rochets, surplices, 
unconsecrated napkins, vessels, basins, and green rushes to strew 
the church if necessary. The document recording this speaks of 
two streets in Mailing Holyrode Street and Tan Street; and of 
two inhabitants Thomas atte Shoppe and William Cake. 

In 1348 the plague called the biack death, which spread from China 
over Europe, was said to have been introduced into this country 
by our soldiers from franco. It appears to have carried off two 
abbesses of Mailing, as Hamo de Heth instituted two abbesses in one 
year ; in the neighbouring parish of Addington four rectors were 
appointed; and three Archbishops of Canterbury were also con- 
secrated in the same year. At this time Sir John Lorkyn was 
perpetual curate of East Mailing, and he obtained from the arch- 
bishop the augmentation of the living of East Mailing, for himself 
and his successors, by the addition of all oblations and offerings of 
what kind soever made in the chapel of St. John Newhythe. This 
chapel still forms a cottage behind Newhythe Street, and has an 
Early English piscina, which the unlettered peasant who lives there 
informed the writer was the cupboard where the Romans kept their 
idols ! Sir John Lorkyn also obtained from the revenues of the 
nunnery at West Mailing an addition to the income of himself and 
his successors from the archbishop, the abbess and convent being 
desirous of providing a proper support for the vicar : " It was 
decreed and ordained that the vicar and his successors should have 
the mansion belonging to the vicarage, with the gardens of it ; and 
six acres and three roods of arable land ; and two acres of meadow ; 
which they used to have in past times, free and discharged from the 
payment of tithes. Together with the herbage of the cemetery of 
the church, and the trees growing on it, and the tithes of silva 
cedua, lambs, wool, pigs, geese, ducks, eggs, chickens, calves, cheese 
and the produce of the dairy, pigeons, hemp and flax, apples, pears, 
pasture, honey, wax, beans planted in gardens, and of all other seeds 
whatsoever sown in them. And also the tithes of sheaves arising 
from orchards or gardens dug with the foot, together with the 
tithes as well of the cattle of the religious in their manors or lands 
wheresoever situated within the parish, either bred up, feeding, or 
lying there ; and of all other matters above mentioned being within 
the said manors arid lands, as of the cattle and matters of this sort, 
of all others whatsoever arising within the parish ; and further, that 
the vicar and his successors ministering in the church should take 
at all future times all manner of obligations, as well in the parish 
* Now Swan Street and Frog Lane. 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 37 

church as in the chapel of St. John, at Newhythe in this parish, 
and all other places within it then or in future. And the tithes of 
businesses of profit, of butchers, of carpenters, brewers, and other 
artificers and tradesmen whatsoever, to this church in any wise 
belonging ; and likewise the residue of the paschal loaf after the 
breaking of the same, and legacies then or which afterwards might 
be left to the high altar, and the rest of the altars or images. And 
he decreed that only the tithes of the two mills in this parish 
belonging to the religious, and also the great tithes of sheaves and 
of hay whatsoever, arising within the parish, should in future belong 
to the abbess and convent. And he taxed this portion of the vicar 
at ten marcs sterling, yearly value, according to which he declared 
that the vicar should pay the tenth whenever the same ought to 
be paid in the future, and that the vicar for the time being shoxild 
undergo the burden of officiating in this church, either by himself 
or some other fit priest, in divine services, and in finding of bread 
and wine for the celebration of the sacraments, and of the two 
processional tapers as heretofore ; and that he should receive and 
undergo all other profits and burthens otherwise than as before 
mentioned." 

The vicarage is valued, we are told by Hasted, in the king's books 
at 10 8s. 4<2., and the yearly tenths at 1 0*. lOd. 

In 1349 Hamo de Heth, going on a visitation, found the monas- 
teries of Lessness and Mailing were so decayed as to be hardly 
restorable. 

It may be worth while to mention that Lessness Abbey, near 
Belvedere, in Kent, did not last till the Restoration ; but Henry 
VIII. granted it to Cardinal Wolsey (with the sanction of Pope 
Clement), who gave the abbot a small sum of money and turned out 
the monks to shift for themselves. We subjoin a list of the abbesses 
of Mailing so far as we have succeeded in finding them during this 
period : 

Avicia, the first abbess, who was appointed by Gundulf (and took 
the oath we have mentioned) in Henry I. 's reign. 

De Badlesmere : this abbess was the one who was dethroned by 
Hamo de Heth, or de Hythe, at the desire of Edward II. 

Agnes de Leybourne, chosen by Hamo in 1322 ; she died in 1324. 

Laura de Retling, chosen as her successor and refused a corrody. 

Elizabeth Grapnel, a nun of Mailing, so described, and custodian of 
St. Leonards in 1343, may possibly have been abbess. 

Guester de Bonasge, appointed 1344. 

Isabella de P(ar)h(a)m was appointed in the year 1349 by Haymo 
de Hethe the only one of the three abbesses said to be appointed in 
this year in William de Dene's Life of Haynio de Hythe that I find 
in the Rochester register. 

In addition to the abbesses, the abbey had a dignitary who offi- 
ciated in the abbey church, named the Prebend of the High Mass; 



38 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY, 

of those that belonged to this period the following have been 
preserved: Thomas de Alkharu, 1328; Radulph Roach; John 
Watson. 1392, also Vicar of West Mailing; John Graunger, 1392; 
Colne de alba Clara ; Thomas Gerard, 1398. 

Besides the abbey of Mailing, we have at this time various notices 
of certain chapelries that had sprung up in the neighbourhood, which 
we subjoin : Gregorie de Elmham, Vicar of Aylesford, in 1285 was 
ordered to say prayers at Cosyngton, which chapel is declared to 
belong to St. Mary's Hospital in Strood. In 1330 John Tredelant 
was licen^d to the Hermitage of Longsole (long pond), near Banning 
Heath; he was succeeded by Robert de Kilnardeby, 1337; he by 
Galfridus ELert de Debenham, 1341 ; and he by Stephen Fynamour in 
1351. Besides these we have mentioned, John Mold was chaplain in 
1391, Reginald Herbe in 1453, and John Rodes in 1462. 

In 1422 an inquiry was made as to whether this chapel belonged 
to Aylesford or Allington. Thorpe tells us that a manor pound of 
Allington is fixed near it, through which the inhabitants of both 
parishes go to beat the bounds, and one rut of the road leading from 
Aylesford to Barming Heath is repaired by Allington, and the other 
by Aylesford. The lords of Allington Castle were the patrons of this 
chapel. In Thorpe's days the old chapel was used for a barn ; the 
walls had great breaches in them, and were damaged by putting in 
barn doors. The door-case of the chapel, at the west end, was still 
remaining, and the farmer remembered there was a door like a 
church door in the framing and finishing. There was also another 
old door-case still visible inside the barn, in the east wall on the 
north side of the altar of the chapel. A barn now occupies what 
remains of the ancient building. This chapel gives a protest against 
the foolish arrangement of this year, by which Allington has been 
transferred from the Mailing to the Sutton deanery ; a transaction 
contrary to geographical and all historical and ecclesiastical con- 
siderations. 

The Carmelites at this time increased considerably at Aylesford. 
John Ringer desired to give them a priory, but died before doing so ; 
but the friars petitioned for this and obtained it in 1369. In 1396 
Richard of Maidstone was buried in the priory, and in 1404 the king 
granted them a spring and land (from henceforth, no doubt) called 
Haly (Holy) Garden in the parish of Burham. 

The Friars has been turned into a modern dwelling-house. On 
the gateway we see the crest of the Sedleys, and the date 1590. The 
drawing- and dining-rooms have their ceilings beautifully decorated. 
There is a niche where one of the friars is supposed to have been 
entombed in the walls. The arches of the cloisters can still be 
traced. On a wall are two paintings : one of the learned monk, 
which says : 

"Richard Maidstone, S.T.P., friar in this priory, died 1396 and 
was buried in this cloister. 



THE THREE EDWARDS (12161399). 39 

Quid cupit hie servire deo nisi semper et ease 
Pacificum, Isetum, nilque perire bonum, 
Sic Fovet Ecclesiatn statuens Statuum moderamen 
Sternere ne liceat quod statuere patres." 

The other is that of the founder, whose inscription runs : " Richard 
Lord Grey de Codnor, founded this Carmelite House 1240, on his 
return from Jerusalem." In the windows are several shields. 

The chapel of St. Laurence at Upper Hailing is first mentioned 
in 1348, when Thomas Glanville was appointed chaplain. In 1369 
Thomas Watton, canon of South Mailing, changed with Walter 
Dautre the chaplain ; he was followed, it would appear, by John 
Bromyng, who in 1397 was succeeded by John Hall. 

The chief men of this part of Kent had, during this period, two 
grand opportunities of recording their names : one on the occasion of 
the payment to knight Henry III.'s son, and the other on the pay- 
ment to knight the Black Prince. On these memorable occasions the 
parishes were thus represented : 

On the first occasion : Allington by Robert Longchamp. Aylesford 
by Richard de Grey ; by Richard de Rokesly, representing Totting- 
ton for Hamo le Crevecouer, and Eccles for the Count of the Isle; 
and by John Marsh for Preston. Birling by Robert de Engebergh 
for William de Say. Ditton by Ralph Schoford for the Earl of 
Gloucester, and William de Sifleton and William de Brampton for 
Ralph Schoford. Hailing, under Reginald Cobham, was paid for by 
Adam de Langereche, Peter de Camera, Roger de Bavent, Thomas 
le Chivaler and William Martyn. Snodland and Trottescliffe were 
paid for, the former by Reginald Harynges, Henry de Pevenseye, 
Anselin Lad and Richard Veal ; and the latter by Hugh de Cressye 
for the Bishop of Rochester. Ralph Chetwind paid for Paddles- 
worth, John Malterre for Offham, Roger Mowbray for Ryarsh, and 
Walter de Berstede and Roger de Leybourne for the manor of Ewell 
in Mailing. 

To knight the Black Prince the assessments were : Lord John 
Grey for Aylesford, 40s. William de Clinton for Leybourne, 10s. 
The wife of William Lybaude for Tottington and Eccles, 30s. (in 
Aylesford). Thomas de Aldon for Sifleton in Ditton, 20s. John 
of Cobham for Allington, 20s. Nicholas de Dag worth for Addington, 
40s. Thomas de Ditton and John Melford for Offham, 40s. Thomas 
de Aldon for Brampton and Ditton, 30s. The Parson of Leybourne 
for Great Comp in Leybourne, 16s. John de Huntingfield for 
Paddlesworth, 16s. Lord Wilfrid de Say for Mailing and Ewell, 
20s. Richard Povenashe, John Melford, John Lad and Richard 
le Veal for Snodland, 20s. John la Doune for Birling, 4s. Roger 
Bavent and John Melford for Mailing, 30s. 



CHAPTER VI. 

WARS OF THE ROSES (1399 1509.) 

eventful Wars of the Roses, as we shall see, made some 
changes in the families of our part of Kent, though no one 
of its great battles was fought in the county. In fact, an 
internecine strife which may be said to have decimated the inhabi- 
tants of England, and exterminated some of its proudest families, 
could not have but left its mark upon men who so stood up for 
their rights and the constitution of England as the gallant squires 
of Kent. On account of the Reformation times beginning in the 
reign of Henry VIII., we have taken this chapter from the acces- 
sion of Henry IV. to the death of Henry VII. ; and really, when 
we examine history, we think that this period should be always 
dated thus, because the disturbances that began with Henry IV. 's 
accession never really ended till the commencement of the reign 
of Henry VIII., Henry V.'s French war being an attempt by that 
politic king to call off the thoughts of his nobility from home affairs 
to foreign ones. During this period the first great historical event 
that attracts our notice, after the battle of Shrewsbury, in which 
we do not find any of our families, is the rebellion if it can l)e 
so called, since Henry IV. himself had no right to the throne of 
Thomas Mowbray, Earl of Nottingham, lord of the manors of 
Ryarsh, Richard Scrope, Archbishop of York, the Earl of 
Northumberland, and Lord Bardolph. By the alertness of Ralph 
Nevill, Earl of Westmoreland, the insurgents were captured, and 
Mowbray was executed (1405); but Elizabeth his wife died in pos- 
session of Ryarsh. Their son John married Katherine the daughter 
of the said Ralph Nevill, and serving in France was restored to 
the family honours and estates by Henry V. in 1416, and died in 
1432. His son John died in the first year of Edward IV. His 
son, who was created Earl Warenne, died fourteen years afterwards 
(1475), leaving an only daughter, Anne. At her death the vast 
possessions of the Mowbrays fell into the hands of the Howards 
and Berkeleys, who were descended from this family, and we soon 
after find Ryarsh in the hands of the Nevills. 

Calais Court, or, more correctly, Carew's Court, in this parish, 
was a manor held by the Carews of Beddington in the reign of 

40 



WARS OF THE ROSES (13991509). 41 

Henry VI., and obtained its present nomenclature from a corruption 
of the name of that family. 

Addington in the beginning of this century was, as we have 
already seen, in the hands of William Snayth, who was sheriff in 
1408. He died in 1441, and was buried in the Church of Addington. 
Round his brass, which is that of himself and his wife with a lion, 
runs the inscription : " Hie jacet Willielmus Snayth, armiger quondam 
dominus de Adynton, ac vicecomes Kancise et Alicia, uxor ejus qui 
quidam Willielmus, obiit XII. die Martii, anno domini MCCCCXLI. 
Quorum animabus propitietur Deus. Amen." Snayth left an only 
daughter, who married Robert Watton, who succeeded to the manor 
of Addington, . which continued in his family till the year 1775, 
when the last of the Wattons died, leaving an only daughter. She 
carried this im, marriage to the Bartholomews. In the year 1797 
the manor went to the Stratfords in the same way. The Wattons 
who possessed Addington during the period we speak of were 
Robert, then William, whose will was proved in 1466, who gave 
directions for his body to be buried in the chapel of the Assumption 
of the Blessed Mary, in the parish church of Adyngton his brass 
has gone ; he was succeeded by his son Robert, whose brass still 
remains, on which we read : " Hie jacent corpora Roberti Watton, 
armigeri filii et hereditarii Willelmi Watton et Aliciae, uxoris 
predicti Roberti filise, Johannis, clerk unius baronum saccarii domini 
regis qui quidam Robertus istins villse dominus et hujus ecclesiae, 
verus patronus, obiit die Novembris, anno domini MCCCCLXX. 
Quorum animabus propitietur Deus. Amen " ; Robert was suc- 
ceeded by his son Edmund,* who stands first on the Watton 
monument to his memory are inscribed the words: "Juxta hunc 
locum jacet sepultum corporis Edmundi Watton, hujusce loci 
armigeri qui adjunxit sibi Elizabethan! filiam Roberti Arnoldi 
de Gillingham, in comitatu Cantii armigeri, obiit anno domini 1527." 
None of these Wattons appear to have distinguished themselves. 

Hasted tells of Addington that the church here was built at 
this period, to prove which he quotes the rhyme : 

" Tn fourteen hundred and none 
Here was neither stick nor stone ; 
In fourteen hundred and three 
The goodly building which you see." 

Had Hasted consulted Domesday, or had he honoured Addington 
with a visit, the tomb of Mr. Charles would have proved to him 
that this rhyme could not apply to Addington in Kent; since 
Mr. Charles' monument is of older date, and Addington Church is 
mentioned both in Domesday and Textua ftoffensis, together with 
the other churches of the neighbourhood. 

The castle of Allington was in the hands of Thomas de Cobham, 

* See registers of Watton family, pp. 228-9. 



42 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

a descendant of Henry de Cobham, \vho obtained it by his marriage 
with Margaret de Penchester ; he alienated to Robert Brent, whose 
grandson William alienated it to Sir Henry Wyatt, who was a 
privy councillor of Henry VII. Sir Henry had been imprisoned 
in the Tower by Richard III., and being either purposely or through 
neglect deprived of food, his life was wonderfully preserved by a cat, 
that used to bring him a pigeon daily ; he was ever afterwards so 
fond of cats, that he is always painted with one. The Abbot of 
Boxley having privately visited Allington in his absence, Sir Henry 
Wyatt's lady had him seized, carried to the gatehouse, and put in 
the stocks. He complained of this indignity to the privy council, 
whereupon Sir Harry told them that if they acted in like manner 
no doubt his wife would treat them the same. 

Richard, the son of Richard, Lord Grey of Codnor, who held the 
manor of Aylesford, was high in favour with Henry IV. and 
Henry V., and died at Argentoin Castle, in Normandy, 1419. 
John, his son, died without issue 1431, and Henry, his brother, died 
1444, leaving a son, Henry, Lord Grey, who died 1496, leaving a 
widow, Lady Catharine, who carried the manor to Sir W. de la 
Pole. After her death it devolved on John Zouche, who died in 
possession of the manor. 

In the time of Henry VI. the Poynings transferred their manors 
of Tottington and Eccles to the Palmers, whose history as lords of 
the manor of Snodland we have already traced. 

In 1426 John Cosyngton died, and was succeeded by his son, 
Stephen de Cosyngton ; and his descendant, Thomas, died in the time 
of Henry VIII., leaving three daughters, heiresses to the manor of 
Cosyngton. 

Preston was held by Sir John Colepepper in 1401, who died in 
1428 his son John was a Justice of the Common Pleas, and died in 
1450. This family about this time began to spread over all this 
part of Kent, and hence we find their numerous monuments in many 
churches of this district. The manor of Ditton, having passed 
through the hands of Windlesor and Sir Lewis Clifford, came to 
them, and in 1485 Sir Richard Colepepper (sheriff) of Oxenhoath 
died in possession, having come into it in 1472. His three daughters 
Margaret, married to William Cotton of Oxenhoath, Joyce, married 
to Lord Edmund Howard, and Elizabeth, married to Henry Barham, 
Esq., of Tt'ston sold Ditton, in Henry VII. 's time, to Thomas Leigh, 
of Sibton ; they also possessed Borough Court, in Ditton, by inherit- 
ance, which they alienated to Francis Shakerley, and his eldest son, 
Richard, inherited it. 

Goldwell also passed, as we have already seen, to the Brownes of 
Beech wood Castle at this time, one of whom married a Colepepper. 
Her son, Sir Michael Browne, alienated to Richard Nortop, alias 
Clerk. Offham came to the Colepeppers, and following the same 
fate as the rest of Sir Richard Colepepper's manors, came into the 



WARS OF THE ROSES (13991509). 43 

hands of Thomas Leigh; the Preston Hall property, however, 
remained in the hands of William Colepepper, Sir Richard s brother, 
who transmitted it to his son Edward. 

Fitzalan, Earl of Arundel, Lord Treasurer and High Admiral, 
left a son Thomas, who succeeded to the estates in Birling, but 
died without children. His sister Joan, in 1416, married William 
Beauchamp, who died in 1422 ; his daughter Elizabeth was married 
to Sir Edward Nevill in 1436, who was created Lord Burgavenny ; * 
he died 1480, and was succeeded by his son George, who died in 1492. 
He was present at the fight at Tewkesbury, for which he was 
knighted. 

As this family were the cousins of the king-maker Warwick, 
they no doubt drew upon their retainers in our valley for men to 
fight for the White Rose, and hence this part of the county, as 
the rest of it 

"Joined with York 
And did the work, 
And made a blest conclusion." 

Sir George Nevill's son George was imprisoned for joining in the 
conspiracy of the Duke of Buckingham, but was afterwards released. 
The family of the Nevills made their home at Comfort, in Birling, 
and we shall have occasion to remark upon their family records, 
which are left us from this time forward in the registers and in 
the parish church of Birling. Few relics of their old mansion 
remain, part being pulled down, and part occupied by an old farm- 
house ; one mediaeval room, with a barred window bricked up, still 
remains, and some handsome squared stones and two archways 
exist in the surrounding walls. From the Birling register it would 
appear the Nevills had a chapel here. 

During the period we are speaking of Paddlesworth passed from 
the Huntingfields, who appear to have died out, and went into the 
families of Bele, Bullock, Diggs, Peckham and Vinely, who alienated 
it to the Bambergs ; from them it came to the Wattons of Boughton 
Malherbe, while Langridge manor was alienated in 1502 to Robert 
Watton of Addington. 

The famous insurrection of Jack Cade seems to have been nearly 
confined to Kent, and consequently we are not surprised to notice 
that some persons from our valley took a share in this curious 
rebellion, " which required of Henry VI. the dismissal of evil 
counsellors." Amongst those of this neighbourhood we find Robert 
Somery of Aylesford, described as a gentleman, William Rowe and 
Edmund Rowe of the same possibly two of the Rowes of Rowe's 
Place in Aylesford, as they belonged to this parish ; of West Mailing 
we have John and William Downe, gentlemen of West Mailing, 
Robert Langley of West Mailing, gentleman, and Thomas Edolff and 

* See registers, etc., of the Nevill family, pp. 126, 221. 



44 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

William Gunne of West Mailing, yeomen, besides John Elphy, 
Richard Welcock, and William Browne of Birling, carpenters. It 
speaks well for the loyalty of this valley, that as Cade's riot extended 
to Blackheath, and as he was victorious at Sevenoaks, many more 
persons were not mentioned as assisting in his rebellion from this 
neighbourhood. 

In the list of the gentry of Kent, we find in the time of Henry VII., 
in this neighbourhood : Lord Burgavenny, Alexander C'olepepper, 
William Colepepper, James Walsyngharn, Richard Cosyngton, Edward 
Myllys, Robert Watton, Thomas Palmer, and Edmund Watton, 
the squires of Birling, Preston, Ditton, Cosyngton, Paddlesworth, 
Snodland and Ditton of these days. James Walsyngham was one 
of a family at first established at Chislehurst and Ightham Mote ; 
afterwards we find a branch of them, at the end of the seventeenth 
century, at Ryarsh. 

Of the Millys we have three records : One a brass in Birling 
church : " Off your charitie pray for the soule of Walter Myllys, 
sumtime Reseyvor unto my Lord of Burguevenney, the whyche 
decesyd the xv. day of March, the yeare of our Lorde God, mccccxxv., 
on whose soule J'su have mercie. Amen " : there is a figure of a man 
and four children. The second, a brass of a man in West Mailing 
church, with the inscription : " Orate p aia Willim Millys, qui obiit 
v die Jana, a dm millio ccccclxxxxvii., cuj's aie proef d's. Ame." 
in English : " Pray for the soul of William Millys, who died the 
5th day of January, in the year of our Lord 1497, on whose soul 
may God have mercy. Amen." The third mention of the family is 
the appointment of one of the same name, Rector of Leybourne, 
to sit on a commission to inquire into the patronage of the Prebend 
of the High Mass of the High Altar in the monastery of West 
Mailing, A.D. 1493, of which we shall speak presently. 

Besides the monuments already mentioned, there are also the 
following in the churches belonging to this period. In Aylesford 
church : " Hie jacet Johannes Cosyngton, qui obiit secundo die mensis 
Aprilis, anno domini millesimo cccc xxvi, et Sarra uxor ejus, quorum 
animabus propitietur deus. Amen " : arms three roses, with same 
as crest. In Hailing church there is an undated brass, with " Orate 
pro animabus Johannis Colard, nuper unius clericorum regis in 
Scaccario suo per XXXVIII. annos, et Margerii consortis, ejusdem 
quorum animabus propitietur deus," and the arms of the Colards, 
possibly belonging to this period. In Ditton there is a brass with 
the inscription, " Orate pro anima magistri Ricardi Leggatti, qui 
obiit anno domini mcccclxxxi, vi die mensis Junii." In East Mailing 
church there is also one brass of this period, with the figure of an 
ecclesiastic, and the words, "Orate pro STa magistri Ricardi Adams, 
qundam pbdarii magne misse in monasterio de W T est Mailing, ac 
Vicarii ppetui pochise de Est Mawling, qui obiit sexto die mensis Maii, 
a dmi mdxxii qu* ale pproef deus " Pray for the soul of Master 



WARS OF THE ROSES (13991509). 46 

Richard Adams, formerly Prebend of the Great Mass in the monastery 
of West Mailing, and perpetual Vicar of the Parish of East Mailing, 
who died on the sixth day of the month of May, in the year of our 
Lord 1522, on whose soul God have mercy." * Snodland possesses two. 
One to one of its rectors : " Hie jacet Thomas Dalby, quondam rector 
istius ecclesiae, qui obiit vi die Octobr., anno domini mcccclxxii., cujus 
animae propitietur Deus. Amen "; and another " Hie jacet Johannes, 
filius Lancastri heraldi armor, qui obiit x die mensis Junii, anno 
domini millesimo ccccxli, cujus animae propitietur deus. Amen." In 
Trottescliffe church : " Hie jacet Willni Cotton, generosi filius, 
baccalaur juris civilis et legis pious, ex collega de Grey's Inn, qui 
obiit xviii. die March, A Dm mcccclxxxiiii., et Margeria ux r ei 8 , qui 
obiit die a dm mcccclxxx., cujus aiabus propitietur deus. Amen " 
" Here lies William Cotton, son of a gentleman, bachelor of civil 
law, and skilled in law, of the college of Grey's Inn, who died the 
18th day of March, in the year of our Lord 1483 ; also Marjory, his 
wife, who died in the year of our Lord 1490, on whose souls God 
have mercy. Amen." We have also, in Addington parish church, 
inscribed to one of its incumbents : " Hie jacet dominus Thomas 
Chaworth, quondam Rector ecclesiae de Addington et Long Melford, 
unus clericus dni regis in cancellaria sua, ac cognatus Elizabeths, 
uxoris Roberti Watton, armgH quorum animabus propitietur deus." 
Another in East Mailing church ran : " Hie jacent Robertus Selby, 
olim civis et goldsmith London, ac Johanna uxor sua qui quidam 
Robertus, obiit xii die Augusti, anno domini mcccclxvii., quorum 
animabus propitietur deus. Amen." 

Thorpe, in addition to these, tells us of the following brasses in 
West Mailing church, now lost or hidden, that were extant in his 
time : One to John Rose, Vicar of West Mailing, that ran : " Hie 
jacet vir sacer, divinae baccalaureus theologiae, mensis Octobris X. 
nono die sepult, anno millieno cccc quat LX. subt octo, dormiat in 
pace cum Christo semper. Amen " " Here lies John Rose, a pious 
man, bachelor of divine theology, buried the nineteenth day of 
October 1452, may he sleep with Christ for ever. Amen." Also one 
of the effigy of a man, which was destroyed ; but there remained a 
heart on which was inscribed " credo quod," and three labels branch- 
ing out from it, on which were written : 

"Redemptor meus vivit 

De Terra Surrecturus Sum 
In Carne mea videbo Deum Salvatorem Meum." 

There are certain gifts of land at this time which introduce us to 
a few of the old inhabitants' names. Thus the grant of John Mar- 
chant, of Birling, speaks of Peter Fisher, William Marchant, Andrew 

* Another in East Mailing church runs : " Hie jacet Robertus Ereby, olim 
civis et auri faber de London, Joanna et Joanna uxores sui qui quidam Robertus, 
obiit 15 Augusti, anno domini 1477. Hie jacet Thomas Ereby et Isodia uxor 
ejus, qui obiit 1 Sept., 1478." 



46 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Chapman, William Smyth, John Luke, Simon Spayn, John King, 
and John Peckham ; while another grant tells of Thomas Bennett, 
Edward Pekerynge, John Dobby, John Beanley, Richard Palmer, 
and several other persons belonging to Snodland, in addition to 
Thomas Dalby, the parson. We have now gone through all the 
eventful period included in this chapter, except that which refers 
to the parishes under ecclesiastical surveillance : out of these, of Ley- 
bourne we learn nothing, as it was under the control, as we have 
already stated, of the Abbey of St. Mary Graces. 

Hailing, Trottescliffe, and Snodland were under the Bishop of 
Rochester, and in the two former were his country residences and 
palaces : indeed, in this century his ordinations were held in the 
chapels of these parishes. It is said that the famous Hamo de Heth 
was so fond of these country retirements that he neglected his duties, 
and was reproached for this by Archbishop Meopham, to whom, 
however, he showed no animosity, as he attended his funeral, which 
took place shortly after. 

Thomas Brinton, appointed to Rochester 1372, gave his secretary, 
Bartholomew Waryn, the living of Snodland in 1401, which, however, 
he exchanged for Hadstocke in Middlesex. Bishop William Wellys, 
the initial letter of whose register is quite a picture, died at Trottes- 
cliffe on February 24th, 1443. His successor, Bishop Lowe, amongst 
other matters, heard a process against John Pure, or Purrs, Vicar of 
Mailing, who was charged with having used divers incantations over 
the bread in the Lord's Supper, and with administering it to persons 
suffering from fever. He admitted that he had taken the wafers 
(but not consecrated ones), scored them quarter wise with a knife, using 
the words, " Petrus autem jacebat super Petruno " " but Peter was 
laying upon Peter " and having observed this form with six wafers 
he gave them to the diseased, who were to eat one of them a day. 
Some of his patients informed him they were healed by them, but of 
this fact he professed ignorance. He owned that he had received 
money for them which he had spent on the church. He concluded 
his defence by declaring that Bishop Langdon ratified and com- 
mended the work, and desired his servants might be instructed in 
the art. Bishop Lowe died in his chair at Hailing on the last day 
of September 1464, and was buried at Rochester in the cathedral. 
During the prelacy of John Russell, 1476-80, nine persons of 
Snodland and Hailing, being convicted of playing tennis on Thursday 
in the week of Pentecost, and confessing their guilt, those who 
belonged to Snodland were ordered to walk barefoot after the proces- 
sion on the Lord's Day, each bearing a halfpenny taper, which they 
were to offer at the Holy Cross ; while the parishioners of Hailing 
were to do the like, only they were to make their offering, which 
was to consist of two tapers, at the high altar. 

Thomas Savage, bishop, 1493-96, instituted an inquiry into 
the patronage value and circumstances of the Prebend of the High 



WARS OF THE ROSES (13991509). 47 

Mass in the Abbey of Mailing. The Palmers continued tenants of 
the manor of Snodland, but Holloway Court changed into the hands 
of the Tylghmans, whose family lived into the seventeenth century ; 
we give an extract of their registers from the parish church of 
Snodland : 

1559. Richard Tylghman and Margaret Valentine were married 10th July. 
1563. Joane, ye wife of William Tylghman, was buried 20th September. 
1567. William Tylghman and Dorothy Reynolds were married llth August. 
1572. Dorothy, ye wife of William Tylghman, gent, was buried November 21st. 
1576. Whetenhall Tylghman, ye sonne of William, was baptised September 4th. 
1578. Dorothy Tylghman, daughter of William, was baptised January 10th. 

1581. Oswald Tylghman, sonne of William, was baptised October llth. 

1582. Charles Tylghman, sonne of William, was baptised October 18th. 
1584. Lambert Tylghman, sonne of William, was baptised April 12th. 

1586. Lambert Tylghman, the son of William Tylghman. gent, was buried 
21st November. 

1586. Lambard, ye sonne of William Tylghman, gent, was baptised August 18. 

1587. Gervise Olyver, ye sonne of John Tylghman, was baptised 31st January. 
1692. Armigill and John, ye sonns of Christopher Tylghman, were baptised 

23rd April. 

1592. John, the son of Christopher Tylghman, the 3rd of June. 

1593. William Tylghman was buried the 24th of February. 

1607. Whetenhall Tylghman and Eleanor Kemsing were married the 4th day 

of February. 

1608. Mary, the daughter of Whetenhall Tylghman, was baptised llth day of 

December. 

1608. Charles Tylghman was buried the 25th of May. 
1611. Buried was Edward Tylghman, gent, the 23rd day of the same 

(December). 
1613. Buried was Mrs. Tylghman, the wife of Edward Tylghman, gent, the 

23rd day of October. 
1625. Joseph Tylghman, son of Whetenhall Tylghman, was baptised the 2nd 

day of January. 
1627. Baptised was James, the son of Whetenhall Tylghman, March 2nd. 

1632. The thirtieth of December Mrs. Ellen Tylghman, wife of Mr. Whetenhall 

Tylghman, was buried. 

1633. Benjamin Tylghman, son of Whetenhall Tylghman, was baptised 

Jany. 25th. 

1643. Elynour, the daughter of Isaacke Tylghman, was baptised the 16th day 

of June. 

1644. Isaac Tylghman dyed December ye 21st, and is buried under the great 

Chancel window, at the East End, in Snodland Churchyard, noaw 
if we can make any guess, his father, Whetenhall Tylghman of this 
parish, gent, is deposited. 

1645. Elizabeth, the daughter of Isaacke Tylghman. baptised 14th day of 

July. 

The parishes of East and West Mailing continued during this 
period under the quiet sway of the nuns. By means of the records 
of Rochester, we learn that in 1425 Cecilia Batisford was abbess; 
and in 1479 Catharine Skefton. In the year 1493, when Joane Moone 
was abbess, Thomas Savage, then Bishop of Rochester on the death 
of Thomas Cook, having appointed John Whitmore as his successor, 
issued an inquiry into the patronage, value, and other circumstances 



48 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

of the Prebend of the Great Mass of the High Altar in the monastery 
of West Mailing, anno domini 1493. Twelve persons are said to 
have been on this court of inquiry, and are represented to the Bishop 
as worthy of faith. The clerics, described domini, are William Spayne 
de Offham, Thomas Hundbache de Nettilstede, John Punkar de 
Barmynge, William Millys de Leybourne, Master Thomas Re veil, 
rector, Nicholas None (Vicar de Ealdynge), and the rest laity. The 
inquiry determined that John Perot finds the place vacant, and 
appoints John Whitmore. Those high clerical dignitaries, styled 
Prebends of the High Mass, are given us pretty regularly during 
this period in the records of Rochester : they are Thomas Wall, 1402 ; 
Thomas Gloucester, 1426 ; Thomas Compton, on death of last, 1444- ; 
Richard Stone, 1447 ; Daniel Everard, 1455 ; Thomas Cook, died 
1493; John Whitmore, 1493; Thomas Nevill, 1499; Richard 
Adams, died 1522 ; Robert Dokett, 1522 ; John Bamborough, 1522 ; 
Henry Fletcher, 1524. 

Of other chapels we find little mention during this period, except 
that in 1406 John Chesterfield succeeds John Gold at the hermitage 
of Longsole. In 1453 Reginald Herbe is licensed to it, and John 
Rodes to the same in 1462, after which there is no more record of 
this chapel having a minister. 

Of the chaplains of St. Laurence, in Hailing, we have John Perot, 
who was Rector of Snodland in 1453, chaplain previous to 
Robert Sharpe, who was appointed in 1518 ; this last was succeeded 
by Richard Back, who in 1531 was succeeded by Robert Truelove, 
who was appointed rector of Snodland ; after him there are no 
more chaplains of St. Laurence. 



CHAPTER VII. 

TUDOR TIMES (1509 1603). 

THE period of the Reformation, which caused the dissolution of 
monasteries in 1539, could not be without interest in a district 
so greatly under ecclesiastical control as Mailing Valley, since 
so many churches and properties found in this way new masters. 
Moreover, from getting hold of the fair lands of the Church, Bluff 
King Hal, who was one who had always an eye to his own interest, 
learnt that many people had properties in various parts of the 
country superior to the royal demesnes, and therefore did not 
hesitate to deprive them of such, either by giving an inferior pro- 
perty for them, or, if the whim seized him, he prevented any further 
opposition by executing them. We shall speak of the various 
properties in this valley, and their owners, under the different 
divisions : of gentlemen fortunate enough to pass through this stormy 
period altogether free ; then of those who, though they escaped the 
rapacity of Henry VIII., could not, like the Vicar of Bray, change 
feheir religion at pleasure, or had to bow to the greediness of 
England's merrie monarch; and lastly we shall show the various 
hands into which our ecclesiastical properties got, and also the 
different changes that took place in our churches during this stormy 
century. Of those who appear to have been amongst the most 
fortunate, in that they retained their properties all the way through, 
we find in this district the Wattons of Addington, the Colepeppers of 
Preston Hall, and the Nevills of Birling. The Wattons continued 
throughout this period serving their country, as justices of the 
peace and commissioners of the sewers, according to Hasted ; but 
they have left no record of either obtaining even a knighthood 
from the sovereign, or possessing amongst their family a single 
man that was noted either for his position in the ecclesiastical 
military, or literary world. Quietly their beautiful lands descended 
from father to son, and quietly were their bodies buried in the 
pretty church. Edmund Watton was the squire of Addington at 
the beginning of this period, and died in 1527. George Watton 
gave away the living in 1533, but he is not mentioned in the Watton 
monument, though Thomas Watton, son of Edmund, is, who died in 
1580, and was succeeded by his son Thomas. To these two last the 

49 4 



50 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Watton monument pays the following tribute : " In hac ecclesia 
etiam jacet corpus Thomse Watton, armigeri filii predicti Edmundi 
Watton, qui sibi conjugem habuit Eleanoram, filiam Edmundi 
domini, Sheffield, obiit anno domini 1580, sepultus 26 Julii. Hoc 
sepulcro clauditur Thomas Watton, armiger filius prsedicti Thomse 
Watton, qui uxorem habuit Martham, filiam Thomse Roper de 
Eltham, in comitatu Cantii, armigeri qui ex Vita hac emigravit 
16 Septembris, anno domini 1622." 

Of the lords of Comfort, George Nevill, having been released 
from imprisonment, died in the year 1536 : he was present at the 
Field of the Cloth of Gold, and saved Kent from joining the Cornish 
rebels, and was buried at Birling. His son Henry was summoned 
to Parliament in 1551, and got into trouble for striking the Earl 
of Oxford, but was pardoned ; he, with his brother Sir Thomas, 
collected an army to oppose the Isleys, who were marching from 
Sundridge and Seven oaks to join Sir Thomas Wyatt at Rochester, 
and encountered them in Blacksole field, in Wrotham. and defeated 
them. Blacksole (black pond) field, the Rector of Wrotham kindly 
informs me, is still to be found (being a part of his glebe), not far 
from Wrotham Church ; in it relics of the combat as swords and 
skull-caps have been found. Sir Henry died 1587, when his cousin 
Edward claimed the titles and estates of the Lords of Burgavenny 
in opposition to his daughter Frances ; the matter was not settled 
till the first year of James I., when it was determined that Edward 
should be held Lord Abergavenny, the title and the estates connected 
with it being declared in tail male; while, in order to indemnify 
the Lady Frances, she was given the title of Baroness le Despencer 
(a title originally created in 1264), which was to descend to female 
heirs if of nearer kin than the next male heir. In this way the late 
Lady Falmouth succeeded to the title of Le Despencer ; her son, who 
is Lord Falmouth in right of his father, succeeded to the title of 
Baron le Despencer in right of his mother. The manor of Ryarsh 
followed of course the succession of Birling, having now become a 
property of the Neviils. 

At Preston, Edward Colepepper was succeeded by John, who 
contributed to Henry VIII. 's loan in 1542, he by his son Thomas, 
and he by his son Sir Thomas in the year 1587. Sir Thomas, in 
the year 1598, also acquired the manor of Aylesford, which had been 
alienated by Sir R. Southwell to Edward Randolph and Richard 
Argoll. 

The Isleys possessed the manor of Bradbourne in East Mailing 
till 1540, when it passed into the hands of the Manninghams. John 
Leigh exchanged Offham with Henry VIII., who granted it to 
William Welford, J. Bennet, and G. Briggs, who conveyed it to 
John Tufton, Esq., of Hothfield, who was sheriff in 1561 and 1575 : 
this family still possess it. In the year 1881 Henry James Tufton, 
Esq., was created Baron Hothfield on the recommendation of Mr. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 61 

Gladstone. In the year 1529 Sir John Zouche died, and the king 
granted Aylesford to Thomas Cromwell. On his death, in 1539, it 
passed into the hands of the Wyatts. Paddlesworth continued in 
the family of the Lords Watton, of Boughton Malherbe, till 1572, 
when Lord Watton settled it on his daughter Katharine, who carried 
it in marriage to Lord Stanhope. In 1547 Bavent, in Hailing, was 
alienated to Sir William Whorne, who was Lord Mayor of London, 
and who built Whorne's Place, in Cuxton, which is still a solid building 
at the angle where the road to Upper Hailing and Trottescliffe 
leaves the main Rochester road. The estate passed from him to Vane, 
and thence to Barnewell, from whom it came to Nicholas Levison. 
Sheriff of London. 

As the other events connected with this valley group themselves 
with the ordinary circumstances of English history, it will be perhaps 
best to give them in the proper order. The first of these is the 
suppression of the monasteries in 1539. We left off the history of 
Mailing Abbey when Joan Moon was abbess : she appears to have 
been succeeded by Elizabeth Daniel, 1524, who is next mentioned in 
the records of Rochester. In 1531 Elizabeth Rede was abbess; she 
is mentioned again in the Valor Ecdesiasticus of Henry VIII. we 
may notice that St. Blaise's Chapel is valued at 2 in this document. 
The last abbess of Mailing. mentioned is Margaret Vernon, who, with 
her eleven nuns, Felix Cocks, Arminal Bere, Rosa Morton, Margaret 
Gyles, Joan Randall, Letitia Duk(e), Beatrice Williams, Juliana 
Whitnall (Whetenhall), Joan Hall, Elizabeth Pimpe, and Agnes 
West(e), surrendered the abbey to the king. It was valued at 
218 4. 2%d., and, according to Dugdale, the abbess received a 
pension of 40 yearly, and the nuns from 2 13*. 4d. to 3 each. 
According to another authority, the abbess received <10, the 
first four nuns 3 6s. 80?., and the others 2 13s. Id. per annum. 
This seems more likely, because we find that in the year 1553 there 
was paid an annuity of 10 to Margaret Vernon, and 2 13s. 4cZ. 
each to Agnes White, Elizabeth Pimpe, Johanna Hall, Joan 
Randulph, Juliana Whetenhall and Lettice Buck. This is the last 
we hear of the nuns and the abbess of Mailing ; the abbey itself, 
with its temporalities, was granted by the king to the Archbishop 
of Canterbury, all except the vicarage of East Mailing which he 
kept to himself, in the year 1541. 

It appears from the contribution to Henry VIII., that George 
Pierrepoint paid to this collection as comptroller to my Lord Arch- 
bishop of Canterbury. Mailing Abbey, it is said, was granted to 
him ; possibly he was only receiver for the Archbishop of his rents 
here, and lived in the abbey as tenant. Hasted tells us he was 
buried in Mailing Church. There is a brass half remaining of 
Elizabeth Pierrepoint, daughter of Sir Anthony Babington she was 
also mother of Lady Brett. The motto is wrongly written above the 
shield of arms (they are those of Babington quartering Dethick), and 



52 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

appeal- as " Foy est tout " ; * they should be " Foyes Toute." This is, 
first quarter, ten torteaux (4, 3, 2, and 1) and a chief label of three 
points ; second quarter, a fesse varry between three water bougets. 
The other shields are lost. One, however, was in existence in 
Thorpe's day the quarters were : first and fourth, a lion rampant ; 
second, six annulets ; third, three hedgehogs. The Pierpont shield 
bore : argent a lion rampant sable, a dexter baton or. Thorpe, 
in his Church Antiquities of the Rochester Diocese, makes this figure, 
wrongly, to be part of that of a man. 

The manor and castle of Leybourne, which was given up by 
the Abbey of St. Mary Graces, was granted by Henry VIII. to 
Cranmer, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury ; but it was demanded 
back by him, and granted to Sir Edward North. 

At Aylesford in the 27th year of Henry VIII., the Carmelite priory 
was dissolved, and given by that monarch to the accomplished Sir 
Thomas Wyatt, who was lord of Allington Castle, where he was born 
in the year 1503. He commenced his education at Cambridge, and 
finished at Oxford. He won the favour of Bluff King Hal as a wit and 
a poet, and was in consequence knighted by that monarch. He was 
employed on several diplomatic missions, was Sheriff of Kent, 1537, 
and died at Sherborne in 1542. His poetical works, amongst which 
was the original rendering in English of the " Town and Country 
Mouse," consist of love songs, odes, satires, and a metrical version of 
the psalms. He got into disgrace with Henry VIII. on account of 
his attachment to Queen Anne Boleyn, but managed to regain that 
monarch's confidence, which speaks volumes for his powers of address. 
He was sent as ambassador to Charles V., Emperor of Germany, 
As an example of his poetry, we quote " The Lover's Appeal." 

" And wilt thou leave me thus ? 

Say, nay ! say, nay ! for shame, 

To save thee from the blame 

Of all my grief and grseme ; 

And wilt thou leave me thus? 

Say, nay ! say, nay ! 
" And wilt thou leave me thus, 

That hath loved thee so long, 

In wealth and woe among ? 

And is thy heart so strong, 

As for to leave me thus ? 

Say, nay ! say, nay ! 
" And wilt thou leave me thus, 

That hath given to thee my heart 

Never for to depart, 

Neither for pain nor smart? 

And wilt thou leave me thus ? 
Say, nay ! say. nay ! " 

* The motto of the family of Babington, of Rothley Temple, Leicestershire ; 
descended from the Babingtons of Nottinghamshire, of whom Thomas Babing- 
ton, M.P. for Nottingham (1450), married Isabel, daughter and heiress of Robert 
Dethick, of Dethick, in Derbyshire. I am indebted for the above remarks to 
the Rev. Scott Robertson, Vicar of Throwley. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 53 

A story told of Sir Thomas Wyatt* the elder is that he brought 
up and made playmates of, at the castle, an Irish greyhound and a 
lion's cub ; so tame were they that they used to wait for his coming 
home, with great delight, at the hall door. But the lion's whelp 
at last became violent, ran roaring at his master, and must have 
destroyed him but that the greyhound leaped on him and pulled him 
down, when Sir Thomas drew his sword and slew the lion. When 
Henry VIII. heard this, he observed, " Oh, he can tame lions." 

Leland's praise of Wyatt is fulsome : 

"Bella suum merito jactent Florentia Dantem, 
Regia Petrarcse cannina Roma probat ; 
His non inferior patrio sermone Viattus, 
Eloquii secum qui decus omne tulit." 

Translated into his native tongue, it is : 

" Let fair Florence her Dante rightly boast, 
Let royal Rome her Petrarch's songs applaud ; 
Than these no worse in his own country's tongue 
Can Wyatt all the grace of speech afford." 

Wyatt was succeeded at Allington Castle by his son, the famous 
Sir Thomas Wyatt, whose rebellion against Queen Mary is perhaps 
one of the most noble insurrections that we read of in any history of 
the various nations of the world, and certainly the grandest in the 
history of England. He was no claimant to the throne, nor even did 
he want high honour, nor draw his sword for any other claimant ; 
he had been bred up in the Church of England, and he disliked the 
idea of a foreign king. Situated as he was at Allington, he must 
have remembered the expulsion of the nuns of Mailing, and the 
Carmelite Friars of Aylesford, in his father's lifetime he had been 
Sheriff of Kent under Edward VI. in 1551. Not only had he seen 
the destruction of the Carmelite Friars, but the Newhythe and 
Hailing chapels were suppressed, as well as those of Cossington and 
Tottington, and that of Longsole on Barming Heath on his own 
property, in the suppression of 1545 and 1547. Thus we are not 
only not surprised that Sir Thomas Wyatt led a rebellion against 
Queen Mary, but are more astonished that some great movement 
was not set on foot from several counties to oppose the Queen, since 
the parliament had been dismissed at the end of the previous year, 
and had declared its dislike to the match with Spain. Sir Thomas 
Wyatt, we are told, confederated with Sir Peter Carew, Sir William 
Pickering, Sir Nicholas Arnold, Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, Sir 
James Crofts and others, in November 1553, to hinder the marriage. 
The Duke of Suffolk and his sons tried to raise troops in Leicester, 
but were unsuccessful, and were lodged in the Tower. Carew and 
Crofts failed in Devonshire and Wales. 



* It is interesting to find this Wyatt spent his time at Allington in hunting 
and hawking. He may possibly have hunted the herds of " savage swine " 
(wild boars) which infested the Mereworth woods in Elizabeth's days. 



54 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

The confession of Anthony Norton, of Trottescliffe, is curious, as 
showing the feelings of Wyatt and others of the time. He tells us 
that he was sent for, before the trouble began on the Monday, to 
Allington Castle, where he found Mr. Wyatt in his parlour sitting 
by the fire. Mr. Wyatt said, 

" I am sure von have hearde of ye comynge of ye Kynge of Spayne, how 
shal be oure kynge, to ye undoynge of thys realm ; for at the sprynge of ye yer 
such gentylmen as I, with other, shall be sent into Fransse, with a gret powre of 
Ingeglysmen to inlarge hys kuntry'sther, and in ye menetyme, unther pretensse 
of fryndshippe. he shall strenkten ye reme with hys owne nasyon, to ye subver- 
tynge of oure own nasyon and losse of thys realme." Axyngeye sayde Anthony 
what he koulde do in ye defensse thereof, ye said Anthony aunsuryd yt hys 
dwellynge wasse nere unto ye Lord a Burgoyne * and not far from Mr. Southwell, 
so yt was not in hym to do anythyng. " Well." said Mr. Wyatt, " yf suche as ye 
are wyll not consyder youre sa(f)te, I can do no more ; but, as one may do, 
yf ye worste cum, I can go into other partts wher I shall be hartelly weUcum. 
and joyfully reseyvd," and so pawsed. In the menetime in came Mr. Redstone, 
Mr. Feycher. with one howme I know not. Mr. Wyat sayde unto them yt my 
Lord Kobam had sent hym word yt hys iii. suns shoulde go with him and shoulde 
have hys ayde. Ansure wasse made yt suche sendynge wasse ye kastynge away 
of ye Duke, and sayde yt there lywys wer as dere unto them as my Lord's 
wasse unto hym. Wherefor. sayde they, let hym go hymselfe and set hys fote 
by ours. " Well," sayde Mr. Wyat, " how thynke you by Mr. Sowthwell. I wolde 
spende a thousand pounds yt we kowlde have hym reformeabull " ; how hathe 
kept a worsypfull ho, and by hys gentyl intrety of the kountry he had the hartts 
of ye parttys, sayinge yf he by eny means mowthe be reformed, they wolde 
not dowte ye optaynynge ye Lord a Burgoyne, sayynge yt he wolde wrytte a 
a letter unto hym, forgyvynge frome hys hartte all mattars paste, with as 
myche fryendshyppe as he kould by ye sayd letter declare. Ansure was made 
yt yt was best to cawsse sum man to opun ye matter by mowthe, and not to 
wrythe, and yffe fryndshyppe mythe yt way take plase, then to wrytte. Mr. 
Wyatt sayde he woulde send for William Iden, how showlde open ye matter to 
Mr. Sowthewell yffe he kould get hym so to do. Mr. Wyatt sayde further, 
saynge, " Mr. Sowthewell hath ye lowe and hartts of men in yt partts, if hys 
worshyppe wolde not prokure men to resyste and cause bloudeshede in yt 
quarrell, yt he went in and sayde he was owt of dowte yt men wolde not fytte 
agaynste him ye matter yt he had taken in hand." As far as ye saide Anthony 
pesevyd, they had hoppe of ayde of ye Quean's shyps and ye questyon was 
axed Mr. Wyat yffe yt were not best yt men were landed in Shepe (Sheppey), 
wher mythe be gothen horse-harnes, with other artyllery for warse. Mr. Wyat 
ansured yt ye howsse of my Lorde Wardensse to have myche quyne and 
tresure, at the sythe whereof ye men would not abstayne ther hands from 
robbery wyche he wolde not have commytted, and sayde, 4i When my Lorde shall 
cum downe to take up men. he shall perseve ye halffe of hys owne men to be 
agaynst hym, wych when he persevythe he wyll undoubtedly kepe hys Eand 
and not stere." I heard Mr. Redstone say that " Ye Quean wolde gyve awaye 
ye supremasy, and ye Byshoppe of Roume shou have hys powre in Yngland 
as he had before tyme, wyche to thynke on grevyd hym " ; and so began to talke 
in secret to themselves. Whereupon ye sayde Anthony went into ye hawll, and 
was desyred by ye parsonn to drynk a kouppe of beare, and so departyed, 
beynge brouthe on hys way by ye sayde parsun. Alexander Fyssher wylled 
ye sayde Anthony to speke unto Tylden, ye drapar, yt he showlde repayre unto 
snche yomen as he knew downewarde to make them prewe to ye bysyness. 

This arch traitor, Norton, appears to have belonged to a family of 

* Lord Burgavenny=Abergavenny at Birling. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 66 

some notoriety in Trottescliffe. I do not know whether it was his 
son, but Gylles Norton is entered in the baptismal register there 
for 1560, and the Rev. C. W. Shepherd informed me that his father 
had been told that this latter man led a band of rustics to London ; 
possibly the names have become interchanged, and this Norton, who 
saved his neck by betraying his comrades, was the man meant. As 
regards this insurrection, it only remains to speak of the direction 
taken, the parties concerned, and their fate. Wyatt got together 
about 2000 men in Rochester, in spite of having the force of Sir 
Henry Isley and the two Knyvetts cut off by Lord Abergavenny 
and the Sheriff (Sir Robert Southwell), aided by Thomas Henley, 
Walter Taylor, John Raynoldes, John Lambe, Anthony Weldon, 
Thomas Chapman, Heughe Cartwright, and George Clarke, who 
marched from Mailing and defeated the insurgents, as we have 
already seen, at Wrotham. We cannot quite understand how some 
of these men opposed this movement against the Papist King of 
Spain and Queen Mary, inasmuch as Anthony Weldon, and Heughe 
Cartwright, it would appear, were of the Church of England. That 
the Duke of Norfolk should oppose in London, we are not surprised ; 
nor are we astonished that Sir Alexander Brett and the Londoners 
went over, crying, " We are all Englishmen." 

The attempt to enter the city from Southwark having failed, 
Wyatt crossed the Thames at Kingston and marched on London, 
repulsing the attack of Sir John Gage at Charing Cross. Failing to 
get into the city by Ludgate, which was defended by Lord William 
Howard, he gave himself up to Sir Maurice Berkely on being 
exhorted to merit the queen's pardon by preventing bloodshed. For 
all this the unfortunate Queen Jane, her father (the Duke of Suffolk), 
her uncle, and Sir Thomas Wyatt were executed. It is true that the 
queen's clemency has been praised on this occasion as the only act 
of mercy in her reign, but so far from being so, as she had, by her 
herald, held out Sir Thomas Wyatt to surrender on conditions of 
mercy, her execution of him was only another proof of the deceitful- 
ness and cruelty so plainly distinguishable in her character. 

Perhaps England never lost a greater opportunity to be free than 
it did in not joining in this brave revolt against civil and religious 
slavery. The failure of Wyatt was the cause of sorrow which lasted 
till 1600, or forty-six years. It lighted the fires of Smithfield for 
those opposed to Rome in the reign of Mary, it brought about 
the executions for religion in Elizabeth's reign, and though the 
destruction of the Spanish Armada prevented England from 
becoming a mere province of Spain, nevertheless it was not till 
the end of the century that peace was re-established between the 
countries which the pride of Mary had interrupted, by giving Philip 
the idea of becoming sovereign of two powerful countries. 

We are told that Sir Thomas Wyatt intended to go abroad on 
the death of King Edward VI., but was prevented by his wife, 



56 MEMORIES OF MALLING JM) ITS VALLEY. 

who besought him not to forsake his wife and child. Upon their 
coming to see him at the Tower on the day of his execution, he said 
to them as he was being led out, " See what my love for you has 
brought me to." 

In Aylesford church we have the following memorial : " Here 
lieth John Savill, Gentleman, some tyme servant to Sir Thomas 
Wyatt, Knight which deceased the 30th day of March, A. Dmn 1 . 1545." 

In the year 1554 the married clergy were expelled from their 
various parishes. We do not find so many changes in this district 
as we might expect during these stormy times, but in 1545 we find 
Hugh Woodward, Rector of Ley bourne, instituted, who is emphatically 
declared to be of the Church of England in the episcopal register 
of Rochester ; and in this eventful year, 1554, we find George Attke 
succeeding Nicholas Archebolde at Ditton ; Robert Salsberry, 
Bartholomew Bone at Trottescliffe ; and Launcelot Gylhawke, 
Thomas Bedlowe at Hailing. Of these the latter is distinctly said 
to have been deprived ; but as Walter Hait, in 1567, is said to have 
obtained the living of Hailing pro Thomas Bedlowe, undoubtedly 
Launcelot Gylhawke was one of the Roman priests who obtained 
a living in Mary's reign, and who afterwards, refusing to assent to 
the alterations proposed in the beginning of Elizabeth's, was deprived, 
and the former persecuted incumbent restored. As regards Salsberry, 
he continued, and we find him incumbent of Addington, and after- 
wards instituted to Ryarsh, in 1572; while George Attke remained 
at Ditton till 1565. 

We omitted to mention in its proper place, owing to our following 
the history of the Wyatts, that in the year 1536 parish registers were 
ordered to be kept. Many of the early ones have been destroyed ; 
but the register of Oftham now commences in 1538, that of 
Trottesclifie in 1540, that of Birling in 1558, that of Ryarsh in 
1559, that of Leybourne in 1560, that of Snodland in 1560, that 
of Addington in 1562, and that of East Mailing in 1570. The rest 
of the registers commence later, owing to their having been destroyed. 
It is a matter of regret that these registers should be left to moulder 
in. the vestries, as they contain, as we shall show, much valuable 
information, which is yearly becoming more and more illegible ; 
in some places the registers have been allowed to be wantonly 
destroyed I myself was actually offered in sale part of the registers 
of a parish. The episcopal registers of Rochester, instead of being 
carefully re-bound and placed in the cathedral library, are left in a 
cupboard in the office of the lawyer for the diocese (Mr. Knight), 
by whose courtesy I have been allowed to inspect them, but who 
has himself told me he would prefer them placed elsewhere. 

Sir Robert Southwell, who was so active against Wyatt, obtained 
much land in Kent during this century ; those that he gained by his 
marriage with Margaret, daughter and heiress of Sir Thomas Nevill, 
fourth son of Lord George Burgavenny, he sold in 1544 to Sir 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603). 57 

Edmund Walsingham. Thomas Leigh exchanged Ditton with King 
Henry VIII., who granted it to Thomas, Lord Wriothesley (1554), 
whom he made Lord Chancellor in room of Lord Audley. He was 
grandson of John Wriothesley, Garter at Arms to Edward IV. and 
Henry VII., and nephew of Thomas Wriothesley, who held the same 
post at his father's decease he was created Lord Southampton in 
1547. He did not hold Ditton long, as it passed to Sir Robert 
Southwell in 1554, who, in 1555, conveyed it to Sir Thomas Pope. 
Sir Thomas was Clerk of the Star Chamber, Treasurer of the Court 
of Augmentations, Master of the Jewels, and Warden of the Mint ; 
to him was also intrusted the care of the Princess (afterwards Queen) 
Elizabeth. He founded Trinity College, in Oxford the first college 
founded in either University after the Reformation March 18th, 
1556 ; he died in January 1559, and was buried in the chapel of his 
college, where his monument may still be seen. As natives of all 
places where he had lands were to be benefited by his foundation, 
persons whose sons were born in Ditton, amongst others, could claim 
preference to the emoluments of the college : his representatives 
alienated Ditton to Wiseman in 1600. Richard Nortop, alias Clerk, 
obtained Goldwell in Offham from the Brownes ; his son, George 
Clerk, was one of those who marched against the Isleys with Lord 
Abergavenny. Of the others there mentioned, Hugh Cartwright was, 
after Gervase Pierrepoint, the holder of Mailing Abbey. The manor 
of Ley bourne passed from Sir Edward North, to whom Henry VIII. 
had granted it, to Robert and John Gosnold, from whom it passed in 
Queen Elizabeth's time to Robert Godden : * whose family appears to 
have originally sprung from Trottescliffe parish indeed this family 
seems to have been the only population of Trottescliffe at one time. 

The Grange, in Leybourne parish, belonged to a family called 
Quintain in the time of Elizabeth. One of this family, Thomas 
Quintain, having always styled himself son of Oliver, the family 
finally took the name of Oliver :t we find their family very fre- 
quently mentioned, in the registers of Leybourne. The oldest of 
the Leybourne church bells is dated 1581, and on it is inscribed, 
besides, " Thomas Goddin, Gentleman, and Robard Oliver, Youman." 

This brings to our notice how thoroughly in the Reformation 
times they appear to have done the work of stripping the churches. 
I am inclined to believe that the priests carried off much when they 
were deprived, as well as the lay people, where licence was given to 
spoil; certes we notice that none of the better furniture of the 
Church in this valley belongs to a date previous to the Reformation. 
The oldest ornaments of the churches we possess in this valley 
are the cup and paten of Offham, dated 1572; then the cup of 
Trottescliffe, dated 1576 ; then the West Mailing stoup, or jug, 
made of Delft ware, mounted, with foot, neck, handle, and body- 
straps of silver-gilt, hall-marked " London, 1581," which does not 
* See Godden Registers, p. 233. f See Oliver Registers, p. 230. 



.18 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

look very ecclesiastical, and was probably given in the seventeenth 
century ; I here quote Canon Scot Robertson on Kent Church Plate. 
We then come to the Leybourne bell already mentioned. The 
third bell of Snodland has on it, "by me, Gylles Reeve, 1589"; 
the first bell of Offham, " by me, Gylles Reeve, 1590" ; and the cup 
of Allington is of 1599. Owing to Sir Thomas Wyatt's rebellion bis 
lands were forfeited to the crown ; and thus Allington Castle and the 
Friars at Aylesford came into the hands of new owners. The castle 
appears to have been some time in the hands of Southwell, but it was 
granted by Queen Elizabeth to John Astley, master of her jewels, in 
1584. 

In 1554 the queen also gave the Carmelite Friars to Sir John 
Sedley ; he bequeathed it to William, made baronet May 22nd, 
1611, who resided at the Friars, and left a son, Sir William Sedley, 
married to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry, Lord Abergavenny. 

About 1553 Hailing was let to the Denes by the Bishop. The 
heiress of these Denes was Sylvester, whose curious brass in Hailing 
church cannot but attract notice : it is that of a lady in bed, with 
two young pei-sons on one side of it and two on the other side ; 
near the latter is a cradle with two children. The inscription on 
the brass runs : " Gemilliparae positum " (put up to the lady who 
had twins), " Sylvester, the daughter of Robert Dene, gent, and 
Margaret Whyte, his wife, was born the 18th December, 1554, 
marryed to William Dalyson, Esquier, the 29th June, 1573. After 
that married to William Lambarde, gent, the 28th October, 1583: 
and died the 1 September, 1587, leavyng on lyve, by William 
Dalyson, Sylvester a daughter and Maximilian a son, and by 
William Lambarde, Multon a son and Margaret a daughter, and 
Gore and Fane sonnes and twynnes. 

Non ilia reverentior ulla dcorum." * 

This lady's second husband, William Lambarde, was the author of 
" Perambulations of Kent," and said to be the handsomest man of 
his day. 

In the year 1581 a presentment was made to the jury of the 
Manor of Preston, in Aylesford, against Thomas Huet and Peter 
Hartropp, for setting up a pair of butts without licence on the 
common called Stroude, alias Preston Green ; also a presentation 
against Robert Palmer and Richard Hartropp as trespassing with 
cattle on it in 1583. 

In June 1584 inquiry was made as to the persons, within the 
Lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, charged by Lord Abergavenny with 
furnishing demi-lances and light horse at the musters at Mailing 
Heath. 

This was the period of those Papist plots that culminated in 
the Babington Conspiracy, and it would appear that the move- 

* No one of the gcxls was more reverend. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 59 

ments we have just mentioned had something to do with this. That 
the disaffection was spread in this part of Kent is very clear, since 
we learn, Christopher Dunne, of Addington, in Kent, is examined 
as being implicated with his son Henry in the conspiracy, when he 
pleaded ignorance. 

In the year 1600, Gervase Pierrepoint who had held Mailing 
Abbey, and whose wife's brass, showing she was a Babington, 
appears in the Church, as we have said with others, had his lands 
reduced for his share in this rebellion. When Pierrepoint gave up 
the abbey is not very clear ; but as Hugh Cartwright held the 
manor of East Mailing, and obtained a grant of Newhythe chapel * 
in Edward VI.'s time, and marched from Mailing to assist in putting 
down Wyatt's rebellion, it would appear that it must have been 
previous to Elizabeth's reign. On the death of the said Hugh 
Cartwright, his widow, Mrs. Jane Cartwright, became entitled to all 
the lands that once belonged to Mailing Abbey, and carried her 
interest to her second husband, Sir James Fitzjames. On the 
north wall of the chancel of West Mailing church is her monument, 
which runs : " Here resteth the body of Dame Jane Fitzjames, 
widow, first married to Hughe Cartwright, Esq., and afterwards 
to Sir James Fitzjames, Knighte, one of the 17 daughters of Sir 
John Newton, Knighte, and of Dame Margaret, his wife, which 
Dame Jane dyed the XX th day of February 1594, and the 37th 
of Quene Elizabeth's reigne, and in the sixty-seventh yeare of Hir 
owne age." The property appears to have come then into the hands 
of Humphrey Delind, whom Harris styles " a man furnished with 
a good stock both of Divine and human learning." After him it 
passed into the hands of the Brookes of Cobham. 

In the year 1581 the people of the Lathe of Aylesford were 
assessed at twopence in the pound towards training the soldiery ; 
no doubt with a view to opposing the Spanish invasion. 

In the year 1561, amongst those who are mentioned as paying 
towards Rochester bridge, who had property in this neighbourhood, we 
have Sir Thomas Fynch, Mr. Wotton, and Mr. Tufton. This bridge, 
as is widely known, was ordered to be repaired by different parishas 
from time immemorial ; and as its properties are now not only 
sufficient to pay for its repairs, but large sums are expended for the 
benefit of persons in certain parishes, it were well to mention those 
of the parishas we are writing about that had thus to contribute. 
Hailing, Trottescliffe, and Mailing repaired the third pier ; Aylesford, 
the fourth pier ; Leybourne, Offham, and Ditton, the fifth pier ; and 
Snodland, Birling, Paddlesworth, and the men in that valley, the 
ninth pier these latter words were no doubt intended to signify the 
inhabitants of Ryarsh, and perhaps Addington. 

In the reign of Henry VIII. the Warcups obtained the manors 
of Eccles and Tottington, and Rowe's Place, which continued in their 
* The chapel was valued at 11*. annual value. 



60 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

family till the end of Elizabeth's or the beginning of James I.'s reign, 
when Henry Warcup alienated Tottington to Maddox, and Howe's 
Place and Eccles partly to the Sedleys, partly to the Goldings, 
and partly to the Bests, of Chatham. In Henry VIII. 's reign the 
family of Cosyngton was represented by three daughters, one of 
whom married Thomas Duke, who possessed this manor and handed 
it down in his family. 

On the January 25th, 1583, we have the inventory of the 
goods of William Dalyson given us in the Archceoloyia Cantmna-, 
which William Dalyson married the Sylvester Dene of whom we 
have already spoken. Through him the lease of Hailing descended 
to Sir Maximilian Dalison, of whom we shall speak more in the 
next chapter. 

In the year 1556 we have the will of John Hodsoll proved, in 
which he desires to be buried in the churchyard of West Mailing : 
his family granted a lease for two thousand years of land in 
Ightham in 1788. In 1791 the administration of effects of Frances 
Hodsoll, formerly Tassell, of Town Mailing, spinster, granted "to 
William Hodsoll, her lawful husband, was sworn under 5. Such 
is a brief notice of a family connected with this neighbourhood. 

It is worthy of remark, that the digging out of chalk as an 
industry commenced at Hailing in 1538, though cement-making 
was not then established. A few curious memorials in one or two 
churches which survived the era of the Reformation may be fitly 
mentioned here. Thorpe tells of two strange windows iu Leybourne 
church (now gone) : in the north-west window was a George and 
Dragon, St. Christopher with the Saviour, and the label, " Xtofore 
ora p . . . " ; while in the east window was the label, " Ave gratia 
plena domina tecum." In Trottescliffe church a window with an idola- 
trous representation of the Trinity still remains. In Hailing church, 
until a very few years ago, existed the uncouth painting over the 
chancel arch of which we give a print; it has been variously deciphered, 
as the tale of an unfaithful wife and the emblematic representation 
of the seven deadly sins. On an old mantelpiece in Mailing Manor 
House are the words, above, "^Etatis Suae 43," then "S.P."; on 
a shield underneath, " 1566." Tradition says that this house be- 
longed to one of Queen Elizabeth's admirals, and these are his 
initials ; unfortunately, one cannot find an admiral of the name, but 
the oak stairs and the room where the mantelshelf is, as well as 
the mantelpiece, point to a date in this century that renders the 
inscription a genuine one if the tradition be not correct. 

We cannot do better than continue this chapter with a few 
remarks on the parish registers that are commenced in this century. 
The earliest of these registers is Offham, whichbegins in 1538. The 
commencing words are, 

The Fiegister book of the Parish of Offhani, beginning 1538. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.). 61 

And the first entry is, 

1538. Mary Whiffins was baptised the 17th day of February. 

Besides these we have the following specimens of the way the 
Burial Register was kept : 

1539. Robert Tresse was buryed the xvi tt day of June. 

1543. The third day of January were two children of a stranger buryed. 

In the years 1553, 1554, 1555, 1556, 1566, 1568, 1573, 1574, 

1578, 1583, 1588 and 1589 there are no entries of burials at 
Offham. 

In 1585 we have, 

A little gyrle of the pshe of Wrotham was buryed ye first of May. 
Grante, a nurse childe, was buried the xvii th daye of January. 

In 1558 we have, 

Henry Kerbye and Katherine Edmunde were married the vii th day of May. 

1539, 1540, 1542-49, 1557, 1558, 1562, 1567, 1568, 1570, 1574, 

1579, 1585-89 and 1596 are without entries in the marriage registers 
of Offham. 

The next is that of Trottescliffe, which commences, 

The Register Book of Trottescliffe, of all the Christenings, Weddings, and 
Burials in the year of our Lord 1599. 

The entries here, however, begin 1540, for we read : 

1540. Roger Barre, the son of Thomas Barre, was baptised the xix th day 

of April, ut sup. 
1540. John Hills and Anne Fnllor was wedded the 26th of June. 

We have in this register the following Latin entries of this 
century : 

1576. Thomas Sanctilis, filius Anthonii de Sanctilis, nobilis Majoricensis, 
captanei Brabantiorum, mense July xvi th baptisatus fuit.* 

1591. John Wood, filia Nicolai Wood, was baptised ye xxv th day of April. 
1550. Gylles Norton was baptised the 24th day of April, ut supra.f 

In the Marriage Register of Trottescliffe we find : 

1540. John Hills and Anne Fuller was wedded the 26th of June. 

1592. Richard Baggace was married the xxv th of August. 

From this date up to 1599 the man's name only is mentioned 
in the Marriage Register of this parish. 

The Birling Parish Register commences with the words, 

1558. The Church Book containing Christenings and Burials. 

Marian Westre, the daughter of John Westre, of Birling, was baptised the 

xxiii rd day of February ye second year. 

Such as were burials of the said Parish of Birling are following : 
1588. Richard Harte buried the second of January. 

* Thomas Sanctilis, son of Anthony de Sanctilis, a noble of Majorca, captain 
of the men of Brabant, was baptised in the month of July xvi. 

f This is the man who is supposed to have been the turbulent character we 
have mentioned. 



62 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

There are several entries of the Nevills during this century, which 
will be mentioned at the end of the book ; the following one, however, 
requires a special notice : 

1588. Mr. Edward Nevill was baptised the 4th day of June in the Chapell of 
Comfort. 

This entry is interesting, as it not only tells us of the old place of 
the Nevills at Birling, but is the only existing record of a chapel 
there that we find. Dr. Harris speaks of Comfort as the place 
of the Nevills. 

The Parish Register of Ryarsh begins, 

" The Register book of the Parish of Ryarsh, within ye countie of Kent and 
diocese of Rochester, containing all those names that have been christened, 
married, or buryed within ye said Parish ; ye said Register book beginning the 
xx. day of November, in the yeare of our Lord God 1559. Copied out of ye 
original by John Parker, Vicar of Ryarsh. 

First and foremost, ye xxii d day of January, anno domini 15f $ was christened 

Joane Oliffe, ye daughter of George Oliffe. 
Monday ye xiii th day of March, in that aforenamed yeare, was christened 

John Sanrock, anno 1560 from Christ's Incarnation. 
1579. Elizabeth Yonge, filia Edward Yonge, baptizata fuit secundo die Martii 

anno supradicto. 

Marriages in the Parish church of Ryarsh, from the xx. day of November in 
ye year of our Lord God 1559. 

First and foremost, on Monday the xx th day of November, and in the afore- 
said yeare, anno 1559. Thomas Godderd was married to Elizabeth 

Littell. 
Monday the 22nd day of Januarie, in the year of our Lord one thousand 

five hundred and sixty and one, was married Thomas Clegat, a 

weaver, to Mildred Tyler, the daughter of William Tyler. 
Robert Godden, ye sonne of Thomas Godden of Calliscourt (Carewe's Court), 

in the parish of Ryarsh, mairyed in Seal church to Jane French 

of ye said parish, on Monday the xxii. day of January 1598. 
Gyles Symons of Ryarshe, and Marie Crispage of Stone, were maried on St. 

George's day 1599, by a licence granted out of the office at Rochester. 
The names of all such as be buried in the parish of Ryarsh, from the vi th 
day of April, in the yeare of our Lord God 1560. 

The sixth day of Aprill, in the yeare of our Lorde God 1560, was buried Jane 

Boorman, the wife of John Boorman. 
1562. The xxv th day of March there was buried Alice Drodger, servant to 

John Walsingham. 
The third day of April, 1562, was buried William Byshop Clarke of this said 

parish of Ryarsh, and the said third day of April was Maundy 

Thursday. 
xxiii rd day of Januarie, in the yeare from our Lord's incarnation 1562. 

was buried Richard Turley, Servant to Thomas Brissenden. 
1562. The third day of March was buried one Thomas Philpott, a poore man. 

a stranger, which same late out of Yorks, that died in Richard Boor- 

man's house. 
The xxvi th day of Aprill, in the yeare of our Lorde 1573, there was buried 

Mother Wyborne. 
1576. The xxvi th day of September, in the year of our Lord 1576, there was 

buried Ann Murphy, servant to Goodman Godden, of Carew's Court. 

The titles " stranger," " poor man," or " woman," " goodman," 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 68 

" goodie," " mother," are not unfrequent in the registers of all 
parishes down to quite recent times. 

LEYBOUBNE. 

The register of the "Christenings of Laiborne, beginning Anno Dora. 1560. 
Annoque Dominae nostrae Elizabethae secundo. [Then follows, in the old book] : 

Anno Dom. Bapt. 1560, June 5, Jane King. 

Buried, July 3, William Wheler. 

Anno Dom. 1562, married, March 13, Thomas Petley and Elizabeth Oliver. 

May 1 7, Bur : William Oliver. 

[Here the boke was very imperfect, and therefore I leve out the yere.] 

: George Bredham, Gent, and Mary Godden. 

[Here the boke was imperfect and therefore I leave the yeare and day 
unwritten.] 

1594. Ann Morris, widow of Jasper Morris, was buried upon Ascension Day. 

It will be very plainly seen that one of the incumbents took the 
trouble to recopy the registers of Leybourne, for which he cannot be 
too much praised. The respected Rector of Trottescliffe (Rev. C. W. 
Shepherd) has set an example to present incumbents by doing the 
same. 

THE BEGISTEB BOKE OP SNODLAND. 

1560. Gyles Andrew, sonne of Frances, was baptised ye 6th of March. 
There are many entries after the above fashion, leaving out the 

father's name altogether, and giving only the Christian name of the 
mother. 

1564. Elizabeth Leuse (Lewis), ye daughter of John of Hamyll, was bapt. 
23rd April. 

This proves that the proper name of Ham Hill is Ham Mill. 

1575. Samuel Godden, ye son of Thomas of Paddlesworth, bap. 17 Sept. 

1586. Sarah, filia Johannis Swonei, Rectoris hujus ecclesiae de Snodland, 
baptizata fuit. Obiit eadem Sarah 12 die Februarii anno predicto ; 
sepulta jacet in ccemiterio de Addington, quoniam infra limites 
parochiae enutriebatur, viz., in aedibus Thomae Whiteing. [Sarah 
daughter of John Swone, Rector of this church of Snodland, was 
baptized. The same Sarah died on the twelfth day of February in 
the year aforesaid ; she lies buried in the cemetery of Addington. 
since she was being nursed within the limits of the parish, namely, 
in the house of Thomas Whiting.] 

It appears, from this, that children were put out to nurse by 
people in good position in those days. 

Also ye daughter of John Aynsworth, pedlar, was baptised 23 January. 
1559. The Booke of Maredges : 

Thomas Woodroffe and Margery Fielde were married 11 March. 
Burials 1559 : 

George Erpingfield was buried 26th March. 

1561. John Usher, of Hoborowe, was buried 16th October (Holborough). 
.. James Clare, a nurse child, was buried 10th December. 

1563. From the entries this year we learn that there was a great 
mortality in Snodland. 

1563. July 5, a waterman or sayler, whose name was unknown, who had a 
wife, as he said, and children at Rye, was buried. 



64 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1563. Cuthbert Ersh, a young man of London, was buried 3 September. 

1564. Richard Bambridge, a goldsmith of ye town of Rye. was buried 3 

March. 

We find at this time several nurse children mentioned as being 
buried, not only in this register but also in the others. 

1568. One Cornelius, a poor labouring man, was buried 7 January. 

1569. Mary, ye daughter of one Austin, of London, was buried March 3. 
,. William Carr, a taylor, was buried 21st August. 

1570. Robert Crane, a singleman, was buried 18th March. 
., An olde maide, called Phillip, was buried 4 October. 

1573. Also Sparrowe, an old wydowe, was buried 7th August. 

1571. Sir William Hall, * pson of this parish, was buried 22nd June. 

1574. Sir William Apsley * was buried 14 April. 

Theobald Hammon, a french. dwelling in London, was buried here 
June 15. 

1575. Peter, a nurse child, was buried 17 November. 

1578. A child yt was borne at Swynborn's house of a woman yt askt for 

lodginge, was buried 20 May. 
1583. Father Borden was buried 3rd Februari. 
1585. John Leeds, clothier, was buried ye 16 Aprill. 

1585. Jane Swinborne, alias Downe, widow, was buried ye 27th October. 

1586. Agnes Houlton, single woman, was buried 3rd February. 

We have often, in all the registers, such entries as " singleman " or 
" single woman." 

1588. Deborah, the daughter of John Powlter, miller, which was drowned in 

the mill pond at Holborough, was buried 2 June. 

An infant of Robert Wellingham. born before his time, was buried 9th 
October. 

1589. An infant of John Hammons, which died unbaptised, was buried 

28th January. 

1591. A man. child of William Rice's, which departed as soon as it was born, 

was buried 1st July. 

1592. Nem Tiksall, being drowned the day before at the mill, by goodman 

Leedes his house, was buried 22 June. 

The entries of the parish of Addington commence 1562 : 

1562. Thomas Boorman the third day of March was baptised. 

1563. John Brown the last of November was buried. 

1565. Joane Godden, the servant to Mr. Tilden. the fourth day of November 

was buried. 

1566. John Martin, a Frameyer, the seventh day of March was buried. 
1568. Robert Stilt, alias Round, the fourth day of February was buried. 
1582. The eleventh of March, a gentlewoman, of freebirth. from Mr. Dan's 

house, was buried. 

1585. Alice Taylor, widow, the x th day of July was buried. 
1568. John Dolton and Joane Taylor, widow, the ix. day of May was 

married. 

No marriages in 1578-1581, 1588 and 1599. 
The registers of East Mailing commence thus : 

Burials, Marriages, and Christenings, in the parish of Est Mailing. 

1570. Baptised was John, the sonne of John Lane, the 18th day of April. 
Married was William Bannister and Joan Bathersly, 4th day of May. 

* Parsons were styled " Sir " till long after this. 



TUDOR TIMES (15091603.) 66 

1670. Buried was Marye, the daughter of George Warbutton, the 8th day of 

April. 
9th of January, baptised was Robert, the sonne of John Thomas, 

without any swathing. 

1571. Buried was Johen Pyne, the daughter of one. Pyne, of London. 
1581. Baptised was Sarah, ye daughter of one Margaret, a traveller. 

Buried was ye saide Sarah, the 12th of October. 
1590. Buiied was one Joy, a stranger, the 2nd day of February. 
1595. Buried was a child that was nursed in this parish, 5th of April. 

1597. Buried was one who said he was born in Hartford sheere, the 9th 

of August. 

1598. Buried was Thomas Foster, a Sussex man, who died soon after he was 

released out of prison, 28 February. 

1599. Buried was Thomas Eves, gentleman, the 13th day of August. 

A relic of ancient times of this date is the quintain on Offham 
Green, still standing. It is reported by some that the lord of the 
manor is bound to repair it, and by others that the house opposite 
is bound to do so, but this is denied ; however, it is still kept up, 
and as it is said to be the only one in England it is to be hoped that 
it will continue to stand. It is a plain, upright post, with one 
cross-piece at the top, and looks at a distance, to all appearance, 
like a signpost to a bye lane. When we get near it, however, we 
notice little holes in the broad end, and on the narrower end a 
hook, on which, we are told, used to be hung a weight : a man rode 
at it full tilt, and charging it with his lance, bowed his head to 
escape the weight if he did so he was considered to have been 
successful ; but this, as may be seen, was no easy task. It shows 
us one amongst the games of our ancestors which were known 
before cricket came into fashion. 

There are a few more monuments that we have not yet mentioned 
belonging to this period. Two in Ditton; one to one of the 
Shakerlys, who owned the manor for a short period: 

" Here lyeth the body of Rowland Shakerly. gent, sonne and heyre of 
Francis Shakerly, of Brooke Court, within this parish of Ditton, Esquyer; 
which Rowlande, beynge Fellow of Gray's Inn, deceased the xxii 11 ' 1 day of June 
in the yeare of our Lord 1576 ; and had this memorial of his death made by a 
young gentlewoman, as an argument of her unseparable good meaning towards 
him." 

The other to one of the Brewers, another family who held a 
position for some time in this parish, which runs : 

" Here lieth the body of Millicent, the second wife of William Brewer, gent, 
daughter of Robert Tyas, of London, Esq., who died the xi"> September, 1556 
Si moram fecerit expecta." 

In West Mailing church a brass, whose inscription runs : 

" Of yo r Charitye pry" for the soule of Master Wyllim Skott, Getylman, 
which decesyd the xxiii. day of January, a dm mdxxxii., whose soule Jhu 
have mercy." " Of your Charity pray for the soul of Master William Scott, 
gentleman, the which deceased the 23rd day of January, in the year of our 
Lord 1532, on whose soul Jesus have mercy." 

5 



6G MEMORIES OF MALLINQ AXD ITS VALLEl. 

Also another that Thorpe tells of : 

' Here lyeth George Cattleu. Esquire, deceased the 1 VI II" 1 day of February, 
131)0. 

And in Snodland : 

' Pray for the soules of William Tilghman the elder, and Isabell and Joan 
his wives, which William decessyd the XXVI I. day of August, anno domini 
MCCCCCXII., on whose soules Jesu have mercy. 

As you are so was I. and as I am so shalt you be." 
Also a brass : 

'Jesu mercy, Je.su mercy, mercy Jesu. Orate pro anima Rogeri Perot, qui 
obiit xvii. die mensis Septernbris, anno domini MCCCCLXXXVL, cujus 
animre propitietur Deus. Amen " : 
this seems to have been a relation of the then rector, John Perot. 

Also: 

' Orate pro animabus Edwarde Biachoptre and Margaret uxoris eju?, qui 
quidam Edward, obiit primo die mensis Septembris, et domina Margareta, obiit 
xvii. die mensis Xovembris, anno domini MGCCCLXXXXII. Quorum animabus 
propitietur Dcus. Amen." 




Old Mural Painting formerly over the chancel arch of Hailing Church. 
Height 7 feet, breadth (J feet ; (from a copy in possession of H. 
Raven, Esq., The Cedars, Hailing). 



CHAPTER VIII. 

STUART TIMES (1603 1715). 

nnHE first year of the reign of King James, Henry (,'obham, alias 
Brooke, brother to Lord Cobham, was implicated in the conspiracy 
of Sir Walter Raleigh, Lord Grey, his own brother and others, 
to place Lady Arabella Stuart on the throne (called the Main). 
Some see two plots in the matter ; one to place her on the throne, the 
other to surprise and imprison the king (called the Bye, or Surprise). 
If we consider it is as two separate plots, it was in the second half 
that he appears to have been implicated. Thus two of the holders 
of the abbey were amongst those who planned plots in those dark 
times, and we might speculate, in our imagination, upon the rooms 
where their schemes were devised. The treason of Brooke led to 
the abbey and lands getting into the hands of Sir Robert Brett, of 
Somersetshire, who bore for his arms a lion rampant, gules, with an 
orle of cross crosslets, Jitchet, of the second. He was buried in an 
ornamental tomb on the south side of the altar within the rails ; 
from the inscription we learn : " Here lyeth Sir Robert Brett, of 
the ancient family of the Bretts, in ye county of Somerset, with 
Dame Frances his wife, ye sole daughter of Sir Thomas Fane and 
Dame Mary, Baroness Le Despencer, his wife ; they were religiously 
and charitably disposed, as appeareth by legacy given to charitable 
uses to this towne of West Mailing and East Mailing ; they had 
between them one only sonne, Henry Brett, who also lyeth here, 
interred with them. Sir Robert Brett dyed 1 Septembris, 1620 : 
The Lady Brett dyed 27 Augusti, 1617: Henry Brett dyed 
12 Octobris 1609. 

In obitum clarissimi viri Robert! Brett, militis 

Hoc elegante qui sepulchre clauditur 

Ipse et Sepulcbrum et elegans nuper fuit 

Sed elegautionis hospita domus 

Ilia avolabit et manebit et manet 

jEternitatis consecrata annalibus 

Deo Politze mentis emiuens nota 

Patrize et propingius cognita pietas viri." 

This Sir Robert Brett gave by will ten shillings to ba distributed to 

67 



68 MEMORIES OF NALLIN6 AND ITS VALLEY, 

twenty poor people, and ten shillings for a preacher on market day, 
which was formerly Saturday. The sermon is still continued weekly, 
the alteration having only been made from Saturday to Friday, and 
from Friday morning to Friday evening, the market having been 
discontinued in Mailing for some period an attempt made to revive 
it in this century did not succeed. The money was to be paid out 
of his estate of <80 at Tewkesbury, in Gloucestershire. After this 
King James granted the manors to John Rayney, and this grant 
was confirmed to his son Sir John Rayiiey, Baronet of Nova Scotia, 
in the second year of Charles I. 

Having traced the Mailing manors down to this date, let us go 
on with the rest after the same fashion till we come to the civil war, 
when there will be several things to be found worthy of notice in 
our valley. At Addington, as we have already seen, Thomas Watton 
continued the Squire, when he was succeeded by William ; during his 
lifetime the third and fourth bells were placed in the church steeple. 
On them is printed, "John Wilmar made me, 1623," and also the 
second bell, which has " J. W. 1635." " Juxta hoc monumentum 
sepulturse traditur corpus Guilielmi Watton, armigeri hujus, 
manerii domini, filii predicti Thomae Watton, qui duxit uxorem 
Elizabetham, filiam Johannis Simonds, in comitatu Essexise, generosi, 
per quam prolem habuit filium unicum et tres filias, viz., Guilielmum 
Elizabetham, Margeritam et Annam, obiit 28 Octobris, anno domini 
1651. Hujus mortem deflexerunt piisimi liberi et maestissima, 
conjux Elizabetha quae in memoriam, tarn carissimi mariti hoc 
monumentum posuit." " Near this monument is also placed the 
body of William Watton, Esquire, in its burial place, lord of this 
manor, son of the aforesaid Thomas Watton, who married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Simonds, in the county of Essex, gentleman, by 
whom he had issue one son and three daughters, namely, William, 
Elizabeth, Margaret, and Anna. He died the 28th of October, 1651." 
As this Watton died within thirty years of his father, just at the 
eve of the civil war, this is probably the reason why we do not find 
the name of Watton, associated with one or the other of the two 
great parties that rent every family in England asunder at these 
times, as the next Watton (William) was probably a minor ; and 
thus this family passed through a second period of civil war still 
keeping their lands. We shall remark further on this when we come 
to the Addington registers, which throw a great deal of light upon 
those timas, when parties through their bitterness upset the rules of 
order and religion. 

AUington, which had been granted by Queen Elizabeth to John 
A.stley, master of her jewels, was bequeathed to his kinsman, Jacob 
Astley, in 1639. 

The Friars at Aylesford, as we have seen, passed into the hands 
of the Sedleys. Sir John Sedley was created a baronet by James I., 
and in 1622 was Sheriff of Kent ; in 1639 Sir Charles Sedley was 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 69 

born at Aylesford, of whom more hereafter. Preston and Aylesford 
continued in the hands of the Colepeppers. Sir Thomas Colepepper 
died 1604, and is buried in Aylesford Church, where his monument still 
may be seen ; on it is inscribed : " Here lyeth in tombed Sir Thomas 
Colepepper, knt., by bloode and desarte descended of many worthy 
ancestors, in his lifetime for his worth and desarte beloved of all 
men, and in his death as much lamented as bemoned; he had by 
dame Marie, his only wife, at the time of his decease, three sonnes 
and two daughters, which dame Marie, to perform her last duty 
in remembrance of her faithful love to her deceased husband, at 
her own cost erected this gratefull monument, under which he 
resteth, and by his lively faith hopeth a joyful resurrection. He 
died the 12th of October, 1604." He was succeeded by his son Sir 
William, who was Sheriff of Kent in 1637. 

About this period the other manors of Eccles, Tottington, and 
Howe's Place passed to the Sedleys from the Warcups. The 
Aylesford cup and paten are of this date, being of the year 1628, 
and so were possibly the gift of a Sedley or a Colepepper. 

We have seen that Sir Edward Nevill obtained the earldom of 
Abergavenny by the decision of the court, but he appears to have 
died before the decision, in 1589, and his son, Lord Edward Nevill, 
in 1602 succeeded to the honours his father had thus won. He was 
succeeded at his death in 1622 by Lord Henry Nevill, his son, who 
was followed at his death by his son Lord Thomas, who died in 1658, 
his two children having predeceased him. 

The old cup of Birling is dated 1617, and was perhaps a gift 
of the Nevill family ; the fourth, fifth, and sixth bells of Birling also 
belong to this period, and are dated 1631. On the fourth and fifth 
are, " Joseph Hatch made me," and on the sixth is, " Josephus Hatch 
me fecit, 1631." 

Ditton passed through the hands of the Wisemans to Sir Oliver 
Boteler, of Teston, knight. He died in 1632, and his son John 
dying without children, his brother William Boteler obtained the 
properties, and was created a baronet in 1640. 

Boro' Court came into the possession of the Shakerlys, one of 
whose monuments we have already spoken of ; another runs as 
follows : " Here lyeth the body of Elizabeth Shakerley, late wife of 
Richard Shakerley, of Ditton, Esquior, who died the 17th of February, 
anno 1626," which is no longer extant. Her granddaughter is also 
buried in this church, as appears by the monument : " Here lieth 
the body of Elizabeth Bewley, the daughter of Peter Bewley, gent, 
and Mary his wife, who departed this life the 14th day of October, 
1638." 

Another monument of the same date is to the incumbent : " Hie 
jacet corpus Guilielmi Prewe, in artibus magistri, hujus que ecclesise 
rectoris tidelissimi, qui obiit Septembr 28, anno domini 1638. 

Nicholas Levison passed Bavent in Hailing at this time to his 



70 MEMORIES OF MALLING AXD ITS VALLEY. 

son Thomas, whose son Richard was knighted by Charles I. 
Maximilian Dalison, the son of the lady whose brass we described 
in the last chapter, was knighted by James I. He had eleven 
children, and died in St. John Street, Clerkenwell, and was buried 
in the parish church. He was Sheriff of Kent in 1613 : in 1649 
his name is found as Secretary for the Committee of Kent. His 
half-brother, Multon Lambarde, was knighted in 1607. The Dalison 
family still hold property in Hailing, but the present family of 
Dalison took the name about fifty years ago. 

Bradbourne, in East Mailing, continued in the hands of the 
Manningharns. Richard Manningham's monument in East Mailing 
church has the following inscription in Latin : 

Richardus Manny ngham, 
Honesta natus familia mercaturam. 
Juvenis exercuit satis copiosam, 
Miate provectiori ruri vacavit, 
Literis et valetudini in studiis tarn, 
Divinis quam humanis eruditus ; Latine, 
Gallice, Belgice dixit : scripsit. 
Eleganter et proprie : nee alieni Appe- 
Tens nee profusus sui ; amicos habuit 
Fideliter et benigne pauperes : for- 
Tunis suis sublevavit affines et 
Consanguineos auxit : anirui cando- 
Re vultus suavitate et gravitate 
Conspicuus sobrie prudens et sin- 
Cere pius, languido tandem confec- 
Tus morbo expiravit 25 to Die Aprilis. 
A Salutis 1611, et setatis suas 72. 
Desideratus suis maxime Johanni 
Hannyngham heredi qui monumentum 
Hoc memor mierens que posuit." 

[Richard Mannyngham, born of an honourable family, as a young man carried 
on a sufficiently plentiful trade. In age he gave up merchandise for 
the country, for letters and for health, being skilled in studies divine 
as well as human. He spoken in Latin, French, and Flemish. He 
wrote elegantly and correctly ; neither greedy of other men's property 
nor wasteful of his own, he held faithfully and kindly to poor friends : 
with his own fortune he relieved his neighbours and assisted his 
relations ; by the candour of his mind, the sweetness and gravity of his 
countenance, conspicuous ; soberly provident, and sincerely pious. At 
length, worn out by languishing disease, he expired on the twenty-fifth 
day of April, in the year of our salvation 1611, and of his own age 72. 
Longed for by his friends, especially by John Mannyngham, his heir, 
who raised this monument in memory and in grief.] 

Hasted tells us (wrongly) that this was the Manningham who sold 
the estate to Sir Thomas Twisden ; if so that judge must have shown 
legal powers of a peculiar kind, inasmuch as his monument, which is 
exactly opposite Richard Manningham's in East Mailing church, 
tells us that he was not born till January 8th, 1602, and consequently, 
according to that author, the judge at nine years old acquired manorial 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 71 

rights " Credat Judseus Apella." It is very possible that the East 
Mailing paten, which is dated 1609, was the gift of the Manninghams. 

The East Mailing Register supplies a few entries of the family : 

1598. Buried was Jane Manningham. the daughter of Richard Manningham, 
the 30th day of January. 

1600. Married was Richard Manningham, Esq., and Mildred Jane Manning- 
ham, widow, of Maidstonc, the 26th of February. 

1607. Buried was Jane Manningham, the daughter of John Manningham, 
gentleman, the 1st of April. 

1607. Baptised was Amy Manningham, the daughter of John Manningham, 
the 3rd day of April. 

1611. Baptised was John Manningham, the son of Mr. John Manningham, 

the 16th day of May. 

1612. Buried was Richard Manningham, Esquire, the 27th day of April. 
1612. Baptised was Elizabeth Manningham, the daughter of Mr. John 

Manningham, the 23rd day of February. 

1618. Baptised was John Manningham, the son of John Manningham, Esquire, 

the 24th day of September. 

1619. Buried was Anne Manningham, the daughter of John Manningham, 

Esq., the third day of October (twice entered). 
1622. Buried was John Manningham, Esq., the 25th of November. 
1637. Baptised, December the 7th, was Anne, the daughter of Mr. Richard 

Manningham and Bridget his wife. 

It is evident that this last is the Mr. Richard Manningham of 
whom Sir Thomas Twisden bought the estate, and not the one whose 
monument is in East Mailing church, who, it seems to me, was 
probably the grandfather of the man last mentioned in this register. 
Since he was born in 1539, his great-granddaughter would probably 
be born about 1637, and his grandson would be of the same age, or 
thereabouts, as Sir Thomas. 

It would appear that the manors of East and West Mailing, 
together with the abbey, went to John Rayney, created a baronet 
in 1641. His son passed the manor of East Mailing, by sale, to 
Thomas Twisden, Esq., who had already acquired Bradbourne ; and 
the abbey, also by sale, to Edward Honeywood, Esq. 

In 1637 the fourth, sixth, and seventh bells were hung in Town 
Mailing church tower, as is testified by the date upon them. On 
them, also, is the name John Wilnar ; but who presented them we 
cannot tell. The monuments in this church down to this date not 
already mentioned are : 

" Here lyeth buried Elizabeth, the late wife to William Manley, of the 
ancient house of the Manleys of Manley Hall, in Cheshire, she died the 4th of 
Januarie, 1622." 

Thorpe also tells us of another monument : 

" JEtatis suae 5 1 . Here lieth interred the body of John Baron, gent, of this 
parish, who dyed .... the 14th, anno domini 1630, religiose pacificus." 

The Goddens passed Leybourne Castle and Manor to Sir John 
Levison ; his representative, Sir Richard Levison, passed it in the time 



72 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

of James I. to Henry Clerke, Recorder of Rochester, who seems 
to have died 1649. 

Oftham remained in the hands of the Tuftons, Ryarsh in the 
hands of the Nevills, and Holloway Court continued to belong to the 
Tilghmans. 

Paddlesworth about this time fell into the hands of Catharine, 
Lady Stanhope, from whose family it passed to the Marshams, 
of whom we shall speak hereafter. The last recorded institution to 
the parish of Paddlesworth-cum-Dode is that of Edward Aldey, in 
the year 1623 ; after this we hear nothing of this ancient parish. 
This institution is the second in the century, Robert Chambers 
having been instituted in 1600; while in 1599 we read in the 
register : " Take care that no one institute or induct to the rectory 
or the parish church of Paddlesworth, Rochester diocese." 

During this period the parish register of Allington commences 
in the year 1630. Perhaps the earlier records were destroyed at the 
time of the civil war, as may have been also the case with Ayles- 
ford, Ditton, Town Mailing, and Hailing; but these latter two 
parishes commence their registers much later than the others, and 
therefore these valuable diaries must have been lost by some one of 
those wanton destructions of which we have numerous records, 
amongst which is the well-known story that the next pages were 
torn out to use to baste a goose. Which was the greatest goose, the 
one that was cooked or the one that ate it ? is a question to be solved ; 
but we are certain that the man had not a much deeper head than 
the bird, if it was as deep. 

We now come to the times of the civil war. In the conflict between 
king and parliament the men of our valley played a considerable 
part. Sir H. Tufton, the lord of the manor of Offham, who was 
M.P. for Maidstone, is said to have been warm for the Parliament 
in the Committee of Kent, which also numbered amongst its 
members Maximilian Dalison, one of the Manninghams, and one 
of the Wattons. It was, however, in 1648 that the Kentish 
Royalists rose under Lord Goring ; and after Husbands had defeated 
some of them at Northfleet, he was ordered to join Fairfax at 
Mailing, whither he had marched from Maidstone, where Sir John 
Rayney and Sir W. Brockman were stationed with 1000 horse. 
We are told that at this time from 6000 to 7000 proscribed 
persons assembled on the high ground at Bluebell, and viewed the 
valley with longing and sorrowful eyes ; but they had not, it would 
appear, the hearts of the men of Kent of other days, or Fairfax 
would not have left the valley so easily as he did. We find James 
Gosling, in 1651, was spoken of as riding in a troop of horse with 
sword and pistols at Town Mailing ; he was probably one of the 
many who did not relish the turn things took. 

But of all the people who took part in the scenes of those times, 
perhaps none were more to the front than two persons who lie in the 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 73 

quiet old church of East Mailing we mean Colonel Tomlinson and 
Judge Twisden. Colonel Tomlinson, whose picture is in the Brad- 
bourne collection, was brother-in-law to Judge Twisden, fortunately 
for himself. He was a colonel of horse in the army of the Parlia- 
ment, and conducted Charles I. daily to and from Westminster. 
He turned approver against the regicides, and said he rebuked the 
people for taking tobacco before the king, and for refusing to take 
their hats off before him. He attended Charles I. till Hackett took 
charge of him on the scaffold, and appears to have been friendly 
with his unfortunate prisoner, as the monarch gave him a gold tooth- 
pick in a case before his execution, and confided his George and seals 
to him, which the colonel forwarded by his sister, Lady Twisden, to 
Charles II. On a plain stone in the chancel of East Mailing we 
read, " Matthew Thomlinson, Esq , obiit ye 5th of November 1681, 
and Pembrook Thomlinson ye 10th of June 1683. In the register we 
read, " 1681. Buried 9th of November was Matthew Thomlinson, 
Esquire." His wife's name is not in the register ; she was the 
eldest of four daughters, and co-heiress of William Cobham (who died 
1668), the son of George Brooke, Esq., who, with his brother, 
Henry, Lord Cobham, was attainted for his share in the Raleigh 
Conspiracy. Sir Thomas Twisden was the second son of Sir William 
and Lady Twysden, of Roydon Hall, East Peckhain, where he was 
born in 1601-2. His father, Sir William Twysden, was the son of 
Roger Twysden, Esq., who was Sheriff of Kent, and Captain of the 
Lathe of Aylesford Light Horse at the camp of Tilbury : he married 
Ann, the daughter of the famous Sir Thomas Wyatt. Roger 
Twysden lived at Wye Court ; but on that being burnt he removed to 
Chelmington, and thence to Roydon Hall, which he inherited from 
his mother, Elizabeth Roydon this lady's father lost both his sons 
while they were bathing in the Medway at Brandbridges ; he 
strongly opposed Wyatt's rebellion her picture, as well as those of 
the Wyatts and Roger, hangs at Bradbourne. 

The elder brother of the judge was the famous Sir Roger Twysden, 
born in 1597. He was an antiquary and historian, the friend of 
Dugdale, D'Ewes, Kenelm Digby, Junius, Biondi, Philpott, Selden, 
and Somner ; he was confined in prison because he was an ardent 
Royalist and friend of the Church ; he wrote, amongst other works, 
A Historical Defence of the Church of England, The Laws of Henry /., 
and Treatise on the Government of England. He was J.P. for Kent, 
and died of apoplexy in the Mailing Woods when on his way to the 
Petty Sessions in 1672. 

Another of the family was Dr. John Twysden, born in 1607, who 
died in 1688. The sisters of the judge were Ann, Lady Yelverton, 
and Elizabeth, Lady Cholmley. Sir Thomas's aunt married Henry 
Fane, of Hadlow, who was related to the Earls of Westmoreland of 
that name ; her son altered his name to Vane, and is well known as 
Sir Harry Vane the elder, at one time Lord Treasurer to Charles I., 



74 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

but who afterwards took part against him ; his son was Sir Harry 
Vane the younger, who sat in the Rump Parliament, and is so well 
known because of Cromwell's exclamation, ' ; The Lord defend me 
from Sir Harry Vane." Thus father and son were first cousin and 
first cousin once removed to the judge. 

Sir William Twysden, the judge's eldest nephew, was born in 
December 1635, and died in 1697. He served in several Parliaments, 
and was M.P. for Kent in James II. 's first year ; he spoke very 
strongly against a standing army, and more especially a popish 
standing army, officered by men who were enemies to the constitu- 
tion. He had seventeen children, of whom the seventh was a 
contributor to the Tatler, and was killed at the siege of Mons ; the 
eighth, John, was a lieutenant in the Royal Navy, and was one of 
the unfortunate persons drowned with Sir Cloudesley Shovel off the 
Scilly Isles in 1707 ; Josias, the ninth, was killed by a musket shot 
while fighting in Flanders ; and the fifth son, William, who became 
baronet, married Eleanor, the granddaughter of the judge, to whom 
we now return. He was a member of the Inner Temple at the early 
age of seventeen, and was called to the bar when twenty-four ; he 
was made a bencher in 1646, and a Serjeant in 1654 ; Cromwell sent 
him to the Tower for defending the rights of the City of London, on 
account of which the grateful city still preserves his portrait in the 
Guildhall. He bought Bradbourne from Sir John Rayney it would 
appear in 1642, and in 1653 his name first appears in the East 
Mailing register : * " 1653. September 3, baptised Isabella, daughter 
of Thomas Twisden, Esq." Having founded a new family, he changed 
his name from Twysden to Twisden. He married Jane, daughter of 
John Thomlinson, Esq., of Whit by, sister, as we have already said, 
to the famous Colonel Thomlinson. On the Restoration, in 1660, his 
loyalty was rewarded, and he was knighted and made a Judge of the 
King's Bench, in which official capacity he tried the regicides. He 
was made a baronet, and died on January 2nd, 1683. His picture, 
with those of his family we have mentioned, hangs at Bradbourne 
he is painted as serjeant-at-law, in a scarlet robe and black coif. 
His monumental tablet in East Mailing church runs : 

D. THOMAS TWISDEN, Eq. Aur. et Baronet us. 

Guilielmi Twisaen de East Peckham, Eq. Aur. et Bar., fil. secundus Roger! 
Twisden de East 1'eckham, armigeri nepos natus. die VIII . Januarii 1602-3. 
Legum studiis in interior! Templo, operam dedit et ob eximiam juris- 
prudentiam, a serenissimo rege Carolo II., eo qui rediit anno ; Justitiarius 
ascriptus est in Banco Regis, et cum per annos octodecem officio integerrime 
functus, est A JStatis 77, senio et dysuria laborans, Judicis honore in termi- 
num vitae continuato officii veniam impetravit uxorem duxit Janam filiani 
Johannis Thomlinson, de Whitby, in com. Ebor armg. e qua, suscepti sunt 
Rogerus, Thomas, Guilielmus del, Heneagius def., Franciscus Jana, ux Jo. 
Sympson, Eq. Aur., Anna def., Marg ux. Tho. Style. Bait., Elizabetha, Elnora, 

* See Twisden Registers, p. 224. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 75 

ux Felicis Wylde, Bart., Isabella def. ; mortuus est 2 a die Januarii, A ^tatis 
LXXXI., D nl MDCLXXXjfl. Venerabili parentis memoriae posuit D. Rogerus 
Twisden, Baronetus qui, uxorem habet Margaritam, filiam Johannis Marsham, 
de Whorne's Place, Eq. Aur. et Bar. 

In English : 

[Sir THOMAS TWISDEK, Knight and Baronet, second sou of Sir William 
Twisden of East Peckham. Knight and Baronet, grandson of Roger 
Twisden of East Peckham, Esq., born the 8th day of January, 1602. 
He paid attention to the studies of the law in the Inner Temple, and 
on account of his excellent skill in law was appointed Judge of 
the King's Bench by the most serene King Charles II., in the year 
that he returned ; and when for eighteen years he discharged his duties 
with all integrity, suffering from old age and dysentery,* in the 77th 
year of his age, his honour of judge being continued to the end of 
his life, he obtained excuse from his office. He married Jane, daughter 
of John Thomlinson, of Whitby, in the county of York, Esquire, by 
whom he had Roger, Thomas. William, deceased, Heneage, deceased, 
Frank, Jane, wife of Sir John Hympson, Knt., Anna, deceased, 
Margaret, wife of Sir Thos. Style, Bart. ; Elizabeth, Eleanor, wife of 
Sir Felix Wylde, Bart. ; Isabella, deceased ; he died on the 2nd day of 
January, in the 81st year of his age, A.D. 1682. To the venerated 
memory of his parent, Sir Roger Twisden, Baronet, who married 
Margaret, daughter of Sir John Marsham, of Whorne's Place, Knight 
and Baronet, erected this monument.] 

This same Sir Roger succeeded his father in the estate, and 
died in 1703, when he was succeeded by his son Sir Thomas. On 
the family tablets down to this date we read : 

Dame Jane Twisden died September 24. 1702, aged 91. Sir Roger Twisdeu, 
Bt., eldest son of Judge Twisden, died Feby. 28, 1703, aged 62 years. Dame 
Margaret, wife of Sir Roger Twisden, and daughter of Sir John Marsham, died 
Jany. 30, 1687. They had issue Thomas, Roger, William. Heneage. Francis John, 
Jane, and Elizabeth, married to Sir Richard Newdigate." 

In the year 1695, the second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bells 
were hung in East Mailing church. The second has on it, " This 
bell was added by Benefactors, J. B. me fecit " ; the third, fourth, 
and fifth, " James Bartlett me fecit " ; the sixth, " John Grosse, 
Vicar, 1695, Abraham Walter, Thomas Hobert, Churchwardens. 
James Bartlett, me fecit." 

During the period of the Commonwealth, Addington still con- 
tinued in the hands of the Wattons, and remained with them during 
the rest of the time of the Stuart dynasty. William Watton the 
younger succeeded his father William, and died in 1703, leaving 
an only daughter, Elizabeth, who was married, first to Leonard 
Bartholomew, Esq., and afterwards to Sir Roger Twisden, Baronet. 
On the rest of the Watton monument we read : 

Hie etiam conduntur reliquiae Guilielmi Watton, filii supradicti Guilielmi, 
in uxorem duxit Margaretam Moreland, quae 7 liberos peperit. Elizabetham, 
Guilielmum, Edmundum, Robertum. Thomam, Francescam et Martham, necnon 
filii ejns Guelielmi, qui obiit sine prole superstite A.D. 1703. et Mariae, uxoris 



" Dysuria," probably a mistake of the stonemason for "dysentura." 



7G MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

ejusdem Guilielmi. riliaj Robert! Fane, quas obiit AD. 1695. Sub hoc marmore 
etiam deposits sunt exuviaj Edmuncli Watton, Fratris et Heredis Guilelini 
Watton. et Sane uxoris ejus, quibus natse fuenint quattuor filiae, Elizabetha, 
Maria, Margareta. Anna, e quibus ELizabetha tantse stirpis et tot progenitorum 
unica hajres parentis sola superstitil. 

[Here also are hidden the remains of William Watton, son of the above- 
named William Watton. He married Margaret Moreland. who had 7 
children Elizabeth, William, Edmund, Robert, Thomas. Frances and 
Martha ; moreover of his son William, who died without surviving 
offspring. A.D. 1703, and Maria, the wife of the same William, daughter 
of Robert Fane, who died. A.D. 1695. Under this marble also are laid 
the remains of Edmund Watton, Brother and Heir of William Watton, 
and Sarah his wife, to whom were born four daughters Elizabeth, 
Marie. Margaret, Anne, from whom Elizabeth alone survived, the sole 
heiress of a parent of so great a race and so many ancestors. ] 

The oldest cup and paten of Addington belong to this period. 

The castle of Allington was bequeathed by John Astley to his 
kinsman Jacob, who was Governor of Oxford and Reading, and 
Lieutenant-General of Worcester, Stafford, Hereford and Salop 
during the civil war, for the king. He was made a baron, and dying 
in 1651 was buried at Maidstone ; his son Isaac, Lord Astley, died 
in 16G2, and was also buried at Maidstone, as was his son Jacob, who 
died in 1688, but who had previously alienated the property to the 
Marshams, whose descendants, the Earls of Romney, still possess it. 
The Astleys seem to have let Allington Castle to the Bests, as the 
registers of Allington, which commence in 1630, give us several 
entries of this family, as follows : 

Elizabeth Best, one of the daughters of John Best the younger, of Allington 
Castle, gent, was christened upon the twentieth day of May, Anno Domini 1631. 

Mary Best, one of the daughters of John Best the younger, and being borne 
upon the eighth day of April last, was christened upon the twentieth day of this 
instant April, Anno Dni. 1632. 

John Best, the son of John Best the younger, Esq., was baptised the second 
day of June, 163?. 

John Best, son of John Best, Esq., was buried the third day of June, 1633. 

Humphrey Best, the sonne of John Best. Esq., was baptised the third day of 
April, Anno Dni. 1636. 

Anna Best, the daughter of George Best, citizen and grocer of London, was 
baptised the fourteenth day of August. Anno Dni. 1636. 

Alice Best, the daughter of John Best. Esq., was baptised the 8th day of 
July, 1637. 

Will Best, the sonne of John Best, Esq., was baptised the 25th of November, 
1638. 

Humphrey Best, son of John Best, Esq.. was buried the fourth of April, 1638. 

Alice, the daughter of John Best, Esq.. and Elizabeth his wife, was buried the 
18th of September. 1639. 

There were a few memorials to this family in Allington Church. 
They were, on one stone : 

John Best, an infant, died 2nd June, 1633. 
Humfre Best. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 77 



On another : 



Here lieth the body of Anne Best, the wife of John Best of Allington, Gent, 
and one of the daughters of Gore Tucker, of Milton-next-Gravesend, Esquire, 
who decesed the 19th day of December, 1626. 

A shete may hide her face, not her good name, 
For fame findes never tomb t'enclose the same. 

The ancient church of Allington has been removed, and with it 
we are sad to say its old memorials all but three. Even so late as 
this they are in the porch : 

Here lyeth buried John Maplesdon, Maidstone, gentleman, and Ellen his 
wife, who died the second day of the age, 1644. 

Here are deposited the remains of the two children of William and Anne 
Stevenson, of Maidstone, goldsmith. Sarah died 26 October, 1666, aged 2 years 
and one month, John died 17th March, 1760 ; and also the remains of William 
Stevenson, died 24th October, 1769, aged 70 years, and Elizabeth, wife of Samuel 
Stevenson, died 2nd Sept., 1775, aged 70 years. 

Here lyeth the body of John Thatcher, who died 2nd June, 1698, iged 40 years, 
also Ruth his wife, who died ye 18 Jan., 1743, aged 84 years ; likewise these 
children : Thomas, 25 May, 1694, aged 3 years. Joseph, 8 Nov., 1698. John 
died July 1738, aged 13 years. Charles died 14 Nov., 1731, 28 years. 

This family of Best is probably the same as that of Thomas 
Best, of Chatham, who obtained part of Eccles Manor in Aylesford 
about this time, and whose grandson possessed the same in the time 
of Hasted. 

The Church bell of Allington is of this period, and is marked 
"J. M., 1653." 

The manor of Cosyngton at this time was in the hands of the 
Dukes, of whom Edward Duke was knighted in the time of James I. ; 
he was succeeded by his son, George Duke, who was knighted in the 
time of Charles I. There are several of this family in the Aylesford 
register : 

1656. George, ye sonne of George Duke, Esq., and Frances his wife, was born 

the xxvi th of June. 
1664. Frances, the daughter of Edward Duke, gentleman, and of Mary his 

wife, was baptised the 26th day of June, 1664. 
1655. Frances, ye daughter of George Duke, Esq., and Frances his wife, was 

buried ye ix th day of October. 
1658. George, the sonne of George Duke, Esq., and of Frances his wife, was 

buried the xx th day of June. 
1666. Catharine, the daughter of Edward J. (D)uke, gentleman, and of Mary 

his wife, was baptised the xx th day of September. 
1669. Anne, ye daughter of Edward Duke, gent, and of Mary his wife, was 

baptised ye seven and twentieth day of June. 
1669. Frances, the wife of George Duke, Esq., was buried the llth day of 

October. 
1691. George Duke, Esq., was buried Feby. 24. 

In Aylesford Churck we find this monument to one of the Dukes : 

Here lieth Thomas Finch, only sonn of Anthony Finch, of Coptree, gent, by 
Anne his wife, daughter of Thomas Duke, of Cosington, Esq., hce died 29 of 
August, 1629. 



78 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

He left one daughter, Mary, who died 1696 without children, and 
left the property to S. White, Esq., who passed it on to the Staceys. 
In the register we find : 

1756. Mrs. Mary Duke was buried from Maidstoue. May 26. 

George Duke was a justice of the peace for the county, and thus 
we find his name appended in the Aylesford register : 

John Birchall, of Aylesford, in the county of Kent, Taylor, being chosen by 
the parishioners to be register of the said parish of Aylesford, was this day 
sworne before me, one of the Justices of the Peace in the said county, and 
doe approve him to be Parish Register, according to an act of the late parlia- 
ment entitled an act touching marriages and the registering thereof, and also 
touching births and burials ordered to be printed the 24th of August last 
past. Witnesse my hand hereunto set the day and yeare first above written : 
GEO. DUKE. 23 Januarie. 1553. 

The act above referred to was passed in Oliver Cromwell's 
administration, in the year 1653, by which it was ordered that 
marriages might be solemnised by justices of the peace and the 
banns should be published in the Market Place. A Jeu d'esprit was 
made by Fleckno upon this law : 

" Now just as 'twas in Saturn's reign. 
The Golden Age 13 returned again : 
And Astrtea again from Heaven is come 
When all on earth by justice is done. 
Amongst the rest we have cause to be glad 
Now Marriages are in Market made. 
Since Justice we hope will take order there 
We may not be cousened no more in our ware. 
Besides each thing would fall out right, 
And that old Proverb be verified by't : 
That Marriage and Hanging be both together, 
When Justice shall have the disposing of either. 
Let Parson and Vicar then say what they will, 
The Custom is good, God continue it still ; 
For Marriage being now a trafique and trade, 
Pray where but m markets should it be made ? 
'Twas well ordained they should be no more, 
In Churches nor Chappels then as before, 
Since for it in Scripture we have example 
How buyers and sellers were driven out of the Temple. 
Meantime, God bless the Parliament 
In making this Act so honestly meant. 
Of these Good Marriages God bless the breed, 
And God bless us all, for never was more need." 

Some examples of these marriages during the Commonwealth are 
recorded in the registers about here. In the parish register of 
Addington we read : 

1654. John King and Margaret Sladden were married, their Banns being first 
published three several duies, the 8th day of June. 

1656. Thomas Hatch and Margaret Hatch were married by Justice Madden, 
of Boxley, and by the minister of Addington, the twenty-fourth day 
of September. 



STUART TIMES (1603- 1715). 79 

John Kindon, of Stanstead, and Mary Woollett, of Meopham, were married 
the 15th day of September, 1657, having three several market days 
their banns published in Rochester. 

William Shileren (Children) and Helen Stimpson, and both of Tonbridge, were 
married the 31st day of January, 1658, their Banns being three 
several daies published in the market of Tunbridge by the Jtce. of 
the Peace. 

John Dennis, of Boxley, in Kent, and Mary Boorman, of Ryarsh, in the same 
count3', their intended marriage being three several market days 
published in Maidstone, and no exception against them, were married 
the 7th day of April, 1659. 

John King and Susannah Prior, both of Wrotham, having had their proposed 
marriage three several Lord's days in the congregation of Wrotham 
published, were solemnly married at Addington the 13th of October, 
1659. 

In the register of Trottescliffe we read : 

According to an act touching marriages, and ye registering thereof, also 
touching births and burials, bearing date Aug. 24th, 1658, Robert Hills being 
chosen registrar by the parishioners of Trottescliffe, was sworn before me, 
Justice of ye Peace, to be registrar of ye said parish, October ye 5th, 1654. 
W. JAMES. 

A purpose of marriage between Richard Daniell, of ye parish of Luddesdown, 
and Joan Miller, of ye Parish of Trottescliffe, hath been published three Lord's 
days in ye parish Church of Trottescliffe, and nothing was by any objected to 
hinder or forbid the same, for testimony whereof I hereunto subscribe my hand, 
Oct. ye fifth, 1654. 

Upon ye aforesaid Certificate, and also another from ye Registrar of the 
Parish of Ludsdown of ye like purpot, the marriage between ye said Richard 
Daniel and Joane Miller was solemnised before me upon ye 5th of October, 
1654, in ye presence of Robert Hilles and John Granger. W. JAMES. 

Entries of this sort take place for the next three years in this 
parish register, in one of which the dates of Banns are given. The 
marriages resume their usual form in 1658. 

In the registers of Aylesford we read : 

23rd Januaire, 1653, John Freneh, of the Parish of Aylesford, Bootmaker, 
and Katharine Knight, also of this parish. Spinster, according to the act above- 
said were married by George Duke, Esq re- , ene of the Justices of the county. 
Witness his hand : GEORGE DUKE. 

November 24th, 1656, John Wood, of Wouldham, husbandman, and Anne 
Baldock, of ye same, spinster, were married at Cosaington, in the presence of 
Michael Maylam and William Booth, Registrar of Wouldham, by George Duke, 
Esq., one of the Justices within the county. Witness his name : GEORGE DUKE. 

These cases we have chosen from the different registers will suffice 
to show the peculiarities of the Act previously mentioned. No 
doubt stringencies were placed on marriages, and this probably 
explains why certain placas where they were a little lax became 
favourite places for marriages, though Mr. Burns, in his book on 
parish registers, has said that Aylesford was the favourite place for 
marriages because of the passage boats from Rochester and Chatham, 
and I was told, at the meeting of the Kent Archaeological Society, that 
some favourite justice of the peace was chosen. I must call attention 



8U MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

to the fact that the retired parish church of Allingtoii has a wonderful 
number of marriages during this period about the time of the Act. 
This little parish never appears to have contained man}- more than 
sixty people at a much later date than this, yet here we have twelve 
marriages in 1648, eighteen in 1649, thirty-two in 1650, thirty-eight 
in 1651, twenty-nine in 1652, and twenty-five in 1653 ; while in 1654, 
1656, 1657, and 1659 we have no marriages at all entered. It is very 
clear, we think, from this, that the Act of Cromwell put a stop to a 
number of illegal marriages, the more especially as most of these 
people described themselves widows or widowers, and were strangers. 
From 1661 to 1668 the number of weddings, and especially of widowers, 
is also remarkable at Aylesford ; but during times of civil war this 
might be explained, and the fact of Mr. Duke being a favourite 
justice, before whom these ceremonies were performed, would decide 
the matter as regards Aylesford. But the marriages of Allington 
being previous to the Act, make me fancy that Gretna Greens 
were found in these early days nearer than Scotland, and that 
Cromwell's Act did good service in preventing marriages that ought 
not to take place, and which had become common in out-of-the-way 
parish churches, but which, nevertheless, were not far from some 
well-known means of transit. 

On account of Mr. Duke's signature occurring in some of these 
registers we have given them here. We find, in the register of 
Offham, that he also approved the registrar of that parish, for in 
that book we read : 

These are to certify I do approve of the choice of Andrew Dunning to be 
register for the parish of Offham, he having taken his Corporal oath before 
me the 27th day of June, 1657. GEOKGE DUKE. 

Of the other manors of Aylesford, Tottington was alienated by 
Henry "Warcup to Maddox, who, in the early part of the eighteenth 
century, alienated it to Mr. Thomas Golding, of Ryarsh. The Friars 
and Howe's Place continued the property of the Sedleys. Sir John 
Sedley, who was Sheriff in 1622, left a son, Sir Henry, who died 
without children, and passed these properties to his brother William, 
who sold them to Sir Peter JRycaut. The brother of Sir Henry and 
Sir William was the famous Sir Charles Sedley, one of the wits of 
Charles II. 's witty court, and a poet of no mean pretensions: he 
was born at Aylesford in 1639, and lived till 1701. The following 
is a specimen of his poetry : 

'' Thyrsis. unjustly you complain, 
And tax my tender heart 
With want of pity for your pain, 
By sense of your desert. 
By secret and mysterious springs, 
Alas ! our passions move, 
'We women are fantastic things, 
That like before we love. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 81 

You may be handsome and have wit, 

Be secret and well bred ; 

The person love must to us fit, 

He only can succeed. 

Some die, yet never are beloved, 

Others we trust too soon, 

Helping ourselves to be deceived, 

And proud to be undone." 

There are only two entries of the Sedley family in the registers 
of this neighbourhood. One, at Trottescliffe : 

1667. John the son of Sir Isaac Sedley, Knt., and Dame Cicely his wife, was 
baptised the 23rd of January. 

The other, at Aylesford : 

1658. George, the son of John Sedley, gent, and Dorothy his wife, was buried 
the sixth of October. 

The Hospital of the Holy Trinity, in Aylesford, was founded by 
Sir William Sedley, Knt., who was heir and sole executor to his 
brother, John Sedley, of Aylesford, who died in 1605, and who left 
by his will that : 

<; A convenient house " was " to be built for six poore, aged, and impotent 
Persons, in the streete of Aylesford where my tenements be, if a convenient 
quantitie of the land adjoining may be purchased for that purpose, or in such 
other place in that Parish where my executor shall think fit, and that there be 
bought in Lands and Tenements, to be enjoyed by the saide poore persons 
for theire mayntenance, threescore pounds by the yeare, to be continued for 
ever ; my said Brother, William Sedley, and his Heires, placing therein from 
tyme to tyme such poore persons as they shall think, and always providing 
that one of the sixe shall be able to reade Prayers to the residue daylie, morning 
and evening." 

Sir William bought a piece of ground and built a stone house 
to be an Hospital, or Maison de Dieu, in 1607, and also bought an 
acre of ground contiguous to the Hospital. He endowed it with two 
messuages, and lands of one hundred and eighty-four acres, which 
he purchased in the parish of Frittenden, of the yearly value of 
.76 ; and he placed in the Hospital six poor persons, four men and 
two women, and left directions that the inmates of the Hospital 
should always consist of a warden, who was to be the head of the 
poor and impotent persons dwelling there, and these poor people 
were not to exceed six in number. The deed of foundation and in- 
corporation was signed and sealed by Sir William Sedley, October 
2nd, 1617 : thus did the Sedleys leave a lasting memorial to Aylesford 
of their having once held property here. 

Sir Peter Rycaut, Knt., alienated the manors to the Banks. There 
are two entries of his family in the register of Aylesford : 

1654. Petra ye daughter of Peter Rycaut, Esq., was buried the Vlllth day 

of October. 
1700. Sir Paul Rycaut, Knight, was buried Nov. 27. 

G 



82 MEMORIES OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

Sir Paul appears to have been a native of Aylesford, and his 
monument shows us that Aylesford has cause to be proud of him : 
it runs : 

Here lieth the body, of Sir Paul Rycaut, Knight, the tenth and youngest son 
of Sir Peter Rycaut, Knight, by dame Mary his wife, without the interposition 
of a daughter ; who after many years' travels in foreign parts in Asia, Africa, 
and Europe, and after several publicque offices performed by him. as secretary 
to the Earl of Winchelsea ; ambassador extraordinary from King Charles the 
Second to Sultan Mahomet Chan the Fourth, in which and in two voyages 
from Constantinople to London and back again, one of which was performed 
by land, through Hungary, and where he remained some time in the Turkish 
camp, with the great and famous Vizier, Kupriogly, for publick affairs of the 
English nation, in which he passed seven years ; after which he was made consul 
for the English nation at Smyrna, where having exercised that office the space 
of about eleven years, to the great and entire satisfaction of the Turkey company, 
he obtained a licence at his own motion and desire to return to England, where 
having lived the space of seven years, in honour and good esteem, as also in 
peace and plenty, he was, in the reign of King James the Second, called by the 
Earl of Clarendon, lord lieutenant of Ireland, to be his principall secretary 
for the provinces of Leinster and Connaught, also by the said King James to 
be one of his privy council for Ireland, and judge of the high court of admiralty, 
in which he remained until the great revolutions in England and Ireland, at 
which time he was employed by King William the Third in quality of his 
resident with the Hans Towns in Lower Saxony, namely, Hamburgh. Lubeck, 
and Bremen, where, having continued the space of more than ten years, to the 
satisfaction of all that knew him, as well to the senators of those republicks 
as also to the government thereof, and to the company of English merchants 
residing there, and having written severall books which are now extant. He 
dyed the 16th of November, 1700, aged 72, and according to his desire lies 
interred near the body of his father and mother. 

Mequwscat in pace. Amen. 

At his death, Caleb Banks, Esq., left these properties to his 
son John, who was created a baronet 1661, and who married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Dethick. He died in 1699, and 
as both of his sons predeceased him, and two of his daughters had 
no children, the property descended to his other daughter, Elizabeth. 
Sir John's monument in Aylesford church reads : 

Memorise sacrum. Hinc felicem expectant resurrect ionem Johannes Banks, 
de Aylesford, in comitatu Cantii, Baronet ; uxor etiam ejus Elizabetha, Johannis 
Dethick, militis comitatu Norfolcias, olim praatoris Londinensis, filia : necnon 
films utrius que communis Caleb Banks, maritus quidern sed liberis orbatus. 
His praeterea nati sunt liberi quatuor, Martha, Elizabetha, Maria, et Johannes. 
Filias tantum duas superstites relinquerunt Elizabethan! et Mariam, Martha 
et Johanne extinctis, quarum altera nempe Elizabetha, nupta fuit Heneagio 
Finch, Heneagii comitis Nottinghamiae, Summi Anglias Cancelarii, filio natu 
secundo auspiciis serenissimas reginae Annae, Baroni de Guernsey. Maria 
vero Johanni Savill, Johannis de Methley, in comitatu Eboracensi, armigeri. 
Filio primogenito exuvias deposuerunt. 

Caleb Banks, Sepbris 13, An 1696. ^tatis 37. 

Elizabetha, Octbris 21, An 1696, ^Etatis 59. 

Johannes, Octbris 18, An 1699, /Ktatis 72. 

[Sacred to their memory. From this, John Banks, baronet, of Aylesford, 
in the county of Kent, and also his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 83 

John Dethick, in the county of Norfolk, knight, formerly an officer in 
London, await a happy resurrection. Moreover Caleb Banks, the 
son of them both, who was married indeed but deprived of children. 
They had four children besides, Martha, Elizabeth, Maria, and John. 
They left surviving only two daughters, Elizabeth and Maria Martha 
and John being dead one of which, namely, Elizabeth, married 
Heneage Finch, second son of Heneage, Earl of Nottingham, Lord 
High Chancellor by the pleasure of the most serene Queen Anne. 
Lord of Guernsey ; but Maria to John Savill, son of John Savill of 
Methley, in the county of York, Esq. They buried them near their 
eldest son. 

Caleb Banks, the 13th September, 1696, aged 37. 
Elizabeth, October the 21st, 1696, aged 59. 
John, October the 18th, 1699, aged 72. 

The grandfather, Caleb Banks, was M.P. for Kent 1686; the 
father, Sir John, M.P. for Kent 1690; and the son, Caleb Banks, 
Esq., M.P. for Kent 1695. Of those mentioned on this tomb the 
following are found in the parish register : 

1669. John, ye son of Sir John Banks, Baronet, and of Dame Elizabeth his 

wife, was buried ye one and thirtieth day of May, anno damini 

1669. 
1676. Mrs. Martha, the daughter of Sir John Banks, Baronet, was buried 

2nd of Sept. 
1696. Caleb Banks, ye son of Sir John Banks, Baronet, was buried 

Sept. 2lst. 
1696. Dame Elizabeth, ye wife of Sir John Banks, Baronet, was buried 

Nov. 2. 
1699. The Right Worshipful Sir John Banks was buried. 

From these monuments, and from these registers, it will be seen 
that Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Banks, carried the estates 
in Aylesford in marriage to Heneage Finch, who was M.P. for 
Oxford, afterwards created Lord Guernsey, March 15th, 1703, and 
finally Earl of Aylesford, Oct. 19th, 1714. He died in 1719. 

Sir William Colepepper, of Preston Hall, left a son, Sir Richard, 
who died in 1660, and passed it on to his son Sir Thomas, and he, 
it would appear, to his son Sir Thomas, who was sheriff in 1704 
and died 1723. 

The fourth and fifth bells of Aylesford church were hung in 
1652, and the seventh and eighth bells in 1661 and 1666; that 
of Allington in 1653, and the first bell of Ditton in 1656. None 
of the families we have spoken of have any record of their 
doings mentioned upon them ; we, however, give their inscriptions. 
The fourth and fifth bells of Aylesford, " Michael Darbie made me, 
1652. T. Macelgin, J. Bogherst, churchwardens"; the seventh 
bell has on it, "Robert Kemsley, Phillip Grange, churchwardens. 
God save King Charles ye 2nd, 1661"; the eighth, "Anthony 
Bartlett made me, 1666. Capt. Ward, Liveftenant Long, two of 
His Majs tles ' Hoymen : Thomas Cossington xx s- to buying a treble 
bell for Aylesford " : this inscription is interesting as pointing to 



84 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

the royalties of the Medway we believe sturgeon caught in the 
Medway are still royal fish. The name of Cossington appears 
for the last time in 1708. The sixth bell was placed in Aylesford, 
which was simply inscribed, " Thomas Goodman, John Taylor, junior, 
Churchwardens, 1708." There is a flagon in Aylesford church 
inscribed, " Ex sumptu parochise de Aylesford, et Thomse Tilson, 
"Vicarii, conjunctim, A.D. 1711" (at the expense of the parish of 
Aylesford, and Thomas Tilson, the vicar, conjointly, A.D. 1711). The 
paten has on it, " Tuum est domine tibi reddo, T. Tilson, Vic. 
Aylesford, 1724-5" (Thine, O Lord, it is I restore to Thee. THOS. 
TILSOX). The Alfington bell is only inscribed, " J. M., 1653," and 
the first bell of Ditton, "Tm. Cw. Wh., 1656." 

The church cup of Ditton is also of this period, and dates from 
1689. Ditton Manor continued in the hands of the Botelers of 
Teston, but Borough Court was carried by Mary Bewley, in marriage, 
to Mr. Basse, of Suffolk, who in the reign of Charles II. alienated 
it to Sir Thomas Twisden, of Bradbourne. Ditton Place was the 
seat of the family of Brewer. There are a few entries of this family 
in the register : 

1663. Dec. 23. William Brewer, son of William Brewer, Esq., was buried. 

1666. Aug. 21. William Brewer, gent, was buried. 

1675. July 14. Elizabeth Brewer, daughter of William Brewer. Esq.. was 

buried. 
1675. July 22. Mrs. Dorothy Lyng. the wife of Thomas Lyng. Esq.. the 

daughter of William Brewer of this parish, gent, was buried. 

1691. Dec. llth. Mrs. Mary Brewer, widow of Richard Brewer, Esq., was 

buried. 

1692. July 30th, William, the son of Mr. Brewer, was buried. 

1695. Elizabeth, the daughter of Mr. Thomas Brewer, and Isabella his wife, was 
baptised January 1st. 

In the beginning of the last century it came into the possession of 
Mr. Thomas Golding, who gave it by will to his nephew of the same 
name, of Ryarsh ; whence it again came into the possession of the 
Brewers in the person of John Brewer, whose niece Mrs. Carney, 
however, in 1735, re-conveyed it to Mr. Thomas Golding. Birling 
continued during this period in the hands of the Nevills, who still 
possess it. 

In 1662, John, Lord Abergavenny, the brother of Sir Thomas, died, 
and was succeeded by his brother George, who died in 1666, and he 
by his son George, who died in 1699, who was the first baron belong- 
ing to the Anglican Church, and who died in 1723. The Birling 
cup is 7 inches high, 4| inches deep, and 3|- inches wide ; engraved 
" I.H.S.," with cross and nails en soleil; near mouth "P. D.," with 
two mullets above and one below; initials in a shield dated 1685-6. 

The ancient palace of the bishops of Rochester, at Hailing, was 
already in ruins in Harris' day (1692), who, with Philpott (1656), 
flourished towards the latter part of this century. 

Langridge, which had been part of the property of Sir Richard 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 85 

Levison, was sold by him to the Barbers, who alienated it to the 
Goldings. 

All the bells of Hailing belong to this date. The first three have 
on them, "John Hodson made me, 1675. Henry Acorte, church- 
warden " ; the fourth has, " John Hodson, Christopher Hodson made 
me. Henry Acorte, churchwarden " ; and the fifth, " John Hodson, 
Christopher Hodson made me, 1675. Henry Acorte, churchwarden." 

Leybourne, which had also become the property of the Levisons, 
was alienated by them to Henry Clerk, Recorder of Rochester. 
His son and heir, Francis, possessed it in Philpott's day. Francis 
Clerk lived at Restoration House, Rochester in which Charles II. 
dined and slept as his guest the evening before the memorable 
29th of May, 1660, for which the king showed his gratitude by 
knighting him that evening in that house from whom the castle 
descended to Gilbert Clerk, of Derbyshire, and from whom it came into 
the possession of Captain Saxby, of the Grange. This last property he 
inherited from his father, who acquired it from his marriage with 
Elizabeth, daughter of Edward Covert, who came into the property 
in right of his wife Julian, who succeeded to her father's (Mr. 
Thomas Olyver) estates at his death in 1678. 

The chalice of Leybourne has on it, " The gift of Henry Ullock, 
D.D., Deane of Rochester and Rector of Leybourne in Kent, 1691." 

The abbey of West Mailing was sold by Sir John Rayney to 
Edward Honeywood, from whom it passed into the hands of his son. 
His son and heir, Frazer Honeywood, a banker in London, on succeed- 
ing, pulled down the old house, then occupied by a f ellmonger named 
Seager probably Richard Seager, senior, buried June 2nd, 1737, at 
West Mailing. With the materials, we are told by Thorpe, he built 
the present house. The third bell of West Mailing has on it, " John 
and Christopher Hodson made me, 1677," and the fifth, " Abraham 
Mason, John Fleete, Church wardens, 1698 ; John Weekly, junior, 
gent." 

Offham continued in the hands of the Tuftons, of whom Nicholas, 
in 1628, was advanced to Lord Tufton and Lord Thanet. His son 
Nicholas was third earl, having succeeded in 1664 ; he died in 1679, 
when his brother John, the fourth earl, succeeded him. He having 
also died without issue, was succeeded by his brother Richard, who 
died unmarried, when Thomas, the sixth earl, succeeded, in 1684. 
Of this family there is only one entry in the Offham register : 

1625. Richard Tufton, ye son of Richard Tufton, Esq., was buried ye second 
day of July. 

An entry in the parish register of Offham, as it is the earliest 
record of hopping in this valley mentioned, we think worthy of 
notice : 

1666. Thomas, ye son of Thomas and Mary Clark, strangers, and came a 
hopping,, baptised 4th September. 



8t> MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

This not only shows hopping to have been an industry in thase 
parts two hundred and thirty years ago, but also shows that even 
then the persons in the valley were not sufficient to gather in that 
harvest. 

The second bell of Offhana has on it, " John Hodson made me, 1674. 
C. H. Robert Lurinden, churchwarden," and the third, "John 
Wilnar made me, 1633." The Offham paten was given in 1675 by 
the Rev. William Polhill, who was also rector of Addington. In 
the registers this gentleman's name is frequently written Polly by 
the clerk, but when he writes his own name, as he does two or 
three times in the Oftham register, he always writes it Polhill. He 
was, I have little doubt, one of the old family of the Polhills of 
Sundridge. 

Ryarsh, as already stated, came into the possession of the Nevills. 
Carews' Court in this parish, which had, as already stated, been in 
the hands of the Carews of Beddington, was sold about 1670 to 
Thomas Watton, who passed it to William, who sold it in the days 
of Charles II. to Edward Walsingham,* whose family had lived in 
Ryarsh, according to the registers, from 1572, but seem to have died 
out in 1724. The Walsinghams were probably an offshoot of the 
Walsinghams of Ightham Mote, and so of those of Chislehurst. 
Ryarsh second bell has on it, "Joseph Hatch made me, 1616." 

The Tilghmans of Holloway Court alienated half their estate to 
Sir John Marsham, of Whorne's Place, in Cuxton, Clerk in Chancery 
in the time of Charles I., who was also M.P. for Rochester in 1660, 
and was knighted and made a baronet in 1685. He passed the 
property on to Sir John, who was the second baronet, and he to Sir 
John the third baronet, in 1696. It then passed to Sir Robert, 
fourth baronet, who was M.P. for Maidstone in 1681, and died in 
1703, Avhen Sir Robert, fifth baronet, came into the property, who 
was created Baron Romney, 1716, by George I. The other part 
passed to the Clotworthys, and was bequeathed to Thomas Williams, 
whose family occurs occasionally in the Snodland register : 

1652. Thomas, the son of Thomas Williams, gent, of Holboro, was baptised 

April 3rd. 

1668. Elizabeth, the daughter of Mr. Thomas Williams, baptised August 16th. 
1671. Grace, the wife of Thomas Williams, gent, was buryed May 2. 

Thomas Williams alienated the property to Richard Manley, Esq. 
He and his wife were both buried at Snodland : the entries are : 

April 4th, 1682. Madam Manley, ye wife of Richard Manley, Esq., was buried 
in linen April ye 4th. 1682 the just forfeiture, according to ye act, 
was paid to ye poore of ye parish ye weeke following. 

16S4. Richard Manley, Esq., was buried in woollen, May ye 2nd. 

Whether the other two entries belong to the family or not seems 
to be doubtful : 

* See Walsingham Registers, p. 234. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 87 

1792. William Southgate and Frances Manley, married Feby. 29. 
1819. Amy, daughter of Stephen and Margaret Manley, Farmer, baptised 
Feby. 17. 

Also, whether the stone found in West Mailing church belongs to 

them we cannot tell : 

< 

Here lyeth buried Elizabeth, the late wife to William Manley, of the ancient 
house of the Manleys of Manley Hall, Cheshire, she died the 4th of Januarie, 
1G22. 

The monuments of Richard Manley are to be found in Snodland 
church : that to him runs : 

Richard Manley, armiger, qui obiit vigessimo nono die Aprilis, anno 
salutis 1684. 

That to his wife is as follows : 

Here lyeth the body of Martha, eldest daughter of John Baynard, late of 
Shorn, in the county of Kent, gent. First married to Bonham Faunce, of St. 
Margaret's, Rochester, gent, by whom she had issue which survived her, two 
daughters, viz., Mary, her eldest, married to William Man, of the city of 
Canterbury, Esq., and Martha, her second daughter, married to John Cropley, 
of St. Margaret's, Rochester, Esq. She was afterwards married to Richard 
Manley, of Holloway Court, in this parish, Esq re ., by whom also she left issue 
surviving her, viz., one son, Charles, and one daughter, Frances. She died 
the 29th day of March, anno domini 1682, and in the 58th year of her age. 
Hoc monumentum amoris et pietatis ergo idem generi posuere. 

Charles Manley sold his property to John Conwy, and his son, 
Robert Conwy, M.D., sold it to Thomas Pearce. It then passed into 
the hands of Thomas Best, and afterwards to the Vincents, but 
none of these have left any memorials of their holding land here. 

The fifth bell of Snodland has inscribed on it, "J. W. made 
me, 1636." 

Trottesclifie was first rented from the bishops of Rochester by 
the Whittakers in the beginning of the eighteenth century. The 
paten of this parish church is dated 1699. The church bell has on 
it, " William Hatch made me. I.G., I.D., C.W., 1639." 

The remaining registers commence during this period. 

Allington parish register commences with the words, " The registers 
of the Christenings, Marriages, and Burials in the parish of 
Allington, near Maidstone, in the county of Kent, began in Anno 
Dni. 1630." 

Aylesford register simply commences, " Joseph Jackson, Minister 
of Aylesford, 1 654." The choosing of the registrar has already been 
alluded to. 

Ditton parish register has as its opening words, " The Register 
book of Ditton beginning Anno Dom. 1663. William Jole, rector, 
inducted Rector of Ditton, 1st August, Anno Dom. 1663." 

Also at the commencement we read (August 1, 1711) that every 
acre of woodland in the parish of Ditton by immemorial custom 
pays tithe to the rector. 



88 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Greatly to the honour of the clergy and parishioners of Ditton, the 
parish registers have been rebound. 

West Mailing parish registers commence with two entries of the 
children of the vicar, Rev. T. Pyke, while the baptismal register 
begins some months before the others ; the date of them is the 
beginning of 1700. In this register we read: "1704. Sept. 11, 
William Briggs, Dr. of Physick." Hasted informs us that this 
gentleman was physician to King William III., and to St. Thomas' 
Hospital ; he was also a great traveller. He was buried, we are told, 
in the church. 

There was a Confirmation in the parish church of West Mailing 
on Friday, November 7th, 1712, the Bishop of Killaloe and the 
Archdeacon of Rochester being present with the bishop : there were 
between two and three thousand people confirmed. 

This seems strange to our modern notions, but bishops formerly 
held a Confirmation for large parts of their dioceses, and churches 
were filled once or twice with the candidates. 

The village chronicler of this period further tells us : " There 
happened a terrible and great tempest of thunder and lightning, and 
set on fire the spire, and broke down through the roof and ceiling 
of the body of the Church, and through the Belfry-doore ; broke down 
the pendulum of the Clock, melted the bottom of the pendulum, went 
through the head of the Chancesell, and did a great deal of other 
damage, especially to the spire ; on Munday morning, about six 
o'clock, the seventeenth day of November, 1712." 

The parish register of Hailing commences very abruptly, as late 
as 1705, evidently showing that the former registers have been lost 
or destroyed. 

I have now only to record, to finish the history of this period, 
the various monuments that have been found in the different 
churches, which have not as yet been mentioned, down to the time of 
the accession of George I. 

In Allington were the following memorials, according to Thorpe : 

Here lyeth Mary Fletcher, daughter of Thomas Fletcher the younger, buried 
the 57th of July, Ano. Dom. 1651. 

This one was strange, owing to the day in July having been wrongly 
cut by the mason, and never remedied. 
A brass, mutilated, had : 

Here lies the body of Sir Gyfford Thornhurst. Baronet, who died the loth of 
December, 1627. He had issue one sonne, deceased, and two daughters, now 
living, Frances and Barbara, by Dame Susann, th. . . only daughter of Sir 
Alex. 

Here lyeth John Wykes, who died the 10th of October, 1677, aged 68 years. 

Here lieth the body of Susannah, wife of John who died Aug. 1709. 

aged 46 years. 

This last is in the porch. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 89 

In Aylesford, besides the monuments already mentioned, we have 
the following : 

Here lyeth the body of Patrick Savage, sometime cook to the Right Worship- 
ful Sir William Sedley, Knt. and Baronet, deceased, who hath given to the poor 
of this parish LX. pounds, to be employed at the discretion of the Minister and 
Churchward enes of this pshe for the time being, for a poore stock for the most 
comfortable relief of the poore here, and also has given towards the reparations 
of this Church 10 poundes, towards the inlaying of the Communion Cup of this 
parish xx. shillings, and towards a Communion Cloth vi. shillings and viii. 
pence ; he was born in Ireland, and died here at Aylesford the second day of 
Maye, Anno Domini 1625, Anno ^Etatis 57. 

A.D. MDCC1I. Lapidem hunc marmoreum ppsuit Thomas Tilson, hujus 
Ecclesiae, Annos triginta sex Vicarius ; Joannse piam in memoriam conjugis, 
suae merito dilectas, ex qua septem liberos genuit, Qninque eorum sunt superstates, 
Thomas trium filiorum unicus, Sarah, Elisabetha, Maria, Martha. Obijt 
charissima Aug. 28, 1680. Obijt ipse July 24, 1702. ^Etat 61. 

[In the year of our Lord 1702, Thomas Tilson, for thirty-six years Vicar of 
this church, placed this marble monument to the pious memory of his 
deservedly beloved wife, by whom he had seven children ; five of 
them are surviving, of his three sons Thomas alone, Sarah, Elizabeth, 
Maiy, and Martha. This most loved one died Aug. 28, 1680. He died 
July 24, 1702. Mi. 61.] 

Here lieth interred the body of Thomas Ward, late of Mill Hall in this parish, 
who departed this 10 Feb., 1714, in the 64th year of his age : by his first wife, 
Mary, daughter of John Fowle, of Chart Button, he had issue six sons and one 
daughter, three of which survived, viz., John, Daniel and Samuel. He after- 
wards married Catherine, daughter of Edward Goodman, and widow of John 
Lake of this parish, by whom he had one son, who died an infant. The above- 
said Catherine survived him. 

In the Aylesford Belfry is the inscription ; " P. PALLMEE, R.M., 
CHURCHWARDENS, 1687, T. PACK." 

Besides the memorials to the Abergavenny family in the parish 
church of Birling, of which we shall speak hereafter, there is this 
inscription : 

Here lyeth interred the body of Michael Rabbett, Vicar of this parish the 
space of 32 years, who departed this life the twenty -fifth day of March, in the 
yeare of our Lorde 1692, aetatis suae 84. 

In Ditton we have a monument to one incumbent : 

Hie jacet Guilielmus Jole, in artibus m r hujus ecclesiae rector, qui obiit 
Septembris decimo nono. anno domini 1678. 

And to his wife : 

Here lyeth the body of Katherine, the wife of William Jole, rector of this 
parish, the daughter of Henry [Adye], of West Mailing, gent, who died the 
12th of September, 1677. 

The letters in brackets are now illegible. Below this is one to his 
son : 

Here lieth the son of William Jole, Rector of Ditton, who died in the date 
1675. 



90 MEMORIES OF NALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Also these inscriptions to the Brewer family belong to this period : 

Here lyeth the body of Eichanl Brewer, gent, who deceased 8th of April, 1616. 

Here lieth the body of Martha Brewer, late wife of Eichard Brewer, of 
Ditton, gent, deceased, and daughter of William Hamon, of Acrise, Esquiar, 
who died the 24th of December, anno domini 1629. Mors mihi lucrum {Death 
to me is gain"). 

Here lieth the body of Dorothy, the wife of William Brewer, gent, and 
daughter of John Haward, of Feaversham, gent, who died the [10th] day of 
January, 1638. Exp e c e tans expectavi {Waiting, I have waited'). 

The figures in brackets are illegible. 

Here lieth the body of Millecent, the 2 nd wife of William Brewer, gent, 
daughter of Eobert Tyas, of London, who died ye xi. day of September, 1656. 
Si moram fecerit expecta {If he has made delay, Await). 

Here lyeth the body of William Tyas, Esq., who died the 24th day of Feb. 
1654. 

Hie jacet corpus Guilielmi Brewer, de Gray's Inn, armiger, filius Guilielmi 
Brewer, hujus parochige gen., qui obiit 6th die Decembris 1657. Statuturn 
omnibus semel mori. 

Here lieth the body of Martha, the daughter of Eichard Brewer, of this parish, 
gent, and the late wife of Thomas Godden, of Hadlowe, gent, who was heere 
interred the third day of December, anno domini 16(52. 

Here lyeth the body of William, the grandson of William Brewer, of Ditton 
gent, and sonne of William Brewer, of Gray's Inn, Esq r ., by his wife, Ann, the 
daughter of William Watton, of Addington, Esq.. who died the 17th of 
December, 1663, anno retatis suse 8. Nascentes moriamur. 

Here lyeth the body of Eichard Brewer, gent, sonne of William Brewer, of 
Ditton and grandsonne of the said Eichard. [who] dyed February the 20th 
day, 1672, aged 38 years. 

Hie jacet corpus Guilielmi Brewer, gen., filius supradicti Eicardi Brewer, 
hujus parochia?, qui obiit 14th Augusti, anno domini 1666, aetatis suse 68. 
Aliorum majore damno quam suo. 

[Here lies the body of William Brewer, gentleman, son of the above-named 
Eichard Brewer, of this parish, who died 14th August, in the year of 
our Lord 1666, and of his own age 68. A greater loss for others than 
his own.] 

Eichardus Brewer, filius Guilielmi Brewer, generosi, obiit Feb. 20, 1672, 
duplici conjugio felix Eachelam, quippe uxorem duxit Thomas Deacon, merca- 
toris Londinensis, filiam ex qua quatuor liberos genuit : 

Guilielmum] Eachelam 1 

et Vdefunctos. cl J-superstites. 

BicharclumJ Thomamque / 

Mariam deinde altero matrimonio sibi conjuxit Adriana Evans, Londinensis, 
armigeri natam. Ilia quidem sine prole moriens, Dec. 2, anno domini 1601. 
Privignum suum Thomam heredem reliquit. Lapidem hunc marmoreum, 
lubens merito posuit Thomas Brewer, parentum in memoriam et grati animi 
monumentum. 

[Eichard Brewer, son of William Brewer, gentleman, died Feb. 20, 1672, 
happy in two marriages, since he married Eachel, daughter of Thomas 
Deacon, a London merchant, by whom he had four children William 
and Eichard, who are dead, Eachel and Thomas, who survive. After 
that he contracted a second marriage, with Mary, daughter of Adrian 
Evans, of London, Esquire. She indeed dying without children on 
the second of December, in the year of our Lord 1691. He left 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 91 

Thomas, his firstborn son, his heir. Thomas Brewer, with pleasure, 
placed this marble as a monument well-deserved to the memory of 
his parents, and of his own grateful feelings.] 

Here lieth the body of Mary, the second wife of Richard Brewer, gent, and 
daughter of Adrian Evans, of London. Esquire, she died December 2, 1691. 

Here lieth the body of Richard Brewer, sonne of Richard Brewer, of West 
Mailing, gent, who died the 26th day of September, anno domini 1699. 

Besides the monuments to the Twisdens, we have one or two of 
this period in East Mailing church to different people : 

D. JanaSympson, D. Thomas Twisden, EquitisAur. et Bar. filia natu maxima 
D. Johannis Sympson, Equitis aurati, servientis ad legem Caroli Secundi, nuper 
regis Angliae, vidua filios habuit tres, Thomam, Edward def., Johannem def., 
filiam vero unicam Janam, def., Obiit 7 Decembris, A Dni. 1690. Hoc monu- 
mentum charissimje matris memoriae posuit Thomas Sympson, de Interiori 
Templo, London, Armiger. 

[Dame Jane Sympson, eldest daughter of Sir Thomas Twisden, Knt. and 
Bart., the widow of Sir John Sympson, Knight, serjeant-at-law to 
Charles the Second, late king of England, had three sons, Thomas, 
Edward who is dead, John who is dead, and one daughter, Jane, who 
is dead, she died December 7th, A.D. 1691. Thomas Sympson, Esq re< 
of the Inner Temple, in London, erected this monument to the memory 
of a moat dear mother. ] 

Reliquiae Robert! Whittle, nuper hujus ecclesiae vicarii, hie placule quiescuut. 
Vixit annos LXXXI., M.I., D.II1. Obiit XIII. Julii, MDCLXXIX. In spe 
Domini resurgam. 

Here lieth the Body of Edward, the son of Edward Belcher, by Sarah his 
wife, who departed this life the 27th of April, 1701, aged four years. 

Here lyeth ye body of Roger Tomlyn, of East Mailing, Gent, who departed 
this life September ye 6th, Anno Dom. 170-1, in ye 54th year of His Age. He 
left issue 5 sons, Thomas, James, John, Edward, Roger. 

Also : 

Here lieth ye body of Mary, ye wife of Richard Bruse, Citizen of London, 
Daughter of Mr. James Fletcher of this Parish, who departed this life on the 
16th of November, 1663, at the age of 19 years. 

Youth, beauty, vertue here enclosed do lye, 

Fate nere could boast so dear a victory ; 

Twas heaven, not death, thus ravished her away, 

For such perfection never could decay. 

Her ashes in this monument must rest, 

Her liveing tomb is in her husband's breast. 

This is, perhaps, one of the most exquisite poems that have been 
left to languish on the desert air. 
Besides, we have : 

Hie dormit Thomas Furner, de East Mailing, dum vixitde multis bene meritis, 
expiravit secnndo die mensis Maii, anno domini 1674, aetatis suae 55, in cujus 
memoriam hoc posuit monumentum uxor ejus mcerens Maria Furner. Nescis 
Lector quam cito sequaris. 

In English : 

[Here sleeps Thomas Furner, of East Mailing ; whilst he lived of many 
deserved well. He died the second day of the month of May, in the 
year of our Lord 1674, in the 55th year of his age, to whose memory 
his sorrowing wife placed this monument. You know not, reader, how 
soon you may follow.] 



92 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Also we have : 

Hie adjacet marito suo Maria Furner, quae obiit 25 die mensis Septembris, 
anno J^tatis sure Sexagesimo Septimo, Annoque Domini Millesimo Sexcen- 
tesimo Septuagesimo Octavo, Superstitibus adhuc duobus filiis Rogero et 
Francisco unaque filia. Martha, uxor frugi indulgens mater. 

[Here lies, near her husband, Maria Furner, who died the 25th of September, 
in the 67th year of her age, and in the year of our Lord 1678. Two 
sons, Roger and Francis, and one daughter, Martha, a kindly wife and 
indulgent mother, still survive.] 

In West Mailing we find, from Thorpe, and from monuments still 
in existence, that a number of the family of Chambers were buried. 
There still remain these inscriptions : 

Thomas Chambers dyed the 29th of November, 1660. 

Dorothy Chambers, the wife of Thomas Chambers, dyed the 19th of July, 1664. 
Here lieth the body of Dorothy, the wife of Robert Chambers, who was buried 
the 16th day of February, 1675. 

Besides the above, the following inscriptions have perished already: 

Francis Chambers, the sonne of Robert Chambers, and Dorothy his wife, was 
buried the 1st day of March, 1675. 

Ann Chambers, the second wife of Robert Chambers, was buried the 24th day 
of April, 1684. 

Robert, the eldest sonne of Robert Chambers, and Anne his wife, was buried 
the 30th day of September, 1680. 

Robert, the second sonne of Robert Chambers, and Anne his wife, was buried 
the llth day of April, 1681. 

Elizabeth, the daughter of Robert Chambers, and Anne his wife, was buried 
the 5th day of June, 1683. 

Here lyeth also the body of Robert Chambers, late of this parish, gent, who 
departed this life the 8th day of April, anno domini 1707. 

The next three are to the Chapmans, a family of importance in 
Kent, whose property has become the subject of a lawsuit. One 
of this family we have already mentioned : 

Here lyeth the body of Robert Chapman, gent, who departed this life 
September ye 5th, 1703, in the 49th year of his age. Also the body of Lydia, 
wife of Robert Chapman, who departed this life Decem r - 26th, 1726, in the 76 th 
year of her age. To whose memory their children have erected this monument. 

Here lyeth enterred ye body of Mary Chapman, the wife of John Chapman ; 

she is not dead but [sleepeth]. Obiit December23rd, Anno Domini 

Anno fetatis suse 35. 

Thorpe tells us the word sleepeth was in the monument in his 
day, but the date was gone. 

There still remains part of another memorial to this family, half 
of which is covered by the font. The end of each line beyond our 
division is the part now not able to be seen : 

Here lies the body of William 

Chapman and Ma ry his wife, late of 

this parish, she died the XXIV. day 

of January, 1679, in the LX. year. 

He died the 12th day of August, 

1694, in the 77th year of his 
age. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 93 

The next inscription still remains, though it is not found in 
Thorpe : 

Here lyeth the body of Thomas Ducke, sonne of Thomas Ducke, late of the 
parish of Wrootham, who died the 23rd day of December, anno domini 1674, 
aged 21 yeares. 

This stone tells us that the neighbouring parish of Wrotham was 
spelt as pronounced. An inscription now gone read : 

Here lyeth the body of Margaret, wife of George Baynard, and daughter of 
Jarvice Maplesden, of Shorne, who departed this life September the 18th, 
1682, aged 42. 

We restore the parts of the two following inscriptions that are in 
brackets from Thorpe : 

Thomas Kidwell, [who] died November 28, 1684. ^tatis [suae 81]. Here 
lieth Mary, the wife of Thomas Kidwell, [of West Mal]ling, Daughter [to 
Nicholas] Higgins, yeoman [of East] Peckham, [died] September 14, setatis 
suae 60, anno domini 1671. 

Here lyeth the Body of Peeler Boorman, son of Nicholas Boorman, of Haysh, 
who departed this life [the 19 th ] day of May, 1708, in the Eightieth year of his 
age. [Here] lyeth the Body of Susanna, wife of Peter [Boorman], of this Parish, 
[daughter of] John Bennet, [of Swinbridge, in] the county [of Glo'ster], who 
departed [this life the 27th] of Dumber, 1684. 

The spelling on this last stone is unique. 

There is one to the incumbent's baby in Latin : 

Maria Pyke, infans suavissima, post menses TI. et dies XXVI., abrepta est ad 
Christi oscula, March 25, 1700. 

[Mary Pike, sweetest child, after two months and twenty-six days was 
snatched away to Christ's embraces, March 25, 1700.] 

We have also in this church : 

Here lyeth ye Body of Anne, Eldest Daughter of William and Anne Maynard, 
late of Cranbrook, in ye county of Kent, gent, who departed this life ye 23 rd 
day of August, Anno dom. 1705, aged 19 years. 

Here also lyeth the body of Ann, only child of Isaac and Elizabeth Hawkins, 
and granddaughter to William and Ann Maynard above named, who departed 
this life the 28 th day of May, Anno Dom. 1721, in the fifth year of her age. 

Ann, mother of the above, who departed this life Jany. 1755, aged 92 years. 

Abrahamus Mason, chirurgeus, et civis Londinensis, qui aetate matura animam 
suam Christo Redemptori resignavit, anno domini 1712. 

[Abraham Mason, surgeon, and citizen of London, who in mature age 
resigned his soul to Christ our Redeemer, in the year of our Lord 1712.] 

In Leybourne there is : 

Here lyeth enterred the Body of James Walter, the son of James Walter, 
who departed this life the 4 th of October, 1697, aged 29 years. 

Also here lyeth enterred the body of Elizabeth Walter, late wife of James 
Walter, who departed this life the 12 th day of November, 1699, aged 61 years. 

Also these monuments, now gone. [On an achievement gules, on a 
chevron argent, three roses of a field impaling ; impaling argent on 



94 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

a pile azure, three lions' heads erased or ; the crest, a pelican in her 
nest feeding her young ones, pnoper\ : 

" Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord." Rev. xiv. 13. 

" The dust shall return to the earth as it was, and the spirit shall return to 

God who gave it." 

Here lyeth interred the body of Henry Ullock, Doctor of Divinity, Dean of 
the Cathedral Church of Rochester, and rector of the parish of Leybourne. 
who died the 20 th of June, in the year of our Lord 1706, and of his age 67. 
"The sting of death is sin, and the strength of sin is the law." 
1 Cor. xv. 56, 57, 58. 

The body of Meric Head, Esq., eldest son of Sir Richard Head, baronet, 
doctor in divinity, rector of Leybourne and Ulcombe, lyes here interred. He 
marryed Elizabeth, daughter of the learned and truly pious doctor Robert 
Dixon, prebendary of Rochester, and had issue by her Eliza and Sarah, twins. 

Sarah lyes buried beside him. 

This learned man died March 6. 1686. aged 42, was lamented by all, especially 
the poor, whom he cherished and defended. 

These two monuments appear to have been lost or hidden when 
Leybourne church was restored. 
In Hailing church we have : 

Here lyeth the body of William Dibley, of this parish, this life April 

10, 1694. aged about leaving 3 sons and 3 daughters. 

Here lyeth the body of John Dibley, son of William Dibley. of this parish, 
gent, and Frances his wife, who departed this life Oct. 22. 1720. aged 39 year. 

Also : 

Here lyeth the Body of James Taylor, son of John Taylor, gent, and Frances 
his wife, who departed this life [November ye 7, 1727]. 

The date in brackets is from the burial register, the date being 
hidden under the altar steps. 
In Offham : 

[Here lyes buryed] Mrs. Rebecca Omer, daughter [of John de] Critz, of 
London, Esq.. who [was wife and] widow of Laurence Omer, [of Staple, in 
Ke]nt, Gent, by whom she [had two chil]dren, whereof one lyes [buried here 
with] her, the other surviveth. [She dyed December] the 16 th , anno dom. 1663. 
[Here lyes al]soe with her [Frances de Critz.] sister to the [said Rebecca 
Omer.] 

[Here's wife] and mother now at rest. 

[With husband] once and children blest. 

[He slept, and she] did sigh and weep 

[Soe sore for him] she fell asleep. 

| Daughter and sister] , too, in bed 

[Here, under] this cold coverled. 

[But sons she's left], since she's gone hence, 

[The care of friends] and Providence. 

'Reader, I could] tell a story 
Of her grace, and of] her glory ; 

"But all's husht] till His powerful charme, 

"Whose trump] shall sound the world's alarme, 

'When goe thy wayes] and hence prepare 

'To meet with] the Lord [i 1 th' ayre]. 

T/irssal. yce 4th, 16 and 17 ver*. 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 95 



Also: 



Here lieth the Body of Frances De Critz, daughter of John De Critz, Esq., 
and Grace His wife, of St. Martin's in the Fielde. She ended this life the 
23rd of February, 1660, aged 32 yeares. 

Also : 

Here lieth the body of Miss Mary Omer, the daughter of Laurence Omer, 
gent, and Rebecca his wife, she ended this life the 28th day of June, 1659, 
aged a year and 22 days. 

In Ryarsh : 

Here lieth the body of Margaret, wife of Richard Coosens, gent, of Parrock, in 
the parish of Milton, near Gravesend, daughter of Edward and Joan Walsingham, 
gent, of this parish, who died November 11, 1713, aged 38 years. 

Here lieth the body of Jane Walsingham, daughter of Edward Walsingham. 
gent, and Felix his wife, died July the 17th, 1708. in the 25th year of her age. 
[Arms, a lion rampant, impaling between three cinquefoils]. 

Here lieth the body of Mr. Edward Walsingham, gent, of this parish, who 
departed this life the 6th of March, 1713, aged 69 years. 

Also: 

Here lieth the body of Mary, sole daughter of Will' Addison and Mary his 
wife, who departed this life the 20th of June, 1711, aged 4 years. 

In Snodland we have two monuments of this date. The first is : 

Here lyeth the body of Isaac Tilghman, son of Whetenhall Tilghman, of 
Snodland, gent, who dyed the 21st day of December. 1647, aged 36 years, and 
Lisbona his wife, who dyed the 10th day of September, 1678. aged 58 years, 
and of their two daughters, Elizabeth and Eleanor. 

We have dwelt upon this ancient family in a previous chapter. 
The other monument is to a former Rector of Snodland. 

Here lyeth the body of Mr. John Walwyn, rector of this parish 31 years, who 
departed this life the 8th day of January, 1712, aged 59 years, and Mary his 
wife, who died the 15th of September, 1712, aged 55 years. 

We must include in this chapter the two following extracts from 
Snodland parish register, with some explanatory remarks : 

Memorandum that, whereas there has formerly been a difference between 
the Parishioners of Snodland and those of Berling concerning Groves House, 
it was unanimously agreed upon by both parties, having putte the business to 
arbitration, that the said house should hereafter be ever accompted and 
acknowledged to stand entirely in the Parish of Snodland, in consideration of 
four pounds and ten shillings to be given by the ministers and parishioners 
thereof to the inhabitants of Berling, and that the said sum was actually given 
and received accordingly ye 21st day of March, 1698, in testimony whereof 
they have hereto set their names : 

THEO. BECK, Vicar de Birling. 

The mark of JOHN CARBALL. 



JOHN WALWYN, Rector of Snodlaad. 

RICHARD KNOWLTON. 
The mark of JOHN KNOWLES. 
Witness of sealing hereof : EDWARD WALSINGHAM. 



96 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

The other memorandum which we shall give is interesting, as it 
introduces us to the family who probably were the last worshippers 
at Paddlesworth, and who, in this generation, having come to 
Snodland to worship, obtained a pew in the following way : 

Memorandum that I, John Walwyn. Rector of the Parish of Snodland. for 
ye better ornament and Beauty of God's house, did. in ye year of our Lord 1706. 
permit George Wray, of Paddlesworth, to erect a wainscote pew in the 
Chancell for his own and his family's use during mine own times, and 'tis 
presumed and to be hoped that my successors will have such a true sense of 
honour and ingenuity in them as to suffer Him and His, quietly and peaceably 
to enjoy the same ever after, by reason he built it at his own proper cost and 
charge, and since it was also upon soe laudable an account that I permitted 
him to doe it. In Testimony whereof I have hereto set my hand this 18th day 
of December. 1709 : JOHN WALWYN. 

And I have the stronger presumption that they will grant this favour to ye 
said George Wray and his family, in consideration he has voluntarily set his 
hand to the following certificate, and is ready to justify ye same upon oath 
whenever occasion shall serve. 

These are to certify whom it may concern, that ye bounds of Snodland Parish, 
both in mine own time and my father's before me. did extend to a White Thorn 
Tree in West Beacon Field upon the Hill, by which there formerly stood a stock 
style, so that John Green was the first man that pretended to remove them 
from thence to a certain oak, and did actually mark upon it, tho' it is about 
5 or 6 rods distant from the White Thorn Tree aforesaid, and I told him at the 
same time of the wrong he did to Snodland. Nor can it be supposed that I 
have any sinister or ill design in makeing the affidavit, since I oblige myself by 
it to pay the tythes of about one or two acres, more or less, to the Rector of 
Snodland, which should be wholly exempted in case the bounds went no 
farther than ye said oak. for I pay a certain rate to Birling but Tithes in kind 
to Snodland, in testimony whereof I have hereto set my hand this 12th day 
of October, 1712 : GEORGE WRAY. Witness MARY WALWYN. CATHERINE 
WALWYN. The mark of + JAMES WIBOURN. 

We have the following entries in the burial register of Snod- 
land : 

Jany. 18. 1676. Hammon [W]ray, of Paddlesworth, was buried. 

March ye 6, 1698. David, ye son of George [WJray. of Paddlesworth, was 

buried in woollen. 

May 24, 1698. John Wray, of Paddlesworth, was buried in woollen. 
July 12th, 1709. Thomas, ye son of George Wray, of Paddlesworth, was 

buried in woollen. 
April 17, 1712. George, ye son of George Wray, of Paddlesworth, was buried 

in woollen. 

January loth, 1722. Elizabeth Wray bixried. 
June 9th, 1729. Elizabeth, the wife of Nicholas Wray. of Paddlesworth, was 

buried. 
March 17. 1735. Buried Mrs. Jane Wray; received an affidavit for being 

buried in woollen. 

After this date we lose sight of the Wrays of Paddlesworth. 

In the year 1695 we learn that the patrons of the various 
livings, and the value, were entered as follows in the register of the 
diocese of Rochester : 



STUART TIMES (16031715). 



97 



Addington ... 
Allington ... 
Aylesford ... 
Birling 
Dittou 
Hailing ... 
Leybonrne... 
West Mailing 
Offham 
Paddlesworth 
Ryarsh 
Snodland ... 
Trottescliffe 



W. Watton, Esq. 
Lord Aylesford ... 
Chapter of Rochester 
Lord Abergavenny 

Royal 

Chapter of Rochester 
Sir F.Clark 
Fitz james 

Royal 

Sir J. Watton ... 
W. Watton, Esq. 
Bishop of Rochester 
Bishop of Rochester 



5. </.. 
660 
6 16 

10 

6 9 44 

11 15 

7 13 9 
17 13 4 
10 

600 
Nil 

660 
20 
10 2 11 



East Mailing is not given, not being in the diocese, having 
always been a peculiar of the archbishop, and counted to the Rural 
Deanery of Shoreham. 



CHAPTER IX. 

THE GEORGIAN ERA (1715 1830). 

period we now enter being free from the many internal dis- 
turbances of previous centuries, we have less to record than in 
former times. 

By the death of Edmund Watton, without sons, the manor of 
Addington was taken into another family by his only surviving 
daughter, just as it had come to them ten generations before by an 
only daughter. Elizabeth Watton married first, Leonard, son of 
Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., and secondly, Sir Roger Twisden, of 
Bradbourne, in East Mailing. She died in 1775 and was buried at 
East Mailing, her son Leonard, by her first husband, succeeding to 
the estate. He died in 1810, leaving an only daughter, and thus 
the manor of Addington soon passed from the name of Bartholomew. 
On a monument in Addington church we read this history. It 
runs : 

Sacred to the memory of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., second son of Leonard 
Bartholomew, Esq.. of Rochester, and Elizabeth, sister and sole heiress of Sir 
Borlace Miller, Bart., of Oxenhoath, in this county. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter and heiress of Edmund Watton, Esq., of this place, and by her he had 
three children, Elizabeth, born 1727, died an infant ; Leonard, born 1728 ; 
Edmund, born 1729, died 1743. He died A.D. 1730, leaving his wife surviving, 
who in 1737 married Roger Twisden, Esq., brother and successor to Sir Thomas 
Twisden, Bart., of Bradbourne, in this county. She died in 1775, and was buried 
at East Mailing. 

Also of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., son and heir of the said Leonard, who 
married Frances, daughter and co-heiress of Isaac Wildash, Esq., of Chatham, 
widow of George Thornton, Esq., of Mailing Abbey ; he died in October, A.D. 
1810, leaving a sole daughter, Frances, born A.D. 1775. Also of Frances, the 
wife of the said Leonard Bartholomew, who died in October, A.D. 1801. 

On her marriage to the Hon. John Wingfield Stratford, in 1797, 
she carried the ownership of the manor and the patronage of the 
church to him. She died in 1827. 

At the opening of this period Allington was in the possession of 
Sir Robert Marsham, fifth baronet, who was created Lord Romney 
by George I., in 1716, and died in 1724; when he was succeeded by 
his only surviving son, Robert, at the early age of twelve years. 

98 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 99 

Robert died Nov. 1794, when he was succeeded by his second son 
Charles, who was created, June 15th, 1801, Earl of Romney and 
Viscount Marsham. 

We find that James Drayton, a well-known botanist of Maidstone r 
was buried at Allington; he lived from 1681 to 1749. In the register 
we read : " Mr. James Drayton, of Maidstone, buried September 
llth, 1749." His monument is gone. 

The memorials in Allington church belonging to this date are 
mostly in the porch : 

In memory of Sir Edward Austen, of Boxley Abbey, Baronet, who departed, 
this life December the 16th, 1760, aged 55 years. He was descended from Sir 
Robert Austen, formerly of Hall Place in the parish of Bexley, in this county, 
who was created a baronet by King Charles the Second, in the twelfth year of 
his reign. Also Lady Austen, relict of the above Sir Edward Austen, Baronet, 
died 20 of September, 1772, aged 57 years. 

Also: 

Here lyeth the body of Sarah Titheron, who died April ye 19th, 1722, aged 
7 months ; also Thomas Titheron, aged three months. Thomas Titheron died 
July 21, 1732, aged 40 years, left issue one daughter, 

Also : 

William Thatcher, Gentleman, another son of John Thatcher, by Ruth his 
wife, departed this life April xi., 1722, aged 85 years. 

Here lyeth the Remains of Robert Thatcher, of London, Distiller, the younger 
son of Charles Thatcher, of London, Gent, who died 6th July, 1754, aged 50 
years. 

Here lies the body of Susannah Thatcher, Gent, who departed this life the 
26th of June, in the 30th year of her age, 1709. 

Also : 

John Russell, 1778, and 

In memory of Elizabeth, widow of John Russell, who departed this life 
1762, aged 56 years. Likewise on the South side of this stone lieth interred, 
John Russell, who departed this life 178. . , aged 83 years. 

Also: 

In memory of John Baldock, who died 1799, 7 Oct., aged 75 years. Here is 
interred 3 sons of the Body of Edward and Jane Baldock. Two Edwards and 
Grundy. 

Also: 

Here lieth bnryed the son of John and Ruth Thatcher, who departed this 
life 21 Day of May, 1749, aged 3 years.' 

Sir Thomas Colepeper, was buried on May 24th, in the year 
1723, and the estates passed to his sister, Lady Alice ; and thus the 
family of Colepeper, which had been at Preston Hall for four 
hundred years, became extinct at her death ; for though she was 
married four times, she had no children who survived her. She was 



100 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

first married to Sir Thomas Colepeper, as appears by the Aylesford 
register : 

1663. Sir Thomas Colepeper, of Hollingbourne, Knight, and Mrs. Alice 
Colepeper of Aylesford, daughter of Sir William Colepeper, late of 
Aylesford, deceased, were married by virtue of a licence out of the 
prerogative court the 31st day of December. 

Her only child mentioned in the register is by this husband ; we 
read : 

1665. Frances, the daughter of Sir Thomas Colepeper, Knight, and of Alice 
his wife, was baptised the one-and-twentieth day of February. 

She was afterwards married to Herbert Stapely, Esq., M.P. for 
Seaford ; but this marriage is not to be found in the registers. 
Her other two marriages are in the Ditton register, and are entered 
thus : 

1692. October 6th, Thomas Taylor, of Maidstone, Baronet, and Madame Alicia 

Stapely, of Aylesford, were married. 
1723. Oct. 16th, Dr. Millner, of Maidstone, and the Lady Taylor, of Aylesford, 

were married. Lady Taylor, the last of the Colepepers, had no 

children. 

Lady Alice gave an alms-dish 11| inches in diameter to the 
church ; it is inscribed, " The gift of the Lady Taylor to the Parish 
of Aylesford. T. Tilson, Vic., 1724-5." Her death took place in 
1734, and we find it twice entered in the Aylesford register of 
burials : 

1734. The Lady Alice Taylor was buried. 

As the family records of the Colepepers in the registers of our 
parishes are very few besides those we have already mentioned, we 
subjoin them. The oldest of them is in East Mailing : 

1579. Buried was George Culpeper, gent, the loth of September. 
The rest are from Aylesford : 

Mr. John Beale, of Maidstone, and Mrs. Ann Colepepy r , of Aylesford, were 
married the 8th day of May, in the presence of Sir Richard Colepepyr, of 
Maidstone, Baronet, and of Thomas Crispe, of Dover, gent, by George Duke, one 
of the Justices of the peace for the county, 24 November, 1656. Witness his 
hand: GEORGE DUKE.* 

1659. William, the son of Sir Francis Colepeper, Baronet, and Dame Margaret 

his wife, was buried the eighth day of March. 

1660. Sir Richard Colepeper, baronet, was buried the 10th of January. 

1661. Helene, ye daughter of Rt. Honourable Sir Richard Colepepyr, Baronet, 

deceased, and of Dame Margaret, his widow, was buried the vi th 
day of December. 

1667. John Alchurn, junior, of Boughton Monchelsea, Esquire, and Mrs. 
Francis Colepepper, daughter of Sir William Colepepper, late of 
Aylesford, baronet, deceased, by virtue of a licence out of ye court 
of faculties, were married the five-and-twentieth day of April. 

* This kind of marriage has been already commented upon. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17161830). 101 

1667. Mrs. Helen Colepeper, daughter of Sir William Colepeper, late of this 

parish, baronet, deceased, was buried the xxii nd day of October. 
1677. Dame Helene Colepeper was buried, not in woollen, Oct. 19. 
1691. The Lady Margaret Colepeper, widow of Sir Richard Colepeper, 

Baronet, was buried September 24th. 
1708. Dame Elizabeth, wife of Sir Thomas Colepepper. Baronet, was buried 

February, 5th day. 
1714. Thomas Colepepper Joslyn, of Maidstone. was buried here at Aylesford, 

Oct. 16.* 
1723. Sir Thomas Colepepper was buried May 24. 

Dr. John Milner, on his marriage with the Lady Alice, owing to 
the death of her daughter by her first husband, and of her son by 
her third husband, inherited the Preston and Aylesford manors. He 
devised them to his brother Charles, who willed them to the Rev. 
Joseph Boteler, upon his taking the name of Milner, in 1784. He 
died childless, and these estates came to Charles Cottam, on his 
taking the name of Milner, in 1788, and in his family they continued 
about sixty years. 

The priory of Aylesford and other estates came to Heneage 
Finch, created Earl of Aylesford in 1714. He died in 1719, and 
left the property to his son Heneage, who died in 1757. His son 
Heneage, who was M.P. for Maidstone 1739 and 1741, died in 
1770. The fourth earl, who was Lord Steward of the Household, 
died in 1812, and was succeeded by his son Heneage, the fifth earl. 

In 1769 Mr. Golding, of Ryarsh, died, and left his property of 
Tottington to Mrs. Frances Golding. 

The manor of Birling descended through this period in the Nevill 
family. On the death of George, Lord Abergavenny, in 1694, the 
estates and title reverted to his grandfather's brother's family, in 
the great grandson of Christopher Nevill, who died in 1649. George, 
the eleventh earl, succeeded. He died in 1720, and on his decease in 
1723 he was succeeded by his brother Edward, who also died without 
any sons in 1724, and the title went, with the lands, to William, 
Lord Abergavenny, who died in 1744. He was succeeded by his 
son George, who was created the first Earl of Abergavenny and 
Viscount Nevill by George III. in 1784. He died 1785, and was 
succeeded by his son Henry, Recorder of Harwich. 

Sir Philip Boteler died in 1772, and by his will half his property 
went to Mrs. Elizabeth Bouverie, of Chart Sutton, and the other 
moiety went to Elizabeth, Dowager Viscountess of Folkestone, and 
William Bouverie, Earl of Radnor. On the estates being divided 
the manors of Ditton, Brampton, and Syfleton were allowed to 
the Dowager Countess of Folkestone, who died in 1782, and was 
succeeded by her only son, the Hon. Philip Bouverie, who took the 
name of Pusey. Philip Pusey sold the manor, in 1832, to Charles 
Milner, Esq., of Preston Hall. Ditton Place was, on the death of 

* I add this entry because I think Colepepper and Aylesford point to his 
being an offshoot of the family. 



102 MEMORIES OF MAILING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Mr. Thomas Golding, of Ryarsh, in 1769, left by him to his son, 
John Golding. 

The Grange at Leybourne, together with the Castle and Manor, 
were sold in September 1724 to Francis Whit worth, Esq., by Captain 
William Saxby,* who was succeeded in this estate by his son Charles, 
afterwards Sir Charles Whitworth, knight, who again sold the 
places to Dr. James Hawley, f in whose family they have continued 
ever since. Dr. James Hawley died December 1777, and was 
succeeded by his son Henry, who was created a baronet in 1795 and 
died on January 26th, 1826. He was succeeded by his son Henry, 
who died in 1834. 

The manors of East Mailing and Bradbourne descended from Sir 
Roger to Sir Thomas Twisden, who built over the ancient court in 
the centre of the house at Bradbourne, and perhaps filled in the 
moat which appears to have once surrounded the house, and which 
was fed by the stream which, after turning the paper-mills of East 
Mailing, passes through the pretty grounds of Clare House, and 
then runs to Bradbourne, from whence it finds its way across the 
London and Maidstone road near Ditton to the Medway between 
Aylesford and Snodland. Sir Thomas died in 1728, and was 
succeeded in the title and estate by his eldest son, Sir Thomas, who, 
however, died without children. His brother, Sir Roger Twisden, 
succeeded, who was M.P. for the county of Kent in the fifth and sixth 
parliaments of George II. j he married, as has been already stated, 
Elizabeth, daughter and heiress of Edmund Watt on, of Addington, 
Esq., and widow of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq.. Their son, Sir 
Roger, succeeded his father at his death in 1772, and on his death, 
seven years after, the title and estates passed to Sir John Papillon 
Twisden, who, dying in 1810, was succeeded by his son John. The 
monuments of the Twisden family in East Mailing church give the 
family tree very correctly : 

Sir Thomas Twisden, Bart., died Sept. 12, 1728, aged 58 years. Dame Anne, 
wife of Thomas Twisden, and daughter of John Musters, of Colwick Hall, in 
Nottinghamshire, died Oct. 19, 1729, aged 48 years ; they had issue. Thomas, 
Roger, William and John. Sir Thomas Twisden, Bart., eldest son of Sir 
Thomas Twisden, Bart.,' died at Grenada, in Spain, July 30th, 1737, aged 
31 years. Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., second son of Sir Thomas Twisden, died 
March 7th, 1772, aged 66 years. Dame Elizabeth, wife of Sir Roger Twisden, 
died the 4th of October, 1779, aged 41 years. He married Rebecca, daughter of 
Isaac Wildash, Esq., of Chatham, by whom he hath left one daughter, Rebecca. 
Dame Rebecca Twisden, relict of Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., died at Jennings, in 
the parish of Hunton, Feby. 3rd, 1833, aged 74 years, and lies buried in the 
family vault in this Church, leaving her only daughter, Rebecca, surviving, 
married to Thomas Law Hodges, Esquire,J of Hemsted, in this county. 

There is a separate tablet to Sir John Papillon Twisden, which 
runs : 

Sacred to the memory of Sir John Papillon Twisden, Bart., who departed 

* See Registers, p. 231. f See Hawley Registers, p. 226. 

t He was M.P. for West Kent in 1848. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17161830). 103 

this life the eighth of February, 1810, in the 68th year of his age. He married 
Elizabeth, youngest daughter of Sir Francis Geary, by whom he has left issue one 
son. This monument is erected by his most affectionate and disconsolate widow . 

" O shade revered, thou lamented dust, 
Say, what in thee shall we regret the most? 
Or thee by what dear title most commend 
The husband, father, brother, or the friend ? 
For in these various characters he shone ; 
None most for all these virtues were his own. 
Oh, thou on earth his justly fondest care, 
Who with him Hymen's softer bands didst share, 
Whose torch, when many years their course had run, 
Than at the first with purer lustre shone, 
Nor think that tho' on earth's dissolved the tie 
That so sublime a flame can ever die. 
No ; that to more exalted orbs shall soar, 
And still exist when time shall be no more. 
Then suppress thy grief, the rising sighs, 
To yon bright heaven lift up thy streaming eyes 
There view thy happy consort on the plains 
Where love and harmony eternal reigns, 
There with the shade of some loved friend he roves 
Through everlasting sweets and ever-blooming groves." 

Also: 

Dame Elizabeth, relict of the above Sir John Papillon Twisden, Bart., 
departed this life December 19th, 1815, aged 62 years. 

Also : 

S.M. Dame Catherine Judith, wife of Sir John Twisden, Bart., of Bradbourne ; 
she died in childbed April 13, 1819, aged 29 years. 

A neighbouring monument speaks much in favour of this baronet, 
of whom there is a picture in the family collection at Bradbourne ; 
the monument is to one of the Papillon family, a well-known East 
Kent name : 

Near this place are deposited the remains of Philip Papillon, Esq., of this 
parish, who died April 15, 1762, aged 63 years. This monument was erected in 
gratefull remembrance of him by his godson, John Papillon Tvvisden, Esq. 

The abbey of West Mailing, as we have already stated, was sold 
to Edward Honeywood, who passed it to his son Isaac. Frazer 
Honeywood, the only son and heir, and a banker in London, on 
succeeding, pulled down the old house, then occupied by a f ellmonger 
named Seager, probably Eichard Seager, sen., who is mentioned in 
the West Mailing registers as buried June 2nd, 1737, and with the 
materials, Thorpe informs us, built the present house. He died on 
February 8th, 1764, and was buried in a vault in Town Mailing 
churchyard, where he had previously placed, on August 13th, 1757, 
the bodies of his wife, Jane, daughter of Abraham Atkins, and the 
body of his son Isaac, who died in 1756, aged 19 years ; he devised 
the abbey to Sir John Honeywood, Bart., of Elmsted, who died 



104 MEMORIES OF MAILING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1781, and was buried in that church, where is a white marble 
monument and bust to his memory : 

Sacred to the memory of Sir John Honeywood, Baronet, of Elvington, in this 
parish, who in times when hospitality and simplicity of manners were giving 
way to fashion and refinement, maintained them pure and uncorrupted, and 
was an eminent example of the virtues of private life. In religion of pure and 
unaffected piety ; in morals of strict honesty and integrity ; in social life of 
openness and freedom of conversation amongst all ranks of men. His tenants, 
neighbours, and those who served him never experienced from him oppression, 
but all the good offices of kindness and benevolence. Thus did many partake 
of the influence of his example and the affluence of his fortune. Others may 
have moved in a higher sphere, but no man ever contributed more to the 
advantage, comfort, and happiness of the circle around him. By his first wife, 
Annabella, daughter of William Goodenough, of Langford, in the county of 
Berks, Esquire, he had issue William, Edward, Annabella. Christiana, Mary, 
and Thomasine ; by his second wife, Dorothy, daughter of Sir Edward Filmer, 
of East Sutton, in this county, baronet, he had issue Filmer, John, and Mary. 
He died June 26th, 1781, aged 71. 

Sir John Honeywood, to whom the abbey had descended, died on 
April 7th, 1806, and was buried in West Mailing churchyard. He 
sold it in 1799 to George Talbot Hatley Foote, Esq., but the manor 
now no longer went with the abbey. Whether, when the Stewarts 
(who acquired Mailing Place, as we shall presently show) exchanged 
certain lands near the abbey for the tower, they acquired the manor, 
or whether Mr. Douce obtained it afterwards, we have not been 
able to discover ; but it is certain that Thomas Augustus Douce, Esq., 
possessed both the manor and the advowson of the living.* Mr. 
Foote built the picturesque cascade which is so well known to all 
visitors to Town Mailing, and which bears his initials and the date, 
1810. In the year 1822 the abbey came, by devise, from Mr. Foote 
to E. Losack, Esq., who died in 1838. 

There are few records of the Honeywoods in West Mailing : they 
are as follows : 

1757. August 13th, the bodies of the late wife and son of Frazier Honeywood, 
Esq re- , were deposited in his vault. 

BURIALS. 

1764. Feby. 8, Frazier Honeywood, Esq. 
1764. October 25, William Honeywood, Esq. 
1803. April 13, Mrs. Elizabeth Honeywood, aged 72. 
1806. April 7, Sir John Honeywood, Bart., aged 49 years. 

The old mansion of Mailing Place was dwelt in by Roger Twisden, 
Esq., second son of Sir Ptoger Twisden, and grandson of Sir Thomas 
Twisden, the judge. He appears to have hired the house from 
Commodore Stewart, afterwards Admiral of the White ; he died here 
in 1728 unfortunately the register of West Mailing in that year 
is lost. His wife was buried, we learn from the register, in West 
Mailing church. 

1721. Mrs. Jane Twisden, buried in linen. 

* Since writing the above we have found out it was in 1809. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 105 

Admiral Stewart, it appears, continued the chapel wall of St. 
Leonard's to the road, and in digging foundations for this and other 
walls to enclose the premises near St. Leonard's Tower, he came 
upon bones in the garden, that showed the burying ground of the 
chapel to have been towards the north. 

The Hon. Charles Stewart was buried at West Mailing, we learn 
from the registers : 

On Feby. 18, 1741. The Hon bl - Charles Stewart, Esq., Vice-Admiral of ye 
White, buried, and 50 8 ' paid. 

His son appears to have resided here after him, and was buried in 
Mailing, as his register runs : 

1779. Feby. 25, Charles Stewart, Esq. 

Another person who appears to have lived at Mailing Place was 
Lady Forbes, daughter-in-law of the Earl of Granard ; her son, 
Admiral Forbes, died here in 1796. 

The property appears to have been acquired in this century by 
Mr. Hubble, who handed it, with the manor, on to the Douces. 
We have several entries of the Hubble family in the registers : 

1713. May 1, Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin Hubble and Jane his wife. 

1714. Aug. 13, Baptised Benjamin, son of Benjamin Hubble, junior. 
1735. Mar. 19, Mr. Benjamin Hubble, sen. 

1742. Oct. 22, William, son of Benjamin Hubble and Anne his wife, baptised. 
1744. April 26, Baptised Catharine, daughter of Benjamin Hubble, gent, 

and Anne his wife. 

1746. April 29th, Elizabeth, widow of Benjamin Hubble, gent. 
1746. July 16, Benjamin, son of Benjamin Hubble, and Anne his wife. 

1748. May 23rd, Anne, daughter of Benjamin Hubble, gent, and Anne his wife, 

was privately baptised. 

1749. Jany. 14, William, son of Benjamin Hubble, gent (Burial). 

1749. Feby. 17, Richard, son of Benjamin Hubble, gent, and Anne his wife. 

1753. Dec. 30, Savage, son of Mr. Benjamin and Anne Hubble. 

1755. Jany. 30, Mary, daughter of Benjamin and Anne Hubble. 

1757. Dec. 30, Hannah, daughter of Benjamin and Anne Hubble. 

1777. Thomas Augustus Douce, of the Parish of St. Catharine Coleman, 
London, a Bachelor, and Margaret Hubble, of this parish, spinster, 
married in the church the thirtieth day of September, in the year 
one thousand seven hundred and seventy-seven. 

1780. Nov. 18, Benjamin Hubble, Esq. \ 

1781. June 30, Mrs. Anne Hubble. V Burials. 
1808. Nov. 28, Mrs. Catharine Hubble, aged 64. J 

The Hubbies had two monuments in Mailing church. The first, 
which has now disappeared, ran : 

Near this place lies interred thfe body of Benjamin Hubble, of this parish, 
gent., who died the 15th of March, A.D. 1735, aged 75 years. Hannah, wife of 
the said Benjamin Hubble, died the 4th of October, A.D. 1734, aged 65 years. 
Benjamin Hubble, gent, son of the above-named Benjamin Hubble, died Sep- 
tember 24th, 1728, aged 47 years. Also Eliza, his daughter, died July the 26th, 
A.D. 1713, aged 3 months. 



106 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Their other monument still exists : 

Sacred to the memory of Benjamin Hubble, Esq re> , of West Mailing, who died 
llth November, 1780, aged 66 years, and of Ann his wife, daughter of John 
Savage, Esq re -, of Boughton Monchelsea, in this county, who died 22 nd June, 
1781, aged 67 years, leaving the following children, who also lie buried in this 
chancel : 

Elizabeth, born 1st and died 20th May. 1741. 

Benjamin . 16th July, 1746 15th May,' 1747. 



William 
Anna Jane 
Richard 
:e 



Mary 
Hannah 
Catharine 
Margaret 



4th Octr., 1742 7th Jany., 1748. 



llth May 
17th Feby., 1750 
30 Dec r -, 1753 
30th Jany., 1754' 
2nd Dec r -, 1757 



7th November, 1748. 
the same day. 
1st Jany., 1754. 
the same day. 
llth July, 1758. 



oth April, 1744 .. 21st Nov., 1808. 
8th December, 1751 14th Oct.. 1809. 



It is here noticeable that Mr. Hubble only left two of these 
children at his death, one of whom, Margaret, married, as we have seen 
by the register, Thomas Augustus Douce, Esq., who built the modern 
mansion of St. Leonards, and formed its pretty artificial water. 

There is a long inscription to the Douce family in the church : 

Sacred to the memory of Francis Douce, of Lamb's Conduit Street, and of 
Nether Wallop, in the county of Hants, who died the 3rd of April, 1799, aged 
82 years, and of Ellen his wife, who died the 23rd of November, 1799. aged 
33 years. Also Thomas Augustus Douce, who diet! the 30th August, 1 802, aged 
55 years. Also of Margaret his wife, daughter of Benjamin Hubble, Esq., who 
died the 14 of October, 1809, aged 57 years. Here also are deposited the remains 
of the following children of the above T. A. Douce and Margaret his wife : 
John Alfred Douce, born 8th Feby., 1794, died June 15th, 1795. Charles Benja- 
min Douce, shipwrecked in the North Sea, 24th December, 1811, aged 22 years. 
Jane Douce, wife of F. H. Douce, Esq., died 24th December. 1809, aged 32 years. 
Emma Douce, infant daughter of the above, died the same day. Francis Hubble 
Douce, Esq.. died 2nd January. 1819, aged 40 years. Also Frances Catherine 
Douce, died llth Aug., 1832, aged 46 years. 

From the Douces the house at St. Leonards and the manor passed, 
by purchase, to the late Captain Savage, R.N., whose daughters 
now hold them. 

The manor of Offham continued in the hands of the Tuftons, who, 
however, lost the earldom of Thanet : to this earldom and the other 
properties Sackville, nephew of the sixth earl, succeeded in 1729. He 
died in 1753, and was succeeded by his son Sackville, the eighth earl, 
who, dying in 1786, was succeeded by Sackville, the ninth earl, his son. 

The house on the Green, opposite the Quintain, of which Mr. Tresse 
died in possession in 1737, takes with it the duty of keeping up that 
ancient relic, it would appear. 

The manor of Goldwell about this time appears to have passed 
into the hands of the Streatfields of Chiddingstone. 

Carews' Court, on the death of Edward Walsingham, passed into 

* This at first sight seems curious, but the peculiarity arises from the old 
commencement of the year on Lady Day. Savage was born 30th December, 
1753, and Mary, 30th January, 1755, according to present calendar. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 10 

the hands of Sir Edward Austen, of Boxley, baronet, in the year 
1760, whose monument in Allington church we have already men- 
tioned. He, dying soon after, devised it to John, son of Nicholas 
Amherst. 

Holloway Court manor, in Snodland, was sold by the Manleys to 
John Conwy, surgeon, and he devised it to his son Robert, by whom 
it was sold to Pearce, who alienated it to the Mays, who had already 
obtained the manor of Veles. 

Snodland, Hailing, and Trottescliffe still continued in the hands 
of the see of Rochester, though the palaces of the bishops in 
this neglectful age were allowed to fall into decay. Trottescliffe 
was at this time rented by the Whitakers, whose entries in the 
registers date from early in this century. In 1743 T. Whitaker, Esq., 
was sheriff, and in 1748 his son also obtained that dignity. 

1724, May 11. Then was baptised Thomas, son of Mr. Thomas Whitaker and 

Martha his wife. 

1725, July 30. Then was baptised John, son of Mr. Thomas Whitaker and 

Martha his wife. 
1727, May 4. Then was baptised Edward, son of Mr. Thomas Whitaker and 

Martha his wife. 
1729, Jany. 8. Then was baptised Sarah, daughter of Mr. Thomas Whitaker 

and Martha his wife. 
1729. There was buried in linnen Martha Whitaker, wife of Mr. Thomas 

Whitaker, affidavit was made by Eichard Brings before Sir Thomas 

Styles, Jany. 22. 

1753, Oct. 27th. Thomas Whitaker, Esq., was buried. 

1754. Mr. Thomas Whitaker, of Troterscliffe, bachelor, and Mrs. Anne Wal- 

singham, of Birling, were married by Licence, Jany. 25. [Addington 

Register.] 

1754. Anne, ye wife of Thomas Whitaker, Esq., was buried ye May 25th. 
1761, May 1st. Thomas Whitaker, Esq., was buried (sheriff). 
1768, April llth. Mr. Edward Whitaker buried. 

1770. John Lock of this parish, and Elizabeth Whitaker, by Licence, 19th 

February. 

1771, April 30. Edward Whitaker, son of Mr. John Lock and Elizabeth 

his wife, was privately baptised, and admitted into the congregation 
May ye 21st. 

1837, May 28th. Laura Gertrude, daughter of Charles Gustavus and Anne 
Whitaker. 

1876, July 18th. Sophia, daughter of Charles Gustavus and Anne Whitaker. 

1877, April 25th. Charles Gustavus, son of Charles Gustavus and Anne 

Whitaker. 

1880, Feby. 7th. Frederick Thomas Lake, son of Charles Gustavus and Anne 
Whitaker. 

There are many matters that must interest us considerably, which 
we find in the history of the different places in the valley, apart 
from its owners, at this period. 

On Feb. 1st, 1721, William Chapman, one of a family of much 
importance in Town Mailing at one time, who owned the Manor 
House, claimed the right of a faculty pew in West Mailing, mention- 
ing that his family had lived in the same house from time immemorial. 



108 MEMORIES OF MALL ING AND ITS VALLEY. 

The Addington bell frame is dated 1742. The second and third 
bells of Birling are dated 1746: on the second is, "Mr. Armigill 
Whiting, T. Lester made me " ; and on the third, " T. Lester made 
me" ; the first bell has on it, " Lester and Pack, of London, fecit 
1759." The second bell of Ditton has on it, " Edward Middleton, 
C. W., 1717." On the first bell of Ryarsh, " Mr. James Thurston, 
Minister, Jeremiah Heaver, Churchwarden, 1779 : Pack and Chap- 
man, of London, Fecerunt." As regards sacramental vessels of this 
date, the Aylesford flagon is dated 1712, the Ditton cup 1735, the 
Birling paten 1730, the East Mailing flagon and alms-dish 1728, and 
the Addington paten, on foot, is dated 1728. The flagon given by the 
rector, Eev. John Boraston, has on it, " Glorise Dei Opt. Max., in 
usum Ecclesiaa Parochialis de Addington, Dat Dicat Dedicatque 
Johannes Boraston, A.M., Prsedictse Ecclesise, Rector, Anno Dom. 
1721 ""To the Glory of the Very Good and Very Great God, for 
the use of the Parish of Addington, Rev. John Boraston A.M., 
rector of the aforenamed church, gives, grants, and dedicates, in 
the year of our Lord 1721." 

The returns of the plate were made for Rochester deanery in 
1741. These entries are very interesting, as showing that at this 
very sleepy period there was some life in the Church in this part of 
England. The inventory of the church goods of Ditton in 1759 is 
very curious, we therefore give it : 

Silven Paten, inscribed, " Tuumest Domine tibi reddo donum, Thomas Tilson, 
rector, 1735." [Translated, " Thine is the gift, Lord, I return to Thee, Thomas 
Tilson, rector, 1735"]. 

Silver Chalice for Communion, the gift of Mary Brewer to the Parish of 
Ditton, in Kent, for ye use of ye church, Jany. 4th. 1689. 

One small Paten of uncertain silver. 

N.B. No proper Carpet to cover ye Communion Table in time of Divine 
Service. 

Pulpit Cushion of Crimson Velvet. 

Linen Cloth, with words, " The Communion Table Cloth of Ditton, Will 
Seagar, Churchwarden, 1721." A napkin with same. 

Large Surplice of Holland, no Hood, Cope, or Vestment. 

Folio common prayer book, printed 1745. 

Folio Bible, last translation, printed by Robert Barker, 1613. 

Quarto Common prayer Book for ye Clerk, printed 1746. 

Three small Bells, the smallest broke. 

The second has date only round it 1656. 

The third circumscribed, " Edw. Middleton, Ch. W., 1717." 

Deal Chest, for Parish book and Eegisters. 

Font for Baptism. 

No Book of Homilies. 

Many things must strike us in this inventory : the use of the word 
uncertain before silver, meaning doubtful ; the carpet to cover the 
Communion Table ; the careful marking of the linen ; the fact that 
the surplice is of holland instead of lawn or linen. The fact that the 
writer seems to be rather surprised to find there is no cope, which he 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17161830). 109 

classes with the hood and vestment as perfectly proper, tells us that 
this part of the dress of the priest was worn so long after the 
Reformation as the year before George III. came to the throne, and 
gives proofs of its legality whether the vestment that he missed were 
a chasuble or not we cannot say, but the compiler of the inventory 
evidently thought it the duty of the parishioners to provide all 
canonicals, and not the surplice only, as seems to be the feeling nowa- 
days. Lastly, we find that he expected that there would be a book 
of homilies, showing that those treatises had not been yet given up, 
and that all clergymen, even one hundred and thirty years ago, were 
not expected to preach. 

In the early part of this century a family were living in Mailing 
by the name of Brooke, who gave their name to a house which is 
still so called. This family had a very handsome property in Holy 
Rood Street, or Swan Street, which perhaps owed its change of name 
to the birds swimming on the stream, which here made its way, 
before the cascade was built, from the abbey grounds into the gardens 
of this house. The last of the race, Joseph Brooke, who died in 1792, 
and his widow, in 1796, left this property to John Ken ward Shaw, 
Esq. This family entertained, among other guests, the famous lexi- 
cographer Dr. Johnson ; and it was under a yew hedge in the garden, 
of which a remnant still exists, that he composed the prayers and 
meditations that are mentioned by Boswell. There are a few records 
of their names in the registers : 

1738. Nov. 16, Mary wife of Francis Brooke, gent. 

1748. Feby. 11, Francis, son of Francis Brooke, gent., and Hannah his wife. 

1770. Aug. 25, Mrs. Hannah Brooke, wife of Francis Brooke, gent. 

1772. Sept. 6, Mrs. Margaret Brooke. 

1782. March 25, Francis Brooke, Esq. 

The property of Bavent, in Hailing, was sold by the Goldings to 
Robin Wood, Esq., from whom it passed to Mr. William Baker. In 
the year 1728 the statue of Hamo de Heth over the palace gate 
in Hailing was blown down ; it was presented by Thorpe the anti- 
quary to Bishop Atterbury, but what became of it is not known. 
In the year 1756 there was quite a plague in Mailing, if we may 
judge from the extraordinary number of funerals. In the year 
1760 we find that there was a remarkable trial and acquittal of 
Robert Fowler, barber, of Town Mailing, before the Hon. Sir 
Michael Foster, knt., at Rochester Assizes, on Friday, March 21, for 
poisoning Elizabeth Skinner of the same place. 

An Elegy on a Storm which hajypened in West Kent, on the 19/t 
of August, 1763, by Wm. Perfect, surgeon and apothecary, of Town 
Mailing, was published about this time : he advertised to cure 
insanity the first poet, says Gough, that ever pretended to such an 
art. He also published The Laurel Wreath, a collection of poems in 
two vols., 1766 it has two local poems, upon Barham Court, Teston, 
and Yotes Court, Mereworth. This Dr. Perfect first established a 



110 MEMOEIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

lunatic asylum here, which has continued ever since : the house in 
which the author lives was the home of this gentleman. 

In 1778 the centre of Mailing church fell down, leaving the tower 
and chancel still standing. In 1779 a Brief was issued for West 
Mailing church for 2200; amongst other places that contributed, 
we learn, was Cranbrook, that gave Is. 6d. We must here observe 
that the ancient way of collecting money was by these Briefs, which 
were issued by the Ecclesiastical Court. They were, as we shall 
show in our chapter on the registers, for various charitable objects ; 
and our Prayer Book still directs that after the Nicene Creed notice 
shall be given of Holy Days and Fasting Days in the week, and 
then of the Holy Communion, and afterwards of all Briefs, Citations, 
and Banns. The rebuilding of only part of the church gave rise to 
the adage : 

" Proud Town Mailing, poor people, 
They built a church to their steeple," 

one of the many sayings of Kent.* In 1781 the church was 
re-opened. 

In 1779 William Parry, Admiral of the Blue Squadron, built the 
pretty house of St. Vincent's. There is the following entry in the 
register : 

1779. William Parry, Esq., buried May 26. 

There is also a monument to him in Addington church that runs 
thus : 

Near this place are deposited the remains of William Parry, Esq re> , Admiral 
of ye Blue Squadron of His Majesty's Fleet, obiit 29 April, 1779, ^Etatis 74. 

Besides the monuments noticed in their proper place, we have 
belonging to this period, at Addington, this inscription : 

Near this place are interred the bodies of John Petley, Esq., and Jane his 
wife. He died June the 28th, 1747, aged 75 years. She died September the 6th, 
1766, aged 74 years. Also the body of Jane their daughter, who died February 
the 10th, 1762, aged 44 years. Erected Oct. 1766. 

In Aylesford we find : 

Infra lapidem marmoreum, in hoc vestibule, jacet Thomas Tilson, A.M., 
olim aulse Catherinae apud Cantabrigienses, socius necnon Eector de Ditton, 
et hujus ecclesiae Vicarius per annos 47, ob'- 12 Feb., 1749, setat. 76. 

Beneath this marble, in this porch, lies Thomas Tilson, M.A., formerly 
fellow of Catherine Hall, at Cambridge, moreover Rector of Ditton, 
and Vicar of this church for 47 years, he died on the 12th of 
February, 1749, aged 76. 

Two Yicars, father and son, from A.D. 1666 to A.D. 1749 eighty- 
three years. 

Piev. Thomas Tilson, died A.D. 1702, aged 61 years ; 36 years Vicar. 
Rev. Thomas Tilson, died A.D. 1749, aged 76 years ; 47 years Vicar. 

* See notes, p. 249. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). Ill 



Also: 



On the south side of the Church are deposited, in a vault, the remains of Mr. 
John Spong, who, after an exemplary and well-spent life at the little Hamlet 
of Mill Hall, in this parish, died Jany. 21st, 1815, aged 64 years, universally 
respected and esteemed. Also Rosamond his wife, who died on the same day 
of the same month 1840, aged 92 years. Orta Carolo Rege (Sprung from King 
Cha/rles). 

And: 

Elizabeth, wife of William Bowles, Esq., of Fitz-Harris House, daughter of 
John and Rosamond Spong, late of Mill Hall, in this parish, who departed this 
life 12th of January, 1814, aged 22. 

Also Mary, their daughter, 9 Oct., 1813, aged 7 weeks and 3 days. 

The Spongs of Aylesford were said to be the originals of Dickens' 
" Wardle family " in Pickwick. I think there can be very little doubt 
of this, as Dingley Dell and Muggleton are easily traceable in the 
vicinity ; Dingley being simply an ingenious combination of the two 
famous Kentish cricketing villages, D[eptl]ing [and Boxlley the 
parts in brackets left out, the rest forms the word. That Muggleton 
was Maidstone we have very little doubt, as several allusions to it 
are made in Pickwick, though the scene frequently shifts to other 
towns. For instance, the Mayor and Corporation are spoken of, 
and the " nail and saucepan business " appears to have reference to 
a worthy ironmonger of that town, who was Mayor at that period. 

Another monument is : 

Mr. John Ward, died August 10, 1772, aged 67 years-. Mr. Daniel Ward, 
died October the 4th, 1783, in the 76 year of his age. 

Also: 

Near this place lyeth the body of Sir Robert Faunce, Knt., who had three 
wives, by whom he had 4 sons and 4 daughters. Sir Robert Faunce, Knight, 
was buried February 16, 1715. 

At the time of the renewing of the church, certain of the stones 
in the south aisle were partly covered, so the vicar (the Rev. W. 
Tolbutt Staines) of that time informs us. They ran : 

For the wife of Augustine Taylor, Daughter of Edward James Baldock, who 
departed this life Nov. 19, 1753, aged 41 years. Likewise the same Augustine 
Taylor, who died the 2nd day of May, 1785, in the 71st year of his age. 

On another stone, farther towards the east : 

Here lyeth the body of John Taylor, of this Parish, Yeoman, departed this 
life May 7, 1738, aged 49 years. 

Here lieth the Body of Elizabeth Taylor his wife, died Aug. 5, 1741, aged 57. 
He left 5 sons, John, Augustine, Thomas, Robert 

In the year 1794 were buried near this monument Susannah Rebecca and 
John Eveleigh. Also, in 1795, John; in 1800, James; in 1803, Thomas and 
William George ; in 1805, Susannah ; and in the year 1815, when the vault was 
made, Charlotte and Georgiana, children of the Rev. William and Susannah 
Eveleigh. In the year 1830 the remains of the Rev. William Eveleigh, LL.B., 
were deposited in the same vault. He departed this life the 29th of October, 



112 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

in the 74th year of his age, having been 38 years vicar of this parish. Also, in 
1834, were deposited the remains of Susannah Eveleigh. She departed this life 
19th Feb., in the 69th year of her age. 

In the church of Birling we find a monument : 

Sacred to the memory of John and William May, sons of John and Jane 
May, of this parish. William May, ob. 25 th Aug. 1777, set. 41 ; John May, ob. 
2nd Sept. 1803, set. 71. 

A little distance off is a stone which is curious we read : 

Underneath this stone are deposited the remains of John and Jane May, also 
their sons, John and William May, to whose memory the monument is erected 
in this Church. 

There is none except this stone. 

To the memory of the Rev d< Edward Holme, late Vicar of this Parish, and 
founder of the two free schools at Leybourne and East Mailing in this county, 
who departed this life on the 7th day of January, 1782, aged 71 years. 

Nanny Holme, daughter of the above Rev d> Edw di Holme ; she died the first 
of January, 1789, aged 21 years. 

Susannah, widow of the said Rev d- Edward Holme, and mother of the said 
N. Holme, died May 17, 1801, aged 65. 

On the East Mailing School is the inscription : 

Liberos tarn Literis bonis quam pietate expolere. 
XtXX ow bpaxriv ot fJMOovres ret ypa/j.fjLara /xeXerij rb \5.v. 

This house and school, and that at Leybourne, were both erected at the 
sole expense of the Reverend Edward Holme, Vicar of Birling. 

On the Leybourne school we read : 

Tvu&l ffeavrov alias Scire tuum nihil est. 

The words we suppose mean, " Know Thyself, otherwise know- 
ledge is nought of thine." The expression must be declared obscure, 
at the least. 

In Hailing church we have : 

Here lieth the body of Robert Wood, late of this parish, who departed this 
life 14th of July, 1738, aged 54 years. 

Also : 

Here lyeth the Body of George Small, son of Richard and Elizabeth Small, 
of this Parish, Yeoman, who died January the 21st, 17f$, aged 17 years. 

Also: 

Here also lieth Frances, the daughter of Mr. Robert Wood, late the wife of 
Thomas Tryland, who died the 3rd of February, 1742, aged 31 years. 

In Memory of William, son of William and Anne Baker, of this parish, died 
April 9, 1775, aged 7 years. 

And: 

Near this place lieth the remains of Frances Comfort, who died the 2nd of 
October, 1824, aged 64 years. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 113 

In Leybourne we find : 

In a vault underneath are deposited the remains of James Hawley, Doctor 
of Physick, who died at the Grange in this Parish on the 22nd day of 
December, 1777, in the 73rd year of his age. And also of Elizabeth, wife of the 
said James, who was one of the daughters of Joseph Banks, Esq. She died the 
27th day of November, 1766, in the 47th year of her age, and was buried at 
Isleworth in the county of Middlesex, but was afterwards removed to this 
vault. And also of Dorothy, the wife of Henry, the son of the said James and 
Elizabeth ; she was the daughter of John Ashwood, Esq., of Madely, in the 
county of Salop, and died in childbirth on the 4th day of December, 1783. To 
the memory of these excellent persons the said Henry hath erected this 
monument, by whose death he is left to deplore the loss of parents most 
virtuous and indulgent, and of a wife most faithfull, pious, and affectionate. 

Again : 

Sacred to the memory of Anna, eldest daughter of William Humphreys, 
Esq., of Llewyn, Montgomeryshire, and second wife of the first Sir Henry 
Hawley, Bart., of Leybourne Grange, Kent. She died November 7th, 1829, 
aged 72 years. " Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord." This tablet is 
erected by her sorrowing children. 

Also : 

In a vault underneath the gallery are deposited the remains of Sir Henry 
Hawley, Bart., of the Grange, in this Parish. He died the 26th day of January, 
1826, in the 81st year of his age. He was the only son of James Hawley, M.D., 
by Elizabeth Banks his wife. By his first marriage, with Dorothy Ashwood, 
he had one son and three daughters, viz. : Henry, the present baronet, who 
married Catherine Elizabeth Shaw, eldest daughter of Sir John Gregory Shaw, 
Bart., of Kenward, in this county ; Dorothy Elizabeth, who married Sir Brook 
William Bridges, of Goodnestone, in this county, Bart., and who died without 
issue ; Harriet ; and Charlotte, married first to the Rev. Brooke John Brydges, 
secondly to Thomas Gardner Bramston, Esq., of Skreene, in the county of 
Essex. Sir Henry married secondly, in September 1785, Anne, the daughter 
of William Humfreys, Esq., of Llewyn, in the county of Montgomeryshire, by 
whom he had issue. : Frances Anne, married to Captain Shaw, R.N., second son 
of Sir John Gregory Shaw, Baronet, James, Eliza, and Louisa, married to the 
Rev. Tatton Brockman, third son of J. D. Brockman, Esq., of Beachborough, in 
this county. Sir Henry was created a Baronet of Great Britain in May 1795, 
H.M. P.C. July 17th, 1826. 

Also : 

In the vault underneath are deposited the remains of Anne Bond, daughter 
of Mr. Charles Bond, of Rochester, who departed this life at the Grange in 
this parish the 30th of October, 1829, in the fortieth year of her age. This is 
erected as a tribute of respect to her memory by her affectionate children. 

In East Mailing church we have also several entries of this date, 
which we now give, besides those to the Twisdens : 

Here lyes ye Body of Mr. Roger Furner, second son of Thos. Furner, of this 
Parish, Gent. He died on Michaelmas Day 1724, aged 77 years. 

Near this place lieth the [body of] Thomas Furner, [of this parish, gent], 
and Mary his wife ; Thomas, Elizabeth, and Mary [their children]. Under 
this stone lye the remains of Francis, another of their [children, and] the body 
of Hester his wife. She departed this life [4 of Dec. 1720] setat. 61. To whose 
Me[mory] Roger, their sorrow [ful and only surviving issue], hath affixed this 
Inscription.] 

8 



114 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Two monuments are unfortunately so hidden and so defaced that 
we can only partly decipher them. 

Here lie depo[sited]the remains of James.Tomlin, [gent], of this Parish, [who] 
departed this life April the 29th .... aged 74 years. Also Mrs. Eliza[beth] 
Tomlin, W[idow of] the abovesaid, [who died] 9th of November, aged 76 
years. Also [Mr.Thomas Tomlin], son of [Roger Tomlin, of East Mailing, who 
departed] this life September the [thirteenth], 1728, in the twelfth year of 
his age. 

The words in brackets have been supplied by the author. Besides 
this we have memorials to the same family, as follows : 

In Memory of James Tomlyn, Esq., who died June 30th, 1759, aged 71 years. 
Also the body of Charlotte Gregory, his granddaughter. 

In memory of Mrs. Ann Tomlyn, wife of Mr. James Tomlyn, late of this 
parish, died 15th March, 1773, aged 82 years. 

Outside the church we have a stone, placed in a conspicuous 
position near the entrance, on which is recorded the death of a 
real centenarian : 

Near this place lies the body of Mary Baker, of this Parish, widow, who was 
buried Dec. 14, 1753, at the advanced age of 105 years. 

Thorpe also tells of monuments now gone : 

Here lyes the body of Mr. Richard Furner, of this parish, gent. He died on 
Michaelmas Day 1724, aged 77 years. Here lyeth the body of Mary, the wife of 
Mr. Roger Tomlyn, who died the 25th of September, 1687. in the 23rd year of 
her age. 

Besides these we find also this one : 

Mrs. Ellen Humphrey, obiit March 13th, 1828, JKt. 83. Stephen William 
Godmond, her grandson, and youngest son of the Rev a- Samuel Francis God- 
mond, and Anne his wife, obiit Oct. 3, 1828, Mi. 17. Samuel Hugh Godmond, 
their son, died May 7th. 1837, aged 33 years. The Rev. Isaac Singleton 
Godmond, their son, died June 10, 1839, aged 34 years. 

At West Mailing this one, though it has no year left, is probably 
of this period the first part is erased. It appears to be the last one 
to the Chapmans : 



Anno ^Etatis Sure 
Here lyeth enterred ye Body of 
MARY CHAPMAN, the wife of 

JOHN CHAPMAN, 

" She is not dead, but sleepeth." 

Obiit December 23 rd , Anno domini 

Anno JStatis Su?e 35. 

Another one runs : 

H.S.E. Robert Say, gent, who departed this life August ye 17th, 1717. In 
ye 41st year of his age. This monument was erected by Mrs. Catherine Say, 
his widow. Near this place also lyeth his daughter, Catharine Say, aged six 
weeks. Here also lyeth the body of Mrs. Catherine Say (relict of ye above- 
said Robert Say), who departed this life the 27th of February, 1730, aged 41. 

Another inscription, under a coat-of-arms of three tigers' heads, is : 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 115 

Underneath is interred Mary, only child of George and Mary Smith, late of 
Wanstead, in the county of Essex, gent, and granddaughter to John Weekley, 
gent, and Ann his wife, of this parish. She died December the 21st, 1718, aged 
12 years. Her loving mother erected this monument. Also the body of Dr. 
Handisyed, who died September the 29th, 1748, aged 69 years. 

On another tomb we find the record : 

H.S.E. John Weekley, of the Inner Temple, London, Esq., who died Nov. 
21, 1738. To whose endearing memory his mother, Mrs. Matthew Weekley, 
dedicates this gravestone. 

Another monument to this family,' now destroyed, was : 

Here lieth the body of Mary Weekley, who died August the 9th, 1740, aged 
25 years. Also the body of Margaret Weekley, who died August llth, 1750, 
in the 37th year of her age. 

Near the vestry door, almost worn away by treading, we also 
read : 

Bev d - [CHARLES] BOWLES, Rector of Ditton 

[June 3, 1786.] 

Rev* 1 - CHARLES BOWLES 

Jany. 21, 1809 

Aged 79 years. 

So far are we able to restore this monument. The younger Mr. 
Bowles married a Miss Weekley, hence we have introduced this 
monument here : they must have resided at the house near the 
church. The Weekley entries in the register are very few : 

1710. August 26, Ann, ye daughter of Mr. John Weekley, gent, and Margaret 

his wife, baptised. 
1713. May 28, Margaret, the daughter of John Weekley, sen., and Margaret 

his wife. 

1718. Dec. 27, Mrs. Mary Smith (buried). 

1719. Nov. 22, John Weekley, senior, a very antient gent, he died the 

loth and was buried the 22nd. 
1721. Jany. 6th, Catherine, the daughter of Mr. John Weekley and Mrs. 

Margaret his wife (baptised). 
1731. Ann, the widow of John Weekley, gent, Oct. 14, buried. 

1737. Jany. 2, John Weekley (gent), buried. 

1738. Jany. 3, Capt n - Thomas Weekley, buried. 
1738. Nov. 26, John Weekley, gent (buried). 
1740. Aug. 15, Mrs. Mary Weekley (buried). 

1743. May 8, Mattheia, widow of John Weekley, gent (buried). 

1744. Sept. 2nd, Margaret, widow of John Weekley, gent (buried). 
1748. Oct. 3rd, Mary, wife of Dr. Handisyde (buried). 

1750. August 18th, Margaret Weekley, a single gentlewoman (buried). 

1778. Jany. 4th, George Weekley, Esq. (buried). 

Charles Bowles, of this Parish, and Catherine Weekley, of this parish, spinster, 
married in the Church by licence, this eleventh day of February, in the year 
one thousand seven hundred and sixty, by me, Daines, minister. 

Another inscription is : 

Here lies the body of Peter Elliston, of this parish, gent, who departed this 
life December 10, 1729, in the 41st year of his age. 

Here also lies Render Elliston, his son, by Katherine his wife, who died an 
infant three days old, January 14, 17||. 



116 MEMORIES OF MALLIN& AND ITS VALLEY. 

To whose dear memory his widow, Catherine Elliston, erects this monument, 
Dec. 22, 1720. 

His only surviving son is Peter Elliston, born four months and twelve days 
after his father's decease, which said Peter Elliston, gent, married Mary, only 
daughter of Philip Hedman, of Kingston-upon-Thames, Esq., and departed this 
life 10th of October, 1746, aged 26 years, leaving one son, Peter Hedman Elliston. 

Likewise Mrs. Mary Elliston, grandmother (aged 94 years) ; John Elliston, 
gent, and Elizabeth his wife, father and mother ; and John, Francis, and 
Hannah, brothers and sister of the abovesaid Peter Elliston, deceased, lye here 
interred. 

Also we read : 

Underneath lies the Body of Mrs. Ann Herne, who was the wife Mr. George 
Herne, of New Inn, London, gent, and one of the daughters of William and 
Mary Mason, late of this parish, who departed this life the 14th day of August, 
in the year of our Lord 1742, in the 38th year of her age. 

Besides we have : 

Here lyeth ye body of John Eele, once a writing-master of this place, who 
died Feby. 17th, 1766, aged 59 years. Also Mary, his beloved wife, who died 
December 30th, 1746, aged 46 years. Likewise Mary, his mother, who died 
10th July, 1756, aged 73 years. Also Ann, his youngest daughter, who died 
13th March, 1767, aged 26 years. 

Still more we have the following, which is interesting as show- 
ing the connection between the Bartholomews of Oxonhoath and 
Aldington : 

Near this place are deposited the remains of Humphrey Bartholomew, M.D., 
youngest son of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., and Eliz h - his wife, late of 
Oxonhoath, in this county, who departed this life the 1 5th day of December, 
17P>4. To whose memory his nephew, Leonard Bartholomew, of Addington, 
Esq., erected this monument. 

Another person commemorated is Rev. Dale Lovett : his tablet 
says : 

Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Dale Lovett, of Pankhull, in Staffordshire, 
many years curate of this Parish, who departed this life 1st August, 1797, aged 
75 years. 

Mr. Dale Lovett seems to have thus died here a curate, never 
having won the bishop's smile, which would have given him the 
position that a life of hard work as a curate deserved, but did not 
obtain ; who thus, in common with others, proved indeed that of him 
the world was not worthy. 

Besides those already mentioned, we have a tablet : 

To the memory of Robert Thomas Cromp, Esq., late of Frinsted, in this county. 
He died on the 12th of February, 1808, in the forty-second year of his age. 

Also one to the last vicar but one : 

Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Richard Husband. A.M.. who was Vicar of 
this Parish 44 years. He died the 25th of March, 1814, aged 78 years. Also 
of Sarah, his wife, who died the llth of February. 1814, aged 83 years. 

Mr. Husband, of whom we shall say more hereafter, cannot be too 
much praised for the trouble that he took with the registers. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 117 

One of the entries of this period in the parish register is very 
curious ; it is : 

Jany. 22, 1784. A strange woman, name unknown, found dead in the cage. 

The lock-up, or cage, formerly stood on the piece of ground that 
lies on the side of the hill at the entrance of the town, opposite 
Byarsh lane it has long been pulled down. It no doubt succeeded 
the old abbey prison, and has been succeeded by the police station. 
Two things strike us about the entry : one is, we are not told 
how the woman came to be in the cage, and the other is, that there 
is no mention of a coroner's inquest having been held to examine 
into the cause of her death. 

The monuments of this period in Offham church are not very 
numerous ; there are only two. The first is to a former incumbent : 

Here lies interred the body of the Rev. Mr. Wm. Miles, Rector of this Parish, 
and of Westgate Holy Cross, and of St. Peter's United, of Canterbury. Vita sua 
Optima Laus.* Departed this life Oct. 16, 1746, aged 39. Here also lieth ye 
body of Rose, wife of ye said Wm. Miles, who departed this life ye 9 th of Decem r * 
1762, aged 66 years. 

The second is interesting, as it gives us a lasting memorial of coaching 
days, though by a sad accident ; it is : 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth, wife of Robert Spearman, of Newington, 
in this county, Esq re - She was the second daughter of Mr. John Smith, late of 
this parish, and met with an instant and untimely death on the 18th December, 
1800, by the overturning of a stage coach near Woolwich ; age 19 years, leaving 
issue two children, John and Elizabeth. 

We should not give a complete record of this period if we did not 
mention some of the uncouth verses on tombstones, of which Offham 
supplies us with one or two, viz. : 

My sledge and hammer lie reclined, 
My bellows, too, have lost their wind ; 
My fires are burnt, my forge decayed, 
And in the dust my vice is laid. 
My coal is spent, my iron's gone; 
My nails are drove, my work is done. 
WILLIAM SMITH, of this parish, blacksmith. 

Another, to Mr. John and Mrs. Mary Brooker, 1810 : 

An honest pair beneath this spot of earth . . . 
Contented rest, unmoved by pain or mirth. 
No useless subtleties perplexed their brains, 
Nor fraudful habits to increase their gains. 
They lived in Peace, and died devoid of fear, 
And left a name which all their friends revere 

Another : 

Here rests from all the cares of life 
A husband faithful to his wife, 
A father to his children dear, 
A neighbour honest and sincere. 



* His Life is his Best Praise. 



118 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Another of this style, though nnich later, is to Philip Morphew 

He had his share of the toil and strife, 
Of the fears and cares that compass our life. 
We may miss the clasp of his gentle hand, 
Which now strikes his harp in a better land ; 
But we feel, in the midst of our deepest pain, 
That our own great loss is our loved one's gain, 
And perchance those graves are but landmarks given. 
Directing our hearts and our hopes to heaven. 

In addition we may mention two in Addington churchyard. One 
on Sarah Still, 1802 : 

Tho' young she was, 
Her youth could not withstand 

Nor pardon her 
From death's impartial hand. 

The other on George Still, of Eyarsh, who died 1809 : 

To praise the Lord the good man went 

From home with pious zeal ; 
But ne'er returned, his lamp was burned, 

Death followed at his heel. 

We find the following inscriptions in Ryarsh church that belong 
to this period : 

Here also lyeth interred the body of Felix Walsingham, wife of Edward 
Walsingham, who departed this life the 17th day of September, 1717, aged 
60 years. 

It is worthy of notice that Mrs. Walsingham's * name is always 
recorded as Felix, and not Felicia. 

Besides, to this family there were erected the following inscrip- 
tions : 

Here lyeth the body of Edward Walsingham, late of Callis Court, in this 
Parish, gent, who departed this life the 9th day of May, A.D. 1718, aetatis suae 
30 years. 

Here lies interred the body of Mr. John Walsingham, late of Birh'ng, who 
departed this life January the 10, 1764, aged 72 years, and left surviving two 
daughters, viz. : Jane and Mary. 

Here lyeth the body of Rebekah, wife of Mr. John Walsingham, of this 
parish, and daughter of Abraham and Rebekah Standen, of the parish of 
[illegible], in the county of Sussex. She departed this life the 13th of July, 
1726, aged .... years, and left issue four daughters .... Rebekah, Jane, 
and .... 

Most of the Walsinghams' tombs, through being made of soft stone 
and placed on the ground, have been rendered illegible. 

Besides them there is an inscription to Rebekah Standen : 

Here lyeth the body of Rebekah Standen, who died the 7th of September, 
1737, aged 67 years. 

And one or two to a family called Penury : 
Here lieth interred the body of Rebecca, wife of Solomon Penury, of this 

* See notes, p. 234. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 119 

parish. She departed this life Jany. ye 9th, 1761, aged 39 years. She left issue 
one son and one daughter, viz., Solomon and Mary. 

Here lieth interred Solomon Penury, of this parish, who departed this life 
the 10th of March, 1767, aged 53 years. He left issue one son and one daughter, 
Solomon and Mary. 

And one to John Miller : 

Here lieth interred the remains of John Miller, gent, of this parish, who 
departed this life September the 13th, 1786, aged 43 years. 

In Trottescliffe church we read : 

In this chancel lies interred John Morgan, B.D., rector of Medburn, Com- 
missary of Richmond, and Precentor of St. David's, he died 20th September, 
1773, aged 73 years. Mary Philips, widow, sister of the above. John Morgan 
is likewise interred here, who died 6th November, 1744, aged 70 years. In the 
same vault rest the remains of Francis Lloyd, M.A., late rector of this parish. 

The old church of Ditton contains quite a history of the Brewer 
and Golding * families, nearly every part of the church being taken 
up with their memorials or those of their connections. The Brewers 
had become extinct before this era, but of the Goldings we have the 
following memorials : 

Under th[is stone lie] 

The remains [pf William] 

Son of John [Golding, Esquire,] 

And Ann, [his wife,] 

Of Ditton [Place], 

Who dep[arted this life] 

The 27th of [February,] 

Aged 14 years, 

1786. 

This inscription, partly buried under the reading desk, we have 
supplied as best we could from the burial register. The words 
which are buried we give in brackets as we conclude them to have 
existed. 

Also: 

In a vault beneath this monument are deposited the remains of John Golding, 
Esq re -, late of Ditton Place, in this Parish, who died the 12th of November, 
1807, aged 80 years. Also of Ann, his wife, who died the 1st of August, 
1807, aged 61 years. They had issue the following children : Oliver, who died 
the 8th -of February, 1777, aged 4 months ; William died the 27th of February, 
1786, aged 14 years ; Mary Anu, died the 24th of November, 1805, aged 23 years; 
Frances, died the 17th of December, 1809, aged 34 years. All of whom are 
interred in the vault below. Elizabeth, the wife of William Alexander Dunning, 
died the 22nd of June, 1814, aged 35 years, and is buried at Boxley in this 
county. Thomas, who died the 3rd of January, 1818, and is buried in the 
vault beneath. John, who died the 17th of February, 1856, at Ditton Place, 
aged 85 years. 

To two of those on this monument there is this second tablet : 
Sacred to the memory of Mary Ann Golding, youngest daughter of John 



See notes, p. 238. 



120 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Golding, Esqre., of Ditton Place, Ditton, in the county of Kent, who died 
November the 24th, 1805, aged 24 years. Also to the memory of Frances 
Golding, eldest daughter of the said John Golding, who died December 17th. 
1809, aged 34 years. 

The first of these ladies is made one year older on her second 
monument. 

There is a third slab just inside the belfry door this we think is 
a unique and exceptional case it runs : 

Underneath this stone are deposited the remains of Frances Golding, of Derby 
Street, Westminster, daughter of John Golding, Esq re> , and Anne his wife, of 
Ditton Place, in this parish, who departed this life December the 17th, 1809. 
aged 34 years. 

Also a third to Mary Ann Golding : 

Underneath this stone lie deposited the remains of Mary Ann Golding. 
daughter of John Golding, Esq., and Ann his wife, of Ditton Place, in this 
parish, who departed this life November the 24th, 1805, aged 23 years. 

There is also a second to Thomas Golding : 

Sacred to the Memory of Thomas Golding, late of Ditton Place, son of John 
Golding. Esqre., and Ann his wife. He died on the third of February, 1818. 
aged 46 years, and lies interred in the vault below. This monument is erected, 
as well as the adjoining one, by his affectionate brother, John Golding, Esq rc % 
of Ditton Place. 

The monument mentioned as the adjoining one is the tablet of the 
family, of which we have given the inscription above. 

There are also one or two to the family of Luck belonging to this 
period : 

In memory of Rebekah. wife of William Luck, of this parish, Yen. She died 
June 2oth, 1756, aged 72 years. Also to the memory of the abovesaid 
William Luck, who departed this life Sept. the 5, 1763, aged 68 years. 

The other monument to the Luck family is, strange to say, also 
repeated, like those to the Goldings. The first reads : 

In Memory of George Luck, of this parish, yeoman, who died October the 4th, 
1771, aged 44 years. He left issue, by Sarah his wife, four sons and one 
daughter, viz. : George, William, Thomas, John, and Sarah. Also Xathanael 
John Luck, son of the above, who died December the 26th, 1831, aged 62 
years. 

On the wall of the church we read virtually the same : 

In memory of Mr. George Luck, of this parish, who died October 4th, 1771, 
aged 44 years. Left issue, by Sarah his wife, four sons and one daughter, 
George, William, Thomas. Nathanael John, and Sarah. Also Mr. Nathanael 
John Luck, son of the above, who died December 26tb, 1831, aged 62 years. 

And this one to the family of Cox : 

Here's interred the body of Mrs. Mary Cox, wife of William Cox, gent, of the 
parish of Snodland, and daughter of Mr. Edward and Ann Sedgwick, of this 
parish, who departed this life September 24th, 1724, in ye 22nd year of her age. 
Here lieth the body of William Cox, gent, who died June ye llth. 1737, aged 
35 years. 



THE GEORGIAN ERA (17151830). 121 

In Snodland there is a memorial belonging to this period to a 
former rector ; it runs : 

Here lyeth the body of Mr. John Walwyn, Rector of this Parish 31 years, who 
departed this life ye 8th day of [January, 1713]. 

The last part of the inscription is buried under the altar step, but 
is supplied by calculation from the dates in the Rochester registers. 
He is not entered in the Snodland register. 



CHAPTER X. 

WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (1830 1892). 

records of this era in our valley are not so numerous as 
we might expect, still there are some things worthy of recording 
in these reigns. During this period the cricket ground of 
Mailing, which had been rising in importance, became one of the 
favourite grounds of the county cricketers, and continued so for 
a long period, the natural beauty of the place, and the good cricket 
of many of the inhabitants, rendering it long a popular place of 
resort for lovers of the most manly of sports. We cannot do better 
than follow the history of the different places in alphabetical order. 

By the marriage of Miss Bartholomew with the Hon. John 
Wingfield-Stratford, second son of Richard, Viscount Powerscourt, 
Addington Manor passed into his family. 

His monument in the church commemorates him in this manner : 

Sacred to the memory of the Hon. John Wingfield-Stratford, 2nd son of 
Richard, Viscount Powerscourt, and formerly a lieutenant-colonel in the Cold- 
stream Guards. He married Frances, sole daughter and heiress of Leonard 
Bartholomew, Esq., of this place, by whom he had three children, Frances 
Amelia, Isabella Harriet, John. He married 2ndly, Harriette, the daughter of 
Henry Grant, Esq., of the Knoll, Glamorganshire. In 1803, by royal sign 
manual, and in obedience to the will of his uncle, Edward Augustus. 2nd Earl 
of Aldborough, he was authorised to assume the name and arms of Stratford 
in addition to his own. He died 3rd August, 1850, aged 78 years, leaving his 
wife Harriette surviving. Also to the memory of the said Frances, his wife, who 
died 13 July, 1827, aged 51 years. Also in memory of the said Harriette, his 
second wife, who restored this church A.D. 1856, and who died April 6th, 1863, 
aged 80 years. 

This monument is interesting as giving us the date of the restora- 
tion of the pretty church of Addington, and also as pointing out the 
reason for the double name of Wingfield-Stratford. The son of the 
Hon. John Wingfield-Stratford succeeded his father, and is com- 
memorated by the beautiful reredos in the church, as is shown by 
the inscription : 

To the glory of God, and in loving memory of John Wingfield-Stratford, 
Esq re -, of Addington Park, born Dec. 10, 1810. died May 8, 1881. This reredos 
was erected by his widow, Christmas 1881. 

In the year 1887 the Manor of Addington, which, with the 
advowson of the church, had been so long in the one family for 
from the time of Robert Charles, in the fourteenth century, it had 

122 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 123 

descended by heirs male or female was alienated to C. J. S. Whit- 
burn, Esq. 

Besides the monuments we have already mentioned, there are in 
the church at Addington the following : 

Anna Maria Pickering, widow, of Rev d - E. Hayes Pickering, born 28 Jan., 1813, 
died 27 Nov., 1872. " Then are they glad because they are at rest." 

To the glory of God, and in loving memory of Ellen Elizabeth Boys, who died 
in this parish Dec. 29th, 1886, aged 83 years. 

To the glory of God, and in memory of William Wells, who acted as Clerk to 
the Parish of Addington for 23 years. He died at the age of 93, respected and 
beloved by all who knew him, and by none more than her who raises this 
tablet to his memory. " May he rest in peace." Also in memoiy of Kezia Wells, 
who died July 30th, 1888, aged 72 years. 

To the glory of God, and in memory of George Baldock, died May 7th, 1891, 
aged 34. " Well done, thou good and faithful servant, enter thou into the joy 
of thy Lord." 

Besides this there is an inscription under one of the handsome 
stairfed glass windows in the church, which is commemorative of 
the loyalty of the inhabitants of Addington at the time of the late 
jubilee : 

To the glory of God, as a thank-offering to Him in this 50th year of Queen 
Victoria's reign, this window was erected by the parishioners of Addington, 
20th of July, 1887. 

In the parish church of Aylesford at this period we have a 
number of monuments to the Milners, who, it will be remembered, 
were the descendants of Charles Cottam, Esq., upon his taking the 
name of Milner : 

Beneath this marble are interred the remains of the Reverend Joseph Milner, 
D.D., of Preston Hall, in this Parish, who departed this life July the 26th, 1784, 
aged 54 years. He was the first who inherited this estate upon his taking the 
name, Milner. Beneath also are interred the remains of Sarah, his wife : she 
died September the 27th, 1803. aged 72 years. 

Then, in point of time, follows : 

Sacred to the memory of Charles Milner, Esq., of Preston Hall, in this parish, 
who died Jan. 7th, 1836. aged 72 years. Also of Harriett, his wife, the daughter 
of Sir John Dixon Dyke, Bart., of Lullingstone Castle, in this County, who died 
August 1808. They had issue Harriet Philadelphia, born December 6, 1792, died 
June 27, 1793 ; Charles Joseph, born August 10, 1796, died September 6, 1796 ; 
Mary Anne, born March 13, 1799, died June 5th, 1836 ; Harriett Sarah, born 
September 19, 1800, died May 31, 1802 ; Charles, born September 16, 1801, 
died September 19, 1844 ; John, born February 4, 1804, died October 6, 1846 ; 
Caroline Elizabeth, born July 2, 1802, died January 28, 1843. Henry Robert, 
a Lieutenant-Colonel in Her Majesty's 94 Regiment, the last survivor of his 
family, has erected this monument as a tribute of affection to their memory. 

And: 

This tablet is erected to the memory of Henry Robert Milner, Major-General 
in the army, and formerly Lieutenant -Colonel of Her Majesty's ninety-fourth 
Regiment. He was the youngest and last surviving son of the late Charles 
Milner, Esq., of Preston Hall, in this Parish, by Harriett, his wife, the youngest 
daughter of the late Sir John Dixon Dyke, Bart., of Lullingstone Castle, in this 
county. He was born at Preston Hall on the 29th day of January, 1805, and 



124 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

died at Plymouth on the fourteenth day of January, 1855, in the 50th year of 
his age. Major-General Milner entered the army on the 7th of February, 1822. 
He joined the 94th regiment in 1828, and from that period served uninter- 
ruptedly with it in the Mediterranean. Ceylon, and the East Indies, until the 
return of the regiment from Madras in June 1854. He commanded the regi- 
ment for fourteen years, and was employed on the staff of the Madras army 
for five years as Brigadier, commanding at Aden, Cannanore and Bangalore. 
His brother officers testify to the many estimable qualities of their late com- 
manding officer and friend, by uniting with his relatives in dedicating this 
tablet to his memory. 

Charles Milner, Esq., who had inherited the manors of Preston 
and Aylesford from his father, acquired in 1832 the manor of 
Ditton, which he transmitted to his son Charles, who, as the above 
monuments show us, died in 1844. The manor then went to his 
brothers John and Henry Robert successively. These estates passed 
to Edward Ladd Betts, Esq., by purchase in 1848, who in 1849 built 
the present mansion, and on his failure they came afterwards into 
the hands of T. Brassey, Esq., in 1865, who gave it to his son, H. 
A. Brassey, Esq., in 1870. Mr. Brassey died May 13th, 1891, when 
his son, H. L. C. Brassey, Esq., came into possession. 

Mr. Betts is not buried in the church, but in the churchyard, 
where a handsome monument was raised to him by the parishioners 
of Aylesford for his great generosity to them in his time of prosperity, 
and this is a remarkable instance that worth is sometimes still 
respected in the days of adversity, and that even when persons are 
absent.* 

Besides, we have two monuments to two vicars of Aylesford : 

In memory of Rev. William Tolbutt Staines, M.A., formerly fellow of Queen's 
College, Cambridge, who for upwards of eight years was Vicar of this parish. 
He died Sept. 24, 1840, in the 55th year of his age. His clear judgment, well- 
stored mind, and pious and devoted spirit, rendered him a bright example as 
a Christian pastor ; and he has left behind him a name which will ever be 
cherished with affection and respect, not only by his relatives and friends, but 
by all who knew him and could appreciate the real excellence of his character. 

And: 

In memory of Edward Garret Marsh, M.A., formerly fellow and tutor of Oriel 
College, Oxford, Canon of Southwell, and for twenty-one years Vicar of this 
parish. Born at Salisbury, Feby. 8, 1785, died at Aylesford. September 20, 
1862. " I know in Whom I have believed." 

Also of Lydia Marsh, his wife, born at Portsea, January 17, 1788, died at 
Aylesford, Dec. 1, 1859. " Of a meek and quiet spirit." 

In memory of Thomas Henry Marsh, of Lincoln's Inn, barrister-at-law, 
their third son. Born at Hampstead, May 31, 1824, died at Aylesford, March 10, 
1852. " Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God." 

Also of Joseph Samuel Marsh, their youngest son, born at Hampstead, 
January 22, 1820, died at Aylesford, January 27, 1847. ' Surely I come quickly. 
Even so, come Lord Jesus." In hope of eternal life, which God, who cannot lie, 
promised. 



* On Oct. 28th, 1892, a window subscribed for by his neighbours was unveiled 
in Aylesford Church, and a new wing to the Trinity Hospital, given by his 
widow and son, was opened in memory of Mr. Brassey. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 125 

The first three bells of Aylesford were cast by Gillett <fe Co., of 
Croydon, and used on Saturday, 9th December, 1869, and were 
given by H. A. Brassey, Esq., J.P. The priest's bell is blank. 

Two small alms-plates are inscribed, " A gift to the parishioners of 
Aylesford, from Thomas Franklyn, Esq., of Cobtree, 1859. Rev. 
E. G. Marsh, vicar." In 1888 Aylesford church was reseated. In 
1852 was the cholera year, when we learn that twenty-five people 
were buried in Aylesford in September only. The window at the 
east end of the church contains sentences from the Te Deum, all in 
Latin. On the south side of the chancel is a window with " Fides " 
and " Spes" in the different lights. Then comes another window, with 
" Charity," and then, as we walk round the church, we find on the 
south and north sides, two in each window : St. Peter, St. Paul, St. 
Matthew, St. Mark, St. Luke, St. John, St. Thomas, St. Bartholomew, 
St. Simon, St. Andrew. 

The second Earl of Romney, in whose hands the castle, manor, 
and patronage of the living of Allington still continued, succeeded his 
father in 1811, and, dying in 1845, was succeeded by his son Charles, 
the third earl, who was M.P. for West Kent 1841-45 ; at his death, 
in 1874. Charles, his son, succeeded to the title and estates, which he 
still holds. 

The Rev. E. B. Heawood, the present Rector of Allington, kindly 
forwarded the following inscription, and the melancholy tale it 
records : 

To the memory of Robert Chapman, late scholar of C. C. College, Cam- 
bridge, who was accidentally drowned while crossing the Medway near this 
place on the 14th August, 1833, aged 22 years. This tablet was erected by 
friends who sincerely deplore his loss, as a testimony of their high regard for 
his unassuming manners, promising abilities, and amiable disposition. " There- 
fore, be ye also ready." Matth. chap. 24, v. 44. 

The history of the tablet is as follows : " There was a large 
evening party at Allington Castle, given by the Packs to their 
citizen friends at Maidstone. In those days there was a ferry at the 
Gibraltar Inn, over against the castle there was an ancient punt 
for its service. Eleven ladies entered the punt with Mr. Chapman, 
under-master of the Grammar School, Maidstone the punt was safe 
for five or six and when they reached the middle of the river the 
punt sank. The eleven ladies floated by reason of the buoyancy of 
their dresses, and they were safely landed. Chapman was forgotten, 
and he sank : his body was found sooner or later afterwards. Mrs. 
Pack held a lantern from the castle walls, and saw the punt disappear." 

Birling at the beginning of this "period was, with Ryarsh, in the 
hands of the second Earl of Abergavenny, Henry ; he was suc- 
ceeded by his son John, third earl, in 1843, and he by his brother 
William, the fourth earl, for many years rector of Birling. He 
succeeded in 1845, and died 1868; his son William succeeded him 
as earl, and was created a marquis in 1886. 



126 MEMORIES 'OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

On the cover of the font in Birling church we read that it was 
carved by the Ladias Caroline Emily, Henrietta Augusta, and Isabel 
Mary Frances, Nevill, the daughters of the Earl and Countess of 
Abergavenny, A.D. 1853. It was first placed upon the font, and the 
font moved into the centre of the church, at the christening of the 
eldest son of the Hon. Thos. E. M. L. Mostyn, M.P., and Lady 
Augusta Mostyn. 

The monuments in Birling church, besides those to the Nevills, are 
as follows : 

Beneath are deposited the remains of Maria, second daughter of John and 
Emily Selby, of this parish, who was born 10th of January, 1827, and died loth 
January, 1830. 

And two other memorials of former incumbents, one to the vicar 
himself, the other to the wife of another. Both are windows : 

To the glory of God, and in memory of Rev. H. D. Fhelps, M.A., Vicar 
of Birling, who died October 28th, 1864. This window was erected by his 
parishioners, as a tribute of affection and of gratitude for his devoted attention 
to their interests, both temporal and eternal. 

" Blessed are tLe dead which die in the Lord." 

To the glory of God, and in affectionate memory of Annette H. Madden, this 
window is erected by parishioners and friends. A.D. 1889. 

The memorials to the Nevills, as many of them are only shields, 
we give in detail below. Other remarks upon the family will be 
found in the foregoing history and in the notes. The entrance 
to the vault of the Nevills is of cast iron, with coronet, shield, 
and roses, supported by bulls, with the motto : Ne Vile Velis. We 
give the inscriptions in chronological order : 

Sir Geo. Nevill, Milit. Dom. Burgavenny, ob l< anno 1492, born at Raby Castle 
in co. Durham, son of Edw a - Lord Burgavenny who was sixth son of Ralph, l rt< 
Earl of Westmoreland, Lord of Staindropa, Branxspeth, Sherriff Hotton, 
Middleham, Warkworth and Coverham, Earl Marshall of England, Knight of 
the Garter, Constable of the Tower of London, and Warden of the Forests 
North of ye Trent, by Lady Beaufort, dan. of John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, 
4 th son of King Edward ye 3 rd . Edward Nevill married Elizabeth, daughter 
and heiress of Richard Beauchamp, Lord Burgavenny, and Earl of Worcester, 
by Isabel, daughter of Thomas. Baron Le Despencer and Earl of Gloucester. 
Sir Geo., Baron Burgavenny, married Margaret, daughter and co-heir of Sir 
Hugh Ffenne, Under Treasurer of England, and was the father of George, Lord 
Burgavenny. buried here in 1536. 

This lord directed by his will, made at Birling : " His body to 
be buried in the monastery of St. Pancras, called the Priory of 
Lewes, Sussex, on the south side of the altar, where he had made 
a tomb for his body. Disce ntori mundo vivere disce Deo (Learn 
to die to tlie vjorld, learn to live to God). Ou je tiens ferine ( Where 
I hold firmly}" Sir Geo. Nevill, to whom this monument is raised, 
was knighted at the battle of Tewkesbury. 

George Nevill, Dom. Burgavenny, Knight of the Garter, Constable of Dover 
Castle and Warden of the Cinque Ports, married 1 st Joan, daughter of Thomas 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 127 

Fitzallan, Earl of Arundel ; 2 nd , Mary, daughter of the Duke of Buckingham, 
obt. 1536. 

This Nevill preserved Kent from joining the Cornish rebels, and 
was present at the Field of the Cloth of Gold. 

Henricus Nevill, Dominus Burgavenny, married Ffrances, daughter of the 
Earl of Rutland and Baron Roos, obiit 9th February, 1586. 

This baron opposed the proceedings of Wyatt, and met Sir 
Thomas Isley at Blacksole Field, in Wrotham, and by this probably 
saved Mary her throne. He afterwards sat in judgment on Mary 
Queen of Scots. He died at his seat, called Comfort, in Birling, seised 
of the manors of Birling, Byarsb, Yalding, Luddesdown, West 
Peckham, Mereworth and Old Hseie, alias Holehaie, and the ad- 
vowsons of Birling, of the church of Maplescomb in West Peckham, 
and of Mereworth. 

We may remark here that the church of Maplescomb, now in 
ruins, which is joined to the living of Kingsdown, being described 
as part of the parish of West Peckham, is extremely interesting, as 
giving us an example of how detached chapelries became associated 
with certain parishes in days gone by we know not why. It was 
not for the convenience of the people of the places, neither could it 
have been very convenient to the clergyman, as, for instance, Maples- 
comb was at least six miles from West Peckham, as was Comp, at 
the shortest, two miles from Leybourne. 

Here lieth Lady Frances Burgavenny, obt. 1576, wife of Henry, Lord Burga- 
venny, and daughter of Thomas Manners, Earl of Rutland and Baron Roos : 
also Margaret Nevill, daughter of Edward Nevill, obt. 15 Oct., 1616 : also Lady 
Elizabeth, first wife to Sir Henry Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, and after wife of 
Sir Will- Sedley, Knt. and Baron, ob. 15th Aug., Anno 1617. Also Lady 
Katherine, 2 nd wife of Sir Henry Nevill, Lord of Abergavenny, and daughter of 
George, Baron Vaux, of Harrowden, ob. 10 July, 1641. Expectamus adventum 
Domini Jesu Christi. 

Sir Edward Nevill, Dominus Burgavenny, ob. 1st December, 1622. 

On the death of Lord Henry, as already stated, his daughter 
disputed the title of Lord Edward, when, after much litigation, it 
was settled she could hold the barony of Le Despencer in her own 
right and satisfaction, but Lord Burgavenny goes in tail male with 
the office of Lord Marshal. 

Sir Thomas Nevill, Knight of the Bath, married Frances, daughter of Henry, 
Baron Mordaunt, ob. 1628. 

Henry Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, married Mary, daughter of the Earl of 
Dorset, Lord Treasurer of England, obt. 24th Dec., 1641. 

Sir Christopher Nevill, Knight of the Bath, ob. June, 1649. 

John Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, ob. 12th Dece r> , 1662. 

George Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, ob. 14th June, 1666. 

George Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, ob. March 1720, setat 63. 

George Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, obt. anno 1723. 

Edward Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, obt. October 1724. 

In memory of Henry Nevill, aged 3 years, and Augustus Nevill, aged 14 
months, who both died 28th of March, 1828. This window was erected by their 



128 MEMORIES OF MALLINQ AND ITS VALLEY. 

parents, the Earl and Countess of Abergavenny. "Suffer little children to 
come unto Me, and forbid them not, for of such is the kingdom of God." In 
the vault beneath are interred the bodies of Henry Nevill, aged 3 years, and 
Augustus Nevill, aged 14 months, the children of the Honble. and Rev. William 
Nevill, Vicar of Birling, youngest son of Henry, Earl of Abergavenny, by 
Caroline his wife, who both departed this life 28th of March, 1828. 

Besides these memorials, there are handsome windows to the late 
Earl of Abergavenny (who was many years Vicar of Birling) and 
his wife, with these inscriptions : 

To the glory of God, and in memory of William Nevill, IV. Earl and XLVI. 
Baron of Abergavenny, who died August XVII., MDCCCLXVTII. This window 
was painted and erected as a humble tribute of affection to the memory of a 
kind father, by his three daughters : Caroline, Augusta, Isabel. " The memory 
of the just is blessed." 

Also : 

To the glory of God, and in memory of Caroline, wife of the IVth Earl of 
Abergavenny, who died 19th of May, 1873. This window was erected in grate- 
ful and affectionate remembrance of a beloved mother, by William, Caroline, 
Augusta, Isabel and Ralph. "Those also which sleep in Jesus will God bring 
with Him." 1 Thess. iv. 14. 

And : 

To the glory of God, and in grateful memory of William, IVth Earl of 
Abergavenny, and Caroline his wife. Erected by the parishioners, 1874. 
" Lovely and pleasant in their lives, and in death they were not divided." 

A tankard five and a quarter inches high, and four and a quarter 
inches across, of the date 1697, once the property of the Dampiers, 
was presented by Mrs. Jane Phelps to the church of Birling, 
on Christmas Day, 1854. Mrs. Phelps was a Miss Lupton. Mr. 
Lupton married Elizabeth Dampier, who was cousin to Thomas 
Dampier, Bishop of Rochester, 1802, translated to Ely, 1808, died 
1812. He was brother to Judge Dampier; they were both of the 
old family of Dampier of East Hall, Blackford, Somerset. On the 
handle are the initials ^,, probably referring to the Dampiers. 
It will be remembered that at this time the Rev. H. D. Phelps was 
vicar of Birling. 

In Ditton church the memorials of this age are numerous : 

Beneath this monument, in the family vault, are deposited the remains of 
Mary Ann, wife of John Golding, Esq rc- , of Ditton Place, in this Parish, who 
departed this life on the 22nd day of May, 1837, in the 50th year of her age, 
a true Christian, an affectionate wife, and a sincere friend ; also Marianne, 
their daughter, wife of the Rev d - John Barrow, who died the 25th of October, 
1842, aged 26. Also Clementina, their daughter, some time wife of Alfred 
Luck, Esq re> , who died the 16th November, 1842, aged 28. " Upon whose 
soul may God have mercy." Also Caroline, their fifth daughter, wife of Robert 
Tassell, Esq rc -, of the Inner Temple, Barrister, who died the 7th of May, 1851, 
aged 31 ; John, died 1807, Ellen, 1822, infants ; John Henry, died October 20th, 
1820, aged 12 ; John Golding, Esquire, of Ditton Place, died 17th February, 1856, 
aged 85 years ; Henrietta Golding, died 3rd August, 1866, aged 40 years. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 129 

Another : 

In Memory of Robert Tassell, Esq', of the Inner Temple, Barrister, only son 
of Robert and Mary Tassell, of B lackland, in the parish of East Mailing; He 
died on the 2nd day of September, 1852, aged 34 years. 

Also of Caroline, his beloved wife, fifth daughter of John Golding, Esq-, of 
Ditton Place, she died on the 7th day of May, 1851, aged 30 years. 

Another, to one of the former incumbents : 

Sacred to the memory of the Rev*- William Hamilton Burroughs, B.A., second 
son of the Ven ble> Newburgh Burroughs, Archdeacon of Derby, and 16 years 
Rector of this Parish, born 1795, died Oct. 20, 1856. 

And another : 

In Memory of Robert Tassell, Esq., J.P., of Cob Down, in the Parish of 
Ditton, late of Blacklands in the Parish of East Mailing, who died on the 
13th day of January, 1874, aged 89 years. 

Just inside the church door is a stone on which we can yet read 
" Margaret Godden," but the rest of the inscription is illegible. 
In the wall of the church, on the south, outside, is the following : 

Hie jacent corpora Annae, Jacobi, Gullielmi, Marthae et Henrici Boghurst, 
singuli pietate et honestate conspicui. 

Here lie the bodies of Anna, James, William, Martha and Henry Boghurst, 
each conspicuous for piety and honesty. 

The church of Ditton is almost filled with monuments, and these 
are chiefly to the Brewers and Goldings, as above shown. On the 
village green the pound may still be seen. The priest's bell at 
Ditton is dated, " Borodino, 1825." 

In Hailing church we have this inscription only : 

Peggy Towers, died 18th March, 1834, aged 70 years. 
Thomas Towers, died 31st August, 1837, aged 76 years. 

This parish, owing to the cement works of Formby & Co., and 
Lee & Son, has during this period developed a large industry, 
and with the neighbouring parishes of Cuxton, Strood, Snodland, 
Birling, Aylesford, Burham and Wouldham, is becoming a large 
manufacturing district, which, like the great centres of business in 
the North, is peopled principally by factory hands. The centre of 
the cement trade may be said to be Hailing, Snodland, Burham and 
Wouldham, which, with the Ham Mill portion of Birling, go to 
form what may be called Cementopolis, containing about 12,000 
people : this population is ten times what it was in the days of 
William IV. The great thing to be regretted over these works is 
that Messrs. Anderson, the owners of the works behind the quaint 
old church of Hailing, have, in order to make the way for their 
wharfage along the river, swept away nearly every remnant of the 
ancient palace of the Bishops of Rochester. Here is a Working 
Men's Institute, which is in a very flourishing condition, and pos- 
sesses a commodious building for a club-house in the village. 

9 



130 MEMORIES Of MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

In Leybourne church the monuments of this period are to the 
family of the Hawleys and their connections ; the oldest of these 
is : 

In a small vault beneath this church are deposited the remains of Sir 
Henry Hawley, Bart, of the Grange, in this parish, who departed this life the 
29th day of March, 1831, aged 54 years. Sir Henry succeeded his father as 
second Baronet the 20th day of January, 1826. Sir Henry married, the 29th 
day of November, 1806, Catherine, eldest daughter of Sir John Gregory Shaw, 
Bart., of Kenward, in this county, by whom he had issue three sons and eight 
daughters. Also of Catherine Elizabeth Hawley, wife of the abovenamed 
Sir Henry Hawley, Bart., who departed this life March ] 6, 1862, aged 75 years. 

When opening the vault for the reception of Sir Henry Hawley's 
body, we are informed that the tower fell down, which necessitated 
its being rebuilt. Sir Henry's sister, who married Mr. Brockman, 
has also a memorial in this church ; it reads : 

To the memory of Louisa, the wife of the Eeverend Tatton Brockman, M.A., 
of Beachborough, and Rector of Otham in this county, youngest daughter of 
Sir Henry Hawley, of Leybourne Grange, born 1793, died 1837. "If we 
believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also who sleep in Jesus 
will God bring with Him." 

Also there is an inscription : 

Mabel Diana Hawley, died April 12th, 1852, in her twelfth year. " The 
flower fadeth." 

There is a memorial window : 

In memory of Sir Joseph Hawley, Baronet, who restored this Church. 1874. 
Born Oct. 27, 1813, died April 20, 1875. 

Sir Joseph was one of the best known racing men of the period, 
and established the famous racing stud with which he won four 
Derbys, namely, with Musjid, Teddington, Bedesman, and Blue 
Gown. After winning with Bedesman Sir Joseph put up the well- 
known clock in Leybourne Grange, which can be heard a long 
distance off. He repaired the church, as stated on his inscription, 
and still more the castle, both of which works cause him to deserve 
well of posterity. He was succeeded in the manors and title by his 
brother Henry James. 

The reredos in the church is : 

In memory of the Rev d> Henry Charles Hawley, by his loving wife, 28 years 
Rector of this Parish. He died Feby. 16th, 1877. 

To the Cusack-Smiths, the relations of this Mr. Hawley's wife, 
there are these memorials : 

Sacred to the memory of Michael Cusack-Smith, Esq re -, of the 14 th King's 
Own Light Dragoons, who departed this life at Meerut. in the East Indies, 
on the 14th day of March, 1851, aged 24 years and 6 months. Sincerely and 
Deeply regretted by His brother officers, who have erected this tablet as a 
token of their esteem and attachment for their late comrade. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 131 

The side window nearest the east end is, we learn : 

To the memory of Sir Michael Cusack-Smith, 'Bart., by his daughter, Mary 
Hawley, January 1877. 

The next is : 

In memory of Hester Augusta, daughter of Sir M. Cusack-Smith, Bart., and 
wife of Fred. W. Craven, Ord. Major of the Royal Artillery, by whom this 
window is erected, died 15th Oct., 1863. 

There is also, in the vestry, a monument to Mr. Hawley's pre- 
decessor, with this inscription : 

To the memory of the Rev 3 ' Charles Cage, Fifty years Rector of Leybourne. 
" I go to prepare a place for you, that where I am there ye may be also." 
Firmly relying on this promise, our deceased friend slept in peace. A few 
friends with whom he walked in happy companionship on earth, anxious to 
record the rare simplicity of character, and the numerous endearing qualities 
which bound their hearts to his, have placed this window over his grave : 
their love has ended not with life ; it survives to cheer with soothing remem- 
brance the hours which yet remain till they also are called from their labours, 
to be reunited, as they humbly hope, in Jesus, to him whom they loved on 
earth, in a new existence where there shall never be separation. 

The first bell of Leybourne bears the date 1826 it has no other 
inscription ; it was probably a gift of the Hawleys. When Sir 
Joseph had Leybourne church restored, by some accident several 
ancient monuments and glass windows got buried or destroyed ; 
but fortunately the old building, which shows the church to be 
Norman at least, was not interfered with sufficiently to destroy 
the marks of its antiquity. 

Sir John Twisden succeeded his father, Sir John Papillon Twisden, 
in the baronetcy and in the manors of Bradbourne and East Mailing. 
Unfortunately there is no tablet to him : he died in 1841, and is 
the last who held the baronetcy. On his death, Captain John 
Twisden, R.N., second son of Sir Roger Twisden and Mary his wife 
(of whom there is a picture at Bradbourne, in a green dress, with 
roses), succeeded to the estates. With him we are introduced 
into another scene in English history, for he served with Kempenf eldt 
in the Victory, and with Hood in the Queen Charlotte, and com- 
manded the Fearless in Sir Sydney Smith's gallant defence of Acre 
against the French, under Bonaparte, 1819. It is curious that Sir 
Sydney was educated at Tonbridge School, and thus perhaps we may 
surmise that he and the captain were known to each other early 
in life. There is this monument in East Mailing church to him 
and his branch of the family : 

Sacred to the memory of William Twisden, second son of Sir Roger Twisden, 
Baronet, who departed this life 30 th of December, 1771, in the 30 th year of his 
age ; and of Mary, wife of William Twisden, who departed this life July 2 nd , 
1771, aged 27 years ; and of five of their children, who died in infancy. Also 
to the memory of Anne, wife of Captain John Twisden, R.N., only surviving 
son of the above William and Mary Twisden, who departed this life June 13th, 



132 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



1843, in the 71 st year of her age. Also in memory of the above Captain John 
Twisden, R.N., of Bradbourne, who died on the 22 nd of June, 1853, in the 86 th 
year of his age. 

There is also a tablet to the last Lady Twisden : 

S.M. Dame Catherine Judith, wife of Sir John Twisden, Bart., of Brad- 
bourne. She died in childbed, April 13, 1819, aged 29 years, 

On the death of Captain Twisden the estates passed into the 
hands of the Misses Twisden, the last of whom still holds them and 
the manor. 

The pictures at Bradbourne are a very fine historical collection, 
and not only give us the family of Twisden, but also some of the 
well-known characters with whom their family was connected, and 
other well-known persons in English history. Amongst the persons 
of the family (or connected with it) to be seen here, who are historical, 



Judge Sir Thomas Twisden. 
Colonel Tomlinson. 
Sir Thomas Wyatt, the elder. 
Sir Thomas Wyatt, the younger. 
Sir Henry Wyatt. 



Sir Roger Twysden, the Antiquary and 

Eoyalist. 

Sir Harry Vane, the elder. 
Sir Harry Vane, the younger. 



Besides, there are these historical ones : 



Charles I. (Vandyck). 
Henrietta Maria (Lely). 
James II. (Godfrey Kneller). 
The Duchess of Portsmouth. 
The Duchess of Richmond. 
The Duchess of Monmouth. 
The Duchess of Cleveland. 
The Duke of Monmouth. 
The Chevalier de St. George. 

Sir Beville Greenville, born 1601, 
killed at Landsdown, whose son was 
the bearer of the letter to Charles II. 
concerning his restoration, and to 
whom he gave a valuable jewel ; and 
who with only one other was allowed 
to remain in the room while Charles 
II. received the Sacrament, after the 
manner of the Papists. 



The Duke of Marlborough. 

Countess of Carlisle. 

Nell G wynne. 

Catherine de Medici. 

John, Duke of Saxony. 

The Earl of Essex. 

Archbishop Tillotson. 

Pope Julius II. 

Cosmo de Medici. 

Martin Luther. 

Dante. 

William Noy, a celebrated Lawyer of 
the 17th century. 

Mrs. Price, Maid of Honour to 
Catherine of Braganza. 

Algernon Percy, Earl of Northumber- 
land (Vandyck), 1602-68. 



Besides, there are studias from Van Eyck, Murillo, Cuyp, Paul 
Potter, Sir Godfrey Kneller, Turner, W. Vandervelde, Domenichino, 
Rembrandt and Snyders, and many others of less note. The 
pictures, the fine oak staircase, and the situation of Bradbourne, 
together with the great historical connection of the old Kentish 
family that live there, render it one of the most interesting spots 
in England. 

Besides the monuments to the Twisdens, there is this monument 
to the Wigans in East Mailing church : 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 133 

In a vault beneath the porch of the church are deposited the mortal remains of 
John Alfred Wigan, of Clare House, in this parish, born Sept. 11, 1787, died 
Nov. 16, 1869, and of Elizabeth Pratt, his wife, born March 11, 1793, died St. 
James' day, 1864. Also of the following of their children : Eliza Lewis, born 
July 16, 1816, died May 3rd, 1826 ; Henrietta, born June 1, 1830, died April 
18, 1844 ; Julia, born July 17, 1826, died March 10, 1846 ; Emily, born St. 
John Evangelist's day, 1822, died Dec. 7, 1846 ; Harriet, born Jany. 21, 1824, 
died Dec. 31, 1850 ; Georgiana, wife of Nathaniel Dimock. clerk, born June 4, 
1826, died July 14, 1863 ; Amelia, born St. Luke's day, 1828, died St. Thomas' 
day, 1868. 

The windows of the south aisle are filled with handsome stained 
glass to the Wigans. The first is to the last incumbent : we read : 

"They immediately left the ship and followed Him." 
" Are ye able to drink of the cup that I shall drink of ? We are able." 
To the glory of God, and in memory of William Lewis Wigan, 28 years 
vicar of this parish, who died Jany. 8, 1876, aged 68. 

Then we read, on the next : 

To the glory of God, and in loving memory of Amelia Wigan, by her sisters 
J., L., W., A.D. 1870. 

" There shall be joy in heaven over one sinner that repenteth." 
" I have found my sheep which was lost." 

The next is to 

Bernard Wigan, born and died Aug. 7, 1868. 
" He shall gather the lambs with His arm, and carry them in His bosom." 

The west window is put in to the present vicar's wife : 

" Whosoever shall receive one of such children in My name receiveth Me." 
To the glory of God, and in memory of Sarah Wigan, who died July 28th, 1890. 

There is also another window : 

To the glory of God, and in memory of James Thornhill, formerly of this 
parish, and late of Camberwell, Surrey, who died Sept. 30, 1875, aged 63 years. 
Erected by his son, James Alfred Thornhill, Xmas 1876. 

Over the chancel arch there is a mural painting of the crucifixion, 
ascension, and resurrection, and the words, " I am He that liveth, 
and was dead. Behold I am alive for evermore " ; and round the 
arch runs, " Blessed are they that do His commandments, that they 
may have a right to the tree of life." There is also painted on 
the walls, " The Gentiles shall come to Thy light." " He saith to 
them, Be of good cheer ; it is I ; be not afraid." " Ye are no more 
strangers and foreigners, but fellow-citizens with the saints, and with 
the household of God; and are built upon the foundation of the 
apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ Himself being the head corner 
stone." " In Whom all the building, fitly joined together, grows into 
an holy temple : in Whom ye also are builded together for an habi- 
tation of God through the Spirit." " This beginning of miracles did 
Jesus in Cana of Galilee." " Alleluia." " Unto us a Child is born." 

The first bell of East Mailing is marked " Hears, of London, fecit, 
1831." The old sanctus bell was done away with at this date. 

The parish of East Mailing has prospered much during this period 



134 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

owing to the paper trade. At East Mailing, we are informed, 
millboard was first made. The hamlet of Larkfield contains many 
ancient houses ; and the old turnpike gate-house, which has still its 
wooden porch, reminds us of this annoyance to travellers, done away 
with eighteen years ago. Between this place and the hamlet of 
Newhythe-on-the-Medway, once one of the most miserable and 
neglected corners of Kent, now much improved, there stands the 
church of Newhythe, which was consecrated Oct. 4th, 1854. Revs. 
N. Dimock, S. Wigan, F. H. D. Ness and W. F. Woods have been 
curates, and O. C. Legge- Wilkinson is the present curate. 

Mrs. Losack lived at Mailing Abbey till 1844, when Aretas Akeis 
Esq., J.P., rented the abbey, which he afterwards bought. He 
died in the year 1855, and was buried at West Mailing. His 
widow lived here till her death in 1891, when the property came 
into the possession of Aretas Akers-Douglas, Esq., M.P., at one time 
M.P. for Mid Kent, but since the new distribution member for 
St. Augustine's Division of Kent and Conservative Whip, and 
Political Secretary to the Treasury in both Lord Salisbury's first 
and second ministry. It has been disposed of this year to Miss Boyd, 
who intends to keep it for a home in connection with her Orphanage 
of the Infant Saviour, at Kilburn.* 

During the time that the Akers have been at Mailing Abbey, 
discoveries have been made of lids of cofiins, with circles on the top, 
and a line running down the centre, crossed in two or three places 
with foliage : in all likelihood the resting-place of the Abbesses. 
The gateway chapel was renovated in the year 1858 by the Akers. 
It had passed through various vicissitudes of fortune : it would 
appear that it was at one time a tannery ; then, in 1773, it was a 
meeting-house ; then a carpenter's shop. Since All Saints' Day, 1858, 
when the Akers family and their friends, together with the present 
worthy Vicar of West Mailing, saw their work of renovation com- 
pleted by its being opened for public worship, continual prayer has been 
said here. It is about twenty-two feet long and thirteen broad, and 
there is an ante-chapel behind the screen about fifteen feet long. The 
walls are handsomely decorated. In the window are scrolls, with the 
initials of the various contributors and the day of their decease. 

As we here take leave of the abbey, we may mention that the 
ancient seal of the abbey was a figure of the Blessed Virgin, crowned, 
under a Gothic canopy, with Jesus on her right hand and a sceptre 
in her left. In the niche a figure praying. Underneath, " Sigillum 
Commune Monasterii, Beatse Marise de West Malh'ng," i.e., The 
Common Seal of the Monastery of the Blessed Mary of West Mailing. 

There are still many ancient houses in Mailing, notably at the 
back of some of the shops between the High Street and the abbey, 

* Since writing this, Miss Boyd has informed the author that she has given 
the Abbey to the Benedictine sisterhood of the Church of England, the trustees 
of which are the Cowley Fathers. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 136 

especially those of Mr. Carman and Mr. Jarvis, where the remains 
are decidedly Norman. Besides these we have many dating from the 
seventeenth century ; one especially noticeable on the Offham Road 
bears date 1675. 

In the church of West Mailing are one or two monuments 
belonging to this period. One to the last vicar, his father and 
mother, and his own wife : 

In a vault near this place are deposited the remains of Benjamin Bates, Esq., 
of Town Mailing, and formerly of Brunswick Square and Thames Street, 
London, who departed this life the 29th of October, 1821, aged 88 years : also 
of Elizabeth Theresa, his wife, on the llth of February, 1837, aged 87 years. 
Also of the Rev d> George Fern Bates, son of the above, many years Vicar of 
the Parish, and of South Mims, Middlesex, who departed this life the 18th 
November, 1841, aged 66 years : also of Lydia Amy, his wife, on the 19th of 
May, 1833, aged 53 years. " These all died in faith." Heb. 11, 31. " Examine 
yourselves whether ye be in the faith." 2 Cor. 13, 5. 

On a stained glass window in the chancel we read, " Sarah 
Charlotte Savage, et Ellen Duppa, pinxit Anno Dom. 1849." On 
two others, in the chancel, " Charlotte Savage, 1852," and " Sarah 
Charlotte Savage, 1858." The east window has no inscription. 

We have also these tablets : 

Sacred to the memory of Richard Kennard, M.D., M.B.C.S., who departed this 
life in London, June XVI., MDCCCL. With a mind enlarged by study and 
travel, he united a warm heart, strict integrity, and practical benevolence. To 
the Parochial School of Town Mailing he bequeathed the sum of two -hundred 
pounds. His end was peace. His remains are interred in the family grave at 
East Farleigh. 

Besides we have one stone : 

Sacred to the memory of Thomas Luck, Esq re -, of Went House, in this Parish, 
who died Nov. 13th, 1857, aged 92 years. He had issue seven sons, of whom 
Edward, Thomas, Charles, and Alfred alone survive. This tablet was erected 
by his Executors, Aug. 13, 1858. 

The organ was placed in the church by Mr. Luck's widow and 
son, in memory of him. 

There is one more tablet, which is : 

In loving memory of Henry Montague Randall Pope, born May 21, 1849, 
died Nov. 18, 1880, buried at Sea. 

The church of West Mailing was reseated in the year 1852 by 
the contributions of certain subscribers, amongst whom were the 
Rev. J. H. Timins, Mrs. Akers, Mr. R. B. Stedman, Rev. H. F. 
Foster, Mr. Dutt, Mr. Allchin, Mr. Hodges, and the Trustees of 
Mr. Lawson. 

The Union was erected in the year 1836, and in the year 1872 
the present beautiful chapel was built, in which are three hand- 
some stained-glass windows in the west end ; the memorial stone 
was laid by Lady Caroline Nevill, May 1st, 1872. Rev. John Manus 
was chaplain 1873, when the baptismal register was commenced. 
He was succeeded by the Rev. John Stuart Robson, 1875-80. 



136 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Rev. Henry Frederick Rivers was chaplain 1880-89, at the end 
of which last named year he was appointed vicar of St. Faith's, 
Maidstone, and the Rev. Cecil Henry Fielding, the author of this 
work, was chosen his successor at the Union. 

Bells one, two, and eight of West Mailing are all inscribed, " Hears 
& Stainbank, founders, London 1869." The magistrates sit here 
still on Mondays, but the market has been done away with ; so 
that the meetings of the Bench, and the new Police Station, built 
in 1866, alone declare Mailing to have a right to the dignity of a 
town. In 1865 a Masonic Lodge, called the Abbey Lodge, was con- 
secrated here. The Kent Nursing Institution was started in the 
year 1875 by the Rev. J. H. Timins and 'the late lamented Lady 
Caroline NevilL There is also here an Athenaeum, which has for 
some years afforded amusement and instruction in the winter even- 
ings, by means of concerts, lectures, and discussions. The cricket 
ground of Mailing has been already alluded to. The last county 
match played there was between Kent and Sussex, in 1890, when 
the former county was victorious. A Horticultural Society has 
been some time established, which holds several flower shows in 
the course of the year. Mailing had once a good many tan-yards ; 
these, however, have been done away with of late years. The great 
staple of industry now in the town is brewing, and the Paper 
Mills of East Mailing, already mentioned, employ a good many 
hands. 

The little village of Offham still keeps the quintain on the green, 
which, we learn from Hasted, the dwelling-house opposite was bound 
to keep up of which house Mr. Tresse died possessed in 1737. The 
Manor House, by the church, where the Court Leet is held, has a 
fine Elizabethan room. 

In the church there is one monument of this date : 

Sacred to the memory of John Smith Addison, Gent, of this parish, who 
departed this life the 25th of October, 1834, aged 41 years. 

There are no monuments left in Paddlesworth, nor in Dode ; the 
one having become a barn, the other a ruin. Hussey tells us that 
the church of Paddlesworth was desecrated in 1852, but perfect, ex- 
cept that the north porch was removed. There is a door in the south 
wall it is Early English. The rest of Hussey's remarks, like these, 
are not very correct : it never was a chapelry of Birling, and an 
incumbent was presented to it, with Dode, in the person of Edward 
Aldey, as proved by the register of Bishop Buckeridge in 1623. 
The last record of the church is its mention as being valued at 
nothing, and belonging to Sir J. Watton, in 1659, in the register of 
Bishop Warner, of Rochester. Of the church of Dode we have 
given all that is known. The Manor House of Dode is still called 
Buckland : in it there is some fine old wood-carving, a relic of the 
times of its ancient lords. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 137 

There are two monuments of this date in Ryarsh. One : 

In memory of Thomas White, Esq., of Congelow, Yalding, and of Calais 
Court in this parish, also of 53, Portland Place, London, who died Sept. 9th, 
1883. This tablet was erected by Faithful friends. 

The other is to the last rector but one. It is a brass, on which is 
inscribed : 

In memory of the Rev. Lambert Blackwell Larking, M.A., 37 years the 
beloved Vicar of this Parish, who died August 2nd, 1868, aged 71 years. He was 
son of John Larking, of Clare House, Esq., High Sheriff of this county, and 
Dorothy, daughter of Sir Charles Style, Bart., and married Frances, daughter of 
8ir William Jervise Twysden, of Roydon Hall, Bart., who, together with his 
brother, John Wingfield Larking, Esq., dedicates this tablet. Si Deus vobiscum 
quis contra nos (If 6od is with us who is against us). 

To the glory of God, and in memory of the Rev. L. B. Larking, the interior 
of this Church was restored. 

Rev. Lambert Blackwell Larking was born at Clare House, 
East Mailing, Feb. 2nd, 1797. He graduated at Oxford, taking a 
second in Literis Humanioribus in 1820; he went on the grand 
tour with Mr. Lowthe, was licensed as deacon on his return in 1823 
to East Peckham, and was presented by Col. H. J. Wingfield- 
Stratford to Ryarsh in 1830, and by Charles Milner, Esq., to 
Burham in 1837, after which he held the two livings together. He 
married, as stated above, the eldest daughter of Sir W. J. Twysden, 
Bart., of Roydon Hall. The Surrenden MSS. were presented to him 
by Sir Edward Bering, and the use he made of this present can be 
found in the Maidstone Museum. He founded the Kent Archaeo- 
logical Society in 1857, at Mereworth Castle, and it is to him that 
Kent owes her prominent rank among the counties for her accurate 
researches into the past. He indexed the Pedes Finium and the 
Inquisito post mortem, records in the Archaeological Society's volumes, 
and contributed several valuable papers, especially one on the Heart 
Shrine in Leybourne church. Many curious trees, such as the red 
cedar, the tulip, and others, were planted by him in the garden of 
Ryarsh, and still flourish there ; he was also a great observer of 
birds. He died, as above stated, on August 2nd, 1868. 

There is also a window in Ryarsh Church : 

Dedicated to the glory of God, and in memory of James and Mary Phillips. 
James Phillips, b. 12 Aug., 1803, died 2nd Dec., 1886, Mary Phillips, born 6th 
March 1807, died 9th June, 1884. Dedicated by their children. 

The third bell of Ryarsh has on it " Mears & Stainbank, founders, 
London 1879 " ; but the donor's name is not inscribed. 

There are several monuments of this date in Snodland church, 
and one of these shows that the men of this part are determined 
that they will not sink into insignificance, if we can quote this man 
as one of its heroes. 

His monument is inscribed as follows : 



138 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

In memory of Thomas Fletcher Waghorn, Lieutenant R.N., who by 
extraordinary abilities and self-devotedness became one of the greatest 
benefactors of his country, by exploring and bringing to perfection the short 
overland route to the East Indies : he entered the royal navy at the age 
of 12, and served as Midshipman in the Bahama under Captain Wilson. 
He was afterwards engaged in the Bengal Pilot Service ; this first suggested 
the utility of the Overland Route, and enabled him to acquire the knowledge 
necessary for bringing this great undertaking to perfection, which he did under 
circumstances of peculiar difficulty and discouragement in the year 1841, 
and nothing could exceed the perseverance, energy, and untiring vigilance of 
the high-spirited officer when on duty, or his warmth of heart and most kindly 
feelings in private life. He died Jany. 7, 1850, aged 49 years. 

This tablet was erected by the disconsolate widow, who felt much supported 
under her bereavement by the assurance that, " Whom the Lord loveth He 
chasteneth. and scourgeth every son whom He receiveth." 

Also Harriet, widow of the above, died Jany. 19, 1856, aged 54 years. 

Lieutenant Waghorn was the discoverer of the so-called Over- 
land Route, viz., down the Mediterranean, across the Isthmus of 
Suez, then down the Red Sea. His genius pointed out to the world 
the necessity, in consequence, of a Suez Canal. 

The Eastern window has this inscription under it : 

In commemoration of four stedfast witnesses to the truth of the Protestant 
faith, this window, showing the dates of their respective martyrdoms, was 
given by Henry Dampier Phelps, M.A., Rector of this Parish, died July 30, 
1863, aged 88. " Anne Ayscough, 6 July, 1546. Nicholas Ridley, 16 October, 
1555. Hugh Latimer, 16 October, 1555. Thomas Cranmer, March 21, 1556. 

The handsome stone cross which once stood nearly opposite Veles, 
was moved by Mr. Phelps to its present position in the church- 
yard ; when, on account of his people interpreting this as a step 
toward Rome, to pacify them the rector put in this window, to 
assure the people of the firmness of his views. The cross is one of 
the few market crosses remaining in this part of England. 

Another of the church windows has this dedication : 

This window was placed by his bereaved wife to the endeared memory of 
Captain W. H. Roberts, Royal Engineers, a most affectionate and beloved 
husband, A.D. 1840. 

There are also these inscriptions : 

Sacred to the beloved memory of Samuel Lee, of Holborough, who departed 
this life, August loth, 1852, aged 26 years. " Blessed are they that mourn, for 
they shall be comforted." 

And J. M. William Lee, of Holboro' Court, J.P. and D.L. for the county, 
for 17 years M.P. for Maidstone, died Sept. 29th, 1881, aged 80. 

Also Christiana his wife, died Dec. 14th. 1871, aged 70. 

This brass is placed in loving remembrance by their only surviving child, 
Sarah Smith, the Gleanings, Rochester, and her eldest son, Samuel Lee Smith, 
Larkfield. 

Another window is inscribed : 

In memory of J. G. Le Marchant Carey, M.A., for eight years Rector of the 
Parish, obiit March 17, '85. This window was given to the Church by Miss 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 139 

Mary Ann Poynder, Miss Isabella Rebecca Poynder, Miss Sarah Matilda Poynder, 
Miss Frances Ann Poynder. This family used to live at Holboro'. 

William Henry Poynder, Esq., is the lord of the manor of Hoi- 
borough at this present time. 
Another window has : 

This window is placed to the memory of Ann Roberts, who died Aug. 11, 
1881. 

We may mention that the window to the eastward of the northern 
aisle has two figures one a bishop, the other with a cockle while 
above them is St. Martin. The two lower figures are no doubt the 
two St. Jameses. 

On another window we read : 

Pater non est Filius 

\ / 

est est 



\ 

De 



est 
Spiritus Sanctus 

The church of Snodland has been lately repaired, but there are 
still many things to be done to this ancient edifice to render it 
thoroughly renovated. A former restoration, made about forty years 
ago, was, we must say, a most unkind handling of the ancient 
masonry of the church, and is quite out of keeping with this 
venerable edifice. The trade of Snodland in cement has largely 
increased the place in the last thirty years : this and the paper- 
making and paper-bag-making employ a large number of hands. 
About three years ago a battalion of the Cinque Ports Artillery 
was formed here. We cannot leave Snodland without giving one 
or two stories of the place, which was very wild and desolate in 
the early part of this century; and this will aid to explain the 
first story, which is taken from Gleanings in Natural History, by 
Edward Jesse, published in 1842, who says that he took it from 
the Sportsman's Cabinet. " Mr. Henry Hawkes, a farmer residing 
at Hailing, in Kent, was late one evening at Maidstone market. 
On returning at night, with his dog, who was usually at his heels, 
he again stopped at Aylesford, and as is too frequently the case 
upon such occasions, he drank immoderately, and left the place in 
a state of intoxication. Having passed the village of Newheed 
(hythe) in safety, he took his way over Snodland Brook in the 
best season of the year a very dangerous road for a drunken man. 
The whole face of the country was covered with deep snow, and the 
frost intense. He had, however, proceeded in safety till he came 
to the Willow Walk, within half a mile of the church, when by 
a sudden stagger he quitted the path, and passed over a ditch on 



140 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

his right hand. Not apprehensive he was going astray, he took 
towards the river; but having a high bank to mount, and being 
nearly exhausted with wandering and the effect of the liquor, he 
was most fortunately prevented from rising the mound, or he 
certainly must have precipitated himself (as it was near high water) 
into the Meclway. At this moment, completely overcome, he fell 
among the snow in one of the coldest nights ever known, turning 
upon his back. He was soon overpowered with either sleep or cold, 
when his faithful defendant, who had closely attended to every step, 
scratched away the snow so as to throw up a sort of protecting wall 
around his helpless master ; then mounting upon the exposed body, 
rolled himself round and lay upon his master's bosom, for which his 
shaggy coat proved a most seasonable covering and eventual pro- 
tection during the dreadful severity of the night, the snow falling 
all the time. The following morning a person who was out with 
his gun, in expectation of falling in with some sort of wild fowl, 
perceiving an appearance rather uncommon, ventured to approach 
the spot ; upon his coming up the dog got off the body, and after 
repeatedly shaking himself to get disentangled from the accumulated 
snow, encouraged the sportsman (a Mr. Finch), by actions of the 
most significant nature, to come near the side of his master. Upon 
wiping away the icy incrustation from the face, the countenance 
was immediately recollected ; but, the frame appearing lifeless, 
assistance was procured to convey it to the first house upon the 
skirts of the village, when, a pulsation being observed, every possible 
means was instantly adopted to promote his recovery. In the course 
of a short time the farmer was sufficiently restored to relate his 
own story, as already recited, and in gratitude for his miraculous 
escape ordered a silver collar to be made for his friendly protector, 
as a perpetual remembrance of the transaction. A gentleman of 
the faculty in the neighbourhood, hearing of the circumstance, and 
finding it so well authenticated, immediately made him an offer of 
ten guineas for the dog, which the grateful farmer refused, exultingly 
adding that so long as he had a bone to his meat, or a crust to 
his bread, he would divide it with the faithful friend who had 
preserved his life : and this he did in a perfect conviction that the 
warmth of the dog, in covering the most vital part, had continued 
the circulation and prevented a total stagnation of the blood by the 
frigidity of the elements." 

The next tale is one that happened in the time of Mr. Phelps. 
The rector was very friendly with a former Rector of Wouldhain, 
with whom he used frequently to dine, and after that Mr. Phelps 
would walk home after dinner by the river side. He had bepn 
making himself very unpopular amongst a low class who inhabited 
Snodland at that time, by aiding the police, then newly established, 
to issue search warrants into the houses in the districts. Now it 
so happened the Rector of Snodland was a little man, and had a 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 141 

sidelong gait, which was also the case with a tailor belonging to the 
parish. One evening the rector, instead of walking home, after 
crossing Wouldham ferry, by the river side, went into Rochester and 
came over Rochester bridge, and returned through Cuxton ; the 
tailor, on the other hand, came back to Snodland by Wouldham 
ferry, when it is supposed, being taken for the rector in the dark, 
he was thrown into the river. His lifeless body was recovered 
two or three days after, and was buried by Mr. Phelps, who looked 
upon him as his scapegoat. 

In the year 1873 another dreadful occurrence happened. A man 
who had been frequently threatened by a policeman, Israel May, 
that if he found him again in a state of intoxication he would 
receive some punishment at his hands, was found, as it would appear, 
where there was then a hop-garden (now a row of cottages), near 
where Birling stream crosses the Mailing road, by the policeman. 
Both were very powerful men. The intoxicated man stated that he 
saw May standing over him when he awoke, and threatening him 
with his truncheon, and that he struck him : be that as it may, in 
the course of a fierce struggle the policeman lost his truncheon, and 
the following morning was discovered near the road in the hop-garden, 
dead. The other man escaped into the Mailing woods, but two or 
three days afterwards gave himself up, and was tried and committed 
to penal servitude for fifteen years for manslaughter. 

On the first bell in Snodland we read, " Mears & Stainbank, 
founders, London, presented Rev. G. Le M. Carey, Easter 1878." 
On the second bell is inscribed " Mears & Stainbank, founders, 
London, W. Lee, Esq., Holborough." The fourth has the same in- 
scription as the second. The church has been lately partly renovated 
by the exertions of the worthy rector, Rev. J. G. Bingley. Near 
Snodland, but in the parish of Birling, is rapidly rising the new 
church of Christchurch, Birling, on St. Catharine's Bank. The 
church has been built by subscription. The foundation stone was 
laid by the Hon. Mrs. Ralph Nevill, on April 30th in this year (1892). 
In Trottesclifle church we notice the curious old pulpit, with a 
sounding board, surmounted by a palm tree; and we learn by a 
memorial in the church that " This church was beautified in 
October, in the year of our Lord 1824; and the pulpit was the gift 
of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster Abbey, and presented to 
this parish by James Seager, Esq. S. Shrubsole, churchwarden, jW. 
Smith, overseer." 

There are inscriptions under the windows : 

To the memory of our dear parents Edward Johu Shepherd, and Catharine 
his wife, 1875. 

And: 

To the memory of Charlotte Dalton, and her grandson, Francis Henry 
Hayman Shepherd, 1873. 



142 MEMORIES OF NALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

In the year 1866 the church of Allington was entirely rebuilt, 
and only one of the ancient monuments in the church left intact. 
The stones in the porch are almost effaced by the treading of feet. 
The tower, the only mediaeval work allowed to remain, it is proposed 
now to sacrifice. 

The modern monuments in the church are windows. The 
memorials are : 

Ad honorem Dei et in dilectissimas uxoris Ameliae Elizabethae Holmes, qua; 
obiit xviii. die mensis Novembris, A.D. 1863. Memoriani hunc fenestram dolens 
sed fidens posuit maritus suus. 

To the honour and glory of God, and to the memory of the Eev d< F. J. 
Marsham, Rector of this Parish, who died Jan. 29, 1852, aged 45, this window 
was erected. 

To the honour and glory of God, and to the memory of Elizabeth Marcia 
Marsham, wife of the late Rev d< George F. G. Marsham, deceased April 20, 1849, 
aged 38, this window was erected. 

Another is inscribed : 

By the children of Henry Godden, in affectionate remembrance. 

In the churchyard all the ancient monuments are gone but this: 

Hie Jacet Richardus Thomas, Magister in Artibus utriusque academise, nuper 
Pastor hujus ecclesise, qui obiit Feb. 8th, 1656. 

Another monument we notice is to the Rev. John Earle, Vicar of 
Aughton. Drayton's monument is gone, but we trust the Maidstone 
people will erect another to their distinguished fellow -townsman. 

In Birling churchyard, near the entrance, we find this memorial : 

In memory of John Black. Esq.,* who was born at Dunse, in Berwickshire, 
on the 7th day of November, 1783, and died at Birling on the 25th day of June, 
1855, aged 71 years. He was Editor of the Morning Chronicle for more than 
twenty-three years, and was highly esteemed by some of the most eminent 
men of his day. Also to the memory of Anne Croonek, who died at Birling on 
the 29th of August, 1852, aged 79 years. 

The two noble yews, about 18 feet in circumference, must attract 
the notice of all who visit this churchyard. 

There are few remnants of the ancient episcopal palace of Trottes- 
cliffe to be found, and the materials have been scattered : in a builder's 
garden in Mailing may be seen a fine piece of carving belonging 
to it. 

The palace of Hailing is being quickly destroyed for the conve- 
nience of the cement works on its site. 

We have spoken of ; what remains of St. Blaise and Newhythe 
chapels. St. Laurence, in Hailing, has become a cottage, a solitary 
window alone telling its old use. The Aylesford chapels we have 
shown to have also disappeared, and we have described the state of 
Longsole chapel. 

* He was editor of the Jfnrning Chronicle when the late Charles Dickens. 
Esq., was appointed sub-editor. 



WILLIAM IV. AND QUEEN VICTORIA (18301892). 143 

The ancient parish church of Dode still remains, and the farmers 
pay tithe for Dode to Mr. Curtis, of Paddles worth, as lord of the 
manor. It is decidedly a Norman church, but has remains of where 
there was a chancel arch, which my friend Mr. Livett pronounces 
an uncommon thing in the Norman churches. The late Vicar 
of Luddesdown erected a new church at Leywood, not far from 
here : it is a pity that he did not, instead, restore this venerable 
ruin. There is enough of the church still remaining to form the 
basis of another, and we do hope that in time it will be rebuilt : 
there is an aumbrey, and the ruin of a niche where was once 
probably the piscina. 

Paddlesworth church (the twin church of Dode, the parish having 
been so long administered as Paddlesworth-cuin-capella-Dodecirce) 
is another desecrated sanctuary, which has long been used as a 
barn. The parish is, for civil matters, stitched on to Snodland, 
but ecclesiastically it has nothing whatever to do with Snodland ; 
nor is it, nor ever was it, as some have maintained, a chapelry of 
Birling, but it is quite a distinct parish. We notice in it the Norman 
manner of laying stones, and the tufa quoins ; but the tufa ceases 
six feet from the ground, and we find it finished with Caen stone. 
Here is an aumbrey : there are traces of a rood screen : the arch 
was evidently restored and inserted not long before the church fell 
into disuse. It is to be hoped it will be re-consecrated and re-opened 
shortly. 

In Aylesford church we have no Norman work, though there has 
been a church here from Saxon times. It is a handsome building 
of the fourteenth century, and has been recently restored. Three 
stone coffin lids are in the churchyard under the east window. 

Allington church, as we have already stated, has been recon- 
structed a b imisfundis. 

Addington church shows us many traces of old Norman work, 
but there are distinct signs of an addition to the westward when 
they built the tower. The porch has a very handsome piece of 
mediaeval wood-carving over the entrance. 

Ditton church, I am told, is as fine a specimen of Norman work 
as can be found in the neighbourhood. 

East Mailing church is a very handsome building, and will repay 
the visit of the archaeologist; there appear a few traces of the 
originals in it, Norman and Saxon. 

Hailing is an old mediaeval church, which has, however, been so 
pulled about that there are no very early relics in it. 

Leybourne still shows signs, especially in its northern wall, of its 
Norman origin. 

Oftham gives many proofs of an early Norman date, though the 
tower was probably a later re-erection. The different periods when 
this church was erected are well shown in the interior. Ryarsh 
shows by its ground-plan, its tufa quoins, and its masonry, that it is 



144 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

a Norman church to which a mediaeval tower has been added. Those 
who restored the church some years ago sacredly kept its Norman 
landmarks; some modern innovations that have been made since 
injure the venerable structure. 

Birling has a few traces of Norman work, notably in a window 
over the great east window. 

Trottescliffe is a very early Norman erection ; perhaps, as some 
antiquaries have thought, part may be Saxon. The sarson stone in 
the foundation of the south wall is worthy of notice. 

Snodland does not appear to contain any relics of its ancient 
Norman church, and the repairs, which were done at a period when 
men did not leave old work untouched, but put their own work in 
anyhow, teach us how necessary it is to have a building repaired in 
keeping with its own history. 

The chancel and tower of West Mailing are Norman, and perhaps 
the work of Gundolph, or his school. The Georgian body of the 
church must be considered most ugly. 

Those who wish to survey this valley, so rich in the relics of the 
past, and also in natural history as we shall show in the other 
part of our book can travel by the North Kent Railway from 
London to Maidstone, to the stations of Hailing, Snodland, or 
Aylesford, all of which are in our district this line was opened in 
1855. The London Chatham and Dover, opened in 1875, also 
passes through the district, traversing the parishes of Addington, 
Offham, East and West Mailing, Ditton, Aylesford and Allington, 
and having stations at Wrotham, Mailing, and Banning on its 
route from Sevenoaks to Maidstone. Some of the stations about here 
are misnomers, and in our district Aylesford on the North Kent 
line is really in Ditton parish, and Barming station is in Allington 
01- Aylesford parish. In concluding this sketch of the history of 
this valley down to our own time, we feel that all must agree with 
us in what a wonderful way every passage of the history of our 
country is illustrated here by varied relics, the churches, and the 
monuments that we find around us. 



CHAPTER XI. 

THE REGISTERS. 

" "T70U should never look a gift horse in the mouth, nor for a lady's 
JL age in the parish register," says the old English proverb. We 
can assure our lady friends that we do not intend to make any 
disclosures of so mean a character, our sole purpose being to show how 
valuable these parochial records might become if properly utilised. It 
is a pity that some registers have been allowed to moulder away un- 
cared for in the damp corner of a church, or thrown about in an old 
parish chest; I have much pleasure in stating that in this neighbour- 
hood the majority of these treasures of the past are not thus treated 
by the various incumbents. The different Acts to regulate the registers 
are as follows : First, Cranmer's Act, in the days of Henry VIII., 
1536, which instituted the parish registers ; and, as already observed, 
Offham registers begin two years, and Trottescliffe four years after- 
wards. The registers were next legislated upon by Cromwell in 
1653, of which we have already spoken, when he ordered registrars 
to be appointed in every parish ; and further, that marriages should 
be solemnised before a Justice of the Peace after that year, 
the banns to be published in the market place, or in a place of 
worship. We have already referred to this order in the other parts 
of the book, and given examples of the entries. This interference 
with the marriage laws appears to have worked anything but well, 
as people after this went far and wide to be married ; and it was not 
for a long time after these laws had been forgotten that anything 
like the old custom of "being married in your own parish," now 
fortunately once more sanctioned, though not nearly enough insisted 
upon, became the rule instead of the exception. We could mention 
several cases of the ways in which the registers were affected by 
these laws, but prefer to leave them to be mentioned under the 
heads of their respective parishes. After this no interference with 
the registration of the baptisms, burials, and marriages appears to 
have taken place till that most elabprately formal register for 
marriages was promulgated in 1751, of which nearly every church 
contains a copy, certainly all the parishes of this district of ours 

145 10 



146 MEMORIES OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

do. The following is a specimen of an entry under the Act, taken 
from the church of West Mailing : 

Charles Bowles of this Parish, Clerk, and Catharine Weekly of this Parish 
Spinster, married in the Church by Licence this eleventh day of February, in 
the year one thousand and seven hundred and sixty, by me, J. Dennis, minister. 
This marriage was solemnised between us, Charles Bowles, Catherine Bowles, 
in the presence of B. Hubble, Anne Hubble. 

In 1783 the Government fixed a duty of 3d. on all baptisms and 
burials, which is especially accounted for in some registers, notably 
that of Snodlancl. In the Higham register there is a curious entry, 
declaring the father of the child to be a rebel, for refusing to pay 
this duty. The custom of inquiring what was to pay when a clergy- 
man christened a child, which the author remembers so well in the 
early days of his ministry, may have possibly been a remnant of the 
memory of this duty ; because we never remember the most greedy 
ecclesiastic ever positively desirous of a fee at baptism. The Church 
of England charges nothing for her Sacraments, this being as proud 
a boast of our Church as there is no slave beneath the Union Jack 
is the boast of our nation. This iniquitous tax was repealed in 1791. 

Soon after this came the orderly baptismal register, which is 
complete and useful, in 1812 ; but the burial register, which has 
been unfortunately carried down to this day, is woefully deficient, 
the more especially as now persons not belonging to the Church of 
England have to be recorded as buried by some particular person. 
The error that exists in these registers, which might have been 
corrected by attention to the registers of the last century, was the 
omission of a column stating the employment of the deceased. In 
one of our parishes we shall show the reader that this omission, 
had it been the form of our registers in the sixteenth century, would 
Lave caused almost inextricable confusion to persons of one name. 
To identify the deceased, though of course the Government registers 
may be very useful, still our old parish registers in the country 
should be kept up, and in them stated the station, as well as age and 
race, of the deceased ; and, moreover, whether committed in the 
body to the ground by a clergyman of the Church of England, or by 
any other minister, or by some person who agrees with his notions as 
to the future upon questions concerning which many persons would 
here wish me to enlarge. I fight shy, not because I am afraid, but 
because as this is not a controversial work, I do not wish to intro- 
duce into it any arguments upon such questions : the only thing I 
would remark is, that the late alteration of the Burial Law, 1880, has 
not been followed by a new burial register, which is sadly wanted. 

The marriage register in 1814 followed soon after the baptismal and 
burial register, which, being defective, was improved by the one of 
1837, which contains all that is necessary for the marriage register. 
Since that date there has been no alteration made in the form of 
any of our registers. 



THE REGISTERS. 147 

We shall now proceed to deal with the registers of the different 
parishes, prefacing our remarks with a description of the church, 
giving the names of the clergy, and peculiar entries whether of sub- 
jects foreign to the register, rigmarole, incompleteness, or briefness 
while at the end we shall mention the principal families of the 
parishes, the names of other gentry recorded in the registers, and the 
professions and trades entered therein. We shall deal with the 
parishes according to the age of their registers. The oldest registers 
in this district, as already stated, are those of 

OFFHAM. 

The church of Offham is of very ancient date, and contains relics 
of early Norman, if not of Saxon work. It was intended to build 
a north aisle, of which the arches can be distinctly seen, but this 
was abandoned, and an Early English porch shows that it was 
some time after the original erection. The hagioscopes or squints are 
another feature of this church, by which it differs from any just 
round here. There are two shields and a figure in old stained glass. 
It is dedicated to St. Michael. The various incumbents of Offham 
are as follows : 

In the time of Edward II. 

Master Bartholomew. 
Richard de St. Quentin. 

In the time of Edward III. : 

Robert Randolph. 
1336. Robert Joy succeeded Randolph. 

Robert de la Chambre. 

.. Edmund de Harwedone, changed with 
1372. Peter de Burton Leonards (Vicar of Beatrichsden). 

Nicholas Balsham. 

1400. John Miller changes with Balsham ; he had been rector of Keston in 
this county. 

John Carter. 

1424. Thomas Westhorp ; he was vicar of Throwley. 

1427. William Estryngton, vicar of East Farleigh, by change with Westhorp. 
' Clement Willis. 
1436. Henry Esthalbe. 
1442. John Haselor succeeded Esthalbe. 
1444. John Newbot succeeded Haselori 
1454. Thomas Brown. 
1458. William Bele. 
1493. William Spayne. 

149S. Richard Wantone, on the death of Spayne. 
1512. William Whiteacres, on the death of Wantone. 
1534. Thomas Dixon. 

On the death of Whiteacres (in his days the register of Oftham 
commences) 

1545. Thomas Burrell. 
1554. Richard Kidde. 



148 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1567. Henry Barnes. 
1569. John Moore. 
1572. John Baxter. 

The cup and paten date from this rector's time : he is recorded as 
buried here. " John Baxter, pson of Offham, was buried the xviiith 
day of November, 1587." 

1586. Robert Holder. 

1590. John Cooper ; presented by the king. 

The first bell of Ofiham dates from this rector's first year ; he is 
not buried at Offham, but his son, John Cooper, is. 

1632. Robert Brownell : his wife Anne and he are both buried at Offham. 
The registers run : 

Anne, the wife of Robert Brownell, was buried the three-and-twentieth day 
of May, 1641. Robert Brownell was buried the 20th of May, 1647. 

In his days the second bell of Offham was hung. 
1647. Edward Masters. 

The wife of this incumbent is buried here, but not himself, it 
would appear from the register : 

1649. Mary, the wife of Edward Masters, was buried the three-and-twentieth 
day of May. 

Perhaps he was one of the ejected ministers. 
1660. William Polhill. 

This rector was also Rector of Addington from 1673. The paten 
of Offham is dated 1675. In the Offham register we read that 
Mr. Polhill was married at Addington by his predecessor there : 

1666. William Polhill and Margaret Deane, married at Addington, by Mr. 
Peter Davys. Rector, ibidem on Monday, 16 Jan. 

Mr. Polhill was no doubt one of the Polhills of Sundridge. He 
is also buried here, when the clerk corrupts his name to Polly : 

1675. William Polly, Rector of the Parish Church of Offham, and of the 

Parish Church of Addington, was buried the 15th day of October. 
1675. Henry Miller. 
1708. Samuel Bickley. 

It would appear from the registers that Mr. Bickley was twice 
married, as both his wives, himself, and his infant son are buried 
here : 

1716. Jany. 4, Buried Mrs. Bickley. 

1721. August 7th, Buried Thomas Bickley, infant. 

1736. Sept. 20th, Buried Mrs. Bickley. 

1740. Feby. 23, Obiit Saml. Bickley. M.A., Hujus parochise rector et 27, 

sepultus cst. He was Curate of Snodland, as well. 
1740. William Miles. 



THE REGISTERS. 149 

He and his wife are both buried here, the clerk showing an 
amount of carelessness over the register, as we read : 

Omitted in October last, the Rev. Mr. Miles, Rector of the Parish, died 
Oct. 15, 1746, was buried Oct. ye 21st. 

1762. Dec. 19th, Mrs. Miles, relict of ye Rev. Mr. Miles, Rector of this parish, 
was buried. 

He was previously curate of East Mailing. 

1746. Bessworth Liptrott. 

1777. John Liptrott. 

1830. John Cecil Hall. 

1832. Frederick Money. 

1869. William Pellowe Philp, buried in the churchyard, as appears by the 

register, Nov. 26. 
1873. William Frederick Chambers Sugden Fraser, previously chaplain of the 

prison at Maidstone. His youngest daughter was christened here. 

Besides its own clergy, the parish register of Offham has the 
following entries. Two to Mr. Rabbett, formerly vicar of Birling : 

1639. Michael Rabbett, clerke, and Katherine Hunt, widow, were marryed 
Jany. 2. 

1670. Mr. Michael Rabbett, dyed at Birling, but was buryed in Offham, 
on Monday, 6th Feby. ; he was layed in the Chancell, close to the 
groundwork of the Chancell, on the north side, near the belfry. 

Besides these, in 1838 there is the marriage of Rev. Henry 
William Steele, and Augusta Graham Hutchinson. 

The registrations of Offham have not been regularly kept. There 
is no entry in 1543, and again none are found in the years 1603 
to 1608 in the baptismal register. Again there are no burials in 
1555, 1556, 1566, 1568, 1573, 1574, 1578, 1583, 1585, 1586 and 
1589; likewise from 1676 to 1683. There are no marriages entered 
also in 1539, 1540, 1542, 1544, 1545, 1546, 1547, 1548, 1549, 1557. 
1558, 1562, 1567, 1568, 1570, 1571, 1572, 1573, 1574, 1585, 1586, 
1587, 1588, 1589, 1590; they are also wanting in 1601, 1605, 1609, 
1619, 1621, 1634, 1635, 1637, 1638, 1646, 1670; and during the 
whole period from 1675 to 1690, and again in 1700, 1701, 1702, 
1706, 1707, 1708, 1713, 1714, 1727, and from 1732 to 1736. This 
will show, together with the register above mentioned, that the parish 
clerk did not keep the registers in first-rate style, but probably left 
them not filled in, and then wrote down from memory or from 
scraps of paper. 

The preface of the books of this parish simply states : " The register 
book of the parish of Oftham, beginning 1538." 

1666. Thomas, ye sonne of Thomas and Mary Clarke, strangers : came a hop- 
ping, baptised 4 September. 

This has already been referred to as giving us a very early 
mention of hopping. 

1660. Charles Osmer, the son of Lawrence Osmer, baptised in the parish of 
Offham, 24 June. To be referred to its proper place. 



160 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Here we have the parish clerk again forgetting to put his entries 
in properly, as this entry is placed after those of 1660. 

1731. March 19th, Bapt. Elizabeth, daughter of Clement Jarvey, of the 

parish of Maltham, in Stagg hundred, in Norfolk, about 12 miles 
beyond Norwich, as you go from London. 

Here the parish clerk treats us to a rigmarole description, as he 
does, too, in the next following : 

1732. July 23rd, Bapt. James, son of John Rogers, and Mary his wife, of All 

Saints, as he says, in ye town of Evesham, in county Worcester. 

The following entries show that very little trouble was sometimes 
taken to ascertain anything : 

1543. The third day of January, were two children of a stranger buryed. 

1585. A little gyrle, of the psh. of Wrotham, was buryed ye first day of May. 

1586. Grant, a nurse child, was buried the xviith day of January. 

Anne, the daughter of John Marshaller Stow, an infant, buryed in the Chancell 
with my leave, 27 June, 1667, being Thursday, and by me, William Polhill. 

The next two are interesting as giving the names of Holy Days : 

1660. Ash Wednesday. 27 February, Mrs. Frances Decritz, buried in the 

Chancell. 

1661. Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin, commonly called Lady Day. 

Munday 25 March, Martha, the wife of William Martin, was 
buried. 

1669. Richard, the son of Richard Evans, dyed at Town Mailing, and was 
buried at East Mailing, on Monday. 30 December. 

Why this is inserted in the Offham register we are not informed. 

1674. Mrs. Clarke, buryed in her husband's grave, under the great Tombstone 

in the Churchyard, on Friday, being the 3rd of April. 
1698. William Coleman, Churchwarden, buried Dec. 5th. 

To describe the parish clerk as such is by no means uncommon, 
but this description of the churchwarden we have not met elsewhere. 
We have many examples in this register of persons being styled 
" stranger," " widow," " single person," " single man," " single 
woman," " poor traveller," " poor man," " poor woman," ' ; poor travel- 
ling man," " poor travelling woman," and of " foundlings " with or 
without their names ; but Offham only shares these eccentricities of 
the parish clerk with other parishes, and these entries are so common 
and would take up so much room that we cannot mention them again. 
But to proceed : 

1732. November 2, Buried Michael Smith, Vid. (Latin Vt'duus, this is the 
short for, and means, widower ; this term iu English we find some- 
times used.) 

1741. In this year Affidavits are first mentioned ; in other parishes, 
there are numberless entries of them long before ; they require ex- 
planation. By an act of Charles II., it was ordered that all persons, 
in order to encourage English trade, should be buried in woollen, and 



THE REGISTERS. 151 

affidavit of the fact be given to a Minister, or a Justice of the Peace, 
or a fine was to be paid, which we shall give some instances of being 
levied ; this absurd law was not repealed till George III.'s reign, A.D. 
1814. Pope makes the vain beauty of the day say : 

"Odious in woollen, 'twould a saint provoke, 
Were the last words that poor Narcissa spoke. 
No, let a charming chintz and Brussels lace, 
Wrap my cold limbs and shade my lifeless face : 
One would not, sure, be frightful when one's dead ; 
And, Betty, give this cheek a little red." 

1669. Samuel McDood, and Catherine Pywell of Wrotham, were married 
1 June, by Licence, from Gilbert Archbishop of Canterbury, dated 
anno translationis sexto, 1669, W m> Polhill. 

This entry is misplaced : 

1661. John Ashton, and Catherine Gardener of Seale, were married by licence, 
out of ye spiritual Court of Eochester. 13 June, by me W m . Polhill. 

These marriages show us that though this parish was in Rochester 
diocese, it mattered not whether you went to the bishop or arch- 
bishop for a licence. 

The next is very rigmarole : 

1669. Lawrence Sales, and Elizabeth Byrshott, were marryed by licence, 
granted by Gilbert Archbishop of Canterbury, dated nono die Aprilis, 
Anno Domini, which said marriage was celebrated in the parish 
church of Offham, on Thursday the 15th of April, 1669. 

The next is a curious entry as regards the licence : 

Nicholas Hamon, jun. of Hadlow, and Anne Gilbert of Tonbridge, were 
married by licence, signed Guill. Trumbell, May 15, 1659. 

We have a good number of marriages, as appears to have been 
commonly the case with churches in the country districts, solemnised 
in this church, of which the bride and bridegroom were from different 
places ; thus we have them from Aylesf ord, Maidstone, Yalding, East 
Mailing, Hadlow, West Mailing, Trottescliffe, and Tonbridge. 

The descriptions of the bride at this period are very curious. She is 
described as a " spinster," a " single woman," and a " widow-woman " ; 
the bridegroom is put down as a " single man," if his status is given 
at all. 

Besides in the old book finding baptisms, marriages, and burials, 
we have a few extraneous matters. First, there is the appointment 
of a registrar in time of Cromwell. It is as follows : 

These are to certify that I do approve of the choice of Andrew Dunning to 
be register for the parish of Offham, he having taken his corporal oath before 
me this 27th day of June, 1657. 

The ancient way of collecting money in churcn was by briefs, 
which were documents issued by the Government and read by the 
clergyman together with banns and citations in the Communion 



152 MEMORIES OF MALLINO AND ITS VALLEY. 

Service, after giving out the Holy Days and notice of the Lord's 
Supper. We shall have occasion to mention several of these briefs 
in different parishes. In the parish of Offham we learn that they 
were read for fires and for the rebuilding or restoring of the churches 
and other purposes ; amongst other churches for which aid was 
sought here, were Gravesend, Gillingham, and Cliffe in this county, 
and assistance for the Protestants in Lithuania. Besides these we 
have a memorandum of Mr. Polhill going the bounds with the 
ancient men of the parish, Charles Easdown, 73, William Robinson 
and Hugh Tresse. Moreover, there is an agreement between the 
said Mr. Polhill and John Austen for rating a hop-ground a case 
perhaps of extraordinary tithe in the seventeenth century. 

1719. October ye 17th, married Anthony Chambers, a lodger in this parish, 

and Elizabeth Wells of the fame, single woman. 

1720. October 2, married John Row of the Parish of Ryarsh, and Eliza Wells 

of the parish of Offham, spinster, with banns. 
1743. Dec. 26th, Baptised John Clarke, aged 24 years. 
1747. Dec. 18, James, son of John and Mary Girum, a soldier in Captain 

Noble's company of Scotch fusiliers, was baptised. 
1753. The new style which had been used in ye greatest part of Christendom 

from the year 1583, was introduced into England by Authority of 

Parliament, ordaining that all Entries, Deeds and Records, should 

be dated accordingly. 

This is interesting as giving the date of the change of the com- 
mencement of year in this country, from March 25th to January 1st. 
Moreover, the eleven days by which our calendar was wrong were 
ordered to be omitted. This caused great disturbances, and since the 
Pope, Gregory XII., had issued a brief to enforce this new calendar 
in Papist countries, it was foolishly considered a movement towards 
Rome. 

The next entry's meaning has been already commented upon : 

Oct. 21, 1783. New Act of Parliament took place with respect to Burials 3d 
on each, and also on Baptisms. 

This was taken off in 1787. 

Jany. 1st, 1792. Thos. Blake, titheman, buried. 
Sept. 18th, 1792. Thomas Hodges, aged 85. 

This is the first burial mentioning the age of the person. 
The following burial entries are largely descriptive : 

1800. Elizabeth, widow of the late John Knell, died ye 28 of ffeb., about four 

in the afternoon, buried March 8. 
1800. Died within a few hours of each other, William Broad, yeoman, and 

Rachel his wife, buried May llth. 
1800. Elizabeth Spearman, wife of Robert Spearman, overturned in the 

Chatham stage going to London, and killed on the spot in a moment ; 

buried in Offham church, Dec. 26, aged 49. For burying in the 

church and putting up a memorial monument, I charged, and Mr. 

Spearman paid me, four guineas or 4 4*. Od . John Liptrott, rector 

of Offham. 



THE REGISTERS. 153 

This is one of the many little histories of accidents we find in the 
registers, as also is the following : 

Catherine Bay, who, being brought in by the Coroner Mills and his inquest 
a lunatic, disordered in her senses, drowned herself, buried April 
the 18th. 

The next is interesting as a saint-day memorial : 

1801. Addison Frances, wife of Friend Addison, the elder, buried March 17th, 

St. Patrick, aged 62, buried at Ryarsh. 
1809. Frances Douse, wife of William, buried Jany. 30th. 
The next is an early mention of Reception into Church : 
1769. Eliza, daughter of John and Eliza Longford, privately baptised Sept. 

27, and admitted into the publick congregation Oct. 9th. 

And the following another early hopping record : 

1780. Uriah, son of Henry and Hannah Styles, baptised, who came here 

hopping from Mayfield, in the county of Sussex. 
1863. March 2, Elizabeth Broad, aged 103, buried. 

The next oldest register to Offham is 
TBOTTESCLIFFE. 

This commences with the words, " The Register-Book of Trottescliff, 
of all the Christenings, Weddings, and Burials in the year of our 
Lord, 1599. Anno Elizabethae Quadraginta secundo et Decimo 
Septimo mensis, February." This register, however, begins in 1540, 
or 59 years before this date. 

The church of TrottesclifFe, dedicated to St. Peter, appears to 
have in it some remains of the Saxon period. In the foundations 
on the south side, we find one of the stones which form the neigh- 
bouring monuments of Coldrum and Addington. There is a wonder- 
ful absence of memorials. They consist of one to a Rev. John 
Morgan, and family, and Mr. Lloyd, a rector of the Parish, a brass to 
William Cotton, and windows to the present rector's family. Thorpe 
has omitted the brass from his antiquities of the diocese of Rochester. 
There is a small ancient glass window light representing the Father 
as an old man, the Son Crucified, and the Holy Ghost hovering as 
a Dove between the Father's mouth and the Cross. The pulpit we 
learn from' an inscription came from Westminster Abbey; the 
sounding board is supported by a carved oak palm-tree : the inscrip- 
tion runs : 

This church was beautified in October, in the year of our Lord 1824, and 
the pulpit was the gift by the Dean and Chapter of Westminster Abbey, and 
presented to the parish by James Seager, Esq. S. Shrubsole, Churchwarden, 
W. Smith, Overseer. 

The following is a list of the rectors of TrottesclifFe : 

Robert 1176. 

John 1185. j 

James 1235. These four rectors appear in deeds. 

Nicholas de Rokelunde 1256. I 



154 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Richard Poynz, 1327. 

Edmund Rober, pro Richard Poynz, 1327. 

Richard de London. 

1337. John de Dennyngton. He was also rector of Snodland. 

1337. William de Middleton. He also followed Deunyngton at Snodland. 

1341. John de Everyng. 

1347. John Gilbert, changed with the last. He was previously vicar oi' 

Tenterden. 

1348. John de Bradewey. 

1349. John de Cranbourne. exchanged with Bradewey, he was rector of Ichene 

(Itcheu, Hants). 

Robert de Vaghne. 

1355. Stephen Randulf, on resignation of last, afterwards rector of Cowden, 

one of the executors of John de Sheppey. 

John Wolfetche. 

1361. William atte Dene, previously of Stopham, in the diocese of Chichester. 

1361. Robert Fynchecock, on Dene's resignation. 

1361. John de Hanneye, prebend of Weulakesbarn. 

1369. John de Whytecherche, previously rector of Lower Hardres, by 

exchange. 

1400. John Cheyne. 
1413. John Putteneye (by exchange with Cheyne), previously vicar of Milton, 

Canterbury. 

Thomas Wale. 

1425. John Mankyn (by exchange with Wale), previously rector of Fetcham, 

Surrey. 
1425. Henry Adesham (by exchange with Mankyn), previously vicar of 

Wadhurst, Sussex. 
Andrew Malton. 
1434. Roger Haynes, (exchange with last), previously vicar of Woking, 

Surrey. He desired in his will to be buried here, but no monument 

remains. 

1439. Marmaduke Skelton. 
1471. John Bolun. 
Richard Bonde. At this time, William Cotton, whose brass is in the 

church, left a silver-gilt chalice and two silver cruets to the church. 
1497. Thomas Cartewrighte, on resignation of Richard Bonde. 
1500. Richard Carpenter. 
1500. Alexander Bukley, on resignation of Carpenter. 

1513. Marmaduke Waldeby, afterwards, 1520, vicar of Brenchley, Kent. 

1514. Thomas Shawe, on resignation of Waldeby : his burial is entered in 

the register. " 1543. Thomas Shawe, parson of Trottescliffe, was 

buried 5th day of April." 

1543. Thomas Bull, Prebend of Rochester, on death of Shawe. . 
1546. Bartholomew Bowsfell, was deprived on accession of Queen Mary. 

As we find a gentleman in this parish connected with the Wyatt 
rebellion, we may not be wrong in concluding, that he was deprived 
for his share in this rebellion. He was restored on the accession of 
Queen Elizabeth, and Robert Salisbury, rector of Addington, who 
had filled his place in his absence (1554-1560), was deprived of 
Trottescliffe in his turn. Nicholas Heath, Bishop of Rochester, 
conveyed the patronage to Henry Bowsfell, John Sibell, Esq., 
Thomas Ffurnes, and Thomas Bowsfell. Sibell presented Salisbury, 
but Henry Bowsfell having left the patronage to Bartholomew, he 
presented himself the second time. 



THE REGISTERS. 156 

The old cup belonging to Trottescliffe bears the date of this period; 
about this period the bishops of Rochester appear to have left 
Trottescliffe palace. 

1578. Thomas Bowsfielde, presented by Edward Webb. 
1698. Thomas Either, presented by the Lord Chancellor. 
1608. Thomas Busfield. The Bishop of Rochester once more patron. 
1610. In March, Thomas Alchin, minister, is mentioned. 
1621. Edmund Jackson, previously rector of Norton, Kent ; he was chaplain 
to the bishop of Rochester, and prebend of Rochester cathedral. 

In the register we read : 

1626. Edmund, the sonne of Edmund Jackson, Dr. in Divinitie, the parson 
of this parish, was baptised the 10th of November. 

It appears that owing to his official duties elsewhere he kept 
curates at Trottescliffe, as we read : 

Mr. Godden, Curate of the Parish of Trottescliffe, was buried the fifth of 
September, 1635. 

Then : 

Susanna, filia Magistri Johannis Mann, Clerici, sepulta fuit 24 to , die Augusti 
supradicto anno. (Susan, daughter of Mr. John Mann, Clerk, was buried on 
24th day of August, in the above named year, 1635.) Jana, filia Magistri 
Johannis Mann, Clerici, sepulta fuit primo die Feb. 1638. (Jane, daughter 
of Mr. John Mann, Clerk, was buried the first day of February, 1638.) 

Constantia filia Nathanieli Starke, Clerici renata fuit septimo die Junii, Anno 
D nl> 1640. (Constance, daughter of Nathaniel Stark, was born anew on the 
7th day of June, in the year of our Lord 1640.) 

And again : 

1651. John Clarke, Cleric, was buried July 3rd. 
Dr. Jackson died in 1652. 

Trottescliffe Bell dates from this period. 

John Head appears in 1652 as Minister ; in the registers under this name he 
is mentioned several times. 

1653. Richard, the son of John Head, minister, was baptised the twenty- 

ninth day of June. 

1654. Sarah, the daughter of John Head, minister, was baptised the twentieth 

day of August. 

1657. Ann, the daughter of John Head, minister, was baptised the twentieth 

day of March. 

1658. Francis, the son of John Head, minister, was baptised the 18th day 

of July. 

1658. Francis, the son of John Head, minister, was buried the 21st day of 
November, in the year of our Lord 1658. 

Margaret, the wife of John Head, minister, being also the eldest daughter 
of W ra- Bysshe, of Hengetake, in Worth parish, in Sussex, Esq re- , and about 
40 years of age, dyed the 25th day of May, and was buried in the Chancell of 
Trottescliffe church, near ye Communion table, the 28th day of the said month, 
in the same year of our Lord. 

Mr. Head, not being mentioned as instituted by the Bishop of 



156 MEMORIES OF NALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Rochester, was probably a minister under the Commonwealth, as 
was also his successor William Woodward. 

The Rochester registers speak of Edward Archbold as instituted 
in 1652, on the death of Edmund Jackson. In the library of the 
Society of Antiquaries MS., it is stated that he was inducted to 
Trottescliffe in 1662, on the deprivation of Woodward, who no doubt 
was a Puritan minister. Edward Archbold was also rector of 
Kingsdown with Maplescomb, and chaplain to the bishop. This 
gentleman had several curates, with whom he appears from the 
register not to have got on, or else they got preferred. 

1666. Francis Norton, Clerk, and Curate of this Parish, buried Dec. 19. 

In 1667, we find " Samuel Attwood, Curate." On the opposite 
page of the register we read, " John Freeman was Curate 1671-2 " ; 
who adds, "there was four between us" (himself and Attwood). 

1690. John Cooper was instituted on the death of Archbold. 

1691. Edward Roman was instituted on the resignation of Cooper. Roman 

was also vicar of All Saints, Maidstone. 

1692. Thomas Brett was instituted on the resignation of Roman. He was 

a native of Betteshanger, in this county, and was born 1667, and 
educated at Wye, and Queen's, Cambridge, and Corpus ; he was 
rector of Betteshanger, 1703, afterwards vicar of Chislet, and held 
the rectory of Ruckinge, 1705. He resigned his preferments on the 
accession of George I., and was a nonjuror ; he was also an author. 
1695. John Warren was instituted on the resignation of the last. 

In his time a statement of the patronage and value of the livings 
was entered in the registers of the Rochester diocese ; and we 
learn that Trottescliffe was in the patronage of the Bishop of 
Rochester, 1695, and was worth 10 2s. lid. Mr. Warren was 
vicar of St. John's, Margate, 1703 1705, and in 1709 was prebend 
of Exeter. The silver paten dates from this period (1699), it was 
perhaps given by Mr. and Mrs. Baristow, the initials ^~, Paul and 
Ann Baristow being engraved thereon. Mr. Baristow was curate of 
Trottescliffe, and afterwards vicar of Graine. His wife and he are 
both buried here. 

April 20, 1705. There was buried in woollen Mrs. Ann Baristow, of ye 
Precincts of ye Cathedral Church of Rochester ; affidavit was made 
before D. Hill, Vicar of St. Margaret's. 

Feby. 23, 1716. There was buried in woollen the remains of Paul Baristow ; 
affidavit was made before Mr. Babb, Vicar of West Mailing. 

In the church of Trottescliffe, we read : 

" Benefaction. The Rev. Paul Baristow, by his will dated 30th day of March, 
1711, gave 100 for the purpose of purchasing an estate, the rent of which was 
to be applied in procuring the instruction of the poor children of Trottescliffe 
in reading and the church catechism, and his executrix, Mary Goodwin, likewise 
contributed 50 for the same purpose, which with the said 100, and the 
improvement thereon amounted to 180, and which, after having established a 
school for the said purposes, she converted into an annuity of 9 for ever, for 
the support charged on the following lands in the said parish : viz., the parcels 
of land called Upper Crocklands and Lower Crocklands, containing ten acres 



THE REGISTERS, 157 

more or less with their appurtenances, and also two parcels of land containing 
three acres, and also a field or close called Street-end, containing two acres, and 
which said lands are more particularly described in an indenture dated the 
28th of January 1719, and remaining among the records of the Dean and 
Chapter of Rochester." 

Hasted mentions a certain Worlidge as incumbent of TrottesclifFe 
after Warren ; but he has reversed the order of the next two incum- 
bents Cockman and Lamb, and therefore he is not much to be 
trusted. However, Robert Worlidge, who in 1701 held the parishes 
of Ryarsh and Addington, had three children christened here as the 
registers state : 

1676. Hannah, daughter of Mr. Robert Worlidge, clericus, and Elizabeth his 

wife, was baptised Jan. 2. 
1680. Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. Robert Worlidge, clericus, and Elizabeth his 

his wife, was baptised May 23. 
1683. Mary, daughter of Mr. Robert Worlidge, clericus, and Elizabeth his 

wife, was baptised December 8. 

I think, therefore, it is most probable that Worlidge was curate of 
TrottesclifFe. Warren, it is certain, had curates, as Mailing register 
speaks of Mr. Thomas Harper as curate here 1706. 

1709. Charles Lamb was instituted to Trottescliffe on the resignation of the 
the last. 

1723. Bartholomew Hughes, afterwards vicar of Barnston and Laver Parva, 

Essex. 

1724. Thomas Cockman ; he had been presented to East Mailing in 1718, and 

obtained a dispensation to hold Trottescliffe with that vicarage. 

In the year 1738, the West Mailing register speaks of a certain Mr. 
Morrison as curate here. Perhaps Mr. Hugh Pugh, who was vicar of 
Birling, was only curate also, though Hasted speaks of him as rector 
in 1722. 

1744. John Elton succeeded on the death of Cockman, in 1747 he was 
instituted to the rectory of Speldhurst. 

1747. James Webb, who had been curate of West Mailing and was presented 

to that living in 1748, succeeded on the death of Elton. 
1759. Francis Lloyd was instituted at this date. He was buried here Oct. 2nd, 

1778, as we learn from register. 
" 1778. The Rev. Francis Lloyd, A.M., rector of this parish, was buried 

October 2nd." 

And also we read : 

1773, September 20th. John Morgan, B.D., rector of Medburn, commissary of 
Richmond, and precentor of St. David's, aged 73. 

As this latter parson is declared by their memorial tablet to have 
been buried in the same vault with Francis Lloyd, and Mary Phillips 
sister to Mr. Morgan, is declared as also buried here, we have a 
tolerable proof that Mr. Lloyd was connected with one of the chief 
clerical families of his day. 

In 1778 we read in the register : " Edward Evans, son of the Rev. 



158 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Mr. Leach, curate of this parish, was baptised," showing that 
Trottescliffe had its curates even at this time. 

In 1779 Francis Taynton was instituted. He was formerly vicar of Frindsbury 
and afterwards vicar of West Farleigh, which he held with this till 1794. 

1794. William Crawford, he was examining chaplain to Bishop Horsley. 
He was archdeacon of Carmarthen from 1793 ; he held Milton with Trottescliffe 
from 1797. 

The silver alms dish is inscribed : " This plate was presented to 
the parish of Trottescliffe by the Rev. Wm. Crawford, D.D., rector, 
Sept. llth, 1821." In 1824, as above stated, the church was 
repaired, and the pulpit from Westminster Abbey given by John 
Lys Seagar, Esq., who was buried here 28th October, 1872, aged 
88 years. 

1827. Edward John Shepherd was presented by the Lord Chancellor ; he 
was rector of Lnddesdown 18401856. In 1844 the church was repaired. 
On Advent Sunday 1866, the present altar table was given by the rector. 

In 1873 the following inventory of church goods was made and 
placed in the register : 

Plate Flagon, cup, plate and paten. 

Four old register books, 1540 1813. 

Two marriage register books, "j 

One of baptisms, Vin use. 

One of burials, J 

One folio Bible. 

One folio Prayer Book. 

One quarto Communion Service. 

Book of the Offices. 

One vestry book. 

One church book. 

Deed of Assignment to Trustees of an annuity for perpetuating Trottescliffe 

Charity School. 

Two surplices. Oak communion table and one chair. 
One chair in vestry and one table. 

Eight open seats for the people and six forms for the children. 
One white communion tablecloth ; organ with five barrels ; iron chest for 

register books ; three cushions for communion rails. 

In the year 1868, the patronage was acquired by C. W. Shepherd, 
Esq., who is now the rector. His father Mr. Shepherd was author of 
The History of the Church of Rome to the end of the Episcopate of 
Damasus. He died in 1874, and was buried in the churchyard. 
As the register shows, " Edward John Shepherd, buried Dec. 4th, 
1874, aged 73." Mrs. Shepherd is also buried here and one of 
their sons ; and three of their sons, including the present rector, 
were baptised here. 

In 1875, Charles William Shepherd, the present rector, was 
instituted. The east window was inserted in memory of the late 
rector in 1875. The south window, next the tower, originally in 
Luddesdown church, was inserted in memory of Francis Henry 



THE REGISTERS. 169 

Heyman Shepherd. Ten years later the west window was 
inserted. In 1887 y the western window of the north wall was 
inserted in memory of the Queen's jubilee by the rector ; and, in 
1855, the west wall of the church was entirely rebuilt by him. 
Besides the inventory given above, the present rector has added : 

1875. One red communion tablecloth. 

Sixth barrel added to the organ, and first used on Advent Sunday. 
1882. Four wooden six-light coronse lights, with chains to suspend^them from 

beams. 

Two brass side-lights for pulpit. 
One glass decanter for communion. 
One carved oak Elizabethan chair, given to the church 1877, and now 

placed at north of communion table. 
1885. Two parchment register books, one for baptisms and one for burials. 

The present rector cannot be too much praised for the care he 
has taken in copying out a new edition of the registers, and for 
the great trouble he takes with all the affairs of his church and 
parish and their history. Besides the clergy already mentioned, we 
have the entry : 

1618. John Cramp, vicar of Thornham, and Ellen Gibbon, were married ye 
fifteenth of October, anno predicto. 

In the old registers of Trottescliffe, we have mentioned two or 
three of the Latin entries, which are rather numerous in these 
books: 

1677. Jana filia William Champion, baptis 16th November. (Jane, daughter 
of William Champion, baptised.) 

1677. Johannes Bell, filius Johannis Bell, sepult September 23. (John Bell, 
son of John Bell, buried September 23.) 

1G78. Filia Rogeri Tomlyn Gener(osi), sepult September 24, 1678, in laneis 
sec(undum) formale statuti in eundem finem f acti et provisi quam 
quidem legitime sepulta Maria UxorHenrici Martin de Aldington, suo 
warranto testata est serenessimo, W. Twysden, Milit et Baronett, 27 
die Mpnsis Presontibus / Thomas Sharbrook,! qui sub suis sigillis, 
)US '\et Johanne Luxfordjidem attestate sunt. 
(The daughter of Koger Tomlyn, gentleman, was buried September 
24, 1678, in woollen, according to a form of statute made and pro- 
vided for the same' end. Mary, the wife of Henry Martin, of 
Addington, on her own oath, testified her indeed legally buried 
to the most worshipful W. Twysden, Knt., and Baronet, the 27th 
day of the month, in the presence of Thomas Sharbrook and John 
Luxford, who witnessed the same under their own seals.) 

One of the Latin entries mentioned before is interesting, viz. : 

1576. Thomas Sanctilis filius Anthonii de Sanctilis nobilis Majoricensis 
capitanei Brabantiorum mense, July xvi. , baptisatus f uit. (Thomas 
Sanctilis, son of Anthony de Sanctilis, a noble of Majorca, captain 
of the men of Brabant, was baptised the 16th of July.) 

Anthony probably was one of the prisoners brought over to 
England from the struggle in Flanders, and hence we have the fact 
that, while he belonged to Majorca he captained the men of Brabant, 
explained. 



160 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Besides Latin entries, which Trottescliffe perhaps possesses more 
than her share of, we have in addition to the common quaint entries 
the following : 

(Before mentioning other matter in this register, we should notice 
the number of Goddens to be found in the books. In order to 
distinguish them at an early period they had to be described ; and 
we find sometimes their place of residence, sometimes their calling 
mentioned.) We have : 

1606. Thomas Godden, of the Court Lodge. 
1608. Thomas Godden, at the Nut Tree. 
1612. Thomas Godden, the tannor. 

1617. James Godden, the warrener. 
1654. Thomas Godden, the baker. 
1656. James Godden,* Mingo. 

1599. James Godden, the yeoman. 
1635. Mr. Godden, curate. 

1640. James Godden of Rouses. 
1640. James Godden, ye butcher. 
1647. James Godden of the banke. 
1680. John Godden, gent. 

1600. The 6 daye of July was baptised, Elizabeth Godden, the daughter of 

George Godden. 
1603. Baptised, John Baker, who died. 

Sometimes only name and date are given, as : 
1605. John Goldsmith, 27th of December. 
The next are peculiarly rigmarole : 

1608. James Latter was baptised 27 daye of November, and was buried the 
30 daye. 

1618. John the son of Thomas Skudder, was baptised the xviith of September : 

this John was christened the 17th of January. 
1618. John had his sonne, James Monck, baptised the 18th of May, ami. 

predict. 
1640. William ye son of Eobert Hilles, clerke of ye parish, was baptised 30 

day of August, Ann. Dni. 1640. 

This is one of the earliest mentions of a parish clerk in this 
district ; and though they are often recorded in the burial register, 
we rarely find them mentioned elsewhere. 
The next is curious : 

1647. Robert, son of John Pye. a traveller or harvester at Birling, baptised 
Aug. 22. 

The following shows the loyalty of Mr. Jackson, or Mr. Clarke : 

Mary, ye daughter of James and Mildred Attwood, was baptised Jan. 30, 
1649 ; the same day that King Charles I. was beheaded. 

1654. Mary, the daughter of Thomas Wellard, under the Hill, was baptised on 
Thursday, being the 20th day of July, in the same year of our Lord. 



* This one is distinguished by his nickname : besides these there are several 
Goddens not distinguished. This seems to have been the home of the name. 



THE REGISTERS. 161 

1659. Henry, the son of Henry Henfield, of the pish of Meopham, was baptised 
here for the better convenience of the parents and people, they 
being remote from their parish church, the 4th day of April, in the 
year above said. 

1663. Elizabeth Attwood, the daughter of William Attwood, and Sarah 
Attwood, his dt'O/re beloved wife, was baptised the 31st day of July. 

1540. John Hills, and Anne Fullor, was wedded the 20th of June. 

This is the earliest way of entering the marriages. Afterwards the 
man's name alone is mentioned after this style for several years : 

1592. Richard Baggace was married the xxv. of August. 

In 1601 we have this peculiarly spelt entry : 

Moyeese Helbe and Marye Stone was married 31st day of August. 

Then we have from 1645-1647 this simple statement: 

William Warren and Jane Taylor. 

After this we have notice of Cromwell's Act in the registers. 

According to an act touching marriage, and ye registering thereof, also 
touching births and burials bearing date Aug. 24, 1653. Robert Hills being 
chosen registrar by the parishioners of Trottescliffe, was sworn before me Justice 
of ye peace, to be register of ye said parish, October ye 5th, 1654. W. James. 

A purpose of marriage between Richard Daniell, of ye parish of Luddesdown, 
and Joan Miller, of ye parish of Trottescliffe, had been published three Lord's 
days, in ye parish church of Trottescliffe, and nothing was objected to hinder, 
and forbid the same ; for testimony whereof I hereunto subscribe my hand, 
Oct. ye fifth, 1654. Uppon ye aforesaid certificate, also of another from ye 
Registrar of the parish of Ludsdown, of ye like purpot, the marriage between ye 
said Richard Daniel and Joan Miller, was solemnised before me uppon ye 
5th of October, 1654, in ye presence of Robert Hilles, and John Granger. 
W. J. James. 

There are no marriages in 1657, 1659 and 1660. 
In 1663 we read : 

Richard Ellyet was weded the ninth day of June 1663, and Eleanor Codd, 
(written in a later hand) : this explains the next. 
1664. John Webb was wedded the 21 day of June. 

Either at this date they did not enter the name of the bride, 
or the clerk not knowing the bride, wrote down the name of the 
bridegroom, expecting to be able to fill in the register afterwards. 

1683. 22 of April. Then was married Edward Stephens and Susanna Ben, 
both of Marden, with a licence, in the parish church of Trottes- 
cliffe. 

April ye 13th, 1686. Then was married with a provincial licence, Thomas 
Thompson and Anne Pattenden, both of East Peckham, by Lisons, 1700. 

Nov. 29, 1750. James Norman Patch and Lydia Pollard, spinster, both of 
West Mailing, were married by licence, from the Bishop of Rochester. 

1594. Johan (Joan) Attwood, uxor (wife of) Nicholas Attwood, was buried 
the first of May. 

1599. James Godden, the yeoman, was burial the 23rd day of August, whose 
soul Jesus have mercy upon. 

11 



162 MEMORIES OF MALLINQ AND ITS VALLEY. 

This addition is very uncommon in registers, though frequent on 
the tombstones. 

1600. Samuel Attwode the good ijoiitli, was buried the 13th day of May. 
1629. Alice Totting, servant to Mr. Godden, of the Courtlodge, was buried 
27 November, Anno Dni. 

The word servant is frequently used in registers of this date. 

1640. Nicholas Neave, who came to his immature death, by falling from a 

haymow, was buried ye 5th day of September. 

An instance of recorded accidents. 

1641. A child of James Godden ye butcher, not baptised, was buried ye 

12th day of February. 

We do not find persons at this time often mentioned as un- 
baptised. 

1647. Anne Pope, a poor lame widow, from Wm. Cod's house, was buried 

March 30. 
June 9, 1647. A son of James Godden, on the Banke, not baptised, was 

buried. 
Anno D" 1 ' 1647. John Medley, the grey hunter, was buried August the 

first. 

The old name for the badger was the grey, as we shall have 
occasion to show ; but this is the only record we have of a man's 
special calling being to hunt this harmless creature. 

1649. Old Thomas Stone, and ye wife of Thomas Hues, at ye Bell, were 

buried Oct. 3. 
1647. Dorythy, ye little daughter of John Godden, of Rowses, was buried 

Nov. 27. 

1651. Robert Cofton, Londoner, was buried here. 
1651. Francis, a nurse child buried here, June 23. 
1654. John Warner, of Meopham, being hurt by a wagon in the lane leading 

from the street to the hill, and dying of his wounds, was buried in 

Trottescliff churchyard, the 4th day of May. 

Here we have the record of another accident, by the village 
chronicler. 

1669. Edmund Attwood, the honest gent., was buried September ye 13th. 

1671. John Gilburne, a wayfaring man, buried 21st of December. 

1682. Dec. 9. There was buried in woollen, a vagrant man. 

1700. Nov. 6. Mary Davis, of Trosley, made an oath that, James Maddox, 

was buried in nothing but what was made of sheep's wool only. 
1750. Nov. 27. John Robinson, an ancient inhabitant. 

This is not an uncommon entry at this period ; indeed we often 
find the adjective ancient used where we should now use old. 

1752. Jany. 21st. John Hills, householder. 
This is a very usual description of persons at this date. 
1758. Dec. 31. Roots Thomas, orphan and pauper, was buried. 



THE REGISTERS. 163 

In 1804, we have in the burial register, no less than six entries 
of infants, beginning with two on Oct. 14th. 

1762. Then was admitted into ye congregation, Ann, daughter of Robert 

and Mary Hills, which was privately baptised February 24th. 
1765. July 21st. Thomas Sands, an infant, was privately baptised. 
1778. Aug. ye 10th. Mary, daughter of one Smith, beggar, baptised. 

The oldest registers after Trottescliffe, are those of 
ALL SAINTS', BIELING. 

The south aisle has a piscina in it, showing that there was once a 
side altar. There are few traces of Norman architecture ; though 
a church existed here, both in Saxon and Norman times, as is 
proved by the mention of Birling, both in Domesday, and the Textus 
Roffensis. We will now proceed to mention the incumbents of 
Birling, so far as we have ascertained them : 

1329. John Knots. 

. John Combe. 

1338. John Moleton, succeeds John Combe. 

1349. JohnOdford. 

. Richard atte Brigge. 

1395. William Chappel, pro Richard atte Brigge. 

1397. William Tany, instead of William Chappel, who resigns. 

. Henry Spencer. 

This clergyman having for some reason refused to pray for his 
bishop, had to make a public confession of his fault, when he was 
pardoned. He soon after, however, resigned, when : 

1458. John Brompton was appointed. 
1487. Richard Mann. 

This vicar is mentioned by Thorpe, but is not in the Rochester 
registers. 

1496. William Rednys, was appointed, by the Abbot and Chapter of 

Bermondsey. 

1499. William Watson, in place of William Rednys, resigned. 
1507. George Brinley, succeeds Watson. 

The registers commence 1558, but we cannot find the name of 
the then vicar. 

1567. John Ellis. 

He is mentioned as buried at Birling 1570. 
John Ellis, the Vicar of Birling, was buried the viith day of April. 

When he died most probably Joseph Moore, who is mentioned in 
the Rochester register, succeeded. 

1574. John Savill succeeds Joseph More. 

1585. Matthew Heton. 

1586. Thomas Lloyd, appointed by Henry Lord Burgavenny. 



164 MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY. 

This vicar has several entries, in the registers : 

1595. Mary, the daughter of Thomas Lloyd, Vicar of Billing, was baptised 

the xxiii. day of February. 
1597. Hester, daughter of Thomas Lloyd, Vicar of Billing, was baptised, ye 

xiiith day of December. 
1606. Hester Lloyd, the daughter of Thomas Lloyd, buried the 30th of 

October. 
1638. Mary, the wife of Thomas Lloyd, clerk, was buried the 24th day of 

March. 
1642. Thomas Lloyd, Vicar of Birling, was buried the 16th of January. 

It will thus be seen, Mr. Lloyd held Birling for the long period 
of fifty -six years, which he undoubtedly possessed for a more ex- 
tended period than any other beneficed clergyman kept his living, 
in the parishes whose chronicles we are penning. In his days 
the third, fourth and fifth bells were given. 

1642. Philip Satterthwaite, succeeded Thomas Lloyd. 

In 1659, Birling was valued at 6 9s. 4|cZ., and was in the gift of 
Lord Abergavenny. Philip Satterthwaite's name does not appear in 
the registers ; he was ousted in 1652, and Thomas Gunn held Birling, 
who appears to have been a Puritan minister, not recognised by 
the bishop of Rochester, as in 

1660. Michael Rabbett succeeded, vice Satterthwaite resigned. 
This vicar's monument in the church reads : 

Here lyeth interred the body of Michael Rabbett, Vicar of this Parish the 
space of thirty-two years, who departed this life the twenty-fifth day of March 
1692. aetatis suae 84. 

1692. Theophilus Beck. 

Mentioned in the register as buried here : 
Mr. Theophilus Beck, Vicar of Birling, buried Oct. 19th. 1715. 

The Birling flagon is of his date, 1697. The clock and dial were 
also given partly by Mr. Beck. He appears to have been curate of 
Bexley and vicar of Barming. 

1715. Thomas Winterbottom. (Not mentioned in the registers of the parish.) 
1722. Hugh Pugh, M.A. 

We do not know on what authority Hasted mentions him also 
as rector of Trottescliffe ; we find the entry of his burial in the 
Birling burial book : 

Dec. 23rd, 1743, Rev. Mr. Pugh, Vicar of Birling. 
In his days the paten was given to Birling. 
1743. Gregory Sharpe, L.B., succeeded Mr. Pugh. 

He is only mentioned in the parish registers at the end. The second 
and third bells of Birling were hung in his incumbency. 

1756. Edward Holme, M.A., was inducted. 



THE REGISTERS. 166 

He built the parish schools of East Mailing and Leybourne and 
endowed them. He was buried here ; the entry runs : 

1782. Jany. 12, Edward Holme, Vicar. 

1782. William Humphrey. (Was also Vicar of Kemsing and Seal in 1766.) 

His name is not in the registers. 

1817. The Honourable William Nevill was rector till 1844. 

We find the entries often signed by his name between these two 
dates. He afterwards became Earl of Abergavenny in the year 
1845. Besides being rector of Birling he was also vicar of Frant, 
Sussex. He was buried here August 25th, 1868, as was also his 
widow in 1872, and two of their infant children in 1828. There are 
several of his descendants mentioned in the register of the names of 
Bligh, Mostyn, and Nevill. 

William Corfield was vicar from 1844 to 1850, when he died, and being 
buried here, he was succeeded by Henry Dampier Phelps. 

1850. Henry Dampier Phelps was appointed vicar, and also rector of Snodland. 

We have already referred to the cup given by his family to the 
church of Birling. 

1865. On the death of Mr. Phelps the Hon. E. V. Bligh, second son of 
the fifth Earl of Darnley, and son-in-law of the previous rector, 
William, Earl of Abergavenny, was instituted to the living. His 
son was christened here. He resigned the living in 1876. 
In 1876 W. Madden was appointed vicar. He first set on foot the movement 
for the New Church at Hammill. In the year 1890 he resigned 
the living ; his wife had previously died here. 

1890-92. Stuart Churchill. In August 1892, Mr. Churchill was appointed 
to Christchurcb, Kilburn, and Charles Forbes Septimus Money,* formerly rural 
dean of Deptford, vicar of St. John's, Deptford, and of St. Luke's, Cheltenham, 
and of Christchurch, Kilburn, and honorary canon of Eochester, was appointed. 

The Birling registers are very incomplete, though beginning at 
such an early period as the first words testify, " 1558. The Church 
Book containing Christenings and Burials." 

1618. Margaret, the daughter of one John Fricht, a poor wandering man, 

was baptised the xxiii rd daie of February. 
1638. Joan, the daughter of George Crauford, a poor travelling man, was 

baptised the third day of June. 

George and Joan Eay were married at Paddlesworth, 1688. 
1695. Anne, the daughter of Archibald Yorke, a soldier, and Susanna his wife, 

was baptised July 20. 

The burial register commences : " Such as were Burials of the said 
parish of Birling." 

1618. William, a strange lad, vagrant, about the age of sixteen years, was 

buried the xvii. of October. 
1625. A poor wandering woman that died at Walter Gregorie's was buried the 

iii. day of September. 
1636. Bichard Clo, servant to Mr. Littleboy, drowned in the Brewhouse pond, 

was buried the 23rd day of September. 

There is a later book of registers which is prefaced : 
This book was bought by Mr. Henry Knowles and Mr. William Newman, 
* Died at Birling January 18th, 1893. 



166 MEMORIES OF NALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Churchwardens for the parish of Birling, pretium 15*. at Maidstone in the 
county of Kent, Anno Dom. 1723. Began to register in it out of a paper book 
after the old register was complete in ye year 1707 for Christenings, for 
Marriages 1711, for Burials 1712. 
Theophilus Beck, Vicar, M.A., Rector of Birling. 
Succeeded by Hugh Pugh, Vicar. M.A., Anno 1722. 
Succeeded by George Sharpe, L.B., Anno, 1748. 
Succeeded by Edward Holme, M.A., Anno 1756. 

The clock and dial of the church were given at the charge of these 
benefactors. 

T. Beck, Vicar. A. Currall. H. Knowles. 

G. Wray. W. Castret. W. Hoath. 

Nich. Lyffe. E. Knowles. B. Tomlyn. 

P. Castret. H. Castret. T. Newnham. 

1728. David, whose surname is Seamark, a grown person, aged 41, was bap- 
tised January the 21st, by me. Hugh Pugh. 

1733. Isabel Coleman, an old maid, was buried on the 9th day of January; in 
woollen only ; affidavit was made by Good wife Coleman before Mr. 
Bickley, Curate of Snodland. Hugh Pugh, Vicar of Birling. 

1713. March 15. A stranger that died in Wibley's barn, March 15, 1713. 

1716. A certain traveller, ignotus, was buried March 13, and an affidavit was 
brought me from Mr. Samuel Spateman, Eector of Leybourne. 

Old Mary Jeffrey was buried, in woollen only, on the 20th of March, 1728 ; 
affidavit was made by Margaret Coleman. before Mr. Babb, Vicar of 
Mailing. 

1733. Elizabeth Dimsee, a hopper, was buried here on the 29th of August, 

1733. Hugh Pugh, Vicar. 
1741. A hopper, unknown, was buried here, September the seventh day. 

These entries give us hopping as forming part of the farming of 
Birling one hundred and fifty years ago ; though this is not nearly 
so old as the hopping mentioned in the Offham registers. 

1758. Feb. 10. Son of a stroller. 
1758. Sept. 13. Stranger-boys two. 

These entries are peculiarly curt and incomplete, neither giving 
name nor anything beyond the bare fact of a burial of persons not 
belonging to the parish. In this year we have several foundling 
hospital entries, giving the name and number of the child, e.g., 
" John St. Mark, Foundling Hospital, 6473." There are several of 
these in the neighbouring parishes. 

The burials from 1719-1733 have disappeared, if ever recorded. 

Cliff, the daughter of Elisha Lee and Phillis his wife, of Kent Street, as they 
said, was baptised on the 2nd day of September, 1735. Hugh Pugh, Vicar. 

1734. Ann Simmonds, a child of John Simmonds, of Hammill, was buried 011 

25 January ; according to the Act of Parliament affidavit was made 
by Widow Sanders, before Mr. Bickley. Hugh Pugh, Vicar of 
Birling. 

1755. William, son of a vagrant. 

1760. Dec. 25. John Murphy, being bred up in the faith and profession of 
the Church of Rome, after renouncing the errors of the said Church, 
publicly, in the Parish Church of Birling, was admitted a member 
of the Church of England, by Edward Holme, Vicar. Witness. 
Nicholas Newman, Robert Austen. 

Besides we have these entries : 



THE REGISTERS. 167 

Charles Robert, Son of Charles Ryves and Alice Graham, born in the parish 
of St. A than, in the county of Glamorganshire, on the 7th day of July, in the 
year of our Lord 1801, was baptised on the 20th of March, 1807, by me, Charles 
Graham, Curate of Birling ; his godfathers, Richard Robert Graham and John 
Dudlow ; godmother, Maria Ursula Graham. 

After this we have the entries of three others of the same family, 
namely : 

Mary Ann, born Jany. 31, 1804, baptised March 10, 1807. 
Emma Georgiana, born March 30, 1805, baptised March 20, 1807. 
Maria Louisa, born March 1807, baptised December 31, 1808. 

The first entry of this family is the longest rigmarole we have 
come across. 

Besides this we have a notice of the gift of the font cover. 

The cover to the font was carved by the Ladies Caroline Emily, Henrietta 
Augusta, and Isabel Mary Francis Nevill, the daughters of the Earl and 
Countess of Abergavenny, A.D. 1853. It was first placed upon the font, and 
the font moved into the centre of the church, at the christening of the eldest 
son of the Hon. Thos. E. M. L. Mostyn, M.P., and Lady Augusta Mostyn, July 
20th, 1856. 

After Birling the next parish register to commence is that of 

RYARSH, 

which begins in the year 1559. The church, which is dedicated to 
St. Martin, is a fine specimen of Norman work. The Norman 
piscina is engraved in Parker's " Glossary of Architecture." It was, 
however, originally without the tower, which was added in the 
Early English period. 

The incumbents of Ryarsh are as follows : 

1237. Peter de Sausinton. 

1242. Andrew de Wyntone. 

1314. Walter, mentioned in Kentish Fines as " de Ryershe Clerk." 

1328. Wilfred de Denton. 

John Roger. 

1391. John Humphrey, in place of John Roger. 

John Gote, alias Birton. 

1400. William Godard changed with John Gote. 

1414. John Thobyn. 

1414. Philip Home, rector of Elmstead, changes with Thobyn. 

1418. John Fynch exchanges with Philip Home. He was vicar of Sheldwich. 

1421. Thomas Shene, vicar of Fullmere, Bucks, changes with Fynch. 

1425. Richard Tarton. 

1426. Robert Finch. 
1450. William Snary. 
1453-1479. John Sutton. 

John Kokk. 
1501. Henry Watkyn, on the death of John Eokk. (The Convent of Merton 

are patrons.) 

1515. William Walker, on the death of Henry Watkyn. 
1524. Richard Whyte, on the resignation of William Walker. 
1534. Robert Covert. 

1538. Henry Singleton, on the resignation of Robert Covert. 
1550. Thomas Bolton. 



168 MEMORIES 0* MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

Another authority gives him as Bote. In his days the registers 
were commenced. 

1565. John Alwyn. 

1568. John Ellis. 

1570. Robert Salisbury, prebend of Rochester ; rector of Trottescliffe 1554 
1560 ; he was also rector of Addington 1559 1583. He left xii<Z. 
to every poor householder in Addington and Ryarsh. He was pre- 
sented by George Watton, Esq r % of Addington. 

1583. John Blackburne. 

He was buried here as we find by the registers : " John Blackburne, 
vicar of Ryarsh, was buried on Sunday the xxxist day of August, 
anno domini, 1589." 

1589. John Parker. 

This vicar tells us in the beginning of the Ryarsh registers of the 
pains he took with them, which was most unusual for that age ; the 
introduction runs : 

" The register book of the parish of Ryarsh within ye countie of Kent and 
diocese of Rochester, contains all those names that have been christened, 
married, and buried within ye said parish : ye said register beginning the 
xxth day of November, in the yeare of our Lorde God 1559, copied out of ye 
original by John Parker, "Vicar of Ryarsh." 

He is mentioned in the parish register in this way : 

" Anno regni Elizabethse tricesimo primo Johannes Parker, Vic. de Ryarsh." 
And again as buried : 

" 1603. John Parker, which was the late vicar of Ryarsh, was buried the 

seventh day of March, in the year aforesaid." 
1603. George Shawe. 

He tells us in the commencement : 

" That upon ye four and twentieth day of April, a thousand six hundred and 
three, and in ye first yeare of ye high and most zealous sovreign Lord Kynge 
James by the grace of God the first of that name king of England, France and 
Ireland, defender of the faith. George Shawe, Clerke, Vicar of Riarsh, in the 
county of Kent, being inducted to the said Riarsh on the xxiii. dale of the 
said moneth did read the articles of religion accordinge to the lawes of this 
realm, the sed xxiii. daie of April, being Easter daie, as aforesaid, in the psence 
of us whose names are here underwritten, as mentioned," (etc.). 

Mr. Shawe is also buried here. 

"1617. George Shawe, Vicar of Ryarsh, was buried the eighth day of 
October." 

Mr. Shaw was presented by Thomas Watton, Esq., of Addington. 
1617. Henry Livett succeeded George Shawe. 

In his day the second bell was presented to the church ; he also 
gave himself the pewter flagon to the parish. He obtained the 
living from Thomas Watton, Esq. 

1632. Abiezer Herbert. 



THE REGISTERS. 269 

We learn from a memorandum in the parish book : 

" That in the register from the year 1632 and forward, during ye time of 
Mr. Herbert's ministry here in this parish, ye yeare ends as it does in our 
Almanacks at ye Nativity of Christ, or last day of December, and begins at ye 
first day of January commonly called ye Circumcision of Christ, or New Year's 
day. . . . Abiezer Herbert. That the same account of time was observed 
by " (rest illegible). 

This clergyman was buried here ; the entry in the register is : 

1641. Abiezer Harbord, minister, was buried August 17th. 

1646. Herbert Trott was incumbent of Ryarsh in this year, 

but whether he was instituted after Mr. Herbert's decease or not, 
seems rather obscure. 

1647. David Sibbald, or Kibbald. 

He with Trott are not mentioned in the parish registers. 
1653. John Emerson was instituted. 
The entry of his wife's burial exists : 

" Margery, the wife of John Emerson, the minister of Ryarsh, was buried 
May the second, 1656." 

And his daughter's : 

"Anna, the daughter of the said John Emerson, was buried July 30, 1656." 

In his days the returns of the Rochester diocese were made, 
when Ryarsh was returned as worth 8 10s., and the patron 
W. Watton, Esq. 

1660. Robert Godden was instituted. 

1661. William Deane. 

1676. Robert Worledge : also rector of Addington 1701 : presented by 

William Watton, Esq. 
1702. John Dacie. 

1730. Henry Burville, previously vicar of West Peckham. 
1742. Thomas Buttanshaw ; he was curate of TrottesclifEe 1732, then minor 

canon of Canterbury, rector of St. Peter's, vicar of Westgate, and 

vicar of St. Stephens, or Hackington : in 1741 he was appointed 

rector of Addington. 
1768. James Thurston: the date of his induction is mentioned in the 

register ; he died in 1802. 

We find these entries : 

"James, son of James and Sarah Thurston, Sept. 3rd, 1775. 

1802. Thurston, James, Vicar of this parish, aged 61, buried March loth." 

I An awfully short space intervened between Mr. Thurston's perfect health and 
his dissolution. In his days the first bell of Ryarsh. was hung. 

1802. John Liptrott. He says, " I became Vicar of Ryarsh in 1802, planted 
the churchyard with elms and limes, the glebe with oaks, did the 
same at my Rectory of Offham 1819. John Liptrott, Vicar and 
Rector of Ryarsh and Offham. The parishioners planted a yew 
tree about the same year. Mark well ; in three hundred years it may 
be a venerable yew." 



170 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Mr. Liptrott was appointed rector of Offham in 1777. 

1830. Lambert Blackwell Larking, was presented to Ryarsh by Colonel H. J. 
Wingfield Stratford. He was appointed vicar of Burham in 1837. 

We have given a full account of this vicar in our last chapter. 
Mr. Larking was buried here, as was also his wife. His monument 
is in the church. March 1832, Rev. L. B. Larking adds in the 
register : 

" I planted a few Turkey oaks in the skirts of the field next the house, and in 
the triangular plantation at the south end of my glebe, the limes and _<Esculus 
Pavia in the centre of the same field, and many ornamental shrubs near the house. 
The cedar of Lebanon near the entrance gate I found there, apparently about 
fifteen or twenty years old, completely choked up with other wood. The 
walnuts Mr. Liptrott sowed about fourteen or fifteen years ago." 

The burial register runs : 

1868. Lambert Blackwell Larking. Ryarsh Vicarage. Aug. 11, aged 71. 

R. Garland. 
1873. Frances Larking, 6, Brondesbury Terrace, Kilburn, March 29, aged 87. 

R. Hay Hill, Curate of St. Martin's in the Fields, Westminster. 
1868. Henry Welsford Snell. After being nine years at Ryarsh he changed 

with the present incumbent for the Vicarage of Mendlesham, Suffolk, 

in 1877. 

Mr. Snell says, in the register : 

" Following the custom of my predecessors, I record that I became Vicar of 
Ryarsh in October 1868 : in 1869 the school was built by voluntary contribu- 
tions ; in 1872 the interior of the parish church was reseated and restored (see 
brass in the chancel) ; the work was paid for by voluntary contributions, aided 
by a grant from the Incorporated Church Building Society, and the Diocesan 
Society, February, 1873. H. W. Snell, Emman. Coll. Camb." 

Two of Mr. Snell's children were christened here. 

1877. Edward Henry Roger Manwaring White, was Vicar of Mendlesham 
1861 1877, and is patron of that living ; became to Ryarsh in 1877. 

His wife and several of his family are buried here; one of his 
daughters was married here ; and one of his grandsons was baptised 
here. 

In 1879 a third bell was hung in the church. 

Besides mention of the parochial clergy, the following minister 
is mentioned : 

1608. John Bridger, the parson of the parish of Mereworth, and Marie 
Walsingham ye daughter of Edmond Walsingham, were married 
here the nineteenth day of September. 

Of the commencement of the registers of Ryarsh, we have already 
spoken. The baptismal register commences at once with : 

First and foremost ye xvii mo day of January, anno domini 1560, was 
christened Joane Oliffe ye daughter of George Oliffe. 

Monday ye xiii 01 day of March in that aforenamed year, was christened John 
Sanrock anno 1560 from Christ's Incarnation. 



THE REGISTERS. Ill 

There are two in Latin : 

Elizabeth Yonge, filia Edward Younge baptizata fuit secundo die Martii anno 
supradicto 1579. (Elizabeth, daughter of Edward Younge, was baptised the 
second day of March in the above-mentioned year 1579.) 

Katerina filia cujusdam peregrin! nata in porta templi baptizata fuit 1 Dec. 
1617. (Catharine, daughter of some stranger born in the gate of the Church, 
was baptised the first of December, 1617.) 

1751. Turpin, son of a gipsey. 

Ryarsh has plenty of entries describing the baptised as " strangers," 
" travellers," and " travelling parents' children," in common with other 
parishes. 

The next two give examples of calling children after places : 

1769. William Fartherwell, an unknown traveller's child, baptiz July 2. 
1780. Mary Rash, a traveller's child, bap. Jan. 2. (Rash is the common name 

of Ryarsh.) 
1774. Elizabeth, daughter of John Aaron Broad, bapt. at Addington May 20. 

It is by no means unusual at this time to find what is done in 
another church, entered in the registers of the parish of which one 
of the parties is a native. 

1788. Francis, son of Pawley, bapt. Nov. 3. The Christian name inserted 
from verification of them, when 21 years of age, in the Prince of 
Wales' regiment. 

Marriages in the parish church of Ryarsh from the vi day of November in ye 
yeare of our Lord God, 1559. 

First and foremost, on Monday the xx. day of November, in the abovesaid year, 
Anno 1559, Thomas Godden was married to Elizabeth Littell. 

The next is interesting as mentioning the saint's day : 

Gyles Symons, of Ryarshe, and Marie Crispage, of Stone, widow, was married 
on St. George's day, 1599, by a licence granted out of the office at Rochester. 

As in other marriage registers, so at Ryarsh, we have frequently 
marriages that took place in other churches mentioned. 

The following is a certificate of the period of Cromwell used as the 
marriage register. 

" I, John Birch, do testify that whereas there is a contract of matrimony 
between Thomas Martin and Elizabeth Johnson, Ellen, the mother of the said 
Elizabeth, and Joane, the mother of the said Thomas, have given their consent 
and approbation to the same contract, and therefore I know noe let unto the 
publication of their purpose of marriage, February the fourth, 1645." 

The names of all such as be buried in the parish of Ryarsh from the vi th day 
of Aprill in the yeare of our Lord God, 1560. 

The sixth day of Aprill, in the year of our Lorcle God, 1560, was buried Jane 
Boorman, the wife of John Boorman. 

The third day of April, 1562, was buried William Byshop, clark of the said 
paiish of Ryarsh, and the said third day of April was Maundy Thursday. 

This is perhaps as old a record as we shall find of a parish clerk. 

The third day of Marche, 1563, was buried one Thomas Filpot, a poor man, 
a stranger which came late out of Yorks., that died in Richard Boorman's 
house. 



172 MEMORIES OF CALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

The xxii nd day of Aprill, in the year of our Lord 1573, there was buried 
Mother Wy borne. 

Henry, a poore man, borne at East Mailing, was buried ye xxvi th day of June, 
anno 1602. 

This entry shows how unsatisfactorily incomplete the registers were 
kept, as the very important point, the man's sirename, is the only 
fact left out. 

1677. There was buried goodwife Curd, in ye parish of Eyarsh. 

1748. Mr. John Miller, buried in the church by leave from the vicar, Sept. 11. 
1761. Rebecca, wife of the above [Solomon Penury], buried in the church ; 

but they did not ask leave of the vicar, which I think they ought to 

have done. 

These last two are interesting as showing how much importance was 
then attached to the permission of the incumbent on ecclesiastical 
questions. 

1781 1783. There are several entries of persons buried simply 
as hoppers, without any mention being made of their name or whence 
they came. 

The following will give an example of the form used for twenty-two 
years in this church for burial : 

1678, September 7, there was buried in woollen, Margaret Marsden of ye 

parish of Ryersh, spinster. Affidavit being made by Elizabeth 
Turner, of ye same parish, before Sir Will 1 "- Twisden, Bart., one of 
His Maj st >" 8 Justices of ye peace, in ye presence of Edward Walsing- 
ham and Will Caysior. 

Amongst these burials we have one stating that the person was 
buried in Trottescliffe parish. 

1813. A man unknown who died upon ye road by ye visitation of Providence, 
May 17th, in years. John Liptrott, Vicar. 

1815. Thomas Hatton. a soldier's son, Nov. 23, 2 years. 

1816. James Chapman, a stranger, his abode not known, May 5, about 60. 

1817. Sarah Welsh, hopper sojourner, Oct. 8th, 2fi. John Liptrott. 
1821. Elizabeth James, hopper from Barming, Oct. 11, 47. 

1826. A woman called Allen, surname unknown, stranger, Sept. 11, about 17 

years. Robert Cobb. 
1849. O. Hearn died of Asiatic cholera, a stranger come to hopping from 

Mailing Union, Sept. 17, age unknown. Lambert Larking, Vicar. 

The next oldest register to Ryarsh is that of 
SNODLAND. 

The church here has been dedicated in the name of " All Saints." 
The mediaeval work of this church dates much later than when there 
was first a building here, as the records of Snodland go back far 
beyond the Conquest ; and in Domesday and Textus Roffeiisis the 
church of Esnoiland, as we have seen, is continually mentioned. 
There are a quantity of Roman tiles run into the church at different 
places, which were no doubt borrowed from the Roman villa (just 
re-discovered) hard by. The restorations of this church in the last 



THE REGISTERS. 173 

and present centuries have obliterated what was probably the oldest 
building of the church. The present rector and his hard-working 
curate are trying all that they can do to repair the church, and 
especially to restore those parts which are the more ancient portions 
of the edifice. There is a handsome old market cross standing in the 
churchyard, which, however, we have already shown, was moved 
thither by the last rector but one. The rectors of Snodland that we 
have discovered were as follows : 

1274. Sir John de Eastwud, rector of Snodland. 
1295. Wynard de Dryland. 

It seems, that this rector, was the one who poisoned a Justice of 
King Edward I., who had been dismissed from the bench for 
bribery. 

1330. John Hirlasativer. 

1337. Edmund de Dygge. 

1337. John de Dennyngton, he was also rector of Trottescliffe. 

1346. William de Middleton, also rector of Trottescliffe. 

1349. Robert Carllimon. 

. Stephen Randolph. 

1360. John Alcham. 

1375. Peter de Lacy, prebend of Swerds. 

1388. Bartholomew Waryn. 

He was Secretary to Bishop Thomas de Brinton; and, in 1401, 
he changed away the living of Snodland for Hadstocke. 

1401. Roger atte Cherche. 

1427. Richard Mountain. 

1447. John Aston. 

1453. Thomas Dalby succeeded John Aston : he is buried at Snodland ; and 

his monument tells us that he died 1472. 
1464. John Perot succeeded Thomas Dalby. 
1499. William Barker succeeded John Perot. 
1526. John Addison, pro William Barker. 
1533. Robert Trnslove, succeeded John Addison in 1531 ; he was chaplain of 

St. Lawrence in Hailing. 

1571. William Hall died this year as rector of Snodland, he is 
entered in the parish registers in these terms : 

" Sir William Hall, pson of this parish, was buried 22 June." 

The entry " Sir William Aspley was buried 14 April, 1574," leads 
me to believe that Aspley was his successor ; but neither of these 
is mentioned in the Rochester registers. These entries give the 
clergyman the title he once possessed in common with a knight 
and which, though fallen into desuetude, is his by right still. 

1576. John Swone appears in both Registers. 
His daughter's baptism is thus entered : 

" 1585. Sarah filia Johannis Swonei Rectoris hujus ecclesiae de Snodland 
baptizata fuit " and her burial " Obiit eadem die 12 die Februarii in 
anno predicto, sepulta, jacet in coemiterio de Addington quoniam 



174 MEMORIES OF MALLING AXD ITS VALLEY. 

infra limites parochiae cnutriebatur viz., in aedibus Thomas Whiting. 
(Sarah, the daughter of John Swone, Rector of this Church of Snod- 
land, was baptised. She died the same day the 12th of February 
in the aforesaid year, and being buried, lies in the churchyard of 
Addington, since she was nourished within the boundaries of that 
parish, namely in the house of Thomas Whiting.) 

The first bell of Snodland, appears to have been given, at this 
date. Rembron Griffin (1600) describes himself as " verbi minister " 
in the register. 

1608. Maurice Edwards. 
In this year we read in the register : 

Rebecca Edwardes, the wife of Mr. Maurice Edwards, who was minister of 
Code's word in this Church was buried upon ixth day of September. 

Besides (though there is nothing to prove him rector here), we 
find: 

1613. Buried was John Sands parson. 
1620. John Gimpton instituted. 

1624. William Williams, buried here. William Williams, the minister of 
Snodland, was buried ye xxiind day of December. 

1630. William Medhurst. 

1631. Thomas Garraway. 

There are one or two entries in the registers of this rector. 

1648. Rebecca Garraway, the daughter of Thos. Garraway, minister of God's 

word, was baptised on the 6th day of August. 
1658. Samuel Garraway, and child of Thomas Garraway, Rector of Snodland, 

buried on ye 5th day of July. 
1666. Thomas Garraway, Rector of Snodland, was buried Feby. 21st. 

In his day, the fifth bell was hung in Snodland tower. In Mr. 
Garra way's time in the year 1659, Snodland was returned as being 
in the gift of the bishop of Rochester and worth 20. It was then 
the best living in the valley. 

1666. Luke Proctor. 

This incumbent is also buried here, for we read : " 1673. Luke 
Proctor, Rector of this parish, was buried Jany. 18th." 

1673. John Thomas. 
1681. John Walwyn. 

The entries of this rector's family are numerous. 

1683. Mary, the daughter of John Walwyn, Rector, was bapt. Jany. ye 4th. 

1684. John, the son of John Walwyn, Rector, was bapt. May 10 ; in which 

year king James ye 2nd began his reigne. 

1685. Elizabeth, the daughter of John Walwyn, Rector, was baptised July 21. 
1688. Herbert, the son of John Walwyn, Rector, was baptised Jany. 17. 
1690. Catharine the daughter of John Walwyn Rector was baptised Aug. 25. 

1693. Robert, the son of John Walwyn, Rector, was baptised Jany. 26. 

1694. Bridget, the daughter of John Walwyn, Rector, was baptised October 2. r >. 
1709. John, ye son of Thomas Walwyn. was baptised Jany. 15. 

lf>91 Herbert, ye son of John Walwyn, Rector, was buried in woollen Aug. 14 



THE REGISTERS. 175 

1708. Robert, ye son of John Walwyn, Rector, was buried in woollen March 24. 
1712. Elizabeth, ye daughter of John Walwyn, Rector, was buried in woollen 
May 27th. 

Neither Mr. nor Mrs. Walwyn, though they are mentioned on 
their monuments as lying in the church, are inserted in the registers. 
Mr. Walwyn, as elsewhere stated, has left two valuable notes in the 
Snodland books. 

1712. Thomas Wacher. 

The Rev. S. Bickley, M.A., who was rector of Offham, acted as 
curate of Snodland during this rector's time, as appears by the burial 



Feby. 22. Died the Rev a . Mr. Bickley, Curate of this place and Rector of 
Offham, where he was buried. 

As Mr. Wacher is not mentioned in the registers it would perhaps 
appear that he was not a resident. The church plate dates from 
this period. 

1748. Lewis Hughes. 

This incumbent is also not mentioned in the parish registers, and 
also appears to have been non-resident, as we find in the burial 
register : 

1750. Buried the Rev. Mr. Herndale, Curate of Hailing, also Rector of Birling, 
who probably served Hailing and Snodland together, and in, 

1762. May 24, Phoebe Tirrell, daughter of the Rev d - Mr. Tirrel buried. 

1793. Thomas Barnard (not mentioned in the registers). 

1800. George Robson (not mentioned in the registers). 

1804. Henry Dampier Phelps buried at Snodland Aug. 4, 1865, aged 88, 

after being sixty-one years incumbent of the Parish. 
1865. James Gaspard Le Marchant Carey. 

In his days the last three bells were hung in the tower. He was 
afterwards rector of Boreham, Essex, and then archdeacon of 
Colchester. 

1874. John George Bingley was appointed rector ; previously he had been 
for ten years rector of St. Leonard's, Colchester. One of his 
children was christened here. 

Besides the clergy mentioned above, we have also this entry : 

1736. The Rev d> Anthony Dennis, clerk and rector of Wouldham, and Mary 
"Villiers, of the same parish, with a licence, married April the 10th. 

The Snodland registers are dated from 1560. They simply com- 
mence with the words, " The Register Boke of Snodland." 

The earlier of these entries in the baptismal book is characteristic 
of many in the beginning of the register : it may be noticed that the 
child's surname is added after the Christian, while it is left out after 
the father's name, and the mother's name is omitted. 



176 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1560. Gyles Andrew, sonne of Francis, was baptised ye 6th March. 
1564. Elizabeth Leuse (Lewis), ye daughter of John of Hamyll, was baptised 
23rd April. 

This is interesting as correcting the mistake Ham hill, showing 
us that it was Ham mill and not Ham hill. This entry also points 
to the antiquity of the name. 

1575. Samuel Godden, ye sonne of Thomas, of Paddlesworth, bapt. 17 Sept. 

This entry, with others, shows us that the church of Paddlesworth 
had already become not generally used ; though there were incum- 
bents for the next sixty years. 

1603. The first year of the reign of King James, Nevill Godden, the son of 
Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, baptised 28 April. 

About this time we have many Latin entries. 

1600. Eobertus Goldinge, filius Thornse Golding, baptisatus fuit 29 Febr. 
1619. Jane, the daughter of Goodwife Chapman, was baptized 25th day of 

March. 
1684. John, the son of John Walwyn, rector, was baptised May 10, 1684 ; in 

which yeare King James ye 2nd began his reign, viz., Feby. 6th. 
1703. Catherine, daughter of a poor travelling stranger, was baptised May 

ye 9th. 

1742. June 27, Almeria, daughter of a stranger, born at ye Bull Back. 
1748. Nov. 6, William, the son of a stranger, born at Wingates. 
1762. July 31st, James, son of James and Mary Best, was privately baptised, 

being dangerously ill. Publickly admitted Aug. 22. 
1783. From this place the duty of threepence for every child bapt. or 

christened is rece dl according to the Act of Parliament, by William 

Lewis, clerk. 
1788. May 11, Lydia, daughter of Richard and Lydia Solley, born at ye poor 

house. 
1794. October 2. The duty of 3 d> for every baptism ceased according to an 

Act of Parliament. 

1819. July 19, Henry, son of John and Frances Baker, higgler. 
1819. Nov. 19, Charles James and Mary Ann Barnfield, of Pomphrey, in 

Paddlesworth, smuggler. 

The entry of smuggler as a calling in life is very curious. 

1846. Aug. 16. Elizabeth Anne, daughter of James and Jane Lee, Snodland, 
traveller. The child was born at Queenborough ; the father knew 
not where he belonged to, his parents being travellers. Alas ! H . D. 
Phelps. 

1559. THE BOOK OF MAERIEDGES. 

There are no entries for the years 1594, 1595, 1596, 1599, 1600, 
1601, 1670. 

1641. Edward Cloake of East Kent, married to MaryNetterof Paddlesworth. 
on the 26th of October. 

1561. John Usher of Hoborrowe, was buried 16 October. 

1563. A waterman or sayler, whose name was unknown, who had a wife, as he 

said, and children at Eye, was buried July 5. 

1563. Cuthbert Ersh. a young man of London, was buried, 30 September. 
., 16 October, John Hardware, a nurse child, of London, was buried. 



THE REGISTERS. 177 

There are a great many nurse children buried about this date, 
principally from London. 

1563. Richard Bambridge, a goldsmith of ye town of Rye, was buried 

3 March. 
1569. One Cornelius, a poor labouring man, was buried 7 January. 

1569. Mary, ye daughter of one Austin of London, Was buried 8 March. 
August 21, William Carr, a tayler, was buried. 

The mention of the calling of a man so long ago is not usual. 

1570. Robert Crane, a single man, was buried March 18th. 
October 4th, an olde maide called Phillip was buried. 

1573. August 7th, also Sparrowe, an olde wydowe, was buried. 

1574. June 15th, Theeball Hammon, a French, dwellinge in London, was 

buried here. 

1578. May 20, a child yt was born at Swynborn's house of a woman yt asked 
for lodging was buried. 

1584. Feby. 2, Father Border was buried. 

1585. Oct. 27, Joane Swinborne, alias Downe, widow, was buried. 

1588. June 2, Deborah, the daughter of John Powlter, miller, who was 
drowned in the mill pound at Holborough, was buried. 

1588. Mary, the daughter of Thomas Pillkington, was buried September 8th. 

1589. Jany. 28. An infant of John Hammons who died unbaptised was 

buried. 

Only two Burials in 1500, one in 1597, none in 1599, 1600, 1639, 
1640, from 1641 to 1658, one in 1695, and one in 1700. 

1591. A man child of William Blies, which departed as soon as it was borne. 
1591. Rose, the daughter of Wm. Pallmer, of Redcriffe, by London, taylor, 

brought up by Abraham Collier, of this parish, was buried 26 June. 
ir>92. Nem. (Naomi) Tiksall, being drowned the day before at the mill, by 

goodman Leedes his house, was buried. 

1601. Elizabeth Angier, a poor maide, was buried. 

1602. William Samon died and was buried 27 June. 

This style of entry very common in the register at this time. 

1603. Mother Becher, servant to Thomas Cordery, died and was buried 

July 1st. 
1606. Nicholas Gregorie, a harvest man come from Cheswick, in Middlesex, 

was buried xxviiith August. 

1609. The 22nd of May, buried was mother Chittenden. 
1618. Robert Amies, the son of Goodman Amies, was buried the third day 

of September. 

1625. Old mother Hughes, ye wife of Richard Hughes, was buried the 

29th of March. 

1626. Elizabeth, ye relicte of James Spenser, was buried the 7th of February, 

(The earliest record of the word relict I have found.) 
1036. A stranger at Snodland mill was buried the 10th of June. 

This seems to point to Snodland having had a paper mill pretty 
early, as the trade is mentioned about this date. 

1659. A child of Farmer Peesk, was buried, July 23. (The child's name is not 

given.) 
1665. The wife of Mr. May, of Sen Margaret, was buried October 23. 

12 



178 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY 

Sen, for Saint, tells us very plainly of the education of the parish 
clerk. 

1667. Thomas Martyn, householder, was buried. 
The phrase householder is found frequently in registers at this period. 

1670. William Goteere, aged by his own computation one hundred and 

eleven years, was buried. 

This man and a woman buried at East Mailing, and a woman of 
Offham, are centenarians recorded of these parishes. Goteere lived 
in the reigns of Elizabeth (perhaps of Mary), James I., Charles I., 
and Charles II., as well as during the Commonwealth, and must 
have seen some of the greatest changes in the civil and religious 
world that could have been seen in a lifetime. 

1671. Martin, the widdow, the relict of Thomas Martin, late deceased, August 1. 

1672. Feby. 7, John Swift, householder, died here and was buryed at Mepham. 
1696. Nathaniel, a stranger, was buried in woollen Dec. ye 4th, 1696. 

1703. Sept. 1st, Mary Simson, a poor travelling woman, was buried in woollen. 

Memorandum : that her husband went away immediately after her 
interment, but whither was unknown to us. 

1704. Mary Henfield, labourer, was buried in wool, Sept. ye 13th. 

1705. James Smith, paper-maker, was buried in wool, Jany. the 5th. 

We have here another record of paper being made at Snodland for 
200 years. 

1708. John, a stranger, who died at Groves, was buried in wool, Oct. ye 2nd. 
1729. Katherine, the wife of Edward Owlett, and last descendant of the 

family of the Pounds, late of the parish, buried March 10th. 
1737. July 11. Buried Elizabeth, wife of Henry Taylor, on Punish Hill. 

Holly Hill was known till about 40 years ago, as Punish Hill 
from the old family of Povenash, who had an estate here. In their 
day the hills from Ryarsh and Birling to Hailing appear to have 
been parks, showing that the predecessors of the present landowners 
admired what they seem to neglect the lovely views of this smiling 
valley. 

1750. August 12th, Buried a man his name unknown a stranger. 
. August 17th. Buried the wife of ye above mentioned stranger. 

From entries like these we see how little trouble was taken to 
identify persons, and this will account for the number of persons 
who were missed in the last century. 

1760. Margaret Brown, a child belonging to the foundling hospital, No. 1104 ; 

one of many such entries, showing that Snodland was a foundling 
parish, which is still the case with many Kentish parishes. 

1781. Dec. 30, Mary Dartnell, of the smallpox. 
We have more cases in 1790 and 1793. 

1783. October 3, Thomas James, a stranger, drowned in the Creek. 
From this place, the duty of three pence for burials, reed, according to Act 
of Parliament by William Lewis, Clerk. 



THE REGISTERS. 179 

1786. Hannah, a stranger, supposed to belong to Harden, appeared to be 
near 70 years of age ; by the Parish. 

1793. April 26th, John, son of John and Sarah Dartnell, aged 5 years ; killed 

by accident in a sand hole at Birling. 

1791. October 2. The duty of 3d. for every burial ceased according to Act of 
Parliament. 

1794. October 8. A stranger, his name not known, appeared to be a sea- 

faring man, and about 30 years of age. 
1796. July 24th, John Taylor, aged 30 years, forced overboard by the foresail 

of Mr. Bensted's barge, and drowned near the mouth of the creek. 
1796. July 5th, William Whitfield, aged about 65 years, found drowned in 

the river. 

1807. August 9th, Joseph Cook, drowned near the mill. 
Here note that the way which Mr. May hath to ye court Lodge meadows 
was first claimed as property by him, and in the year 1741 was first allowed 
upon consideration of a road through his land leading to ye glebe under the 
hill. 

1813. Thomas Mills, drowned in the Medway, March 1st, aged 31. 

1852. A woman, unknown, left on the brook by the high tide, evidently had 

been in the water a long time. 
1863. March 11. A man unknown found drowned in the Medway. So in 1875 

and 1879. 

1873. July 28, Caroline Miller, wife of a captain of a barge, found drowned. 
August 28, Israel May, P.C., found murdered, age 37 years. 

The history of his death is already recorded. 

1887. Henry Mayger, killed by accident by machinery, aged 51, Sep- 
tember 5th. 

PADDLESWOETH CUM DODB OR DODECIRCE. 

These parishes at the present time have been joined in one name 
as Paddlesworth, and have been for civil purposes attached to 
Snodland. Many books speak of Paddlesworth as a chapelry of 
Birling, and Dode as a chapel of Meopham. This is perfectly incor- 
rect, as already stated. The old parish of Paddlesworth being 
ecclesiastically distinct, and Dode or Dodecirce, i.e., Dodekirk, a 
chapel of that parish. The old ruin of Dode is a Norman church ; 
it has by some mistake of late years been called by many Buckland. 
This name it borrowed simply from the manor on which it stands, 
which was in days gone by the manor of the parish. Dode is 
mentioned both in Domesday and in Textus Roffensis. Dr. Harris 
tells us he could not find out its whereabouts. 

The ruin of Paddlesworth was built into a barn, and the north 
porch removed ; the chancel arch is Early English. The church was 
dedicated in the name of St. Benedict. The incumbents of these 
parishes were styled rector of Paddlesworth cum capella of Dowde 
or Dode. Those we have discovered were : 

John Rowe. 

1319. Walter de Chesterfield, on the death of Rowe. 

1327. Richard de Lonekyn. 

Robin Rothberry. 

1398. John Dunce. 



180 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1400. William Tipper. 

1405. John Brewster, in place of William Tipper resigned. Robert Clifford 

is the patron. 

1415. Thomas Jade, vicar of Euston, changes with John Brewster. 
1460. Thomas Merbury. Before this vicar of Hailing. 
H62. William Belthorp. 

1464. William Merbury ; also rector of Leybourne. 
1467. William Codling, vicar of East Mailing, changes with Merbury. 

Father Tippen. 

1506. John Walker, on the death of Tippen. Robert Watton, patron. 

1509. John Parkyn, on the resignation of Walker. 

1533. James Roberts, on the death of John Parkyn. 

1540. David Welling, on the death of James Roberts ; previously rector of 

Ditton. 

By another authority we learn William Baker succeeded Roberts. 

1571. Edward Danes. 
1581. Robert Paynter, M.A. 

In the year 1599, we read in the Rochester registry : 

" Take care that no one admit, institute, or induct to the rectory or the 
parish church of Paddlesworth, Rochester diocese. Benjamin Sarryer, Clericus." 

In defiance, however, of this statement we have in 

1600. Robert Chambers, instituted to Paddlesworth, Lord Watton being the 

patron. 
In 1623, Edmund Aldley was appointed by the king. 

How long he held the living we do not know, but there are no 
more incumbents mentioned as being instituted ; and as we find 
Paddlesworth was returned in the gift of Sir J. Watton, and the 
value nil in 1659, he was probably the last incumbent. 

The name Paddlesworth we are told by Harris was originally 
Paulsford ; if so, the reason perhaps of the decay of this living was 
the giving up of the pilgrimages to Canterbury (as the old church 
stood on the Pilgrims' Road, arid if they turned off from the foot of 
the hills to cross the river here, the pilgrims probably paid their 
votive offerings for a safe passage in this church), and there being 
afterwards no resident squire. 

The parish registers have been lost, but in the register of Birling 
we have the record of a marriage that took place here. 

1687. George and Joan Ray, married at Paddlesworth. 

This seems to point to service being held here later than the last 
incumbent. These Rays or Wrays and a family of the name of 
Godden, are mentioned in the registers of Snodland, always as of 
Paddlesworth ; the Goddens are first mentioned : we give then- 
names. 

1575. Samuel Godden, ye sonne of Thomas of Paddlesworth, bapt. 17 Sept. 

1592. John, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, 12 December, 

baptised. 

1593. Thomas, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, 17 October, 

baptised. 



THE REGISTERS. 181 

- 1596. Antony, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, 23 April, 

baptised. 
1598. Bridget, ye daughter of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, 1 November, 

baptised. 

1601. Edward, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, 13th January, 

baptised. 

As these appear to be insertions, it is possible that they were 
copied into the Snodland register from the Paddlesworth one. 

1603. Nevill Godden, the son of Edward, was baptised, 28 April. 

1608. Elizabeth, the daughter of Edward Godden, was baptised the third 

day of April. 
1654. Martha, the daughter of John Godden of Paddlesworth, gent, was 

baptised the 27th day of February. 
1615. Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, aged . . ., buried on Sunday, August 

25, in ye church. 
1670. Nevill, the son of Nevill Godwin, of Birling, gent., was buryed 

Sept. 3rd. 
1785. Sept. 17th, a stranger man died at Paddlesworth, middle aged, had but 

one eye ; supposed to be a native of Ireland : by the parish. 
1801. Windsor, stranger from Paddlesworth, Xtian name unknown, 19th 

October. 

These entries suffice to show us that Paddlesworth was well known 
as a distinct place from Snodland or Birling, and indeed, it must be 
considered as such, not only historically, but also ecclesiastically. 

The next oldest parish to Snodland as regards its register is 

LEYBOURNE. 

The church is dedicated in the names of SS. Peter and Paul. 
Though it has been much repaired, there are good samples of the 
ancient Norman and early English buildings ; the tower is a modern 
erection. The heart shrine of the De Leybournes has been spoken 
of elsewhere. On the font may be seen the places where the taper 
was fixed, and the salt or chrysm deposited in pre- Reformation 
times. 

1276. We find Peter, rector, and John, the chaplain (probably one of the 
clergymen of the chantry endowed by Sir Roger), declared to have 
trespassed on the lands of Ralph Ruffyn, who appears to have 
transferred certain tenements to the de Leybournes, which they after- 
wards settled upon the church. 

12'79. Thomas Bacun ; also rector of Langley, in order that he might maintain 
Sir Roger's chantry. 

1311. Walter de Lecton, or de Leghton. We find him also parson in 1314, and 
he is, perhaps, the same as Walter, the parson of Leybourne, who, in 
1347, paid 16*. Sd. to make the Black Prince a knight. 
John Ashlying, patronage in the hands of St. Mary, Graces. 

1391. Thomas Smyth, vice John Ashlyng. 

1423. John Clifton changes with John Burchbacke, rector of Elmley. 

1425. John Browning. 

1437. John Cowper. 

1438. John Lee succeeds John Cowper. 
1441. William Midelton. 

John Clifton. 



182 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1464. William Merbury succeeds John Clifton, he was also rector of Paddles- 
worth cum Dode. 
1495. William Millys, a Cistercian monk. 

He was one of the court that sat on a commission to enquire into 
the patronage and income of the prebend of the High Mass of the 
High Altar at the monastery of West Mailing in 1493. In the deed, 
he is described as rector of Leybourne, though not then instituted. 
If he is the same that is buried in West Mailing church, he died in 
1497, but in the Rochester register we read that Thomas Sewell 
succeeded William Millys on his death, in 1510, and also the same 
from another authority. 

1510. Thomas Sewell. 

1526. John Larke, on the death of Sewell. 

1545. Hugh Woodward. 

In the Rochester register this clergyman is emphatically spoken 
of as belonging to the Church of England, probably to show he was 
the first incumbent of the diocese who had been instituted, who 
belonged to the reformed faith. 

1559. Hugh Williams. 

He appears to have been also rector of Ditton, in his days the 
register was commenced. 

1582. William Mounte. 

In his days the curious second bell of Leybourne was given ; he 
was probably presented by Robert Godden. 

1582. Thomas Lovelace. 

1602. William Drury (Sir John Levison presented him). 

At the beginning of the register we learn : 

Memorandum that Sir William Drury, Parson of Leybourne, gave out the 
Boke of Articles upon Sunday, being the fifth day of December before myne 
induction, Anno Dom. 1602, Anno Regni Dominae nostrae, Elizabeths Reginae 
45, in the presence of those whose names are hereunder written Pme. John 
A stun, Robert Olyver, George May. Robert Millys, Edward Dounes, William 
May, Robert Olyver. son of the above. 

We have entries of several of this incumbent's family : 

1607. April 7. Thomas Drury, son of William Drury,* Rector of the parish of 

Leybourne, born the second day of April, and bapt. the 9th of the 
said month. 

1608. John Drewry, the son of William Drury, baptised March 16. 

1613. Richard Drewry, buried at Offham April 16. 

1614. Richard Drewry the son of William Drewry, born 9th of August, 

baptised. 

1614. December 14, Richard Drewry. junior, buried the 14th of December. 
1616. Francis Drewry, the son of William Drewry, born 23rd of April, being 

.St. George his day, baptised the sixth of May. 
1621. March 6. William Drury, born and baptised : the day following, he dyed 

and was buried. 
1630. Nov. 17. Jane Drury, wife of William Drury, rector of Leybourne, 

buried. 

* In this as in many other cases the spelling of names is according to the 
register which often gives two or three ways. 



THE REGISTERS. 183 

In the year 1616, the first Leybourne bell was hung. 

1640. On the death of William Drury, John Codd obtained the living of 
Leybourne. 

This rector has also left behind a few memorials of his incumbency 
of the parish. He was presented by the Recorder of Rochester, 
Henry Clerke. 

1643. Elizabeth Codd, the daughter of John Codd, rector of Leybourne, and 
Gertrude bis wife, baptised at Rochester July 27th. 

1643. Upon the 29th of December 1653, a daughter of John Codd and 
Gertrude his wife, buried in Rochester Cathedral, being dead born. 

1649. Baptised was Gertrude the daughter of John Codd, rector of this 

parish, and Gertrude his wife, buried May 7. 

1650. John Codd, born 10 July, bapt. 17. 

Mr. Codd was also prebend of Rochester, 1660; he resigned 
Leybourne and was instituted to St. Margaret's, 1662. In his days 
the return of Leybourne (1659) was value 17 13s. 4d. Patron 
Sir F. Clark. 

1662. John Lorkyn. 

Mr. Lorkyn was also rector of Wouldham, prebend of Rochester 
and archdeacon. In the burial register we readi: 

" Mr. John Lorking, prebend of Rochester^and rector of Leybourne, died at 
Leybourne Jan 8, and was buried at Roch. Jan. xi., 1666. He was presented by 
Sir Francis Clark. 

1667. Nathaniel Hardy, Doctor of Divinity, presented by Sir Francis Chirk. 

1675. Meric Head. 

He succeeded Dr. Hardy, as he tells us in the commencement of 
the register. 

" Meric Head succeeded Dr. Hardy in the Church and Parsonage of Ley- 
bourne. He was presented by Sir Francis Clark, and inducted the twentieth 
of February 1674 5, and the next day being Sunday, performed all the offices 
and duties required by the Act of Uniformity, which were necessary to his full 
settlement in the living." 

His name appears once or twice in the register. 

June 3, 1682. Buried was Sarah Head, the daughter of Mr. Head, and 
Elizabeth his wife. 

March 12, 1687. Merick, alias Meril, Head, Doctor of Divinity, was buried 
March 12, 1687. 

1687. William Gotier. 

This rector is several times noticed in the registers : 

Nov. 3, 1687. William Gotier of Leybourne, Rector, and Frances Robins of 
Town Mailing, were married by licence. 

Sept. 9, 1688. Mary, daughter of William Gotier and Frances his wife, was 
baptised. Buried Jany. 7, 1689. 

June 3, 1690. William, the son of William Gotier and Frances his wife was 
baptised. 

1690. Henry Ullock, D.D., Dean of Rochester 16891706. 



184 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY, 

He gave the cup to the parish of Leybourne, on it is inscribed : 
" The gift of Henry Ullock, D.D., Dean of Rochester, and Rector 
of Leybourne in Kent, 1691." We find in the register : 

1706. June 28th. Henry Ullock, D.D., dean of Rochester and rector of 

Leybourne was buried. 
1729. Oct. 31st. Buried Mrs. Margaret Ullock, widow and relict of H. Ullock, 

dean of Rochester and rector of Leybourr. in linen. 
1706. Samuel Spateman. 

This rector's family is largely entered on the registers. The patron 
of the living was Captain WilHam Saxby. 

1710. Samuel, ye son of Samuel Spateman, rector of Leybourne, and 

Elizabeth his wife, was baptised ye 26th of November. 

1711. Joseph, ye son of Samuel and Elizabeth Spateman. was baptised ye 20th 

of January. 

1713. April 28th. Margaret, ye daughter of Samuel Spateman, rector of 

Leybourne, and Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. Buried March 
3rd, 1713-14 

1714. Mary Greenway, gentlewoman, sister to Mr. Spateman. buried 26 Feby. 
1714. 15th April. Elizabeth, ye daughter of Samuel Spateman, rector of 

Leybourne, and Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 

1716. Ye 30 April. Mary, ye daughter of Samuel Spateman, rector of Ley- 

bourne, and Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 

1717. July 21. Joseph, ye son of Samuel Spateman, rector of Leybourne, and 

Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 

1718. March ye 29. Joseph Spateman, infant, was buried. 

1718. August 31. John, ye son of Samuel Spateman. rector of Leybourne, and 

Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 
1720. July 24. Thomas, ye son of Samuel Spateman, rector of Leybourne, and 

Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 

1720. October 1st. Buried, Samuel Spateman, rector of Leybourne. 

1721. July 4. Buried Thomas Spateman, infant. 

On the death of Samuel Spateman, Robert Hall was inducted as rector, as we 
read from a memorandum in the registers. 

Mem. Robert Hall, A.M. was inducted into the parsonage of Leybourne, the 
3rd of December, 1720. 

He was also buried here after a short incumbency, as we read : 
" November 9. 1723. Mr. Robert Hall, late rector <>f this parish." 
He was presented by Captain William Saxby. 
1723. George Whitworth, instituted on the death of the last. 

Related probably to the Whitworths of the Grange, in whose gift 
Leybourne then was. 

1727. Francis Hooper, D.D. whose name is on the fly leaf of the register, was 
then inducted ; he appears to have died in 1758. Presented by Francis 
Whitworth, Esq. 

1758. George Burvill; presented by Sir Charles Whitworth, Knt. 

1797. Charles Cage was rector of Leybourne fifty-two years ; he was also 
instituted to Bredgar in 1794. 



THE REGISTERS. 183 

There is a memorial to him in the church ; he was buried here 
as we read : 

1849. Jany. 30. Rev. Charles Cage, rector of the parish of Leybourne, aged 
79 years. He was presented by the first Sir Henry Hawley, Bart. 

The first bell is dated 1826. 

1849. Henry Charles Hawley instituted. 

There is a memorial window to him in the church. His family 
being also the squires of Leybourne, will be given at length else- 
where. Presented by Sir Joseph Hawley, Bart. In his time the 
church was completely restored. 

1877. Charles Cusac Hawley was instituted on the death of the last ; presented 
by Sir Henry Hawley, Bart., the present rector. 

The other clergy mentioned in the Leybourne registers are : 

1718. Charles Brown, clericus, curate of Town Mailing, married Mrs. Lydia 

Elliston, of ye same, by a licence, Jany. 31. 
1750. March 6. Buried John Shaw, curate. 
1781. Baptised, May 21, Francis Letitia, daughter of James Thurston, clerk, 

and Mary his wife. 

In the commencement of the Leybourne registers, besides what we 
have already stated, we read : " The register of the christenings of 
Laiborne beginning Anno Dom. 1560, annoque Dominae nostrae 
Elizabethae secundo" (in the year of our Lord, 1560, and the second 
year of our lady Elizabeth). It must be remembered the old 
registers, which have been destroyed, were carefully copied. The 
first entry is : 

1560. June 5. Joane King, 
and runs down to 1584 ; then we read : 
Here the boke was very imperfect, therefore I leave out the yeare. 
The next entry is : 

George Bredham, gent., and Mary Goddin. 

Here the boke was imperfect, and therefore 1 leave yeare and day un- 
written. 

1594. Anne Morris, widow of Jasper Morris, was buried upon Ascension Day. 
1641. Martii 9. Married were Edward Larking and Anne Chexitty, single 

persons of Brenchley, by licence from Rochester. 
1656. Nov. 12. Elizabeth Aiherst, the youngest and most hopeful daughter 

of Mr. Aiherst of Leybourne Castle, widow, was buried in the church. 

Another person named Dane is described as of Leybourne Castle, 
in 1655. 

1680. Sept. 4. John Morton, brazier and traveller, was buried. 

1699. Thomas and John, sons of 'John Bowden and Isabelle his wife, inhabit- 
ants, according to his report, of St. John St. near East Smithfield 
in London, were born at Lunsford in the parish of East Mailing, but 
were baptised here at Leybourne, Sept. 3r., there being not at this 
time any incumbent at East Mailing. 



186 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1701. December 30. Richard Buttenshaw and Elizabeth Wood, were married 
with the bishop's licence. 

The licences from the bishop's court, are mentioned in very formal 
ways in the registers at this period. 

1703. July 19. Richard Buttenshaw of Shorne, and Elizabeth Burvill of 
Leybourne, having a licence to be married there, were married 
there then accordingly. 

From this, it does not distinctly appear whether they were married 
at Shorne, or Leybourne. 

1705. Feby. 19. John Hills and Elizabeth Edmunds, both of ye parish of 
Trosscliff, where the banns were thrice published, were married. 

This is an early notice of banns. 

1705. Dec. 25. David Price and Mary Fleet, both of ye parish of Stepney, in 
ye county of Middlesex, the banns having been thrice published in 
ye said parish church, as appeared by a certificate under ye curate's 
hand, were married by Mr. Harper. 

1708. Sept. 26. Elizabeth, daughter of Francis and Margaret Brook of Cole- 

brooke Passinger, baptised. 

1709. Sept. 20. James Stone of Trossley, and Dorcas Huggins of this town, 

were married in ye parish church of Leybourne, having been thrice 
asked at both places. 

1709. Oct. 9. David Ray of East Mallin, and Ann Setharden of this town, 

were married in Leybourne church, by banns thrice published in 
each parish. 

1710. Oct. 10. William Mercer of Speldhurst, and Elizabeth Burgesse wid. of 

Tonbridge. were married by a licence had from ye archbishop's 
court, Oct. 10, 1710, in ye parish church of Laybourne, Oct. 12. 

1712. Sept. 5. On ye same day, buried mulier ignota (an unknown woman), 
and infant. 

1714. Nov. 22. Richard Buttenshaw, aged about 84, buried at Leybourne. 



This is an early entrance of the age. 



1719. Aug. 23. Sarah Beavour of Birmacham, traveller, buried. 
1719. Sept. 6. Buried a traveller from ye Grange. 
1731. July 13. Buried John Anthonio, a blackmoor. 
1737. Mar. 13. Baptised ... the daughter. . . . 

There is a similar entry just below, " Sept. 24, 1738." 

1750. James Butler, ye son of John and Replenish Butler, born ye 18th, 

buried ye 29th, of April. 
1754. Kemsley Margaret, wife of Francis Kemsley Hoppers, and Catharine 

Kemsley their daughter, buried 22 Sept. 
1766. May 17. Mary Lloyd, housemaid at the Grange, buried. 
1787. March 14. Buried, a woman from Mr. Newman's outhouse, unknown. 
1792. Sept. 23. Buried, a woman and stranger from Mr. Saxby's of ye name 

of Bellebridge. 

The next oldest registers, after Leybourne, are those of 

ADDINGTON. 

The church which is dedicated in the name of St. Margaret, has 
some relics of Norman times, but it_was added to to the westward, and 



THE REGISTERS. 187 

the tower built in the mediaeval period, which time is farther marked 
by the fine wood carving over the church porch. There are traces of 
where the rood loft was once placed. There is a handsome reredos 
in this church. The monuments in the Watton chapel are worthy of 
notice. The register dates from 1562. The incumbents appear to 
have been as follows : 

1326. Laurence de Polle. Patron Roger de Leschekere. 
1349. Wymundus Conyntone. Patron Roger atte Eschekere. 
1349. John Mount. Patron Roger atte Eschekere. 

1349. Robert de Cuxton. Patron for the next two turns Sir Nicholas 

Dagworth. 

1350. Richard Gerveys. 

In about twelve months Addington had four rectors at the period 
of the Black Death, which we have spoken of elsewhere ; and which 
not only swept off many ecclesiastics, but also left another indelible 
mark upon church history, by causing a cessation of church 
building. 

John de Wynchecoumbe, also precentor of St. Paul's, London, and perhaps 

rector of Snoreham, Essex. 
1356. John de Lexeden, on resignation of the last. Patron for next four 

turns John de Colonia. 
1356. Thomas Drapier. 

1358. Simon de Tonebregge, alias Goman ; previously vicar of West Green- 
wich. 

1361. John atte Ffelde ; previously vicar of Excete, diocese Chichester. 
1396. John Graunger ; also prebend of the high mass at the great altar of the 

conventual church, of the nunnery of Mailing 1396, and dean of 

Mailing 1400. 

John Marshall ; also vicar of St. Nicholas, Rochester, and rector 

of St. Michael's, Lewes. 

1411. Thomas Clerk, changed with John Marshall. 
1416. Edmund Webley, previously rector of Estburgate, diocese Chichester, 

exchanged with last. 
1418. Simon Stokk exchanged with Edmund Webley. The Wattons patrons 

till 1513. 

1435. Robert Bradly ; previously vicar of Welcomstowe. 
1438. Thomas Chaworth, on resignation of the last. 

His brass on the east wall of the church, records him as a clerk 
in the King's Chancery, and cousin to Elizabeth, wife of Robert 
Watton, Esq. It also says he was rector of Long Melford, diocese 
Ely. 

1447. Thomas Skelton. 

1451. Thomas Dyne, on resignation of the last. 

1453. Robert Watton, a Minorite friar, on the death of Dyne. 

1455. Robert Stroke, on the resignation of Watton. 

1456. Alexander Broun, on the resignation of Stroke. 

1494. Richard Smith. 

1495. Thomas Goodale. 

1502. William Layfielde, on the resignation of Goodale. 
1505. John Houghtone, on resignation of Layfield. 

1514. Robert Houghtone, on the death of John Houghtone. Presented by 
Richard Welbeck. 



188 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1533. James Goklewell, on the death of Robert Houghtone. He was vicar of 

Dartford. 

1549. Richard Taylor. 

The next four presentations are by the Wattons. 
1551. Robert Goodaye. 
1559. Robert Salsberry (or Salisbury). 

He was prebendary of the fifth stall of Rochester Cathedral. He 
was collated to the rectory of Trottescliffe, on the deprivation of 
Bartholomew Bowsfell in 1554, and to Ryarsh in 1572. Trottes- 
cliffe he had to resign to its old rector in 1560. It would thus 
appear that this gentleman was a true vicar of Bray, managing to 
keep his preferments in Mary's and Elizabeth's times. His record 
during these reigns being, rector of TrottesclifTe and Addington in 
Mary's time, and rector of Addington and vicar of Ryarsh in 
Elizabeth's days. He was possibly a son of Dean Salisbury, of 
Norwich. 

1583. Henry Syliard ; presented by the Queen. Also rector of Igtham, 
where he is buried. 

The third and fourth bells of Addington date 1602. 

1615. Edward Drayner, previously vicar of West Peckham. Presented by 

Thomas Watton, Esq. 

There is an entry in the baptismal register : 
1624. Martha, ye daughter of Edward Drainer, parson, of this psh., the 20th 

day of June, was baptised. 
1635. John Smith. Presented by John Smith, senior, of East Mailing. 

The second bell of Addington dates 1635. The first bell is pro- 
bably older than all, but has no date. We find his name in the 
register : 

Baptised, Phoebe, the daughter of John Smith, parson, of this psh., the 3rd 
day of January, 1638. 

1643. The 7th day of April, baptised Abel, the son of John Smith, minister 

of Addington. 
1660. Peter Davies ; presented by William Watton, as also the next two 

incumbents were. 

The cup and paten-cover date from this incumbency. He is 
mentioned in the registers : 

1663. John, ye sonne of Peter and ffrances Davies, rector of this parish, was 
baptised Feby. ye 14. 

On page 30 his baptismal entry, with several others, is given 
again in the burial register. 
Also we read : 

1679. John Davies, of St. Bridget's and St. Bride's, son of I'eter Davies, late 
rector of Addington. was buried October 14th. 

He too, himself was buried here, as appears from the register : 

Ifi73. Mr. Peter Davies, Rector of Addington, was buried in the chancel 
22nd October. 



THE REGISTERS. 189 

Mr. William Polhill, who preached his funeral sermon, succeeded 
him in the said rectory, being inducted November 19th, 1673. His 
widow also is buried here, as we read : 

1716. Mrs. Frances Da vies, widow, Dec. 3rd. 
1673. Mr. William Polhill. 

Thus he always names himself, though the ignorant clerk corrupts 
this into Polly. He was also rector of Offham, where he was buried. 
1675. Robert Topp, on the death of William Polhill. 

He was previously vicar of All Hallows, 1600. He is mentioned 
as being rector when a register was bought. 
Also we read : 

1677. Maximilian, the son of Robert Topp, rector of Addington, and Elizabeth 
his wife, was born at Offham, October 15. Bapt. Oct. 18, 1677. 

1679. Maximilian, the son of Robert Topp, rector of Addington, and Eliza- 
beth his wife, was buried March 29th. 

1687. Andrew Frederick Forneret ; presented by James Hickford. 

1689. Abraham Lord, on the death of Forneret ; presented by William 
Watton. Presented to West Mailing in 1695 ; he held both livings 
together till 1698. 

1698. Samuel Atwood ; he was instituted in 1701 to the rectory of Ash. 
Presented by William Watton. 

1701. Robert Worlidge, on resignation of Atwood. Presented to vicarage of 

Ryarsh in 1676. 

1702. John Boraston. 

He presented a flagon to the church in 1721. There is a paten of 
the same date. The bell frame is dated 1732. He is buried in the 
churchyard, where his monument may still be seen, on which we 
find it recorded that he was, " a fellow of University College, Oxford, 
a man truly learned, charitable and religious; of a temper mild, 
cheerful, and humane ; for which while living he was beloved by all 
that knew him, and when he died was by all lamented." His burial 
register runs: 

1741. The ReV 1 - Mr. John Boraston, rector of the parish, buried in ye church- 
yard, June 14. 

He was the last presentation by a Watton. 
1741. Thomas Buttanshaw. 

Was one of a family long resident in this district, of whom the last 
about here was the Rev. John Buttanshaw, curate of West Peckham, 
fifty years ago, and chaplain, afterwards, of Banning Asylum, 
several of whose sons are incumbents in different parts of England. 
He wa curate of Trottescliffe, he was a minor canon of Canterbury, 
rector of St. Peter's, vicar of Westgate, and vicar of St. Stephen's, 
or Hackington, Canterbury. He and his wife are buried here. We 
read in the registers : 

1761. Mrs. Jane Buttonshaw, wife of the Rev dt Mr. Thomas Buttonshaw, 

rector of this parish, buried Oct. 26. 
1768. Reverend Thomas Buttonshaw, rector of this parish, buried Aug. 26th. 



190 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

He was presented by Sir Roger Twysden, Bart., in right of his wife. 
1768. Daniel Hill, vicar of East Mailing. 

He was vicar of East Mailing from 1762 to 1805, and was also vicar 
of Yalding. He was buried at East Mailing. He was presented by 
Sir Roger Twysden, Bart., in right of his wife. 

1805. Peter Elers. 

He had been curate of Trottescliffe, Birling, and Addington. He 
was buried in the churchyard. In the register we read : 

1820. " Rev. Peter Elers, Nov. 14, aged 62 years." Presented by Leonard 

Bartholomew, Esq. 

1821. Thomas Bowdler. 

He was instituted to Ash and Ridley in 1811. He resigned in 
1834. He was presented by Hon. John Wingfield Stratford. 

1834. George Robert Paulson, on resignation of the last. 

In his incumbency the church was restored by the widow of the 
Hon. John Wingfield Stratford, in the year 1856. He died August 
14th, 1869, and was buried here, as we read in the registers : 

George Robert Paulson, rector, 71. 20 August, 1869. 
His brother also is buried here : 

1857. John Thomas Paulson, Commander in the Royal Navy, June 4, aged 
58 years. 

And his widow : 

Fanny Paulson, aged 50 years. 28 Feby., 1870. 
Mr. Paulson was presented by Hon. John Wingfield Stratford. 

1869. James Newton Heale, previously vicar of Swindon, Staffordshire, and 
afterwards vicar of Orpington, Kent. He was presented by J. Wing- 
field Stratford, Esq. 

The handsome reredos was erected in memory of John Wingfield 
Stratford, Esq., by his widow, at Christmas, 1881. 

1883. Julian Guise, on the resignation of the last ; previously vicar of Lea, 
Gloucestershire, presented by Edw. John Wingfield Stratford, Esq., 
the present rector. 

Besides those mentioned above we have the following clergy : 

1620. Robert Wheeler, Doctor of Divinity, and Mary Clerke, were married by 
a licence, ye 8th of February. 

Thomas, ye sen of Thomas Pyke, vicar of West Mailing, and Elizabeth his 
wife, was born on Saturday ye ninth day of April, and was baptised 
on Tuesday ye third day of May, in ye yeare of our Lord God 169K, 

The registers of Addington commence in the year 1562, without 
any preface. The first entry is : 

1562. Thomas Booreman, son of John Booreman, on the third day of March 
was baptised. 



THE REGISTERS. 191 

A little lower down we read, " Memorandum, that in 1575 was 
omitted these five names following " which are then given. The 
next is a remarkably early entry of the name of the officiating 
clergyman. 

1610. James, ye sonne of Arnold Curlen, the 23rd day, was baptised by Mr. 

Hooper, parson of Offham. 
1641. Baptised, the . . . son of ... flower. 

The omissions show the clerk filled in from memory. 

1610. A maid called Joan Wood was buried, from Anthony Godden's, x th of 

December. 
1622. The fourth day of November, a poor child of a wayfarer, name unknown, 

was buried. 
1565. Joan Godden, the servant to Mr. Tilden, the 4th day of November, was 

buried. 

1567. John Martin, a frameyer, the seventh day of March, was buried. 
1569. Robert Stilt, alias Round, the fourth day of February, buried. 
1582. The eleventh of March, a gentlewoman of rich birth from Mr. Daus, 

was buried. 

The strangeness of this entry consists in the clerk knowing this 
lady to be of rich birth yet he does not know her name. 

In the years 1578, 1579, 1580, 1581, 1583 and 1599 no marriages 
are entered. The marriages under Cromwell's Act render the 
registers of Addington most peculiarly interesting. 

1651. Married, John Storey and Susanna of Wrotham, the 19th of June. 

1654. John Henge and Margaret Sladden were married, their banns being 
first published 3 several daies, the 8th day of June. 

1656. Thomas Hatch and Margaret Hatch were married by Justice Maddun 

of Boxley, and by the minister of Addington, the twenty-fourth day 
of Sept. 

1657. John Kendon of Stanstead and Mary Woollett of Meopham, were 

married the 15th day of September, 1657, having three several 

market days their banns published in Rochester. 
1657. William Shileren and Helen Stimpson, both of Tonbridge, were 

married the 31st day of January, 1657, their banns being 3 several 

daies published in the market of Tonbridge, by the J(us)t(ic)e of 

the peace. 
1673. Richard Fen and Catherine Noale were married by banns, 18th 

December, though here inscribed. (This entry is inserted between 

1657 and 1659.) 
1659. John Dennis of Boxley, in Kent, and Mary Boorman of Ryarsh in the 

said county, their intended marriage being 3 several market days 

published in Maidstone, and no exception against them, were 

married the 7th day of April. 

1659. John King and Susannah Prior, both of Wrotham, having had their 

proposed marriage 3 several Lord's days in the congregation of 
Wrotham published, were solemnly married at Addington the 13th 
of October. 

1660. Thomas Wood and Sarah ffenne, of ye parish of Ash, having a licence, 

were married February 7th. 

The second register is headed, " This register booke was bought 
at the charge of the parish of Addington, May 25, 1675, Robert 
Topp being then Rector." 



192 MEMORIES OF MALLINQ AND ITS VALLEY. 

1691. William Woorsley, born at Tenterden, was publickly baptised in ye 

parish church of Addington (being of years of discretion), January 

4th, 169091. 
1698. Elizabeth, ye daughter of Mary and James Watts, jun., of this parishe 

was borne and baptised October ye 7th. 
1752. Joshua Cole, an adult, aged about 44, bapt. May 24. 
1752. John, son of William and Mary Nettlefold, born Oct. 10, bapt, Oct. 22. 

Pencil note : Died 1840 in Mailing Union, (a case of 94 being bond 

fide reached). 

1771. William de Coffee, a black, baptized January 24. 
1773. Ann, daughter of Henry and Ann Jeffreys, named Feb. 20, brought 

to church May 15. 
1687. William Terry, of Trotterycliffe, widower, and Mary Lamb, of 

Addington, were married, the banns being first lawfully published, 

May 5th. 
Married An 0> Domini 174S, Thomas Draper, a parishioner of the parish of 

St. Anne's, Boar Street, Soho Square, London, by serving an 

apprenticeship to John Greenway, a currier, and Elizabeth Meads, 

a traveller, were married by banns, August 18. 
1732. Buried, Sarah, a stranger, Feb. 16th. 
1757. William Barton, a foundling infant, buried June 23. 
1834. Priscilla, daughter of Philip and Anne Rowlands. 

In the column for the abode of the deceased is entered " Vagrants," 
and for their profession is entered " Vagrancy," by Rev. Geo. Paulson, 
who was then rector. 

The remaining register that dates from the sixteenth century is 
that of 

EAST MALLING. 

The church, which is dedicated in. the name of " St. James," is one 
of the finest in the neighbourhood ; but though very ancient, there 
is little to be traced in it of Norman or earlier times, compared with 
some of the parishes of which we are speaking. The records of the 
incumbents are fairly complete for nearly 700 years. 

1311. Sir William Nicholas, dean of Shoreham, in the time of Edward I., is 

mentioned in the Kentish Fines. 
1323. Thomas de Leghton, on the death of the last incumbent, as we learn 

from the Lambeth registers. 
1363. John Lorkyn. 

He looked successfully after the loaves and fishes of his living, 
as he obtained from the abbess of West Mailing the grant of certain 
tithes for the augmentation of his salary, and also added the chapel 
of Newhythe and its income to the living. 

Simon Blake resigned. 

1370. John Kempstan ; changed with 

1371. Robert de Gaynesburgh, vicar of St. Clements', Sandwich ; changed 

with 
1373. William Chamberlayne, vicar of Lullingstone. 

John Aston ; changed with 

1401. Nicholas Grene, vicar of Altisdon, dio. Chichester ; changed with 
1410. Richard Smyth, vicar of Ffrenyngham (Farningham) ; changed with 
1415. John Wyndesor or Windsor, vicar of Welcombe (London diocese). 



THE REGISTERS. 193 

1435. Robert atte Kyrke, on the death of Windsor. 

Thomas . 

1439. William Codlyng, changes with Thomas . 

1467. William Merbury, vicar of Paddlesworth, near Snodland, changes with 

Codlyng. 
1522. Richard Adams, prebend of the high mass in the monastery of West 

Mailing. 

Was vicar of East Mailing as is shown by his brass in East 
Mailing church, but he is not noticed in the archiepiscopal registers 
at Lambeth, which are very incomplete from 1435 1556. 

Roland Rice deprived. 

1556. John Wells ; presented by the serene princes Philip and Mary, king 
and queen of England. 

I suppose this entry of Cardinal Pole's register, to be one of the few 
public documents that can be found, acknowledging Philip what he 
was not, but what his too faithful wife laboured to make him king 
of England. 

1571. John Wheler, on the death of John Wells. 

In his days the registers start, in which are preserved in a wonder- 
fully continuous chain, the incumbents of East Mailing. He was 
buried here according to the registers. 

1576. Buried was John Wheler, clerke, vicar of East Mailing, the 8th of 

November. 
1576. Launcelot Sympson ; on the death of John Wheler. 

There are several entries in the registers, referring to himself 
and his family. 

1591. Married was Robert Chambers, clarke, and Anne Hartridge, the 8th 
day of June, baptised was Launcelot, the son of Launcelot Simpson, 
clarke, the same day. 

1594. Baptised was Bridget Simpson, the daughter of Launcelot Simpson, 
clarke, ye 30 day of May. 

1596. Baptised was Mary Simpson, the daughter of Launcelot Simpson, 

clarke, the 20th day of August. 

1597. Buried was Judith Simpson, the daughter of Launcelot Simpson, the 

5th day of April. 
1627. Buried was Launcelot Simpson, vicar of East Mailing, Dec. xxvii. 

In his day the paten was given to the parish. 
1627. Robert Whittle. 

There are many entries referring also to this vicar and his 
family : 

1630. Married Nov. 25, were Robert Whittle, vicar, and Bridget Holmden. 

1631. Baptised, August 28, was William, the son of Robert Whittle, vicar, 

baby born seventeenth day. 

1632. Baptised, February 26, was Thomas, the son of Robert Whittle, vicar, 

being born the thirteenth day of same month. 

13 



194 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1634. Baptised, February 17, was George, the son of Robert Whittle, clerk, 
and Bridget his wife, born the fourth day. 

1637. Baptised, January 16, was Robert, the son of Robert Whittle and 

Bridget his wife, being born January 1st. 

1638. Buried, June 25th, was Robert, the son of Robert Whittle and Bridget 

his wife. 
4663. Married, July 26, George Sampson and Frances Whittle. 

1667. Buried. Dec. 9, George, the son of Robert Whittle, vicar. 

1668. Buried, March 1st, Bridget the wife of Robert Whittle, vicar. 

1671. Frances Sampson, widow, daughter of Robert Whittle, vicar of East 
Mailing. 

This entry is inserted without dates, between the entries of Oct. 8th 
and Nov. 7th in this year. 

1673. Buried, March 10th, Thomas Whittle, the son of Robert Whittle, vicar. 
1673. Baptised, July llth, Robert, the son of Thomas Whittle. 
1679. Buried, July 16th, Robert Whittle, late vicar of East Mailing. 
1679. Buried, Nov. 10, William Whittle, minister of Luddesdown. 
1732. Jany. 21. Baptised was Thomas, ye son of Robert Whittle and Judith 
his wife. 

1734. Sept. 27. Baptised was Mary, ye daughter of Robert Whittle and Judith 

his wife. 

1735. Jany. 23. Baptised was Judith, ye daughter of Robert Whittle and 

Judith his wife. 

1737. December 7. Baptised was George, ye son of Robert Whittle ; buried 

Oct. 3rd. 

1738. April 1. Baptised Thomas, ye son of Robert and Judah Whittle, 

Jany. 8, 1738. 

1739. Buried, Robert Whittle also, September 25th. 

1811. Married Feby. 15th, John Allen and Sophia Augusta Whittle. 
1679. John Crosse. 

So is the name in the registers ; but on one of the bells, five of which 
are dated 1695, it is spelt Grosse; there are several baptisms of his 
family. 

1681. Baptised, 9th of October, Frances, the daughter of John Crosse, vicar, 
and Elizabeth his wife. 

1683. Baptised, 25th day of May, was Philip, the son of John Crosse, vicar, 

and Elizabeth his wife. 

1684. Baptised, 20th day of July, was John, the son of John Crosse, vicar, 

and Elisabeth his wife. 

1685. Baptised, Oct. 13th, was Harry, the son of John Crosse, vicar, and 

Elizabeth his wife. 

1686. Baptised, Oct. 20th, was Elizabeth, the daughter of John Crosse, vicar. 

and Elizabeth his wife. 

1688. Baptised, Feby. 6th, was Anne, daughter of John Crosse, vicar. 

1689. Baptised, July 26, Sarah, daughter of John Crosse, vicar. 
1693. Baptised, May 19, Jane, daughter of John Crosse, vicar. 
1705. April 26. Buried was Jane, ye daughter of Mr. Crosse. 
1705. July 14. Buried was Frances, daughter of Mr. Crosse. 
1701. Richard Borrow. 

There are the entries of two of his children : 

1701. Nov. 22. Baptised was John, ye son of Richard Berrow, vicar of this 
parish, and Catherine his wife. 



THE REGISTERS. 195 

1703. Jany. 23. Baptised was Millicent, ye daughter of Richard Borrow, vicar 

of this parish, and of Catherine his wife, born on ye 22nd. 
1 05. Thomas Hill. He was buried here. 

There are a number of entries of his family. 

1706. Jany. 8th. Baptised Elizabeth, ye daughter of Thomas Hill, vicar, being 

bom Dec. 28th. 

1707. Feby. 25. Baptised Thomas, ye son of Thomas Hill, vicar, being born 

13th of same month. 

1708. July 2. Baptised Anne, ye daughter of Thomas Hill, born ye 28th 

same month, about noon. 
1710. Feby. 25. Baptised Richard, son of Thomas Hill, being born ye 24. 

1712. May 12. Baptised Edward, ye son of Thomas Hill, vicar, being borne 

April ye 3rd. 

1713. March 13. Buried Edward, son of Thomas Hill, vicar. 

1714. March 1st. Baptised, born Feby. 17th, Susan, daughter of T. Hill, 

vicar. 

1718. Sept 16. Buried Mr. Thomas Hill, vicar of East Mailing. 
1718. Thomas Cockman. 

There are no entries of this vicar's family. He obtained a dis- 
pensation to hold Trottescliffe in 1 724 with East Mailing, he died 
in 1741. The East Mailing flagon and alms dish date from this 
time. 

1742. William Perfect. 
Of his family, we have this information from the registers : 

1748. Buried Mrs. Dorothy Perfect, the vicar's daughter. 

1756. Baptised Oct. 19, was Sarah, the daughter of Mr. William Perfect and 

Mrs. Elizabeth his wife, by his grandfather the present vicar. Witness 
my hand, WILLIAM PEBFECT. 

1757. Buried the Reverend Mr. William Perfect, vicar, June 8th. 
1803. Buried Mrs. Perfect, 58. 

Thomas Gowland Sherret and Sarah Perfect, married July 24, 1757. 

1757. Richard Jacob. 

He was also vicar of New Romney. There are two entries of his 
children : 

1758. Philip, son of Richard Jacob, vicar, and Anne his wife, Sept. 1st 
1760. July 25th. Mary, daughter of Richard Jacob, vicar, and Anne his wife. 
Buried, Sept. 9. Richard Jacob, A.M., vicar, 1762. 

1792. Feby. 28th. Mary Jacob, widow of the late vicar, 73. 
1762. Daniel Hill. 

He was also rector of Addington, 1768-1805, and for some time 
vicar of Yalding. There are entries in the register that show this 
pluralist vicar was resident here. 

1782. Jany. 29. Buried, Susanna, wife of Daniel Hill, vicar. 

1793. Jany. 10. William Hill, A.M., rector of Wickham Bishop in Essex, and 

canon of the Cathedral Church of Wells, buried. 
1796. July 25. Lastitia Hill, widow, daughter of Daniel Hill, vicar, 46, 

buried. 

1805. Feby. 26. Daniel Hill, vicar, in the 94th year of his age, buried. 
1784. May 25. William Hill, clerk, and Ljetitia HilL 
1805. Samuel Francis Godmond. 



196 MEMORIES OF MALL ING AND ITS VALLEY. 

There are several entries of this vicar's family, into whose hands 
the presentation had then fallen. 

1807. Baptised, April 5, Ellen Elizabeth Jackson, daughter of Rev d - Samuel 

Francis, and Anne Godmond, born, Jany. 28. 

1808. Baptised. Nov. 2, Mary Anne, daughter of Rev d< Samuel Francis and 

Anne Godmond, born Jany. 18. 

1828. Buried, Nov. 5th. James William Godmond, aged 17 years. 
183!>. Isaac Singleton Godmond, clerk, June 8th, aged 34 years, buried. 
1845. October 2nd. Rev d> Samuel Francis Godmond, clerk, vicar of East 

Mailing, aged 72 years. 

In his days, the East Mailing bell No. 1 was added. 

1845. C. F. Godmond held the living for two years. He was son of the Rev"' 

Samuel Francis Godmond ; upon his resignation, 

1847. William Lewis Wigan obtained the incumbency, the advowson of 
which had been purchased by the family. 

There are five of his family mentioned in the registers previous 
to his own burial, which we find in the registers thus : 

1876. January 13. Buried William Lewis Wigan, vicar of the parish of 
St. James. R.I. P. 58. 

He greatly ornamented the church, and in his time the Newhythe 
chapel was built, of which we shall speak more particularly below, 
which was erected in the year 1854. 

1876. Septimus Wigan. 

He was previously vicar of Fring, Norfolk, 1861-66; chaplain 
of Faversham Almshouses, 1866-67 ; vicar of Tettenhall, Stafford, 
1867-74. His wife and daughter are buried here. He is the present 
vicar. 

Besides these, there are the following entries of clergy in this 
Register : 

Buried 1784, Dec. 17, Thomas Hartley, clerk, rector of Winwick in Northamp- 
tonshire, 77. 

1795. Margaret Ramsay, daughter of Reverend Richard and Sarah Warde, 
was born. Jany. 31, bapt. Feby. 1. 

Mr. Warde, in the year following, was appointed rector of Ditton. 

1814. Jany. 13. Rev. John Henry Norman, of Harrietsham, and Elizabeth 
Norris, married. 

1881. April 21. Rev. Frederick William Reade, and Harriet Dadson, married. 
Besides these we have the christening of 3 sons and one daughter, of the Rev. 
William Frederick and Dora Mary Woods, and of two daughters of the Rev. 
Henry Amherst and Constance Eleanor Orlebar, and two sons of the Rev. 
Octavius Charles Legge and Jane Monkhouse Wilkinson. 

The registers of East Mailing begin, " Burials, Marriages and 
Christenings in the Parish of East Mailing, 1570." 
One of the earliest entries is in 1570. 

Baptised was Robert, the sonne of George Thomas, without any swathing, 
the 9th of January. 



THE REGISTERS. 197 

1571. Buried was Johan Pyne, the daughter of one Pyne of London, the 2nd 

of June. 

1582. Buried was a nurse child the 14th day of April 
1588. Buried was mother Smith the 14th of September. 

1597. Buried was one who said he was borne in Hartfordsheere, the 29th day 

of August. 

1598. Buried was Thomas Foster, a Sussex man, who died soon after he was 

released out of prison, 28th February. (The prison we suppose was 
Maidstone.) 

We have after this, several entries of poor girls and poor women. 

1628. Buried, Jany. 18, was old Will Johnson. 

1631. Buried, March the 19th, was Francis Lewis, a vagrant, who died as he 

was passing to Lullingstone, in Kent. 

1631. Buried October 15th, a chrisom child of Richard Pierson. 
1631. Buried October 24th, was Alice the wife of Thomas Parsley, and her 

chrisom child, of the said Thomas Parsley (cum aliis).* 

N.B. The register of the marriage of George Fowler and Harriet Bassett, 
which occurs in the year headed 1726, was a forgery perpetrated by individuals, 
who it is hoped will be brought to justice. This wicked insertion is obvious 
from its outward visible sign, viz., after the register of Oct. 28th. " Baptised 
John, the son of John Phipps," is inserted " May ye 21, married George Fowler 
to Hannah Bassett." 

On the page between 1641 and 1642, we find this curious insertion, 
and again, in the year 1726, we find the insertion again. It has 
evidently been written there over a previous entry which had been 
erased, and is of later date than the entries before and after it, and 
written in blacker ink. 

1647. At the end of the entries for this year is an interpolation 
of much later date. 

Born at the parish of Goudhurst, was Abraham Walter, the son of John 
Walter, the ii. day of August. 

In this century though the register is never blank, still in 1624 
there are only four entries, in 1625 fifteen entries, in 1648 only three 
entries, in 1649 six entries, in 1650 eight entries, and in 1651 four 
entries. 

1653. Married, December 27, Thomas Worlidge, hoyman,-j- and Susan Norton 

after publication of the intention thereof .three proceeding lord's 
dayes. 

1654. Buried July the 17th, was an apprentice of Thomas Ward, yt was 

drowned. 

The clerk does not seem to have troubled much about the un- 
fortunate youth's name. 

* A chrisom child was a child under a month ; so named from the " oil " or 
" chrisom " used formerly in anointing at baptism. The white vestment used in 
Baptism was also named a chrisom. 

f Hoys appear to have been frequent at Newhythe, at this date (though now 
we have only barges), by several entries of this style in the register. 



198 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1657. Baptised John, James, and Mary, the three children of Bathe on 

February 1657. 

The next entry is the burial of this triplet. 

There are no marriages in the years 1655, 1656, 1658, 1659 and 
1661. 

1695. March 10, married John Adams, and Temperance Davies. 

In this we have the survival of one of the quaint old Common- 
wealth Puritan Christian names, some of which, as Charity, Mercy, 
Constance and Prudence, have lasted even down to our own times. 

1706. July 30. Buried a strange boy, that was drowned at Newhythe. 

1706. Dec. 17. Buried old Goody Mills. (A not uncommon entry.) 

1707. Jany 13. Buried Eliza, ye wife of Goodman Curteis. 

1708. Jany 14. Buried old Goodman Wood. (These entries are frequent.) 
1739. Feby 20. Married John Foster, of ye parish of Brentsley, and Mary 

Wingate, after ye banns had been thrice published, and she had 
assured me her former husband was dead. 
1753. Buried Dec 4, (aged 105), ye widow Baker. 

There is a stone to this old centenarian, let into the wall of the 
church on the outside of the west door. 

1755. Feby. 23. Baptised ye son of John Shepherd, of Larkfield, being about 

a quarter old when baptised. 
1760. March 8th. Maria Anne, daughter of John Charlton, and Anne his wife, 

was rec d- into the congregation, being privately baptised three years 

before. 

1760. October 9th, two strangers buried. 
1764. Nov. 10. Augustina Barham, an infant from the Foundling Hospital. 

This shows that East Mailing like the rest of the parishes round 
took the foundlings from London in the eighteenth century. 

A paper in the early registers tells us that in 1776, when Rev. 
Daniel Hill was incumbent, there were 953 inhabitants, and no 
dissenters : five men were furnished to the national militia. This 
last entry shows us that the early movement for forming militia 
was listened to in our valley. 

1777. Nov. 24. A man unknown found dead in the Medway. 
1789. June 12. John, a cooper, unknown, about 50. 

Here is an instance of very recent date, of how it is we find so 
many people called after trades ; not only is it because some were 
so named, originally, but also that persons whose names had been 
forgotten were named after their trades when nought else could be 
remembered at all. 

1798. Nov. 8. Elizabeth Ann, d r< of Thomas and Mary Spicer, nearly five 
years old, baptised at Lynn in Norfolk, but fully so here. 

In this entry we trace an early example of that curious idea of 
the poor that a person privately baptised has not been really 
christened, which they signify by calling it half -named. 



THE REGISTERS. 199 

We have also this insertion : 

N.B. The tablet erected to the memory of the Rev*- D. Hill, A.M., was at 
ye joint and equal charges of Lady Twisden (widow of the late Sir Roger), 
Mrs. E. Norris, Charles Smith, Esq. (who was many years a resident of the 
rectory house in this parish), and Miss Smith, his sister, now of West Mailing 
then (1828) of the rectory, and founder of the alms houses in Mill Street : the 
intention of this praiseworthy act originated with the latter lady. 

1820. Robert Waggon, March 12, 67 years ; 33 years clerk of this parish, the 
duties of which office he fulfilled with credit and general respect. 

The chapel of ease to East Mailing called Newhythe is half-way 
between the hamlets of Newhythe and Larkfield, and was erected in 
1854. The various curates have succeeded each other as follows : 
Rev. R. Dimock, 18541872, Rev. S. Wigan, 1874, Rev. F. H. 
D. Ness, 1876, Rev. W. F. Woods, 1881, and Rev. 0. Legge 
Wilkinson, 1888. Mr. Wigan informs the author that Newhythe 
has never been held as a curacy -in-charge, but the clergyman for 
the time being has been always looked upon as only a curate of 
East Mailing. 

The next oldest register, after East Mailing, in the valley is that of 

ALLINGTON, 

which, however, is sixty years later, and with the two neighbouring 
parishes of Aylesf ord and Ditton, dates from the seventeenth century ; 
it commences in the year 1630. The parish church is dedicated in 
the name of " St. Laurence," but it has been completely rebuilt only 
a few years ago; with the exception of tho *ower, which is probably 
fifteenth-century work, there are no traces either of the Norman 
or the Perpendicular in the building. So much has the church been 
altered that even the old inscriptions of Thorpe's days have dis- 
appeared. The incumbents we have found to be as follows : 

1132. Robert de Donam. 

1279. Odo. This vicar engaged in a suit with Gregory de Elmhixm, whether 

Longsole belonged to Allington or Aylesford. 
1318. Jordan De Sale ; presented by Henry de Cobham. 
1322. Thomas de Clare. 
1326. Simon Ladasville. 
1358. Richard Broot. 

Richard Bricton. 
1361. Henry atte Chambre, in succession to Richard Bricton. 

Richard Grigg. 
1394. William Levinge, by change with Richard Grigg. He was previously 

vicar of Bearsted. 

1398. John Essex, on the resignation of William Levinge. 
1402. John de Wareham. 
1404. John May. 

1404. John Crip. Also vicar of Beauchamp. 
1422. William Sprote. 
1431. John Disse. 
1461. Simon Drake. 

John Wyllys. 



200 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1461 . Richard Yogesby on the resignation of John Wyllys. 
1514. Robert Saunders. a monk of Boxley. 

Robert Hedcorn. 
1530. Richard Taylor, on the resignation of Robert Hedcorn ; presented by 

Sir Henry Wyatt. 
1576. Thomas Ely. 
1582. Robert Carr ; presented by the Crown. 

It would appear that the old cup of the church belongs to his 
time, as it dates from 1599. 

1622. William Carr. 

Instituted, according to the Rochester registers, to the " Parish 
church of Allington Castle." In his days the registers commence. 

1636. Edmund Jackson. 
1636. Richard Thomas. 

This clergyman is buried in the churchyard, as we learn from a 
tombstone : 

" Hie jacet Richard Thomas, magister in artibus utriusque academic nuper 
pastor hujus ecclesise, qui obiit Feby. 8. 1656." 

The entry is not to be found in the register. In his days the bell 
was hung. He mentions himself as having christened Jacob Ashley, 
in 1651. 

1656. John Collins, was presented, on the death of Thomas, by Isaac Astley. 

In the year 1659, the living of Allington was declared worth 
Q 16s., and the patronage was then in the hands of Lord Aylesford. 
Collins was also rector of Bearsted. 

1677. Edward Darby, mentioned in the register. 

1711. John Pdchards, succeeded Edward Darby. 

He is mentioned in the registers. 

1712. John Richards, succeeded his father. 

He soon after obtained also the living of Teston, and after that he 
obtained the living of Nettlestead also, when he resigned Allington. 
Hasted tells us that he died " distracted "in 1761. 

1714. Richard Spencer. 

In his days the paten-cover, dated 1726, was probably presented. 
This rector was presented by Lord Romney. 

1757. Edward Weller. 
We have an entry of his performing a marriage in the year 1769. 

790. Jacob Marsham, D.D., son of the 2nd Baron Romney ; was canon of 
Windsor, and canon of Rochester. 

Amongst his children were the late head of Merton College, Oxford, 
and the vicar of Shorne, in this county. 

1831. George Frederick John Marsham. 



THE REGISTERS. 201 

He is the first rector that appears to have been resident for many 
years. We have a number of entries finishing with the burials of 
his wife, and himself, who died both of them at an early age : 

Baptism*. 

1838. Feby. 15. Catherine Elizabeth, daughter of George Frederick John 

(clerk) and Elizabeth Marcia Marsham. 
1840. July 2. Marcia Elizabeth Maria, daughter of George Frederick John 

(clerk) and Elizabeth Marcia Marsham. 

1842. Feby. 4. Frances Penelope, daughter of George Frederick John 

(clerk) and Elizabeth Marcia Marsham. 

1843. Sept. 10. Elizabeth Isabella Sophia, daughter of George Frederick 

John (clerk) and Elizabeth Marcia Mareham. 

1845. Dec. 11. George Jacob, son of George Frederick John (clerk) and 
Elizabeth Marcia Marsham. 



1845. December 26. Buried, George Jacob Marsham. 

1848, May 21. Annie Harriet, daughter of George Frederick John (clerk) 
and Elizabeth Marcia Marsham, baptised. 

1848. May 27. Buried, Annie Harriet Marsham. 

1849. April 23. George, son of George Frederick John (clerk) and Elizabeth 

Marcia Marsham, baptised. 

1849. April 26. Elizabeth Marcia Marsham, aged 38 years, buried. 
1852. George Frederick John Marsham, aged 45, buried Feby. 5. 

Mr. Marsham was vicar of Hailing, as well as rector of 
Allington. 

1852. Edward Brown Heawood. 

Of whose family there are several entries. Mr. Heawood is the 
present rector. 

Besides the clergy mentioned above we have in the register : 

Jonas Provost, of London, cleric, and Susan Clarke, of Maidstone, widow, 
were married 10th July, 1648. 

Rodulphus Mabbe, Generosus Magister Cantab., clericus, et vicarius Ecclesiae 
de Gran (Grain ?) sepultns f uit 28th August, 1649. 

1631. James Wilson, of Boughton, in the county of Kent, clerk, and Mary 
Rayner of Hollingbourne, in the county of Kent, spinster, were 
married together in the church upon the fourth day of March, Anno 
Domini 1631, by licence from the facultie. 

1736. The Reverend Mr. Edward Crank, of the parish of Goudhurst, and 
Mrs. Mary Philcox, of the parish of Horsmonden, were married 
May 1st. 

We have several curious entries in the registers as under. The 
book is prefaced : " The registers of the^Christenings, Marriages, and 
Burials in the parish of Allington, near Maidstone, in the county 
of Kent, began in Anno Dni. 1630." 

We have a number of baptisms, etc., from Maidstone : 

1649. Thomas, the son of Thomas More, dead of Maidstonc, and Elizabeth 

his wife, the 20th of September. 
1722. Samuel, a black servant to Mr. Goatley, was baptised. 

At the end of the baptismal register we read : " The account of 
the inhabitants of Allington is taken by Robert Fauchon, overseer, 



202 MEMORIES OF CALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

on the 27th of July, 1811. Thomas Britten, parish clerk at the 
time. Males 31, females 24 ; total 55." 

The number of marriages was wonderfully augmented by strangers 
from 1648-1653, owing to Cromwell's Act ; probably on account of 
the passage boats on the river, and the sequestered position of the 
church, which gave opportunity for runaway matches. A singular 
thing about these weddings is that nearly all the bridegrooms are 
described as widowers : the number of weddings almost reached the 
probable population one year ; they were 12 in 1648 ; 18 in 1649 ; 
32 in 1650 ; 38 in 1651 ; 29 in 1652 ; and 25 in 1653. After this we 
find no marriages in 1654, 1656, 1657, 1659, 1683, and during the 
whole periods from 16861695, 16991713, and from 17361744. 

October ye 22, 1753. William Fraser, of the parish of St. Laurence Poulteney, 
London, and Mary Evans, of St. Mary Abchurch, London. 

This marriage was solemnised in the parish church of Allington, in the 
county of Kent, this eighteenth day of October, 1769, between John Fauchon, 
of the parish of Xorthfleet, in the county of Kent, and Susannah Russel, of 
this parish, by me E. Weller, rector. John Fauchon, Susannah Russell. Witness, 
Henry Butt, John Russell. This marriage was registered in this book, a new 
one not at this time having been provided. 

Will Field, of the Hermitage,* was buried the twenty-fifth day of April, 1639. 

John Fletcher, of Little Buckland, was buried the 14th of March, 1650. 

Whereas I am credibly informed, upon the oath of Robert Fauchon, of 
Allington, in the county of Kent, farmer, that on the seventeenth day of June 
instant Elizabeth Barrett, a child of about ten years of age, was found drowned 
in that part of the river Medway lying in the said parish of Allington, that the 
said child had been missing for a week past, and appears to have been drowned 
by accident ; these are therefore to certify that you permit the body of the said 
child to be buried, and for your so doing this warrant and authority is given 
under my hand and seal the 18th day of June, 1803. GEO. MILLS, Coroner. 

Henry Russell, found dead in the River Medway, in this parish, Oct. 5th, 1859. 
Age about 50. 

John Rawson, drowned in the river Medway in this parish, by accident, 
Jany. 27, 1862. 

The next oldest register is that of 

AYLESFORD. 

The church, which is dedicated in the name of the apostle St. Peter, 
has been thoroughly renovated. The building is of the fourteenth 
century. 

The various incumbents of Aylesford, we have found, are as follows 
(those previous to the Reformation were presented by the monastery 
of St. Andrew's, Rochester ; those after that period by the chapter) : 

1145. Jordan. 

1285. Gregory de Elham. 

This vicar had a dispute as to whether the Hermitage of Longsole 
belonged to Aylesford or Allington. It appears in the end to have 
been incorporated in Allington parish. 

* This is the last record of the Hermitage of Longsole, if we except the name 
Hermitage woods that still survive. 



THE REGISTERS. 203 

Thomas de Borstall. 

1326. Galfridus de Cowling ; also vicar of Chilham in this county. 

1327. John Orset. 
1329. JohnAcholt. 

1336. Robert de Haldene succeeded John Acholt. 

Richard Baker. 

1394. John de Battiscombe, on the resignation of John Baker. 
1397. William Gorynge, on the resignation of John de Battiscombe. 
1404. John Long. 

1422. John Stubbercroft disputes Longsole with Thomas Wilson of Ditton, 
and William Sprote of Allington. 

. William Handton, alias Stringer. 

1425. William Battisford, instead of Handton. 
1425. Philip Arngorm, y>ro William Battisford. 

Richard Bride. 

1432. John Hill succeeds Richard Bride. 

William Redysdale. 

1451. Thomas Carter. 

Mentioned also as vicar in 1459, 1462, and 1464. 

John Rose. 

1621. Henry Fletcher, on the death of John Rose. 

He afterwards became vicar of West Mailing, and prebend of the 
High Mass of Mailing Abbey, whereupon he resigned Aylesford. 

1524. Robert Blacus, on the resignation of Fletcher. 

1572. Thomas Shastebrook. 

1574. William Giles. 

1593. Henry Barnewell ; was also rector of Banning, and afterwards, in 1605, 

archdeacon of Rochester. 
1608. George Smith. 

The first Aylesford cup and paten are dated 1628. 

Henry Eryngton. 

In his days the registers commence. He was buried here, as we 
learn from them : 

1654. Henry Eryngton, Esq., vicar of this parish, was buried 20th September. 
The fourth and fifth bells of Aylesford date from 1652. 

1654. Joseph Jackson. 

Is called minister of Aylesford in the first leaf of the registers. 

1655. Daniel Aldene. 

Is mentioned as buried here. We read in the register : 

1666. Daniel Aldene, gent., minister of this pariah, and one of the surrogates 
of the diocese of Rochester, and brother of Dr. Edward Aldene, 
chancellor of the said diocese, was buried the first day of September. 

The seventh bell (1661), and the eighth bell (1666), belong to the 
incumbency of Mr. Aldene. 

1666. Thomas Tilson. 

In 1679 he was appointed rector of Ditton, and held the two 



204 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

livings together till his death in 1702. There are many of the 
family of this vicar mentioned in the registers as well as himself. 

1671. Hugh, the son of Mr. Thomas Tilson and Joane, his wife, was baptised 

the xith day of October. 
1673. Sarah, the daughter of Mr. Thomas Tilson, vicar, and of Joane, his 

wife, was borne Dec. 6th, and christened ye 16th of ye same Dec. 
167-1. Thomas, the son of Mr. Thomas Tilson and Joane, his wife, was baptised 

the 16th day of December. 

1677. Maria, the daughter of Mr. Thomas Tilson and Joan, his wife, was 

baptised Sept. 26th. 

1678. Martha, the daughter of Mr. Thomas Tilson. baptised Aug. 23. 

1680. Caleb, the son of Mr. Thomas Tilson and Joanna, his wife, was baptised 

May 25. 

1680. Caleb Tilson was buried June 24th. 
1680. Mrs. Joanna Tilson was buried Aug. 30th. 
1698. Mr. George Luce of St. Margaret's, Westminster, and Mrs. Sarah Tilson 

of Aylesford, were married July 13th. 

1702. Mr. Thomas Tilson, vicar of this parish, was buried July 26th. 
1702. Thomas Tilson, son of the above. 

Was instituted like his father to both Aylesford and Ditton. 
He presented a paten to the parish, on which is inscribed : 

Tuum est domine tibi reddo, T. Tilson, Vic. Aylesford, 172i " ; on the 
flagon is, " Sumptu parochiae de Aylesford, et Thomae Tilson, conjunctim, A.D. 
1711" ; and on the Alms dish, "The gift of Lady Taylor to the Parish of 
Aylesford. T. Tilson, Vic. 172." 

We have a wedding here in his day of one of his family. 
1711. Robert Drew and Mary Tilson were married the 1st day of June. 

He was buried here. There is a monument to him and his father. 
The entry in the register is : 

1749. Rev^' Thomas Tilson was buried Feb. 17th. 

The sixth bell of Aylesford was also added in his days ; it is dated 
1708. 

1749. John La wry. 

He was also rector of Lee, in Kent, which he held together with 
Aylesford. 

1773. Charles Colcall. 

He was vicar of Ashburnham, Bucks, as well as rector of 
Aylesford, and petitioned that he might hold these livings together, 
they being not more than forty miles apart, and was permitted to 
do so. 

1784. William Eveleigh. 

He was also rector of Lamberhurst. There are several entries 
of his family. 

1794. Susannah Rebecca, daughter of William and Susannah Eveleigh, born 
March 31st, baptised 8th of May. 



THE REGISTERS. 205 

1794. Susannah Eveleigh, Aug. 30th, buried. 

1794. John Eveleigh, October 25th, was buried. 

1795. John Eveleigh, May 30th, was buried. 

1798. William George, son of William and Susannah Eveleigh, born Sept. 4, 

1797, baptised Jan. 6. 

1799. John, son of William and Susannah Eveleigh, born May 13th, baptised 

July 21st. 
1801. James, son of William and Susannah Eveleigh, born Aug. 29th, 

baptised September 1st. 
1801. James Eveleigh, September 7th, buried. 
1803. Thomas Chase Eveleigh, Feb. 12, buried. 
1803. William George Eveleigh, August 31, buried. 
1805. Susannah Eveleigh, Jan. 19, buried. 

1808. Susannah Jane, daughter of Rev. William and Susannah Eveleigh, 

born 18 June, baptised July 8. 

1809. William George, son of William and Susannah Eveleigh, born 12th of 

March, baptised Aug. 23. 

1823. August 1, married Henry Fage Bilson of St. Margaret's, Rochester, 
and Anne Hanwood Eveleigh. 

1830. William Eveleigh, LL.B., born July 23, 1757, died Oct. 29, 1830 ; 38 

years vicar ; aged 73 years ; buried. 
1834. Susannah Eveleigh, Feby. 27 ; 68 years ; buried. 

1831. John Griffith was vicar. 

1832. William Tolbutt Staines. 

He is buried here. We find in the registers : 

1840. William Tolbutt Staines, vicar of Aylesford, Oct. 1st, aged 65 years. 
1840. E. G. Marsh. 

In the marriage register we read : 

1856. March 26. Thomas Abbott and Anne Caroline Marsh. 
1862. Anthony Grant. 

He was previously rector of Romf ord and archdeacon of Rochester 
and St. Albans. His daughter's marriage is to be found in the 
register. 

1878. Cyril Fletcher Grant. Honorary canon of Rochester, 1890. 

There are several entries of the vicar's family in the register. 
Other clergy mentioned in this register are : 

1665. William Jole, rector of Ditton, gent., and Mrs. Catherine Aundey of 

West Mailing, were married by virtue of a licence out of ye court 

of Rochester, the 5th day of May. 
1710. Richard, the son of Mr. Hill, minister of East Mailing, was buried here 

at Aylesford, the 4th day ol October. 
1718. Mr. Edward Harrison, clerk, Otham, and Abiezer Betts of the same, 

were married Dec. 4. 
1744. The Rev d> Thomas Marshall Jordan and Susannah Woodgate, both 

single persons of Aylesford, were married April 24th. 
1735. Mary, daughter of the Rev 11 ' Mr. John Williams and Mary, his wife, 

was baptised Feb. 13th. 
1737. John, son of the ReV 1 ' Mr. John Williams and Mary, his wife, was 

baptised Jan. 28th. 
1746. Mary, daughter of the Rev d> Thomas Marshall and Susannah Jordan, 

was baptised Oct. 1st. 
1782. The Rev d - Mr. James Nance, buried Jan. 21st. 



206 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1784. Eev d - Joseph Milner,* D.D., of Preston Hall, buried Aug. 5th. 

1790. Rev d> Richard Warde * and Sarah Ramsay of Gillingham, married 

Feb. 4th. 

1791. Sarah Catharine, daughter of Richard Warde, clerk, and Sarah his 

wife, born 12th Dec. 1790, baptised Jan. loth. 

1843. Rev* 1 - George Lockyer Perry, April 15, buried ; aged 73 years. 
1855. Feb. 12. William Kiteley, clerk, M.A., and Kate Mary Ann Burroughs 

Nash, were married. 

Also the baptism of several children of Rev. A. H. Cheshire. 

There is no preface to the Aylesford registers. Those entries 
that concern Cromwell's Acts have been previously mentioned. As 
in the Allington registers, so we find in the Aylesford registers a 
remarkable number of marriages ; only at rather a later period, from 
1661-1668, are they most numerous here. Most of the bridegrooms 
are described as widowers. There are a great number of weddings 
again about 1701 ; and in 1735 there are entered no less than 40; 
and the marriage of persons, both alien to the parish, we find for 
many years. 

Another curiosity in this register that we notice is that, for 
the first ten years of the register, births are entered instead of 
baptisms, e.g. 

1653. Francis, ye daughter of John Hills and Jane, his wife, was born ye 
viii th day of March. 

1662. Elizabeth, the daughter of George and and Mary Burde, baptised the 
30th day of January, being the first baptised in the new font after 
the iniquities of the tymes had broken down the old one. 

This is the most remarkable testimony to the destruction wrought 
in the churches by the soldiery in the Civil War. Possibly the 
children entered above as born, were not baptised, but received into 
church. 

George Battie, a man who was drowned in the river, or some said his name 
was Thomas Batt, was buried the xxiv th day of April, 1654. 

This entry gives us a remarkable example of the fondness of Kent 
people for adding a " y " to words : we hear still rosey for rose, posty 
for post, and flinty, that is flittymouse. for a flittermouse or bat. 

1680. A stranger, who was found drowned, was buried. Dec. 6. 

1709. A baker was buried here. Feby. 26. 

1709. Anne, daughter of John Dawson and Mary his wife, was born the 25th 
day of August, but was never baptised ; by reason they profess them- 
selves to be of that erroneous sect, of the Dippers or Anabaptists. 

We have the same entry in 1711 of Patience, daughter of the 
same couple. 

1711. Richard, the son of Richard Cogill and Anne, his wife, departed this 
life, here at Aylesford, ye 7th day of February, but was buried at 
Raynham, the 10th day of ye same February. 

1711. Thos. Xormond, a servant that lived at Mr. Porteous', buried ath day 
of April. 

* Also rector of Ditton. 



THE REGISTERS. 207 

1711. Mr. Stalebrass, schoolmaster of the parish, was buried 7th of November. 
John Bessant, son of Nicholas Bessant, marriner, being drowned by casualty 

was buried the xvi th day of June, 1658. 
John Sampson, a stranger, died at the Lady Culpeper's, was buried the 4th 

of September, 1659. 
Thomas Day, being shot by a soldier, who with three others were stealing 

bonds on the warren, was buried the ix th of March, 1660. 
Henry Gorham, and John Allen, the one a bricklayer, and the other a 

carpenter's apprentice, going into ye river at Forman's forstall to 

wash them, being upon the xxv th day of June, 1661, were both 

drowned, and were buried in two several graves in this churchyard, 

the xxvii th day of ye said June, 1661. 

The word " forstall " is in common use in East Kent to this day, 
but not so far west as Aylesford, for the fore part of a farm. 

Peter Dyne, an apprentice to Robert Kembsley of this parish, by falling from 
a horse, or being thrown, or strooke, or trod upon by the horse, so 
bruised and wounded that he died thereof, was buried the xxvi th 
of July 1661. 

1664. Dorothy Birthall, senior, an antient maid, aged about 75 years, buried 
on the 12th February. 

A travelling man who sold earthen pots and other earthenware, being found 
dead in Thomas Smith's barn, was buried in the said Thomas Smith's 
orchard the said seventh day of February, 1665. 

It is possible this orchard was one of the sacred grounds belonging 
to Tollington, Cossington, or Eccles chapels ; if not, it is strange this 
interment, which would be then most irreligious, should be entered 
on the Aylesford registers. 

Richard Kemsell and his child, being unbaptised, was buried the one and 
twentieth day of October, 1666. 

John Philpot, a stranger, being taken blind at Rochester, the nineteenth, as 
was expressed in his pass then dated and given under the hand and 
seal of the city of Rochester, aforesaid, to convey the said John 
from officer to officer to Snargate, in the county and shire of Kent, 
his former place of abode, was brought hither ye xx th , and died ye 
xxi 8 *, and was buried here the three and twentieth day of November. 

John Nethersole, a man that dyed at Mr. Duke's at Cossington, was buried 
ye xxvi th day of February 1670. 

1729. Two children of William Groombridge was buried. 

1 750. Thomas, son of David and Honour Phillips, was baptised, Aug. 1 3. Note : 
The parents of the child belong to Lampeter ponsteven (upon Severn) 
in the county of Cardigan, in the principality of Wales, and was 
born in the parish of Maidstone, in Kent. 

According to the late Act of Parliament made in the 24th year 
of his majestie's, King George the Second's, reign, the date begins 
the first day of January, 1752. 

1756. John Henrick Heinman, corporal in Hodenburg's regiment, and Count 
Captain Phalenberg's Company, was buried, March 18th. 

We have several instances of regiments named after their leaders 
about this time, in the different registers. 

1791. Mary Freeman, an infant, daughter of George Freeman, at the Lower 

Blue Bell, was buried Feby. 22. 

1792. Samuel Kemsley, an'infant, from the Upper Blue Bell, was buried May 

the 3rd. 



208 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Edmund Foynter, gardener to the Dowager Lady Aylesford, who was unfor- 
tunately drowned in the river Medway, by the upsetting of a boat in a gale of 
wind, on Thursday Feby. 2, 1792, was buried Feby 7, 1792, aet. 29. N.B. The 
body of Stephen Homers, who was unfortunately drowned with Edmund Poynter, 
by the upsetting of a boat, on Thursday Feby. 12, 1792, aet. 23, was never 
found. 

This is erased and the following added : 

The body of Stephen Somers, was found March the 14th, and buried March 
the 15th, 1792. 

E. Peletea, a private in Captain Coleman's independent company, was buried 
March 14, 1793. 

The last parish whose records begin in the seventeenth century is 

DlTTON. 

The church, which is a good specimen of Norman work, is dedi- 
cated in the name of St. Peter. It is nearly filled with monuments 
to the Brewer and Golding families. 

The names of the rectors discovered are as follows : 

1317. Adam (dictus ad aquam Maydestone, i.e., surnamed Maidstone-water). 
1326. Walter de Koya; presented by the priory of Leeds. 

Bartholomew, rector de Ditton. 

1356. John Eoe. 

1371. Henry Shibbard; also vicar of Marden. 

John King. 

1402. John Sapnethorn, vice John King. 

1422. Thomas Wilson ; disputed Longsole, with the Vicar of Aylesford, and 

rector of Allington. 

1423. Robert Blakstolbe, in place of Thomas Wilson. 
John Florence. 

1442. William Howday, in place of John Florence. 
1444. William Sampson. 

1444. Thomas Thorp, in place of William Sampson. 
1449. John Solom. 

Hugh Hudson. 

1501. Laurence Skoye, on the death of Hugh Hudson. 

1510. Thomas Greane, on resignation of Laurence Skoye. 

1526. John Bechynge, on the death of Thomas Greane. 

1533. David Welling, on the death of John Bechynge ; afterwards rector of 

Paddlesworth cum Dodecirce. 

1533. William Kemp. The last presented by the Convent of Leeds. 
1546. Nicholas Archebolde, in place of William Kemp. 
1554. George Attke, in place of Archebolde, probably deprived. Hasted here 

inserts William Clough. 1553. 
1565. Thomas Bayard, in place of George Attke. 
1577. Hugh Williams ; also rector of Leybourne. 
1579. Edmund Godyn, or Godwin, succeeds Hugh Williams. 
1608. William Prewe ; presented by Richard Shakerley, Esq., on the death of 

Godyn. 
1638. John Smith. 

The No. 1 bell of Ditton belongs to this incumbent's time. The 
first entry in the register is : " 1663. Elizabeth, the daughter of 
John Smith, baptised 12 August." 



THE REGISTERS. 209 

But whether this is the daughter of the rector it were difficult to 
tell. In his days Ditton was worth 11 15s. OcZ., and was in royal 
patronage. 

1663. William Jole. 

In this rector's time the registers were commenced. There are 
two memorials to him in the'church. He and his family are noticed 
in the registers. He was married, as we have already shown, in 
Aylesford Church 1665, on the fifth day of May. 

1665. Daniel, son of William Jole, rector of Ditton, baptised March 8. 

1670. Anne, daughter of William Jole, rector of Ditton, baptised Feby. 1. 

Buryed Feby. 15. 
1672. Thomas, son of William Jole, rector of Ditton, baptised, August 27, 

born, August 31. 

1675. William, son of William Jole, rector of Ditton, baptised, Jany. 15, born 

December 26th, 1674. Buryed April 26. 

1676. Mary, daughter of William Jole, rector of Ditton, baptised Dec. 6th, 

born Nov. 18th. 

1667. Katherine, the wife of William Jole, was buryed Sept. 14th. 
1670. Anne Jole, the daughter of William Jole, was buryed Feby. 16. 
1675. William Jole, son of William Jole, rector, was buryed April 26th. 
1678. William Jole, rector of Ditton, dyed September 19th, buried 21st in ye 

chancel. 

1678. Joseph Smith. 

This rector's incumbency was very short ; as we read in the follow- 
ing year : 

1679. Mr. Joseph Smith, rector, was buried May the second. 
The following may be his widow's burial : 

1691. Mrs. Martha Smith was buried, June 1st. 
1679. Thomas Tilson presented to Aylesford in 1666. 

He was allowed to hold the two livings till his death in 1702. 
The silver cup which has on it : " The gift of Mary Brewer, to the 
Parish of Ditton in Kent, for ye use of the Church, Jany. 4, 1689," 
was given during his incumbency. 

1702. Thomas Tilson, son of the last rector ; presented and inducted to both 
Ditton and Aylesford this year. 

In the beginning of the register we read an entry made in his 
incumbency, August 1, 1711 : "That every acre of Woodland in the 
parish of Ditton by immemorial custom pays tithe to the rector." 
He gave a silver paten to the church on which is inscribed, " Tuum 
est domine tibi reddo donum. Thomas Tilson, Rector, 1735." It 
will be remembered he made a like present to Aylesford. The second 
bell of Ditton was also given in his day : 

1750. John Oare. 
Presented by the Earl of Aylesford, according to Hasted. 

1757. Charles Bowles. 

In his days the description of the glebe lands, and an inventory of 

14 



210 MEMORIES OF MALLISG AND ITS VALLEY. 

church goods, which we have given elsewhere, were made. He died 
in 1768, and was buried in the chancel of West Mailing, near the 
vestry door. Presented by the Earl of Aylesford. 

1769. Joseph Butler. 

He was also rector of Burham. He took the name of Milner, by 
which he gained the property of Preston Hall. He was buried in 
Aylesford church, where there is a monument to him as Joseph 
Milner, D.D., of Preston Hall. Presented by the Earl of Aylesford. 

1784. Samuel Bishop. 

Head Master of Merchant Taylors' School. He was also rector of 
St. Martin's, Outwich, in the city of London, which he held together 
Avith Ditton. He was presented by the Earl of Aylesford. 

1796. Kichard Warde. 

He perhaps was curate at Aylesford, as he was married there in 
1790, and had a daughter christened there in 1791. He was 
presented by the Earl of Aylesford. 

1840. William Hamilton Burroughs. 

Though not buried here, there is a tablet to his memory over the 
vestry door. The Earl of Aylesford was patron. 
1856. John Young Stratton. 

The present rector. He has busied himself to accommodate and 
civilise the hoppickers, with much success ; and is secretary to several 
organisations for this purpose. The living is now in the gift of the 
Earl of Aylesford. The rector's children were baptised here. 
There are the following curious entries in Ditton : 

1712. Robert Norris and John Day's maid were married October 2nd. 

1723. Feby. 21, Mrs. Tomlin, wife of old John Tomlin of Ditton, dyed ye 

17th day of February, was buried ye 21st, at East Mailing. 
1 720. Moses, a stranger, was buried September 4th. 

1758. Dec. 26. Thomas, son of Thomas Harris and Mary his wife, was 

privately baptised. 

1 759. Jany. 1 2. The above Thomas was admitted into ye church. 

A.D. 1767. July 5. Thomas, son of Thomas Derham and Susanna his wife. 

strangers from Bristol, baptised. JV.7?. The child was born in 

Trooper's field, in ye parish of Aylesford. 
1790. Sarah Dod and Stephen Dod were buried September the 22nd. 

The above persons were unhappily burnt to death, by setting fire to 

a barn of Mr. John Golding's during hopping. 
1793. July 24th. William Starthup, an infant, drowned in a pond of Mr. 

Thomas Golding's. 
1707. Susan, daughter of Kichard and Fanny Baber, was born the llth, and 

baptised September 17th, they were hopping at Mr. J. Golding's. 
1704. Francis Jersey, of the parish of St. James, Westminster, bachelor, and 

Ann Bridges of this parish, married in this church by a prerogative 

licence the 22nd of March, in the year one thousand seven hundred 

and sixty-four, by me, Charles Bowles, rector. This marriage was 

solemnised between us. Francis and Anne Jersey, in the presence of 

George and Sarah Luck. 
1812. A man, name unknown, who was found drowned, buried Dec. 26th. 



THE REGISTERS. 211 

Two registers do not commence till the eighteenth century. One 
of these, 

WEST or TOWN MALLING, 

begins in the year 1700. The church dedicated in the name of the 
Virgin has some old Norman work in the chancel, and the tower is 
also an old building ; but the body of the church, as has been previously 
stated, fell down at the end of the last century, and is rebuilt in the 
Georgian style. There is in the church a picture of the Last Supper, 
over the west gallery. The royal coat of arms, of the reign of 
James II., is considered by connoisseurs a fine specimen of art. 

The incumbents, so far as we have discovered them, are as 
follows : 

1339. Robert de Beulton, presented by the Abbess of Mailing. 

A dispute having arisen concerning his tithes, he obtained the 
lesser tithes for his income, and also personal tithes in what were 
then known as Holyroode Street and Tan Street ; in return, the 
vicar was to find everything for the use of the church, bread and 
wine for the sacraments, processional tapers and lights for the 
chancel, accustomed ministers, rochets, surplices, unconsecrated 
napkins, vessels, basons, and green rushes to strew the church if 
necessary. 

1348. Richard Benson, in place of Robert de Beulton. 

1360. Richard Gresham. 

1392. John Watson. He was also prebend of the High Mass of Mailing 

Abbey. 

1395. William Baron, instead of John Watson. 
1399. Robert de Geulton. 

1399. Thomas King ; also vicar of Lynstead, near Sittingbourne. 

1400. John Caldewell. 
1402. John Reynolds. 

1413. Simon Dawes ; also rector of St. Mary Magdalene, Canterbury. 

1426. William Rose or Rotse ; also rector of Norton, Kent. 

1440. John Pure. 

1452. John Rose ; buried in West Mailing church. 

1455. Daniel Everard succeeded John Pure. He was also prebend of the 

High Mass of Mailing Abbey. 
1500. Thomas Nevill. He was also prebend of the High Mass of Mailing 

Abbey, in which office he succeeded John Whitmore, but it does not 

appear that this last was the intermediate vicar of the parish. 

Thomas Smyth. 

1515. William Lawson, succeeded Thomas Smyth. 

1517. John Bamborough, succeeded William Lawson. In 1522 he was also 

appointed prebend of the High Mass. 
1524. Henry Fletcher. He succeeded John Bamborough. as vicar of West 

Mailing, and prebend of the High Mass. He was previously vicar 

of Aylesford. 

1571. Milo Carrards ; presented by Hugh Cartwright, Esq. 
1574. Thomas Brande ; presented by Hugh Cartwright, Esq. 
1577. Nicholas Grier ; presented by Hugh Cartwright, Esq. 



212 MEMORIES OF UALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

The Delft-ware stoup is Elizabethan. 

1581. Thomas Thomson ; presented by Hugh Cartwright, Esq. A presentation 
was made upon his holding the two livings of West Mailing and 
Teston. 

1610. Christopher Wray or Wragge ; presented by Sir Robert Brett. 

1630. Mr. Robert Throckmorton~. 

1637. William Gibson, vicar of West alias Town Mailing, on the death of 
Throckmorton. Patron, Sir John Rayney. 

The fourth, sixth and seventh bells belong to this incumbent's 
time. In his days the returns were made to the see of Rochester, 
and we learn that Town Mailing was <10 Os. Qd. a year, and in 
the gift of Fitzjames. 

1662. Samuel French. 

In his incumbency the third bell was hung ; according to Hasted, 
he was ejected in this year : probably he was an interloping 
Puritan minister. 

1662. Joshua Allard. 
Samuel Ellwood. 

In the register we read: "Dec 9, 1701, Mary Ellwood, relict of 
Samuel Ellwood, vicar of this parish." 

1695. Abraham Lord. 

He was appointed, in 1689, vicar of Addington; he held both 
livings together till 1G98. In his incumbency the fifth Mailing bell 
was hung. 

1698. Thomas Pyke. previously curate of Addington. 

In his days the register commences. There are several entries of 
this vicar's family in the register : 

Thomas, ye son of Thomas Pike, vicar of West Mailing, and Elizabeth his 
wife, was born in ye parish of Addington, on Saturday ye ninth of April, and 
baptised ye third day of May, next following, which was in the year of our 
Lord God, one thousand six hundred and ninety eight. 

Mary, ye daughter of Thomas Pike, vicar of West Mailing, and Elizabeth 
his wife, was born on Wednesday ye third of Jany., and baptised ye day 
following, being ye fourth of the same month, Anno Dom. 1699 1700. 

Mary, ye daughter of Thomas Pike, vicar of West Mailing, and Elizabeth 
his wife, was buried on Thursday, March 28, 1700. 

1703. Mary, ye daughter of Thomas Pike, vicar of West Mailing, and 

Elizabeth his wife, was baptised on Thursday, March 10. 

1704. March 3. Thomas Pike, late vicar of the parish. 
1704. Robert Scudamore. 

There are several notices of this vicar in the register : 

1707. June 1st. Rev d- Robert Scudamore, Esq.. vicar of this parish, batchelor, 
and Margaret Wild, of ye same psh., spinster, married by licence. 
1712. April 30. The Rev d . Scudamore, Esq., and vicar of Town Mailing, was 
buried, aged thirty-five. 

Another member of his family is probably entered : 



THE REGISTERS. 215 

1809. May 2. John Scudamore, of the parish of Maidstone, and Charlotte 

Elizabeth Downman, married. 
1712. Simon Babb. 

This vicar is entered in each register as rather noteworthy in the 
words : " The year that Mr. Simon Babb came to Town Mailing." 
We do not, however, find anything remarkable during his incumbency. 
He is buried here, as we learn from the registers : 

1730. October 26. Mr. Simon Babb, vicar of this parish. 
1730. Charles Brown. 

This vicar is mentioned in the baptismal register, but no entry 
is made of himself or his family : 

1748. James Webb. 
His burial is mentioned in the register : 

1759. Sept. 26. Ye Rev d- James Webb, curate of this place, and rector of 
Trotreclief. 

Though called curate, it would appear that he was really vicar. 

1759. Robert Style ; resigned in 1770. 

1770. Richard Husband. He tells us in the register, he was inducted to ye 
vie ' of Mailing, in this year, Dec. 29. 

In his days the body of the church fell down ; a brief was issued 
to rebuild it in 1779, and it was reopened in 1781. Mr. Husband was 
rector of Stowting, near Hythe in this county, which he held with 
West Mailing : he is bimed here, and his monument is in the 
church. In the burial register we read : 

1813. Sarah Husband, Mailing, Feby. 27, 83. William J. Coppard. 

1813. Richard Husband (late vicar, Mailing), April 1, 78. William J. Coppard. 

1814. George Fern Bates. He was also vicar of South Mims, Middlesex, 

which he held together with Town Mailing. 

Mr. Bates and his wife, and his father and mother, are all buried 
here, as can be learnt by the tablet in the church. He was a great 
benefactor of the schools. 

1842. John Henry Timins, on the death of Bates. 

Mr. Timins has just completed his jubilee as vicar. During his 
time much has been done towards the improvement of the church ; 
as the reseating of it and placing in it of an organ by the Lucks, 
in memory of the late Mr. Luck, and the building of a more com- 
modious vestry, and the renewing of the chancel, and the hanging of 
the first, second, and eighth bells. The Abbey chapel has been also 
repaired and used once more for Divine service. Several of his family 
are mentioned in the registers, which include the marriage of his 
daughter. 

1868. Sept 9. John Adolphus Boodle, and Alice Elizabeth Timins. 

Mr. Boodle was twenty years curate of Mailing, and thirteen 
years Diocesan Inspector of Canterbury, when he was appointed to 



214 MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

his present living of Boughton-under Blean. Two handsome altar 
lights with a suitable inscription have been placed in the church, 
which with other presents and suitable addresses were given to the 
vicar this year, 1892, to commemorate his jubilee. Also a carved 
oak lectern, the work of a carving class conducted by Mrs. Parry, 
widow of the late Bishop Suffragan of Dover. 

The tithe of Tan Street and Holyrode Street, now Frog Lane, 
and Swan Street upon trade had continued till Mr. Timitis came 
here, and augmented the living of Mailing by .15 : this the present 
vicar never levied, and it has consequently fallen into desuetude. 
The living is now in the hands of the trustees of J. Lawson, Esq. 

Entries of other clergy in this register are : 

1718. Nov. 7. Samuel, the son of the Rev. Mr. Samuel Bickley. rector of 
Offham. and Mrs. Mary his wife, baptised. 

1721. July IS. Thomas, son of the Rev. Mr. Bickley and Mary his wife, 
baptised. 

1750. June llth, was buried the Rev. Mr. John Willis. M.A., for many years 
an inhabitant of this parish. 

17(50. Charles Bowles of this parish clerk, and Catharine Weekley of this 
parish, Spinster, married in the chuich by licence this eleventh 
day of February in the year one thousand seven hundred and sixty, 
by me, Dennis, minister. This marriage was solemnised between us, 
Charles Bowles, Catherine Bowles, in the presence of B. Hubble and 
Anne Hubble. 

1 768. June 3rd. The Rev. Mr. Charles Bowles, rector of Ditton. 

1783. Oct. 26. Thomas, the son of the Rev. James Thurston, vicar of Ryarsh, 

and Anne his wife. 

1784. The Rev. James Pritchard, the curate of West Mailing, left the place 

March 14th. 
1790. Jany. 25. Charles Thomas, son of Rev. James Thurston and Mary his 

wife, baptised. 

1797. Aug. 5. The Rev. Dale Lovett, aged 75, buried. 
1800. Jany. 30. Mrs. Catherine Bowles, widow, aged 79, buried. 

1814. April 29. Elizabeth, daughter of William and Elizabeth Bowles. 

baptised. 

1815. March 9. Robert Pye, Esq.. and Elizabeth Bowles, married. 

These last appear to have been both of the family of the Bowles 
of Ditton. 

1814. Dec. 4. Elizabeth Emma, daughter of Rev. John Henry and Elizabeth 

Norman, baptised. 
1K39. April 7. Rev. John Liptrott, rector of Offham, and vicar of Ryarsh, 

buried. 
1849. April 17. Rev. William Lewis Wigan (vicar of East Mailing) and 

Caroline Ramsey Akers, married. 

Besides the vicars of Town Mailing, the undermentioned have been 
chaplains of Mailing Union since the Union chapel was built in 1872. 

1873 1875. Rev. John Manus. chaplain. In his time the register commences. 

1K75 1880. Rev. John Stuart Robson. 

18801889. Rev. Henry Frederick Rivers. Since then vicar of St. Faith's, 

Maidstone. 
1889. Rev. Cecil Henry Fielding. 



THE REGISTERS. 215 

The present chaplain ; author of this book. His daughters' baptisms 
are entered in the baptismal register of West Mailing. 

The following entries of West Mailing are worthy of notice, 
besides those that we have already spoken of : 

1701. April 10. Kichard Knowles, a carpenter, buried. 
A very early entry of the trade or calling of any one. 

1701. July 28. Jane Lane was buried on Sunday. 

We often find the entry of Sunday in the Mailing register at the 
early period, as if it was unusual to bury on that day : if so, it is a 
pity that this has not been adhered to. 

1701. Aug. 16. Anthony Gilly, a trooper, buried. 

1702. March 28. Anthony Fochard, a trooper in Duke Schomberg's horse, 

buried. 

1703. April 11. Wid. Godden was buried on Friday. 

1707. Aug. 13. John Burton of the parish of Eightham (buried). 

This entry gives the old name of Ightham, which means eight 
homes. 

1708. We find only a solitary burial entered in this year. 

1710. Richard Huye, an apprentice, buried April 12. 

1710. April 29. Ja. Bromfield of this parish, bat., vel. Bumfield, and Eliza 

Pretty, of ye same, spinster, were married, the banns being first law- 
fully published. 

1711. May 11. Henry, the sou of John and Elizabeth Ridge, was baptised. 

Note : This was Goodwife Gransbury's son, by a former husband, and 
not christened till after she came to Mailing, and then the said boy 
was ten years of age. 

1712. May 25. Rich. Signal, singal man, and Dorothy Davis, widow, both of 

this parish, were mar" 1 -, ye banns being first lawfully published. 

1713. April 7. Wid. Htephenson's child buried. 

1713. July 26. Tudor Lamb of London, smallpox, buried. 

This and two or three other entries of the same in Snodland 
register are the only mentions of this dire complaint in the district. 

1714. Aug. 24. A soldier, belonging to my Lord Orkney's Regiment of Foot, 

buried. 

We have inserted these and other similar notices as matters of 
history, as they show us how the regiments were distinguished before 
numerals or territorial designations were given to the divisions of 
our army. 

1714. Aug. 22. Baptised, a hopper's child. 
The earliest notice of hopping in this parish. 

1714. Oct. 19. Moyse, Sir Felix Wild's man, buried. 

1715. Nov. 29. Old Googer. 



This is as short- an entry of burial as is to be found anywhere. 

1716. Jany. 13. John , Mr. Lovegrove's apprentice, buried. 

1720. May 12. Anne, daughter of Anne Addison and William, baptise,!. 

In this entry the wife seems to have quite eclipsed the husband. 



216 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

In the year 1727, there is entered only one baptism; two in 
1728 ; and three in 1729. In the first of these years there is only 
one burial, and none in the other two years. 

1734. Oct. 29. Jeanne Anne Marguerite, fille de Guillaume Boysier, et 
Marguerite sa femme, Marchands de Genes en Italic, fit baptizee jour 
d'Octobre 18, 0. S., par moi, Chas. Browne, Vicaire de cette paroisse. 
a Genes. 

(Jane Anne Margaret, daughter of William Boysier and Margaret, his wife, 
merchants of Genoa in Italy, \vas baptised 18th day of October, Old Style, by 
me, Charles Browne, vicar of this parish, at Genoa.) Memorandum. The 
vicar and churchwardens are desired to permit this to be entered on their new 
registry, wherever this shall be transcribed, it being a very great inconvenience 
to the French Protestants, when they cannot prove that their children have 
been baptised by a Protestant clergyman. 

1741. Aug. 23. Mary, daughter of Patrick and Eleanor McDonald, Irish, 

baptised. 
1743. Aug. 24. Martha, daughter of George and Mary Davis. Scotch, baptised. 

These tAvo entries rather point to where the Home Rule notion 
sprung from ; this fondness for distinguishing the inhabitants of the 
different parts of the British Isles from each other. 

1737. Aug. 21. A hoppers child, buried. 

1739. Aug. 29. Jane Mortimer, a hopper, buried. 

After this we have frequent mention of hoppers. 

1743. Dec. 23rd. A poor woman from the workhouse (buried). 

The first mention of this institution in any of the records we have 
been examining. 

1744. May 11. Robert, son of Kobert Watson, a soldier, baptised. 

May 27th. John, son of John Grover, farrier to a troop of horse, 

baptised. 

1747. December 24th. Peter, son of John Isaac, a soldier in Pulteney's 

Regiment of Foot, buried. 

1748. March 6th. An infant, daughter of a soldier in General Pulteney's 

Regiment, buried. 

In this last entry the regiment has quite extinguished the indi- 
viduality of the father. 

1748. Feby. 27. A man, name unknown, died through the inclemency of 

the season. 

1749. August 13th. Anne Hind, a stroling player, buried. 
8t rolling is often used for tra veiling. 

1750. January 7. Elizabeth Costin, servant at New Barnes, buried. 
1756. There was a great mortality in this neighbourhood during 

this year: we have 64 deaths in West Mailing; and a number more 
in the neighbouring parishes. 

1757. A soldier, in the seventh regiment of foot, buried. 
In this year we have several entries from the Foundling Hospital, 
and the same occur afterwards. 

May 8th. John Burnet, an infant son of a soldier, buried. 

April 1, 1758. Margaret Campbell, a soldier's child, buried. 



THE REGISTERS. 217 

These entries of soldiers must engage our attention ; because, for 
some reason, they are very frequent in Mailing for the size of the 
place. 

1760. About this period we have the word "late" inserted in the 
register with the bride's name, in this parish, thus : 

NOT. 13, 1760. Edward Harcourt, and Elizabeth Harcourt, late Compton. 
1765. Anne, daughter of Robert and Sarah Dunbar, a dragoon belonging to 

Sir John Mordaunt's regiment, baptised. 

1770. October 6. A woman, Mr. Maplesden's hopper, name unknown, buried. 
1773. October 23. A hopper of Mr. Stewart's, buried. 

These two entries are curious, showing that these people had lost 
their identity in their master : 

Dec. 11. Alice, daughterof Gilbert and Eleanor Graham, of the 50th Regiment, 
baptised. 

Dec. 18. Grace, daughter of Thomas and Grace Upstone, of the 50th 
Regiment, baptised. 

1780. Jany. 14th. Grace Upstone, an infant, of the 50th Regiment,* buried. 

1779. June 14th. John, son of Thomas and Susannah Mecham, of the Buck- 
inghamshire militia, was baptised. 

1784. Jany. 22. A stranger woman, name unknown, found dead in the 
cage.f 

1786. Dec. 3. John Clow, black servant to Mr. Perfect, buried. 

1794. Jan. 17. John Doidge, soldier of the South Devon Militia, buried. 

1797. Aug. 31. Bartholomew Davis, late organist, buried. 

This is as early an entry of an organist in a country church as 
we think is likely to be found. No wonder Town Mailing can be 
complimented on its good choir ! 

1799. Dec. 26th. Joseph Barlow, soldier in the Royal Wagon Team, buried. 
1801. Jan. 8. Henry 1'iggot, from Eaden Bridge, aged 38, buried. 

This entry gives us an intermediate way of spelling the place : 
Eatonbridge being frequent some years ago, it is now always spelt 
Edenbridge. 

1801. May 27. John Wood, beadle, aged 60. 

This record is interesting as recalling the old parish beadle, whose 
rule in Bumbledom Dickens has so admirably portrayed. 

1820. Mary Walter (by order of the coroner), near New Barnes, May 14, 
aged 38. G. F. Bates. 

There is no reason given for the cause of the coroner's order. 
We have several entries from 1820 to 1830 of people from 
Coxheath Workhouse ; why, it is not very clear. 
On the 17th day of August of 1796, Charles Peto of this parish, a bachelor, 



* The 50th Regiment, which was originally raised in Kent, has again been 
designated the West Kent Regiment. It must be glad to have lost its number, 
which gained it the sobriquet, " The dirty half hundred." 

t The lock-up or cage formerly stood on the piece of waste ground that lies 
on the side of the hill between Ryarsh Lane and High Street. It was pulled 
down some years ago. 



21S MEMORIES OF CALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

and Mary Green of this parish, spinster, were married by the vicar 
11. Husband. It is declared to be null and void, because the bride 
being a minor had not obtained her father's consent. 

But the next entry declares her lawfully married because his 
consent had been then given. In these days, when there is so 
much laxity in the marriage laws, it were good if the old rule and 
canon of the church, as regards minors obtaining their father's 
consent, were strictly adhered to. 

]*24. Kev (1 - Jacques Francois Stuart de Lenneville, French priest, formerly 
of Notre Dame de bon Report, chaplain of Roman de Pavilly, 
rector of Champigny near Melun. June 28, 1824, buried. 

Evidently one of the refugees of the French Revolution. 

1831. Jane Tilley. a soldier's child. 

A very unfinished entry for its date, there is only added, " May 
5, infant. John Scott." (Burial register.) 

1832. Timothy Hogarty, a traveller from Barming, seized with cholera in the 

London road through this parish, Sept. 18. 35. John Scott, curate. 
1839. Henry Mountfort, Lunatic Asylum, Aug. 26. 21. S. F. Godmond. 
y.. He was an inoffensive, amiable man, much respected in the neigh- 
bourhood, and was an inmate of the asylum 32 years. 

It now only remains for us to speak of 

HALLING, 

the registers of which parish are very recant, beginning as late 
as 1705 ; the older records down to that date having been destroyed 
or lost. The church, which is dedicated iu the name of St. 
John the Baptist, has been much pulled about ; and though we 
know there was a church here in Saxon and Norman times, there are 
little or no remains of either. The bishop's palace has been nearly 
swept from the face of the earth ; and the chapel of Saint Laurence 
is built into a cottage. The incumbents of Hamo de Heth's favourite 
parish, as far as we can find, are as follows : 

Michaelis. 

1317. Hugh Girton. Patrons, Strood Hospital. 

John Argent. 

1327. Thomas Lardner. 

John de Wileshyr. 

1329. Robert de Dereham. 

1330. John Champneys. 
1338. John de Ripara. 
1359. Nicholas Plumele. 

John Erpingham. 

1391. Robert Clerk succeeds John Erpingham. 
1391. John Penysthorp, in place of Robert Clerk. 
1393. Thomas Bekonsfield follows John Penysthorp. 

Stephen Porchet. 

1429. Thomas Pende, chaplain of Hoathe or Hothe. near Reculver. 
1442. William Hammond. 
1445. Thomas Ratcliffe. 



THE REGISTERS. 219 

' 1447. Thomas Carlton. 

Thomas Merbury. 

1465. William Martyn. 

Robert Cass. 

1500. John Cotton. 

1513. Richard Clark, in place of John Cotton deprived. 
1515. Thomas Snydall on the death of Richard Clark. 
1534. Robert Johnson, on the death of Snydall. 

Thomas Bedlowe. 

1554. Launcelot Gylhawke, in place of Thomas Bedlowe deprived. 

Gylhawke was evidently one of the papists introduced by Queen 
Mary ; as Thomas Bedlowe we find was restored, and the mention of 
Gylhawke is passed over. 

1567. Walter Hait, in the place of Thomas Bedlowe. 

He is also called Heath. He was vicar of Shorne in 1575. He 
resigned Hailing for St. Margaret's, Rochester, in 1587, when he 
was made prebend and archdeacon. He resigned St. Margaret's 
for Goudhurst in 1589, and Goudhurst for Cuxton in 1589. Dean 
and Chapter of Rochester, patrons. 

1587. William Ledes or Leeds ; is mentioned as being here in 1GOK, and by 

' another authority in 1630. 
1638. John Bath. 

Hailing, in 1659, is valued at 7 13s. 9d, in the gift of the 
Chapter of Rochester. 

Bailey. 

In the year 1675, the five bells of Hailing were hung. 

1688. Robert Beresford. 
1705. William White. 

The registers commence in this vicar's incumbency. 

1723. Ralph Bishop. 
1729. John Price. 

Mentioned in the registers. 

1739. William Pattison. 
1769. Robert Fountain. 
1777. John Leach. 

He was married here according to the registers : 

John Leach, clerk, widower, and Susannah Fuller, spinster, both of this 
parish, were married 7th day of July, 1778. 

His daughter was christened here : 

Feb. 25, 1779. Matilda Ann, daughter of John Leach, vicar of this parish, 

and Susannah his wife. 
1791. William Dyer. 
1818. Samuel Browne. 
1825. William Henry Drage. 
1843. George Frederick Marsham. Also rector of Allington, where he 

resided. 



220 MEMORIES OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 

1S.">2. Joshua Nalson. 
His wife and he are buried here : 

1867. Harriet Nalson, May 31, aged 71 years. 

1885. Joshua Nalson, The Rectory, Hailing, July 2, aged 81 years. 

1885. Frederick Goldsmith made dean of Perth, Western Australia, 1888. 

1888. George Plumptre Howes, the present vicar. 

There are very few things worthy of note in the short record 
which the Hailing register contains. We, however, give the 
following. 

Besides the clergy above mentioned we have : 

The Rev 1 - M r - Major Nourse, of the parish of Shorne in the county, a batchelor, 
and Isabella Hill of the same parish, spinster, were married by licence, 
March 2, 1747. 

Mr. Nourse was for some years vicar of Higham, where he lies 
buried. Other entries are : 

1729. Feby. 16. A daughter of Thomas Fuller buried. 

1730. Jany. 25. Diana and Thomas, twins, were baptised. 

1730. October ye 25. Mary, an infant, unknown, buryed from Peckman's. 

1731. A stranger, unknown, died in Mr. Ray's barn. Feby. ye 7th. 

1732. AVilliam Beecham and Thomas Bailey were both drowned and buried 

together, March ye 10th. 

1750. Delona. daughter of a stranger unknown. Nov. 26, baptised. 
1736. Matthew Lofte and Anne Cox, were married at St. Nicholas, Rochester. 

by John Price, vicar of Hailing, June ye 14th. 

1736. November ye 13th. Gregory Everest and Rachel Humphries, were 

married at St. Nicholas, Rochester. 
1734. John Cheeseman, servant to Mr. Hatch, April 21, buried. 

1737. A stranger, Stephen, who died at ye Compasses, and Thomas Fowler, 

were buryed August 24, by John Price. 
1777. November 1. Garland Partridge (buried). 

1780. August 2. A boy about 17 years old. unknown, drowned in the Medway. 
1804 May 2. A stranger, drowned in the Medway. buried. 
1806. October 3. A person unknown, drowned in the Medway, buried. 
1809. April 21st. A man, unknown, drowned in the Medway, buried. 
1820. April 15th. A man, unknown, drowned in the Medway, buried. 
1888. Harris, Dec. 15, 2 years. G. P. Howes. This child was found 

dead in the woods, after having been lost sixteen davs. 



CHAPTER XII. 

FAMILY REGISTERS. 

WE have now gone through the various clergy, and the curious 
entries to be found in the different registers. Our next task 
will be to go through the principal families to be found in this 
district ; after which we shall give the names of other gentry to 
be found here, then those of yeomen and farmers so specially 
entered, and conclude this account of the registers with names in 
the district and the various occupations mentioned. 

The first family to speak of in the neighbourhood, are the*Lords 
of Abergavenny, whose seat was for so many years at Birling, in 
the register of which we find many of them mentioned as christened, 
married, and buried. In connection with them we must also mention 
their ancestral window in Nettlestead Church. 

NEVILL. 

1576. Frances Ladie Abergavenny. wyf to the Right Honourable Lord 

Abergavenny, was buried the x th day of Sep., with the garter king 

Harold's devise. 
1586. The Right Honourable Sir Henry Nevill, Knight, Lord Abergavenny, 

was buried honourablie ye xxi st of March in the yeare above 

written. 
1588. Mr. Edward Nevill, was baptised the 4th day of June, in the chapell 

at Comfort. 

This entry is most interesting as preserving the old name of the 
seat of the Nevills, which is recorded by Harris, but has now been 
quite forgotten in name ; though some of the old house and walls at 
Birling Place are undoubtedly of this period. * 

1602. Margaret Nevill daughter of Edward Nevill, Lord of Abergavenny, 

was buried the x th day of October. 
1610. Edward, the second son of the Right Honourable Edward Nevill, Loixl 

Abergavenny, was buried the first day of November. 

1616. Lady Rachell,* wife to the right Honourable Edward Nevill, Lord 

Abergavenny, was buried the viii 01 - day of October. 

1617. Lady Elizabeth, first wyffe to the Right Honourable Sir Harry Nevill, 

* Comfort ie mentioned again in this entry : " Ferdinande Ashbee, 
gentleman that died at Comfforte House, was buried the xiiii. day of July 
1681." 

221 



222 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

but not wyffe to Sir William Sedley, Knight and Baronet, was 

buried ye fifteenth day of August. 
1017. The Eight Honourable Edward Nevill, Lord Abergavenny, was buried 

the third of November, ut supra. 
1028. The Eight Worshipfull Sir Thomas Nevill, sonne and heir apparent 

to the Eight Honourable Sir Henry Nevill, Knight and Lord 

of Abergavenny, was buried the 7th day of May. 
1641. The Right Honourable Henry Lord Abergavenny, was buried the 24th 

of December. 

164t>. Jany. 7. Sir Christopher Nevill, buried. 
Iii49. July 10. The Lady Katharine Nevill, widdow, was buried. 
1602. The Eight Honourable John Lord Abergavenny, was buried ye 23rd of 

December. 
1666. The Eight Honourable George Lord Abergavenny, 14th day of June, 

was buried. 
1727. The Right Honourable George Nevill, Lord of Abergavenny, was born 

June. 24th. His Majesty King George the Second, His Grace Lionel 

Duke of Dorset, and her Grace, the Duchess of Newcastle, being 

sponsors (at St. Margaret's. Westminster). 

Nothing is said, we must notice here, as to the christening, though 
undoubtedly the noble sponsors, and the church, are intended to 
convey this to the mind. 

182?. March, 28. Henry Nevill, buried. 

1S28. March, 28. Augusta Nevill, buried. 

1855. Jany. 14. Ludovick Edward, son of Hon. Edward Vesey and Isabel 

Mary Francis Bligh, baptised. 
1850. July 27. Llewellyn Nevill Vaughan, son of Hon. Thomas Edward 

Mostyn, M.P., and Henrietta Augusta Lloyd Mostyn, baptised. 
1857. May 15. Henry Richard Howell, son of Thomas Edward Mostyn, 

Esq., M.P.. and Henrietta Augusta Lloyd Mostyn, baptised. 
1801. May 16. Honble. Thomas Edward Mostyn Lloyd Mostyn buried. 
1863. Jany. 17. Constance Emily, daughter of Hon. Ralph Pelham, and 

Louisa Marianne Nevill, baptised. 

1868. August 25. William Nevill, Earl of Abergavenny. buried. 
1872. May 21. Cicely, daughter of Hon. Ralph Pelham and Louisa 

Marianne Nevill, baptised. 

1872. May 27. Caroline Nevill, Dowager Countess of Abergavenny, buried. 

1873. July 22. Emily Georgiana, daughter of Hon. Ralph Pelham and 

Louisa Marianne Nevill, baptised. 

The monument from Nettlestead is as below : 

" Here sleepeth in the Lord with certain hope of resurrection, the body of 
borne Lady Mary, Barroness Despencer and Burwash, who departed this 
transitory life into an eternall, upon the 28th day of June anno dom. 1626. 
and the 72 year of her age. She was sole daughter and heir of Henry Barron 
of Abergavenny, all which three barronies were derived to him from Elizabeth, 
sole daughter, and heyre of William Beauchamp, barren of Abergavenny and 
Earl of Worcester, his great grandmother ; and from Isabella Despencer her 
mother. This noble lady was wife only to one husband, Sir Thomas Fane, 
Knight of Badsell in Kent, who left her a widdowe, at the age of 35 years, and 
he left this life the 28th day of February, Anno Dom. 1589, in the 52 year of 
his age. He was buried first at the Church of Tudely, in Kent, and now, in 
obedience to the command of her last will, her executors and executrix, her 
humble daughter-in-law. Mary Countess dowager of Westmoreland, who errected 
to her memory this monument in the year 1639, hath translated his body to 
accompany hers until the general day of resurrection." 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 223 

On brass plates above the monument : 

John Duke of Lancaster, and Edmund DUKC of York, and Isabella 

Katharine 8 win ford. de Castille and Leon. 

Ralph Nevill and Joane Plan- Thomas Despenser, Earl of Glouces- 

tagenet. ter, and Constance Plantagenet. 

Cecilia Nevill and Edward Nevill, Isabella Despenser and R. Beau- 

Richard Mortimer, Baron of Abergavenny champ, Earl of Worcester and 
Duke of York. in right of his wife. Baron Abergavenny. 

I ' 

Anne Mortimer, Duchess of Exeter, Elizabeth Beauchamp. Baroness of 

and Sir Thomas St. Leger. Abergavenny. 

Anne St. Leger and G eorge Manners, George Nevill, Baron of Abergavenny 

Lord Rosse. in right of his mother. 

I I 

Thomas Manners, first Earl of Rut- George Nevill, Baron Abergavenny 

land and Paston. and Mary Stafford. 

Henry Nevill, Baron Abergavenny. FRANCISSE MANNERS. 

FINCH (AYLESFOKD). 

1700. The Right Honourable William Lord Dartmouth, and the Hon b|1 "- Anne- 
Finch, were married July llth. 

Mary Finch, daughter of the Rt. Hon ble - the Lord of Guernsey, was buried 
the 21st day of August, 1783. 

The Right Hon ble - Heneage, Earl of Aylesford, was buried August 8th, 1719. 

1731. Mary, daughter of the Hon b!e - John and Eliza Finch, was baptised 
Jany. 25th. 

1734. Elizabeth, daughter of the Hon w *'- John Finch, Esq., and Mary his wife, 
was baptised July 30. 

1736. Savile, son of the Hon We - John Finch, and Mary his wife, was baptised 
Sept. 22. 

1736. John, son of Hon 1 ' 1 ' 1 - J. Finch, buried May 27th. 

1739. Elizabeth, daughter of Hon ble - John Finch, buried April 25th, 

1819. The Hon ble - Charles Finch, 66 years, buried December 24th. 

1827. The Hon ble - Seymour Finch, July 13, aged 18 months, buried. 

1848. Hon. Lady Mary Elizabeth Finch, Oct. 27, aged 82, buried. 

1861. Rt. Hon ble - John Finch, Nov. 30, aged 68, buried. 

Besides the above, we have two other entries of the name ; one at 
Aylesford : 

1658. Mrs. Ann Finch died at Cobtree, in the parish of Allington. was buried 
here at Aylesford, the seven and twentieth day of July ; 

and the other at East Mailing : 

1605. Buried was Edward Fynch, gentleman, the 23rd of January. 

In the east window of the north chapel of Aylesford church,. 
we find a window in memory of " The Earls of Aylesford and their 
wives." Above are figures which have inscriptions, " In my Father's 
house are many mansions," *' I am the Resurrection and the Life '' ; 
below are in the three lights, first, C. F., W. C. F., M. F., H. F., 



224 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

J. R, K. F., C. F., D. F., C. P. ; then C. A., M. A., C. A., L. A., 
A. S. A. ; and H. F., M. F., J. C., L. C. W., S. F., J. H. F., S. F., 
C. G. M. F., G. A. F., with the dates 1719, 1757, 1777, 1812, 1859, 
1871, the dates when the eai-ls succeeded. The window is dedicated : 
" To The glory of God, and in memory of dear ones gone to rest." 

On the north .side of the church is a window, which has an 
inscription, with figures : " Why seek ye the living among the dead ? " 
" Behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you." The window 
is dedicated : 

;1 In memory of Georgiana Affnes, daughter of William Lord Bagot, the wife 
of the Hon t)lc - Charles W. Finch, B. May 22, 1852 : D. April 12, 1874. 

The other members of noble families found in these registers 
are : 

1881. Oct. 6. Married Captain Charles Robert Pratt, son of 3rd Marquis of 
Camden, and Florence Maria Stevenson, 

at Aylesford. And at West Mailing : 

1741. Feby. 18. The Hon lllc< Charles Stewart, Esq., Vice- Admiral of ye White. 

buried in linen, and 50 shillings paid. 
1779. Feby. 25. Charles Stewart, Esq. 

In addition to these we find two families of baronets. The first 
of these was created in Charles II. 's day, though springing from 
a still older honourable family. This is the family of 

TWISDEX (BRADBOURXE, EAST MALLING). 

1C53. Baptised, September 3, Isabella, the daughter of Thomas Twisden, Esq. 
1655. Buried, Oct. the 30th, Isabella, the daughter of Thomas Twisden, 
Serjeant at Law. 

1669. Thomas Twisden, the eldest son of Roger Twisden, and Margaret his 

wife, was borne in the parish of St. Giles-in-the- Fields, the 10th of 
November, 1668. being Tuesday about 8 o'clock in the morning, and 
baptised the next day after, in the same parish ; but it is desired to 
have his birth and baptism to be registered in this parish of East 
Mailing the 13th of April. 

A copy of St. Giles register is on a slip of paper, with the 
marriage of Roger Twisden and Margaret Marsham, not later than 
Feby. 1668. 

1670. Baptised, June llth, Roger, the son of Roger Twisden. Esq. 
1672. Baptised, October 1st, John, the son of Roger Twisden, Esq. 

1675. Buried, April 9th. Francis Twisden son to Sir Thomas Twisden, Baronet. 
1677. Jane Twisden, daughter of Roger Twisden, Esq., and Margaret his 

wife, born in London, in the parish of St. Giles-in-the-Field, Oct. 31st, 

and baptised November 6 by Dr. Stillingfleet. 

1679. December 23. Buried, Heneage Twisden, Esq., third son of Sir Thomas 

Twisden, Knight and Baronet. 

1680. November 28. Buried, William Twisden, Esq., son of Sir Thomas 

Twisden, Knight and Baronet. 

1681. Baptised, the first day of June, was Elizabeth, the daughter of Roger 

Twisden. Esq rc> , and Margaret his wife. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 225 

1681. Buried, 9th of November, was Matthew Tomlinson, Esq. 

1681. Married, February 27, were Sir Thomas Style, Baronet, and Margaret 

Twisden, the daughter of Sir Thomas Twisden, Knight and Baronet. 

1682. Baptised 12th day of November, was Francis, son of Roger Twisden 

and Margaret his wife. 

1682. Buried, the ninth day of November, was Sir Thomas Twisden, Knight 

and Baronet, one of the Judges of the King's bench. 

1683. Buried the ninth of March, was Francis, the 6th son of Sir Roger 

Twisden, and Margaret his wife. 
1683. Buried the 18th day of May, was John, the third son of Sir Roger 

Twisden, Baronet, and Margaret his wife. 
1700. Feby. 7. Buried was Thomas Twisden, Esq., second son of Sir Thomas 

Twisden, Knight and Baronet. 
1700. Nov. 22. Buried was Mr. John Twisden, ye sixth son of Sir Roger 

Twisden, Baronet. 

1702. Oct. 2. Buried was Dame Jane Twisden, wife of Sir Thomas Twisden, 

Knight and Baronet. 

1703. March 5. Buried was Sir Roger Twisden, Knight and Baronet. 

1704. Jany. 2. Baptised was Thomas Twisden, Esq., firstborn son of Sir 

Thomas Twisden, Baronet, of ye parish of St. Martin's-in-ye- Fields, 
in London, being born the same day. 

1704. June 17. Married were Richard Newdigate, Esq., of Lincoln's Inn, in 

ye city of London, and Elizabeth Twisden, daughter of Sir Roger 
Twisden of this parish. 

1705. April 4. Baptised was Roger, ye second son of Sir Thomas Twisden, 

Baronet, being born ye same day. 

1706. March 31. Baptised, William, ye third son of Sir Thomas Twisden, 

born ye same day. 

1707. March 17th. Buried Mrs. Jane Twisden, daughter of Sir Roger 

Twisden. 
1709. April 27th. Baptised John, ye fourth son of Sir Thomas Twisden, Bart., 

being born ye same day. 
1719. Sept. 17. Buried John Twisden, fourth son of Sir T. Twisden. Bart., 

and Anne his wife. 
1724. Feby. 5. Buried Mrs. Twisden, widow. 

1728. Sept. 19. Buried Sir Thomas Twisden, Baronet. 

1729. Oct. 25. Buried ye Lady Anne Twisden. 

1733. Feby. 27. Buried, Mr. William Twisden, son of Sir Roger Twisden, 

Bart. 
1737. Sept. 12. Buried, Mr. John Twisden. 

1737. Nov. 7. Bom in ye parish of Addington was Roger Twisden, ye first- 

born son of Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., of ye parish in ye year of our 
Lord God, 1737. 

1738. Dec. 7. Buried, Jane and Elizabeth Twisden, infants. 

1740. Oct. 16. Baptised, Thomas Phillip, son of Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., and 
Elizabeth, his lady. 

1742. Dec. 13. Buried, Thos. Twisden. 

1743. Jany. 20. Baptised, John Papillon, son of Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., and 

Elizabeth, his lady. 

1762. April 22. Philip Papillon, Esq., buried. 
1762. Dec. 5. Elizabeth, relict of Philip Papillon, Esq., buried 
1772. Jany. 2. William Twisden, Esq., second son of Sir Roger Twisden, 

Barronett, buried. 

1772. March 16. Sir Roger Twisden, Barronett, buried. 
1772. Sept. 29. William Twisden, brother to the late Sir Roger Twisden, 

Bart., buried. 

1775. March 11. Dame Elizabeth Twisden, relict of the late Sir Roger 
Twisden, Bart., buried. 

15 



226 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1779. Feby. 22. Sir Roger Twisden, Baronet, and Rebecca Wildash, of the 
Parish of Chatham, married. 

1779. Oct. 13. Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., 42, buried. 

1780. Jany. 6. Rebecca, daughter of Sir Roger Twisden, Bart., lately deceased, 

by Dame Rebecca his wife, baptised. 
1782. April 8. Sir John Papillon Twisden, Baronet, and Elizabeth Geary, of 

Great Bookham, Surrey, married. 
1784. John, son of Sir John Twisden and Dame Elizabeth his wife, born 

Sept. 28, baptised Oct. 9. 

1810. Feby. 23. Sir John Papillon Twisden, Bart., aet. 57, buried. 

1811. Feby. 25. Sir John Twisden, Bart., of this parish, and Catharine 

Judith Coppard, spinster, of Gillingham, married. 

1812. John, son of Sir John Twisden, and Catharine Judith Lady Twisden, 

was baptised Jany. 18. 

1815. Dec. 26. Dowager Lady Elizabeth Twisden, Bradbourne, 61 years, buried. 

1819. April 20. Dame Catharine Judith, wife of Sir John Twisden, Brad- 
bourne, 29 years, buried. 

1833. Feby. 12. Dame Rebecca Twisden, relict of Sir Roger Twisden, from 
Hunton, aged 74 years, buried. 

1843. June 20. Mrs. Ann Twisden, the wife of Captain Twisden, R.N., 
Bradbourne, aged 71 years, buried. 

1853. June 29. John Twisden, Bradbourne, aged 85 years, buried. 

1871. Jany. 31. Amy Rebecca Twisden, aged 62 years, buried. 

1879. March 21st. Elizabeth Twisden, aged 78 years, buried. 

1880. Feby. 18th. Charlotte Harriet Twisden, aged 70 years, buried. 

1881. Nov. 29. Mary Matilda Twisden, aged 70 years, buried. 
1887. May 25. Thomas Edward Twisden, aged 68 years, buried. 

(WEST MALLING.) 
1721. Aug. 7. Mrs. Jane Twisden, buried in linen. 

HAWLEY (LEYBOURNE). 

1777. Dec. 26, James Hawley, Esq., M.D., buried. 

1777. October 20th. Christened, Dorothy Elizabeth, daughter of Henry 

Hawley, Esq., and Dorothy, his wife. 
1783. Dec. 11. Mrs. Dorothy Hawley, buried. 

August 22nd, 1780. Baptised, Harriet, daughter of Henry Hawley. Esq., 
and Dorothy his wife. 

1789. Jany. 26. Frances Ann, daughter of Henry Hawley, Esq., and Ann his 

wife, baptised. 

1790. August 26th. James, son of Henry Hawley, Esq., and Ann his wife, 

baptised. 

1791. November 8th. Sarah Hawley, aetatis 70, buried. 

1808. Feby. 9. Catherine Anne. Daughter of Henry Hawley, Esq., and 

Catherine Elizabeth, his wife, born Jan. 4, was baptised Feby. 9th, 
by J. K. Shawe Brooke. 

1809. Sir William Brook Bridges of Goodnestone, and Dorothea Elizabeth 

Hawley, married Dec. 16. 

1810. John Brook Bridges, of Saltwood, and Charlotte Hawley, married 

Nov. 28. 
1826. Buried, Sir Henry Hawley, Bart., Leybourne Grange, Jany. 28, aged 

81 years. 
1828. Nov. 14th. Buried, Lady Ann Hawley, relict of the first Sir Henry 

Hawley, Nov. 14, aged 72 years. 
1834. April 5th. Sir Henry Hawley, Bart., Leybourne Grange, buried April 5, 

aged 54 years. 
1834. July 27. Caroline Elizabeth Hawley, buried July 27, aged 12 years. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 227 

1836. April 6. Mary Ann Dorothy Hawley, London, April 6, aged 26 years 

buried. 
1848. October 28. Ada Mary, daughter of Henry Charles and Mary Elizabeth 

Hawley, baptised. 

1850. November 22. Frances Charlotte Hawley, Clifton in Bristol, 34 years, 

buried. 

1851. June 22. Charles Cusac, son of Henry Charles and Mary Elizabeth 

Hawley, baptised. 

1853. March 6. Kathleen Augusta, daughter of Henry Charles and Mary 

Elizabeth Hawley, baptised. 

1854. December 3. Frederick William, son of Henry Charles and Mary 

Elizabeth Hawley, baptised. 
1857. August 22. Ethel Maud, daughter of Henry Charles and Mary Elizabeth 

Hawley, baptised. 

1859. May 23. Sir Michael Cusac Smith, Baronet, aged 65 years, buried. 
1862. March 2nd. Dame Catherine Elizabeth Hawley, of the parish of 

St. Mary -le- Bone, aged 75 years, buried. 
1862. March 22. Baptised, Arthur Cecil, son of Henry Charles, and Mary 

Elizabeth Hawley. 
1866. June 28. Mary Anne Angelina Cusac Smith, Norwood, Surrey, June 21, 

75 years, buried. 

1871. September 27. Elizabeth Hawley, Reigate, aged 60 years, buried. 
1875. April 27. Joseph Henry Hawley, Bart., London, aged 61 years, buried. 
1877. February 22. Rev a- Charles Henry Hawley, rector of this parish 

(Leybourne), 22 February, aged 53 years, buried. 
1891. July 21. Winifred Mary Hawley, Fairby Lawn, Boston, July 21, aged 

10 years, buried. 

(RYAHSH.) 

1839. John Hawley, Sept. 10, aged 78, buried. 

Besides the above titled families, we have also the following that 
have not been previously mentioned in this work : 

ASHLEY (ALLINGTON). 

Jacob, the son of Isaac Ashley of Maidstone, Knight, and Dame Anne, his 
wife, was baptised 13 January, 1651, by me, R. Thomas. He was 
baptised in Maidstone. 

FAUNCE (AYLESFORD). 

1713. Elizabeth, wife of Sir Robert Faunce of Maidstone, was buried here at 

Aylesford the third day of December. 
1716. Sir Robert Faunce of Maidstone was buried here at Aylesford, 

Feby. 16. 

1723. Mrs. Margaret Faunce was buried Nov. 23. 
1739. Jany. 29. George Faunce, Esq. was buried. 

WILLIAMS (AYLESFORD). 
1700. June 7. Elizabeth, the daughter of Sir Francis Williams, was buried. 

WILD, OB WYLDE (EAST MALLING). 

1677. Jane Wild, daughter of Felix Wild, Esq., and Eleanor his wife, was 
baptised in London, in the parish of St. Giles-in-the-Fields, October 
19th, by Dr. Stillingfleet. 

1697. Oct. 28. Married was Thomas Sympson and Jane, daughter of Sir 
Felix Wylde, Bart. 



228 MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY. 

(WEST MALLING.) 

1710. March 19. Mrs. Elinor Wylde, the third and youngest daughter of 

Sir Felix Wylde, Bart., buried.- 
1722. October 26. Sir Felix Wild, Bart., buried. 

WHITWOBTH (LEYBOUENE). 

1750. Feby. 26, was born Margaret Whitworth, daughter of Charles Whit- 

worth, Esq., of the Grange, and Martha, his wife ; baptised March 
ye 6th by me, John Shaw, curate. 

1751. March 21. Catharine, daughter of Charles Whitworth, Esq., of the 

Grange, and Martha, his wife, was baptised. 

1752. May 29. Charles Whitworth, son of Charles Whitworth, Esq., and 

Martha, his wife, christened. 

1753. June 24. Mary, daughter of Charles Whitworth, Esq., was baptised by 

G. Richards, vicar of West Peckham. 

1754. July 2. Baptised Francis, son of Charles Whitworth, Esq., and Martha 

his wife. 

1755. October 24. Richard Whitworth, son of Charles Whitworth, Esq., and 

Martha his wife, baptised. 

1760. April 7. Priscilla Whitworth, daughter of Charles Whitworth, Esq., 

and Martha his wife, baptised. 

1761. October 16. Robert Whitworth, son of Charles Whitworth, Esq., and 

Martha his wife, baptised. 

1763. May 3. Anne Barbara Whitworth, daughter of Charles Whitworth, 
Esq., and Martha his wife, baptised. 

TUFTON (OFFHAM). 

1625. Richard Tufton, ye son of Richard Tufton. Esquire, was buried ye 
second day of July. 

TWYSDEN (ADDINGTON). 
1833. June 21st. Married William Twysden and Elizabeth Polhill. 

GORINGE (BlRLING.) 

1609. Lucye, the daughter of Sir George Goringe, was baptised the 1st of 
October. 

Besides these titled people, we have the following families of gentry 
who were squires in these parishes from time to time. From the 
long period of their holding the manor and the advowson, those that 
deserve the first mention are the Wattons and the families descended 
from them the Bartholomews and the Stratfords. 

WATTON (ADDINGTON), BARTHOLOMEW, AND STRATFORD. 

1572. Jany. 13. Thomas Watton and Mary Rutland ye xiii. of January were 

married. 
1580. July 20. Thomas Watton, Esquire, the twentieth day of July was 

buried. 
1594. June 2. John, the son of Thomas Watton, Esquior, the second day of 

June was baptised. 
1599. Thomas, the son of Thomas Watton, Esquior, the of September 

was baptised. 
1621. Thomas Watton, son of William Watton, was baptised ye 22nd day of 

March. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 229 

1622. Elizabeth, the daughter of William Watton, Eaquior, the 4th day of 

June was baptised. 

1623. Margaret, the daughter of William Watton, Esquior, the 10th day of 

June was baptised. 

1624. William Watton, the son of William Watton, Esquire, the 20th day of 

June was baptised. 
1626. Thomas Watton, ye son of William Watton, was baptised ye last day 

of December. 
1628. Martha Watton, daughter of William Wattou, the xv. day of September 

was baptised. 
1645. The 15th day of April Elizabeth Watton, the daughter of William 

Watton, was baptised. 
1661. May 19. Frances, daughter of William Watton, Esq., and Margaret 

his wife, was baptised. 

1679. Margaret, the relict of William Watton, Esquire, was buried Sept. 20. 

1680. Aug. 16. John, the son of William Watton, Esq., and Mary his wife, 

was born Aug. 5, and baptised Aug. 16. 
1685. Thomas Watton, gent., was buried May 2nd. 
1685. Aug. 9th, Elizabeth Watton, daughter of William Watton, Esq., and 

Mary his wife, was born ii. July 1685, and baptised the 9th day of 

August. 

1688. Will. Watton and Mary his wife buried Aug. 7th. 
1695. Mary, the wife of Captain William Watton, was buried June ye llth. 
1699. Mary, ye daughter of Mr. Edmund Watton, and Mrs. Sarah his wife, 

was borne and baptised ye 19th of April. 
1703. William Watton, of Addington, Esq., April 30th. Affidavit brought May 

1st, Reginald Peckham, Esq., executor. 
1703. July 7. Elizabeth, daughter of Edmund Watton of Addington, Esq., 

and of Sarah, his wife, born July 3rd. 

1705. Feby. 23rd. Margaret, daughter of Edmund Watton, Esq., and Sarah, 

his wife, born Jan. 11, and christened Feby. 23rd. 

1706. October 1. Ann, daughter of Edmund Watton, Esq., and Sarah, his 

wife, born and baptised Oct. 1st. 

1707. Ann, daughter of Edmund Watton, Esq., buried Aug. 31st. 
1707. Dec. 17. Sarah, wife of Edmund Watton, Esq., buried. 
1711. Sept. 11. Mrs. Elizabeth Watton, buried. 

1715. July 22. Mary, daughter of Edmund Watton and Ann his wife, born 

July 22. 

1715. August 9. Mary, daughter of Edmund Watton, buried. 
1717. April 16th. Edmund Watton, Esq., buried. 
1719. Jany. 1st. John Krow, son of Philip Bartholomew, Esq., born Dec. 1, 

baptised. 

1727. Sept. 30. Elizabeth, daughter of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., buried. 

1728. June 17. Leonard, son of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., and Elizabeth,* 

his wife, born June 15, baptised. 

1729. May 23. Edmund, son of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq.. and Elizabeth, 

his wife, born May 12, baptised. 

1730. October 8. Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., buried. 

1731. Jany. 28. Jane, daughter of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., and Elizabeth, 

his wife, born July 12/30, baptised. 

1735. Jany. 23. Jane, daughter of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., buried. 
1737. Jany. 10. Roger Twisden, Esq., and Madame Elizabeth Bartholomew, 

widow, married. 
1737. November 14. Roger, son of Sir Roger and Lady Twisden, born 

Nov. 7, baptised. 
1739. May 29. Mrs. Frances Watton, buried. 



* The last of the Wattons. 



230 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1743. July 17. Edmund Bartholomew, son of Dame Elizabeth Twisden, of 

Bradbourne, by Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., buried. 
1799. April 25. John Wingfield, bachelor, and Frances* Bartholomew. 
1802. October 23. Buried Mrs. Frances Bartholomew, wife of Leonard 

Bartholomew, Esq. 
1808. March 12. Frances Amelia, daughter of the Hon ble - John and Frances * 

Wingfield Stratford, baptised. 
1810. March 22. Isabella Harriet, daughter of the Hon ble - John and Frances 

Wingfield Stratford, baptised. 

1810. October 27. Buried Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., aged 82 years. 

1811. Feby. 7. John, son of the Hon ble - John and Frances Wingfield 

Stratford, baptised. 

1827. July 21. Frances Wingfield Stratford, aged 51 years, buried. 
1850. August 10. The Hon bl - John Wingfield Stratford, aged 78 years, buried. 
1863. April 4. Harriett, the widow of the Hon ble - John Wingfield Stratford, 

aged 80 years, buried. 
1880. May 13. John Wingfield Stratford, aged 70 years, buried. 

WATTON (LEYBOUENE). 

1652. May 30. Thomas Watton, ye sonne of William Watton, Esq re -, of 
Addington, and Margaret his wife, was laid here in his own grave. 

BARTHOLOMEW AND STRATFORD (WEST MALLING). 

1764. Dec. 22. Humphrey Bartlemew, M.D., buried. 

1773. Leonard Bartholomew of this parish, bachelor, and Frances Thornton. 

of the same parish, married in the church by licence, the nineteenth 

day of August, in the year 1773. 
1775. Dec. 27. Baptised Frances, daughter of Leonard Bartholomew, Esq., 

and Frances, his wife. 
1808. July 11. Married Robert Kichard, of the parish of Maidstone, bachelor, 

and Sarah Stratford of this parish, spinster. 

WINGFIELD STRATFORD (E.YARSH). 
1856. Nov. 9. Leonard Guise, son of John and Guise Wingfield-Stratford. 

OLIVER (LEYBOURNE). 

This family took its name from William, son of Oliver Quintin, 
who in the eleventh year of King Henry VI. purchased some lands 
called Hilks, in the parish of Scale. In the deed he is frequently 
called William, son of Oliver, and from this he and his descendants 
came to be called Oliver, and dropped Quintin. The Grange passed 
from them by the marriage of their last descendant, whose name 
was, strange to say, Juliana, like the last of the De Leybournes, to 
the Coverts, from whom it passed in a similar way to the Saxbys. 

1561. Nov. 19. Buried, William Oliver. 

1562. March 13. Married, Thomas Petley and Joane Oliver. 
1565. March 8. Married, Richard Wood and Elizabeth Oliver. 
1568. November 13. Joane Oliver, baptised. 

1570. November 3. William Oliver, baptised. 

1571. November 30. Elizabeth Oliver, baptised. 
1573. January 2. Robert Oliver, baptised. 
1576. November 2. Margaret Oliver, baptised. 

* The last of the Bartholomews of Addington. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 231 

1580. Jany. 25. Margaret Oliver, baptised. 

1581. August 7. Sylvester Oliver, baptised. 
1584. May 17. William Oliver, buried. 
1592. Nov. 11. Margaret Oliver, buried. 

1601. July 5. Mary, daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, jun., baptised. 

1613. October 23. Robert Oliver, sen., buried. 

1623. December 22. Francis Brudonell and Judith Oliver, married. 

1624. Edward Brudonell, the son of Francis and Judith Brudonell, baptised 

the 22nd of Feby. 

1627. Mary Oliver, the daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, jun., baptised the 
24th April. 

1629. April 7th. Juliana Oliver baptised. 

1630. September 22. Elizabeth Oliver, daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, 

baptised. 

1631. December 24. Mr. Robert Oliver, sen., was buried. 

1632. October 25. Robert Oliver, son of Mr. Robert Oliver, baptised. 

1634. June 1. Elizabeth Oliver, the daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, was 

buried. 
1634. Oct. 16. Judith Oliver, daughter of Mr. Robert and Juliana Oliver, 

baptised. 
1638 Oct. 4. Francis Oliver, the daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, was 

baptised. 

1639. Dec. 16. Thomas Oliver, the son of Robert Oliver, was baptised. 

1640. March 2nd. Baptised was Jane, the daughter of Robert Oliver. 
1644. Feby. 2. Buried, Juliana Oliver, the wife of Robert Oliver. 
1647. May 30. William Oliver of the Castil in Leybourne, was buried. 
1656. Nov. 4. Robert Oliver, the eldest and most accomplished son of Mr. 

Robert Oliver of this parish, was buried in this church. 
1656. Dec. 16. An intention of marriage betwixt Mr. Edward Covert, and 
Mrs. Juliana Oliver, * both of this parish, was published three Lord's 
days, vid. the 1st day of November, the 8th day of the same month, 
and the loth day of the same, after Divine service, and no objection 
made thereunto, in witness of which I have subscribed. John Codd, 
registrar of the parish of Leyborn. 

The aforesaid marriage was solemnised before me in the presence of Robert 
Oliver, the father of the said Juliana and John Covert, brother to the said 
Edward, and Barnham Oliver, brother of the said Juliana, upon the 16th day of 
December 1656. William James. 

1664. August 11. Mrs. Frances, daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver, was married 
to Mr. John Stowell of Rochester. 

1666. Mrs. Mary Oliver, ye eldest daughter of Mr. Robert Oliver of this pish., 

died Aug. ye 18, and buried 20, ejusdem. 

1667. Mrs. Mary Oliver, the mother of Mr. Robert Oliver, died Oct. 22nd, and 

was buried 29th, ejusdem. 

1668. Dec. 29. Mr. Robert Oliver, departed this life and was buried 

January 1st. 
1670. Barnham Oliver, the youngest son of Mr. Robert Oliver, departed this 

life, September 28th, was interred Octo. 13. 
1678. Oct. 15. Thomas Oliver, Esquire, was buried. 
1703. Aug. 24. Henry, the son of William Saxby, gent., and Elizabeth, his 

wife, was baptised. 
1705. April 25. Elizabeth, ye daughter of William Saxby, gent, and Elizabeth, 

his wife, baptised. 
1707. Sept. 24. William, ye son of William Saxby, gentleman, and Elizabeth, 

his wife, was baptised. 

* She conveyed Leybourne Grange from the Olivers to the Coverts, and her 
daughter carried it to the Saxbys. 



232 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1708. Aug. 20. Thomas Golding, gentleman, and Frances Saxby, gentle- 
woman, were married by licence, in ye parish church of Leybourne, 
on ye 20th Aug. 1708, a licence being first had from Rochester. 

1708. November 7th. Thomas, ye son of William Saxby, gentleman, and 
Elizabeth his wife, was baptised. 

1710. October 12. Mary, ye daughter of William Saxby, gentleman, and 

Elizabeth, his wife, baptised. 

1711. Oliver Edward, ye son of William Saxby, gentleman, and Elizabeth, 

his wife, baptised. 

1713. Robert, ye son, of William Saxby, gent., and Elizabeth, his wifr, was 
baptised, ye 24th of April. 

1717. George, ye son of William Saxby and Elizabeth, his wife, baptised 

March 25. 

1718. April 21. John, ye son of William Saxby, gent., and Elizabeth, his 

wife, baptised. 

1719. July 18. Elizabeth, wife of Captain William Saxby of ye Grange, 

baptised. 

1719. Feby. 14. John, ye son of Captain William Saxby, buried. 
1725. April 5. Buried, Mrs. Mary Saxby. 
1725. Dec. loth. Buried. Oliver Edward Saxby. 
1737. July 17. Buried, Mr. Henry Saxby, of the parish of Ryarsh. 
1744. Sept. 2. Buried, Mr Henry Saxby. Affidavit made. 
1746. Mrs. Mary Saxby of Town Mailing, buried April 5th. 
1786. Nov. 2. George Saxby, Esq., buried. 

1788. April 27. Christening. Thomas, son of Henry and Elizabeth Saxby. 
1791. Feby. 20. Baptised, Mary dr. of William and Susannah Saxby. 
1793. April 28. Baptised, Ann, dr. of Henry anfl Elizabeth Saxby. " 
1795. March 6th. Robert, son of Henry and Elizabeth Saxby. baptised. 

1797. Jany. 20. Michael, son of Henry and Elizabeth Saxby, baptised by 

the Rev. Mr. Warde. rector of Ditton. 

1798. Jany. 23. Elizabeth Saxby, aged 71, from London, buried. 

RYCHAKDS (TEOTTESCLIFFE). 

The chief families of Trottescliffe died out at a very early period, 
as will appear by the following extracts ; but the parish is the home 
of the family of Godden, from which they have spread over the 
whole valley. The oldest of these families is the Rychards. 

1547. Mrs. Annis Rychaids was buried the xvi th - day of February. 

1548. Mr. John Rychards, gentleman, was buried the iiii. day of February, 

ut supra. 

1566. Mr. Richard Rychards. was buried the 13th day of April. 
1568. Maryon Rychards, gentlewoman, was buried the xiii th - day of January. 
1570. Thomas Rychards, gentleman, was buried the xix tb day of October. 
1 575. Richard Rychards, gentleman, was buried the xxvi. day of March. 
1579. Margaret Rychards, gentlewoman, was buried the 31st day of March. 

ATTWOOD (TROTTESCLIFFE). 

1594. Johan Attwood, uxor Nicholas Attwood, was buried the first of May. 
1600. Samuel Atwode, the good youth, was buried the 12th day of May. 
1649. Mr. Edmond Attwood, aged about 63 years, buryed May ye 7th. 

1647. June 10. Elizabeth, daughter of James Atwoode, gent., was baptised. 

1648. Mary, ye daughter of James and Mildred Atwood, was baptised the 

same day that King Charles the First was beheaded, Jan. 30. 

1649. Mr. Edmond Attwood, aged about 63 years, buried May the seventh. 
1656. Millicent, ye daughter of Mr. James Attwood, was buried Jany. 

the 30th. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 233 

1663. Elizabeth Attwood, the daughter of William Attwood and Sarah 

Attwood, his deare beloved wife, was baptised the 31st day of July. 
1669. Edmund Attwood, the honest gent., was buried September ye 13th. 
1674. Mr. James Attwood, aged 67 years, was buried October 7th. 

We find in 1667 Mr. Samuel Attwood was curate of Trottescliffe. 
About the same period also we have a family named 

MARSH (TROTTESCLIFFE). 

1666. December 13. Millesend, the daughter of Mr. Richard Marsh, baptis xL 

1667. Richard, the son of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, was 

baptised the ninth day of December. 

1668. James, the son of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, was 

baptised November ye 15th. 

1669. Edmund, the son of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, was 

baptised April 20th. 

1671. Elizabeth, the daughter of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his 

wife, was baptised Feby. 21st. 

1672. Elizabeth, the daughter of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his 

wife, was buried March 9th. 

1673. Richard Marsh, Esq., buried December 12th. 

1673. Mary, the daughter of Richard Marsh, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, 

baptised 3rd of October. 
1676. Mary, the daughter of Richard Marsh, Esq., was buried March 26th. 

GODDEN (TROTTESCLIFFE). 

The records of this family, gentle and simple, nearly fill the 
register of Trottesclifie. Besides those mentioned as belonging to 
this parish, we have also a great many of their records in several of 
our parishes. 

1606. August 5th. James Godden, the son of Thomas Godden, of the Court 

Lodge, was baptised. 
1610. The 20th day of May John, the son of Thomas Godden of the Court 

Lodge, was baptised. 

1635. September 5th, Mr. Godden, the curate of Trottescliffe. was buried. 
1641. James Godden of Rouses was buried ye llth day of February. 

1645. May 27th. Anne, daughter to John Godden, son of Thomas Godden at 

the Court Lodge, baptised. 

1646. March 4. Thomas Godden at the Court Lodge, aged about 60 years, 

was buried. 

1647. March 9. Mary, widow to the above-named Thomas Godden, at the 

Court Lodge, was buried. 
1649. November 27. Dorothy, ye little daughter of James Godden of Rouses, 

was buried. 
1657. Martha, the wife of Mr. Thomas Godden of the Court Lodge, dyed the 

4th of August, and was buryed the 8th day of the same month. 

1670. December 29. Thomas Godden, gent., was baptised. 

1680. July 5. John Godden, gent. Affidavit was made by Dorothy Rose. 
1684. May 27. Thomas Quarrington and Mary Godden, the daughter of 

Thomas Godden, were married, being Whitmonday. 
1700. There was buried in woollen Mr. James Godden. Affidavit was made 

by Samuel Attwood, rector of Addington, Nov. 6th. 
1707. May 28. There was buried in woollen, Mrs. Dorothy Godden, aged 

93. Affidavit was made by Mary Quarrington. 



234 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1729. There was buried in linen, Mary Godden. Affidavit was made before 
Thomas Dallison, Esq., one of His Majesty's Justices of the peace, 
Jany. 30th. 

(RYARSH.) 

XXIInd day of January, 1589. Robert Godden, ye sonne of Thomas Godden. 

of Callescourt in the parish of Ryarsh, married in Seal church to 

Jane French of ye said parish of Ryarsh. 

1585. Thomas Godden, the younger, was buried the 10th day of May. 
1585. Henry Godden, the son of Thomas Godden, was buried the xxvith day 

of September. 

1602. The 17th day of February, Edmund My His and Alice Godden, ye 

daughter of Amos Godden, of Trosly Court, were married at Trosly 
church on Monday. 

1607. Thomas Yonge and Marie Godden, ye daughter of Thomas Godden, of 

Warlwesworth, were married the eleventh day of March. 
1609. Thomas Godden of Dartford was buried ye eight and twentieth day of 

June, anno predicto. 
1620. James Godden, the younger sonne of James Godden, Esquire, of 

Trottescliffe, and Audrey Cripps of the Ville* of Ryarsh were 

married the two and twentieth day of April. 
1672. William Champion and Dorothy Godden, the daughter of Thomas 

Godden, were married the 20th of February, being Shrove Tuesday. 
1714. Oct. 7. Edward Godden of West Mailing and Jane Elizabeth Skinner, 

were married in the parish church of llyarsh. 

(SNODLAND.) 

1575. Samuel Goddin, ye sonne of Thomas, of Paddlesworth, bapt. 17 Sept. 

1592. John, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth (was baptised), 

12th December. 

1593. Thomas, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, baptised 17th 

October. 
1596. Antony, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, baptised 23rd 

April. 
1598. Bridget, ye daughter of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, was baptised 

1st November. 
1600. Edward, ye sonne of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, was baptised 

13th January. 

1603. Nevill Goddin, the son of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, was 

baptised 28th of April, the first year of the reign of King James. 

1608. Elizabeth, the daughter of Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, was 

baptised the third day of April. 

1615. Edward Godden of Paddlesworth, aged , buried on Sunday August 

27, in ye church. 

(ALLINGTON.) 

1640. Hunt, of Maidstone, and Anne Godden of this parish, were married in 
the parish church of Allington, the twenty-ninth of September, by 
virtue of a licence out of the court of Rochester. 

1731. Mrs. Frances Godden, of Maidstone, was buried, November 18. 

1745. Mrs. Mary Godden, buried Dec. 8th. 

WALSINGHAM (RYARSH). 
This family lived at Ryarsh for about two hundred years ; they 

* We have several places called by the French word Ville in Kent, e.g., 
Dunkirk, near Canterbury ; this, however, is the only example in this neigh- 
bourhood. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 286 

were probably an offshoot of the Walsinghams of Igtham Mote, and 
Chislehurst. 

1567. The second day of November in the year of our Lord there was buried 

Ann Walsingham, the wyfe of John Walsingham. 
1572. The third day of May in the year of our Lord, there was buried John 

Walsingham. 
1577. The xvii 01 - day of July there was christened Edward Walsingham son 

of Edward Walsingham. 
1579. Anno supradicto, Thomas Walsingham, filius Edmundi Walsingham, 

baptisatus fuit xxiii die Augusti. 
1579. The twenty-sixth day of March there was buried Thomas Walsingham, 

son of Edmund. 

1579. The twelfth of July there was buried John Walsingham. 

1580. John Walsingham, ye son of Edmund Walsingham, was baptised xv th 

day of February. 

1581. The 17th day of October, in ye yeare above said, was baptised Elizabeth 

the daughter of Edward Walsingham. 

1582. Joane Walsingham, the daughter of Edward Walsingham, was baptised 

the fifth day of December. 

1586. Mary Walsingham, the daughter of Edmund Walsingham, was baptised 

the first day of May. 

1587. Jane Walsingham, the daughter of Edmund Walsingham, was baptised 

the fifth day of December. 

1589. Jany. 22nd. Robert, son of Edward Walsingham, was baptised. 
1589. Feby. 10. Robert Walsingham was buried. 

1591. Feby. 23. Mary Walsingham, the daughter of Edmund Walsingham, 

was baptised, anno supradicto. 

1592. June 15. Stephen Walsingham, ye son of Edmund Walsingham, wa 

baptised. 

1593. Nicholas Walsingham, filius Edmundi Walsingham, baptisatus fuit on 

Sunday ye xiii. August. 
1597. The third of May. Robert Walsingham was brought out of the Hundred 

of Eyhorne, and was buried in the churchyard of Ryarsh. 
1600. February 7th. Henerie Serjeant and Elizabeth Walsingham were 

married. 
1602. December 23rd. Jane Walsingham, daughter of Edmund Walsingham, 

was buried. 
1608. September 19th. John Bridger, the parson of the parish of Mereworth, 

and Marie Walsingham, ye daughter of Edmond Walsingham, were 

married here. 

1612. Marjorie, daughter of Edward Walsingham, baptised ye xxv. of June. 
1620. April 30. Martha Walsingham, widow, buried. 
1632. Anno domini. Nov. 1st. Edward Walsingham and Jane Caysier were 

married. 

1636. July 21. Margaret, daughter of Edwarde Walsingham, baptised. 
1639. June 22. Elizabeth, ye daughter of Edward Walsingham, buried. 
1642. August 4. Jane, daughter of Edward and Jane Walsingham, was 

baptised. 
1665. Anno domini. Feby. xxii. John Codd and Jane Walsingham, both of 

this parish, were married in the parish church of Ryarsh. 
1675. Sept. 30. Margaret, daughter of Edward Walsingham, baptised. 
1677. Feby. 14. Jane, daughter of Edward Walsingham. 
1679. June 2nd. There was buried in linnen, Mary Walsingham ye wife of 

Edward Walsingham, of the parish of Ryersh, gent., informacion 

being given to Roger Twisden, Esq., by Goodman Bockett of East 

Mailing, mason; and by virtue of a warrant from him, ye said 

Roger Twisden, five pounds were paid upon ye goods of Edward 



236 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

Walsingham, one moiety of which was given to ye informer, ye 
other to ye poor of the said parish. 

1682. Jany. 5. There was baptised Mary, ye daughter of Edward Walsingham 

and Felix, his wife. 

1683. August 21st. There was baptised, Anne, ye daughter of Edward Wal- 

singham, and Felix, his wife. 

1685. April ye 25th. There was buried in linnen, William Caysier, of ye parish 
of Ryersh, yeoman, information being given to Serjeant Selby by 
Thomas F&rnott of ye same parish and by virtue of warrant from 
him, and by virtue of wan-ant from him, ye said Serjeant Selbie, five 
pounds were levied upon ye goods of William Caysier, one moiety 
was paid to the informer, and the other to ye said parish on 29th of 
May last. 

1688. July 13th. There was baptised, Elizabeth, ye daughter of Edward 
Walsingham and Felix, his wife. 

1692. October 17th. John, son of Edward Walsingham. was borne 17th 
October, and baptised 21st October. 

1695. Sept. 19th. Jane, ye daughter of Mr. Walsingham and Felix, his wife, 
baptised. 

1695. December 24. There was buried in woollen, Jane Walsingham. of 
Ryersh, widdow. affidavit being made by Mary Whiting of ye same 
parish, before Thomas Pyke, curate of Addington, in the presence of 
Mary Bocke and Jane Humphries. 

1708. Anne, daughter of Mr. Edward Walsingham, July 22, buried. 

1713. November 28. Susan, daughter of Mr. Edward Walsingham, baptised. 

1714. March 11. Mr. Edward Walsingham, buried. Affidavit, March 15th. 

1716. June S. Anne, daughter of Mr. Edward Walsingham. baptised. 

1717. Mrs. Felix Walsingham, Sept. 8, buried. Affidavit, Sept. 15th. 

1718. May 15. Mr. Edward Walsingham, buried. Affidavit, May 21. 

1720. Nov. 19. Anne, daughter of Mr. John and Rebeccah Walsingham, 

baptised. 

1721. Rebeccah, daughter of Mr. John and Rebeccah Walsingham, baptised 

Jany. 9. 

1722. March 19. Jane, daughter oC Mr. John and Rebeccah Walsingham, 

baptised. 
1724. October 22. Mary, daughter of Mr. John and Rebeccah Walsingham, 

baptised. 

1726. Mrs. Rebeccah Walsingham, buried. Affidavit July 17. 
1764. Jany. 29. Mr. John Walsingham, from Birling, buried in the church. 

Affidavit, Feby. 17. 

(BIRLING). 

1575. George Walsingham, the son of Robert Walsingham, was baptised the 
viith of December. 

(AYLESFORD.) 

1678. Edward Walsingham of Ryarsh, and Joane Browne of ye same, were 
married by a licence out of Rochester Court, November 30. 

(EAST MALLING.) 
1576 Married, was Thomas Tomlin and Mary Walsingham, ye 31st December 

(WEST MALLING.) 

1719. May 30. William Chapman, gent., bat., and Susannah Walsingham, 

widow, both of this parish, were married by licence. 

1721. November 21. Mrs. Susannah, wife of William Chapman, gent., buried. 
1721. December 12. Ann Walsingham, the daughter of the said Mrs. Susannah 

Chapman, buried. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 237 

ADDISON (OFFHAM). 

This family is connected with Offham for nearly three hundred 
years, which gives it a title to our consideration. 

1585. Robert Addison, the sonne of William Addison, was baptised the xiiith 

day of September. 
1591. William Addison, the sonne of William Addison, was baptised the 

xviith day of January. 
1593. Margaret Addison, wife of William Addison, buried 13th day of April. 

1610. Jane, the wife of William Addison, was buried August 22nd. 

1611. Robert Addison and Margaret Jordan were married the 10th day of 

June. 

1611. John Addison and Dorothy Waite were married the 20th day of 

October. 

1612. William Addison, ye sonne of John Addison, baptised ye 22nd day of 

November. 
1612. Henry Addison, ye sonne of Robert Addison, baptised ye 14th day of 

February. 
1614. John Addison, ye sonne of Robert Addison, baptised ye 4th day of 

December. 
1616. John, ye sonne of John Addison, baptised ye 7th day of April. 

1616. William Addison, ye son of Robert Addison, baptised ye 8th day of 

February. 

1617. William Addison, ye sonne of Robert Addison, baptised ye 7th day of 

March. 

1618. Margaret Addison, daughter of John Addison, baptised 4th day of 

February. 
1664. John, son of John Adyson, jun., and Margaret his wife, baptised 22nd 

March. 

1666. John Addison, gent., was buryed 4th August. 
1673. Dorothy, the widow of John Adyson, buried 28th April. 
1694. John Addison, buryed May 19. 
1698. Anne Addison, buryed March the sixth. 
1703. Margaret Addison, widdow, buryed December 8. 
1721. May ye 8th. Buried John Addison. 
1743. June 16th. John Smith, of the parish of West Peckham, bat., and Mary 

Addison of this parish, spinster, were married by licence at Offham 

church. 

1792. Frances, daughter of Friend and Anne Addison, privately baptised 

Dec. 19th, 1790, admitted into the congregation, July 17. 

1793. Elizabeth Margaret, daughter of Friend and Anne Addison, privately 

baptised May 4, admitted into the congregation June 11. 

1794. John Smith, son of Friend and Anne Addison. privately baptised 18th 

August, admitted into the congregation 30th September. 

1796. George Smith, son of Friend and Anne Addison, baptised Jany. 19th. 

1797. October 13th. Susannah, daughter of Friend and Anne Addison, 

baptised. 
1801. Frances Addison, wife of Friend Addison, the elder, buried March 17th, 

St. Patrick's day, aged 62, at Ryarsh. 
1832. May 7th. Anne, relict of Friend Addison, buried. 
1834. Nov. 3. John Smith, son of Friend and Anne Addison, buried. 
1838. April 1. Frederick Addison, buried. 
1843. April 30. George Smith Addison, buried. 
1851. May 21. Mary Addison, buried. 

(WEST MALLINQ.) 

1719. March 11. Mary, the daughter of William Addison and Anne, his wife, 
baptised. 



238 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1720. May 12. Anne, the daughter of Anne Addison and William, baptised. 
1731. July 13. Margaret, the daughter of William and Anne Addison 
baptised. 

(RYARSH.) 

1824. Friend Addison, sen., Offham, Oct. 20, aged 81, buried. 

1826. Friend Addison, Offham, Aug. 12, aged 60, buried. 

1864. Frances Addison, Brixton, Surrey, October 1, aged 73, buried. 

GOLDING. 

We have reserved this family to the last ; members of it are to 
be found recorded in nearly all our parish registers of the district. 
The oldest entries of this name are to be found in the register of 
Snodland. 

1601. Robertus Golding, filius Thomse Golding, baptisatus fuit Feby. 29. 
1603. Margaret Golding, the daughter of Thomas Golding, was baptised 
June 3. 

The next oldest are from East Mailing. 

1627. Buried was Elizabeth Goldinge, ye wife of Steven Goldinge, November 

the xxvith. 
1630. Married, October 26, Edmund Gibson and Margaret Golding. 

The Goldings became soon after this settled at Leybourne, in the 
register of which we find them for about sixty years, where they 
became connected by marriage with the Saxbys. 

1669. Thomas Golding, the son of Thomas Golding and Anne, his wife, was 

baptised, March 14. 

1672. October 24. Thomas Golding, infant, buried. 
1675. July 15. Alice Ramsay, the sister of Thomas Golding, gent., and wife 

of William Ramsay, was buried. 

1685. Dec. 7. Edward Golding of Leybourne was buried. 
1705. October 5. Thomas Golding, Esq., of ye parish of Ditton, was buried : 

late of Leybourne. 

1708. August 20. Thomas Golding, gentleman, and Frances Saxby, gentle- 

woman, were married by license in ye parish church of Leybourne, 
on the 20th August 1708, a licence being first had from Rochester. 

1709. Francesse, ye daughter of Thomas Goldin. gent., and Francesse, his wife, 

baptised ye twenty-ninth of June. 

1710. June 12. Thomas, ye son of Thomas Goldin, gent., by Frances, his wife, 

baptised. 

1722. May 1. Marie, ye daughter of Thomas Golding and Frances, his wife, 
was baptised ye first day of May. 

1713. Henery, ye son of Frances Goldin, bapt. 29 Novemb. 

1714. Margaret, ye daughter of Thomas and Francesse Goldin, his wife, 

baptised ye 4th of May. 

1716. Elizabeth, ye daughter of Thomas Goldin. gent., and Frances, his wife, 
baptised Nov. 10. 

1718. William, ye son of Thomas Golding, gent., and Frances, his wife, 

baptised 5 June. 

1719. Alice Goldin, daughter of Thomas Goldin, gent., and Francesse, his wife, 

baptised May 8th at home, and certifed in ye church 23rd. 
1719. Margaret, daughter of Thomas Goldin, gent., and Frances, his wife, 
buried ye 12 August. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 239 

1720. July 24. Richard, ye sonne of Thomas and Francesse Goldin, baptised. 

1720. Oct. 25. Buried, Henry Golding, gent. 

1721. March 29. Baptised, Robert, son of Thomas Goldin and Frances, his 

wife. 

1724. October 14. Baptised, Edward, ye son of Thomas Golding, gent., and 
Frances, his wife. Buried November 18th. 

For a little longer period we find them at Trottescliffe. 

1(585. Feby. ye 8th. There was baptised, Thomas, the son of Henry Golding 

and Elizabeth, his wife. 

1689. April 12. William, the son of Henry Golding, buried. 
1706. August 11. There was baptised William, the son of Henry Golding 

and Amy, his wife. 

1797. September 14. Sarah, the daughter of Thomas and Charlotte Golding. 
1799. May 13th. Thomas, son of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, baptised. 
1801. October 8th. Mary Anne, daughter of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, 

baptised. 
1804. August 19th. Charlotte, daughter of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, 

baptised. 

1804. October 14th. Charlotte Golding, infant, buried. 

1805. December 6th. George, son of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, baptised. 
1808. March 13th. William, son of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, baptised. 
1810. June 24. Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Charlotte Golding, 

baptised. 

We have a few entries in the Allington register. 

1651. George Sedwick, of Town Mailing, and Elizabeth Golding of the same 

were married the twelfth of January. 
1651. Henry Golding of Banning, and Barbara Hodges of Hunton, were 

married the 16th of October. 

1810. Thomas, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, borned Feby. 12, baptise 

August 12. 

1811. Henry, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, borned April (the date is 

pasted over) and baptise August 11. 

1813. January 10. John, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, farmer. 

1814. August 21. Anna Maria, daughter of Thomas and Mary Golding, 

farmer. 

We have two early entries in the parish of Addington. 

1686. Anna, the daughter of Henry Golding, and Thomasin his wife, baptised 

March 18. 
1729. George, son of John and Susan Golding, baptised August 3rd. 

In West Mailing there is only one entry. 

1710. Jany. 12. Thomas, the son of Thomas Golding, gentleman, and Frances 
his wife was baptised. 

The next oldest entry is the first found in Ryarsh, which contains 
the following : 

1729. May 11. Oliver, son of Mr. Thomas and Frances Golding, baptised, 

1741. Feby. 1. Thomas, son of Mr. Thomas Golding, buried. 

1867. June 15. Mary Ann Golding, Norwood, Surrey, aged 67, buried. 

1823. Sarah Anne Otte, the daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann 

Golding, gent., baptised July 22. 

1824. James Otte, son of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding, gent., 

baptised Dec. 24. 



240 MEMORIES OF MALL ING AND ITS VALLEY. 

1826. Ellen Otte, daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding, gent., 

baptised June 14. 
1828. Mary Ann Otte, daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding, 

gent., baptised Sept. 25. 
1831. Emma Otte, the daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding. 

gent., baptised Sept. 3. 
1833. Rebecca Frances Otte, daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann 

Golding, gent., baptised April 25. 
1835. Frances Twysden Otte, daughter of William Henry and Mary Ann 

Golding. gent., baptised' Dec. 22. 
1840. Henry Frank Otte, son of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding, 

gentleman, baptised Feby. 3. 
1844. Arthur Henry Otte, son of William Henry and Mary Ann Golding. 

gentleman, baptised May 18th. 

In Aylesford we have these entries : 

1758. December 11. Married James Taylor of East Mailing, widower, and 

Mary Golding, widow. 
1778. Nov. 21. John Cook of this parish, bachelor, and Elizabeth Golding. 

of East Farleigh, minor, with the consent of her father, George 

Golding, married. 

1816. July 29. Married William Golding and Elizabeth Dyer. 
1851. Dec. 21. Richard Golding, of West Mailing, aged 3 years. 

In Oflfham we have : 

1797. March 5. William, son of Thomas and Anne Golding. baptised. 

1798. November 25. Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Anne Golding, baptised. 
1806. May 25. Richard, son of Thomas and Anne Golding. baptised. 

1809. January 29. John, son of Thomas and Anne Golding, baptised. 

In Hailing we find : 

1780. October 6. William Francis and Mary Golding, married. 

1789. September 6. Eliza and Anne, daughters of Walsingham and Anne 

Golding, baptised. 
1782. May 16. Henry, son of Walsingham and Anne Golding, baptised. 

1805. Buried Anne Golding, aged 46, March 31. 

1806. April 17th. Buried, Elizabeth Golding, aged 16 years. 

1807. June 1. Buried, Walsingham Goldiug, aged 52 years. 

1839. July 22. Catharine Charlotte, daughter of Thomas and Francis Godfrey 

Golding, curate of Yalding, baptised. 

1849. September 12. Frances Godfrey Golding, buried, aged 43 years. 
1851. Jany. 1st. Married, Edward Chapman Williams and Martha Ann 

Golding. 
1864. April 2nd. George Golding, aged 59 years. 

But the home of the Goldings for many years was Ditton, the 
church of which is filled with monuments to them. 

Thomas Golding of this parish, bachelor, and Mary Han-is of the same, spinster. 

were married in this church by licence, this 29th day of March, in the 

year one thousand seven hundred and sixty eight, by me, Charles 

Bowles, rector. 
1769. July 26. Thomas, son of Thomas Golding and Mary his wife, privately 

baptised, and admitted into the church on August 8 following. 
1771. June 10. Mary, daughter of Thomas and Mary Golding. was baptised. 
1771. John Golding of this parish, bachelor, and Anne Stimpson of the same, 

spinster, were married in this church by licence on the eighth day 

of July, in the year one thousand seven hundred and seventy one. 

by me, Dr. Lloyd, minister. 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 241 

1772. Jany. 26. Thomas, son of John and Anne Golding, was baptised. 

1772. December 21. William, son of John and Anne Golding, was baptised. 

1773. March 29. William, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, baptised. 

1773. May 5. Susanna Rogers, daughter of William and Sarah Golding, 

baptised. 

1774. Nov. 2. John, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, baptised. 

1775. Jany. 4. Frances, daughter of John and Anne Golding, baptised. 

1775. July 12. James, son of William and Sarah Golding, baptised. 

1776. April 24th. Samuel Barnes, of the parish of Aylesford in Kent, 

bachelor, and Mary Golding of this parish, spinster, married by 
licence. 
1775. July 12. Oliver, son of John and Anne Golding, was baptised. 

1 777. October 11. Frances, daughter of William and Sarah Golding, baptised. 

1777. Feby. 12. Oliver Golding, an infant, was buried. 

1778. March 18. Elizabeth, daughter of John and Anne Golding, baptised. 

1781. Feby. 10. Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Mary Golding, baptised. 

1782. March 17. Rebecca, daughter of William and Sarah Golding, baptised 

privately, and admitted into the church the 7th of April. 
1782. Feby. 7. Mary Ann, daughter of John and Anne Golding, baptised. 
1782. March 17. Stephen, son of Thomas and Mary Golding, baptised. 
1784. June 23. Susannah, daughter of William and Sarah Golding, was 

buried. 
1784. July 30. William Henry, son of William and Sarah Golding, baptised. 

1786. March 4. William, the son of John and Anne Golding, buried. 

1787. March 31. Sophia, the daughter of Thomas and Mary Golding, 

baptised. 

1789. William Golding died June 16, buried June 22, of the Court Lodge. 
1795. Jany. 16th. Mrs. Susannah Golding, aged 92 years. 

1788. March 10th. Mary Anne, daughter of Thomas and Mary Golding, 

baptised. 
1805. Mary Anne, daughter of John and Anne Golding, was buried 

November 30. 

1807. August 7th. Mrs. Anne Golding, aged 61 years, was buried. 
1807. November 19th. Mr. John Golding, aged 80 years, was buried. 
1798. Married, John Golding and Mary Manvell, November 20th. 
1811. Married, John Manvell and Elizabeth Golding, June llth. 
1816. Buried, Thomas Golding, Esq., Jany. 13, aged 46. 
1821. April 2. Buried, Thomas Golding, Esq., of Aylesford, aged 88. 

1823. November 10. Mrs. Sarah Golding, aged 83, buried. 

1824. May 3. Mary Golding, aged 39, buried. 

1824. Laura Eleanor, daughter of John and Mary Golding, baptised June 

17th. 

1826. Henrietta, daughter of John and Mary Golding, baptised June 1st. 
1826. Jany. 25. Mary Golding, of Aylesford, buried, aged 82 years. 
1830. Sept. 23. William Golding of Aylesford, buried, aged 57 years. 
1834. Feby. 21. Fanny Golding, aged 18 years, buried. 
1837. May 29. Mrs. Mary Ann Golding, aged 49 years, buried. 
1837. July 17. Mary Ann Golding, aged 26 years, buried. 
1840. September 7th. Mary Golding, aged 18 years, buried. 
1843. May 15. Thomas Golding, aged 75 years, buried. 

1848. September 12. John Golding, aged 11 months, buried. 

1849. February 12. Mary Golding, aged 80 years, buried. 

1859. February 26. John Golding, Esq., of Ditton Place, aged 85 years, 

buried. 

1865. August 8. Henrietta Golding, Brixton, aged 40 years, buried. 
1874. April 13. John Golding, aged 96, Maidstone, buried. 
1874. May 8. Elizabeth Golding, aged 53, buried. 
1877. Marcli 22. Reginald Golding, aged 21, buried. 

16 



242 



MEMORIES OF MALL1NG AND ITS VALLEY. 



In addition, we have the following names of gentry entered in the 
various registers : 



Adam 


Cogger 


Hicks 


Monson 


Shakerley 


Adams 


Coleman 


Hills 


Montague 


Sharrett 


Akers 


Covert 


Hodge 


Moore 


Shaw 


Alchin 


Crispe 


Hogg 


Morse 


Simmonds 


Aldeine 


Croxley 


Holder 


Mount 


Simpson 


Allein 


Davis 


Honey\vood 


Neame 


Sisley 


Allen 


Debarry 


Hook 


Nicholson 


Smith 


Andrews 


Debrasne 


Hooker 


Norris 


Shepherd 


Annwokes 


Decritz 


How 


Norton 


Skinner 


Ashbe 


Delafield 


Hubble 


Omer 


Southgate 


Atkinson 


Dickens 


Humphries 


Page 


Spain 


Austen 


Dickenson 


Johnston 


Papillon 


Spong 


Baker 


Dimock 


Jones 


Paris 


Stacey 


Banks 


Douce 


Juke 


Parker 


Stephen 


Barnes 


Douglas 


Kendric 


Parrington 


Stephensou 


Bates 


Dowle 


Kenrick 


Parry 


Stow 


Bax 


Downman 


Kentish 


Parsons 


StreatfieM 


Beaumont 


Drury 


Kibble 


Perch 


Stvle 


Besbeach 


Dudlow 


Kidwell 


Perfect 


Tapley 


Best 


Elin 


King 


Petley 


Tassell 


Bettenson 


Elliston 


Knowles 


Pettit 


Taylor 


Betts 


Etheredge 


Koe 


Peneranda 


Thomas 


Bewley 


Evelyn 


Lambert 


Philips 


Thornton 


Bigg " 


Everitt 


Langston 


Pilcher 


Thorpe 


Blake 


Eves 


Larking 


Polhill 


Tomlyn 


Bligh 


Fance 


La Trobe 


Polly 


Townsend 


Bonnard 


Faunce 


Laurence 


Pope 


Tremesse 


Boodle 


Fletcher 


Leckie 


Pott 


Tresse 


Bovey 


Forster 


Leigh 


Povnder 


Tucker 


Bowles 


Franke 


Lewis 


Prall 


Tutty 


Boys 


Franklyn 


Littehall 


I'ratt 


Vale 


Boysier 


Furley 


Littleboyes 


Pym 


Vaulx 


Bradley 


Gates 


Long 


Ralph 


Visier 


Brattley 


George 


Lowry 


Beade 


Waghorn 


Bredham 


Glover 


Luck 


Reed 


Ward 


Breton 


Godney 


Luxford 


Renney 


Warne 


Brodgam 


Godwin 


Lvdall 


Rich 


Warren 


Brome 


Goldberg 


Lys 


Richardson 


Weekley 


Brooke 


Gotier 


Mabbe 


Rives 


Weston 


Brownson 


Graham 


Maddison 


Rix 


Whetenhall 


Butcher 


Grandsden 


Mainwaring 


Roberts 


Whitehead 


Butler 


Gratwick 


Mair 


Rogers 


Wiggenden 


Butt 


Graves 


Maitland 


Russell 


Wigan 


Gary 


Green 


Mapleton 


Sampson 


Wildash 


Castle 


Greenway 


Marsh 


Sanctilis 


Williams 


Cator 


Hadlow 


Martin 


Sandell 


Willoughby 


Chambers 


Hailstone 


Manley 


Saunders 


Wimble 


Chapman 


Hall 


Mason 


Savage 


^Vodd 


Cheeke 


Handasyde 


May 


Savell 


Wollven 


Clabon 


Harwood 


Maynard 


Hay 


Wood 


Clarke 


Hatch 


Middleton 


Scudamore 


Woollett 


Clements 


Hayer 


Miller 


Seager 


Worrall 


Codd 


Hay man 


Milner 


Seaton 


Wyatt 


Ceilings 


Hedges 


Milnes 


Seeley 


Wykes 


Collins 


Hely 


Money 


Selby 


Young 


Cork 


Hickes 









FAMILY REGISTERS. 



243 



The following names are given of persons described as farmers 
and yeomen : 

Gorbam 

Graham 

Gransden 

Hatch 

Henfield 

Hubert 

Huggins 

Knight 

Knowles 

Letts 



Allchin 

Andrews 

Baker 

Broad 

Brooks 

Brown 

Burgess 

Capon 

Causton 

Cork 



Cos ten 

Day 

Dibley 

Everest 

Fauchon 

Fogg 

Fowle 

Fremlin 

Garner 

Godden 



Mantle 

Matthews 

Pack 

Palmer 

Pankhurst 

Penury 

Phillips 

Pound 

Eeaves 

Rich 



Sealey 

Sedwick 

Sharpe 

Smith 

Stunt 

Taylor 

Tomlyn 

Vowsden 

Wray 

The different callings under which people are described are as 
follows. We give them, because some of the terms are quaint or 
obsolete ; of course, we have not gone, in this case, into the legal 
registers of the present century : 

Apothecary Corporal Joiner and carpen- Ropemaker 

Apprentice Counsellor ter Schoolmaster 

Attorney Doctor of physic Journeyman shoe- Seaman 

Attorney-at-Law Dragoon maker Servant 

Exciseman Journeyman tailor Shoemaker 

Farrier to a troop King's officer Soldier 

of horse Labourer Solicitor 

Lieutenant in royal Shopkeeper 



Baker 
Barber 



Blacksmith Fellmonger 

Bootmaker Frameyer 

Brazier Gardener 

Bricklayer Gipsey 

Butcher Glazier 

Captain Goldsmith 

Captain in Royal Greyhunter 

Navy Grocer 

Carpenter Harvester 

Chemist Harvestman 

Churchwarden Hopmerchant 
Clerk of the Parish Hopper 

(mentioned as Householder 

early as 1562). 
Clockmaker 
Cooper 
Cordwainer 



navy 
Limner 
Lodger 

Maid | to Mr. A. 
Man l or B. 
Maltster 
Merchant 
M. D. 
Miller 
Mingo 

Officer of Excise 
Organist 
Papermaker 
Plumber 
Police Constable 
Publican 



Strolling player 
Supervisor of the 

Excise 
Surgeon 
Tailor 

Tallow chandler 
Tanner 
Titheman 
Trooper 
Vagrant 
Victualler 
Vice-Admiral of the 

White 

Waterman, or Sayler 
Weaver 
Wheelwright 



Housemaid 
Husbandman 
Innholder 
Ironmonger 

The various designations of the clergy have been spoken of in our 
remarks upon the clergy of the different parishes. As regards the 
above, some, such as apothecary for doctor, attorney or attorney- 
at-law for lawyer, clockmaker, counsellor for barrister, frameyer, 
fellmonger, husbandman, limner, and titheman, may be considered 
obsolete, or nearly obsolete, terms. Greyhunter as a calling is 
peculiar; but the unfortunate grey, the old name of the badger, 
was thought by the ignorant rustic, and his almost equally igno- 
rant master, the squire, to be a very mischievous animal. It is 
to their folly in getting rid of the badger, the kestrel hawk, and 
other creatures of like nature, that they were pleased to call vermin, 
that we owe the swarms of real vermin, in the shape of mice and 



244 



MEMORIES OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 



rats, of the present day. " Mingo " is I suppose a nickname, which, 
however, is actually entered in the Trottescliffe registers to describe 
one of the Goddens. Organist in the last century was not a common 
calling ; and Town Mailing is to be congratulated upon its advance 
in civilisation in having possessed one. The early notice of parish 
clerk in 1562 in one parish, 1642 in another, and 1652 in a third, 
throws some light upon the early appointment of that worthy. 
The description of a gentleman as churchwarden, without mentioning 
anything else about him, is what we should hardly expect to find in 
the present century. 

We now proceed to give a list of names that may be found 
generally in these registers, some of which appear to be peculiar to 
this district. 



Absalom 


Bass 


Boorman 


Canay 


Collison 


Accounts 


Bassett 


Boreman 


Carey 


Conolly 


Adams 


Batchelor 


Botten 


Carpenter 


Cook 


Adds 


Bateman 


Botting 


Carr 


Coomber 


Adkins 


Baxton 


Bourne 


Carrol 


Cooper 


Adney 


Beale 


Bovey 


Carter 


Corsen 


Akhurst 


Beckett 


Box 


Causthen 


Cortop 


Aldridge 


Beeby 


Brabon 


Cell 


Cosin 


Alexander 


Beecber 


Bradbourne 


Challender 


Cossom 


Algur 


Beesley 


Bramley 


Chamberlain 


Cotinge 


Allfree 


Beetenson 


Brand 


Chambers 


Cousins 


Apps 


Beffin 


Bray 


Champion 


Coverty 


Arnold 


Bell 


Brent 


Champness 


Coward 


Ashdown 


Bellingham 


Bresbeck 


Chapman 


Craddock 


Ashenden 


Belman 


Brewer 


Chappel 


Craft 


Assiter 


Beltinger 


Brigden 


Chary 


Cramp 


Astin 


Bennant 


Briggs 


Chatfield 


Crampton 


Atkins 


Bennet 


Bright 


Cheaseman 


Cray her 


Attwell 


Bensted 


Brightwell 


Cheeseman 


Cresswell 


Augur 


Berry 


Brissenden 


Cheverell 


Cripps 


Averill 


Berwick 


Brister 


Chinkfield 


Crittenden 


Badley 


Betts 


Bristowe 


Chittenden 


Croft 


Bailev 


Beven 


Brock 


Chowning 


Cromp 


Baker 


Bewley 


Brome 


Chuning 


Crosley 


Balcomb 


Bicknell 


Brook 


Clair 


Cross 


Baldock 


Bignall 


Brooker 


Clark 


Crow 


Baldwin 


Billinghurst 


Bryant 


Clarkstone 


Crowhurst 


Ballard 


Binskin 


Buckland 


Cleese 


Crundell 


Ballwell 


Birchall 


Buckshire 


Cleggett 


Cuckoo 


Bann 


Bird 


Budds 


Cleland 


Curteis 


Barden 


Blackbird 


Buggin 


Clout 


Cutbush 


Barker 


Blackman 


Bullfinch 


Cobb 


Cutler 


Barkett 


Blackstock 


Bumford 


Coburn 


Cyborn 


Barnecastle 


Blassern 


Bunyard 


Cockerill 


Dabbs 


Barnes 


Blisse 


Burt 


Cockett 


Dane 


Barre 


Boghurst 


Burton 


Cockoo 


Danes 


Barrett 


Bolger 


Busain 


Codd 


Dann 


Bartholomew 


Bone 


Butcher 


Coke 


Darbye 


Barton 


Bonnar 


Butler 


Cole 


Dartnell 


Barwick 


Bonnard 


Buttenshaw 


Colegan 


Davidson 


Tiasnage 


Bonnewell 


Campbcl 


Coley 


Davis 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 



245 



Dawson 


Faulkland 


Gooring 


Hely 


Jordan 


Dean 


Fenne 


Gorham 


Hendfield 


Joy 


Deavereux 


Fentiman 


Gosden 


Hernden 


Jupp 


Denham 


Fereby 


Gosling 


Herne 


Keeble 


Denman 


Fetheridge 


Gostliug 


Hervey 


Keen 


Dennett 


Field 


Goulay 


Higgins 


Eeish 


Dennis 


Fisher 


Gould 


Higmore 


Kember 


Derffe 


Fissenden 


Goulder 


Hilder 


Kemp 


Dewe 


Fiveash 


Gray or Grey 


Hill 


Kempsley 


Ditton 


Fust 


Green 


Hills 


Kent well 


Dixon 


Flaxen 


Greengrass 


Hind 


Kettle 


Doidge 


Fleet 


Gregory 


Hinde 


Kirby 


Dolton 


Fletcher 


Griffin 


Hoad 


Knight 


Dorling 


Floyd 


Grignon 


Hobard 


Knott 


Dormer 


Foliard 


Grimard 


Hodges 


Lad 


Dorrington 


Foreman 


Grindell 


Hogben 


Lake 


Dorsett 


Ford 


Groombridge 


Holden 


Lane 


Douglas 


Forier 


Grover 


Hollanby 


Large 


Dove 


Foster 


Grundell 


Holland 


Lash 


Dowcett 


Foule 


Guilder 


Hollands 


Latter 


Downes 


Fowcke 


Gull 


Holliday 


Lee 


Driver 


Fowler 


Gybbus 


Holloway 


Lenham 


Duckinge 


Franklin 


Hadlow 


Holmer 


Leopard 


Dudley 


Freeman 


Hagar 


Holmewood 


Lewin 


Duffe 


French 


Haggar 


Holness 


Lewis 


Duffield 


Frogmarton 


Hainsworth 


Homan 


Lilley 


Dunk 


Fuex 


Halfhead 


Honey 


Littlelove 


Duper 


Fuller 


Hall 


Hopkins 


Lloyd 


Durling 


Furmager 


Hamlyn 


Hopson 


Lock 


Dyne 


Fypes 


Hammond 


Hornier 


Lockhart 


Eaglestone 


Gambol 


Hampshire 


Howel 


Lockyer 


Eagleton 


Gammon 


Hanbury 


Howes 


Loder 


Easeden 


Garbet 


Handen 


Howlet 


Lomas 


Eason 


Gardener 


Harcourt 


Hoysted 


Long 


East 


Gardenham 


Harding 


Hubbard 


Longhurst 


Eastland 


Garland 


Harpenden 


Hubbucks 


Longley 


Edenberry 


Games 


Harper 


Hudson 


Lovegrove 


Edenden 


Garraway 


Harris 


Huggett 


Lovelace 


Edmonds 


Garrett 


Harrison 


Hunt 


Lncey 


Edmouth 


Gates 


Hartridg? 


Iden 


Luck 


Edwards 


Gayton 


Hartrop 


Ifield 


Lunt 


Eele 


George 


Harvey 


Irish 


Luxford 


Elgar 


Gibbons 


Hastlyn 


Isaacs 


Lyon 


Elliott 


Gibson 


Hat 


Ivory 


Lys 


Elwood 


Gifford 


Hatch 


Jackman 


Lyssey 


Esquior 


Gilbert 


Hattchurch 


Jacob 


Lyssley 


Etherington 


Gnatt 


Hattrop 


Jacobs 


Maddox 


Evans 


Goddard 


Havens 


Jamil 


Mair 


Evenden 


Godfrey 


Hawkes 


Jarrett 


Mann 


Evernden 


Godred 


Haycock 


Jarvil 


Manvell 


Eversfield 


Godwin 


Hayes 


Jason 


Margett 


Evestone 


Goffe 


Hayfleld 


Jefferies 


Marr 


Ewing 


Goldwell 


Hayles 


Jeffery 


Marsh 


Exeter 


Golton 


Hazleden 


Jenkins 


Marshall 


Fame 


Gooch 


Heade 


Jessup 


Martin 


Farningham 


Goodenough 


Heath 


Jewess 


Martyr 


Farquhar 


Goodhugh 


Heel 


Johnson 


Maser 


Farrant 


Goodwin 


Helby 


Johnston 


Mason 



246 



MEMORIES OF MALLIXG AND ITS VALLEY. 



Masters 


Nutley 


Pollard 


Savage 


Summers 


Mattocks 


Oakley 


Porse 


Saxe 


Surman 


May 


Gates 


Porter 


Scotchford 


Suton 


Maylam 


Obee 


Potter 


Scott 


Sutton 


Mayne 


Oben 


Pound 


Scudder 


Swan 


Mayo 


Offin 


Powell 


Sculcap 


Swansbrook 


Meale 


Cliff 


Powers 


Seagers 


Swift 


Meall 


Olive 


Povnter 


Sedgewick 


Svbum 


Medley 


Oliver 


Pratt 


Segest 


Tallurin 


Medly 


Olyve 


Pressnail 


Sellis 


Tanner 


Meles 


Onion 


Price 


Sharp 


Tearness 


Mellingam 


Orgar 


Pringe 


Shephard 


Terney 


Mendecoate 


Orpin 


Prior 


Shepherd 


Terrv 


Meopham 


Osborne 


Pycher 


Shuter 


Thatcher 


Mercer 


Otman 


Pype 


Siggust 


Thompson 


Merdick 


Otway 


Quarrington 


Silmister 


Thornhill 


Miles 


Ouldridge 


Quin 


Simmons 


Thorpe 


Millar 


Over 


Quy 


Sinder 


Thunder 


Milles 


Orel 


Ramden 


Singleby 


Thnvaites 


Mills 


Overy 


Randall 


Sisley 


Tonbridge 


Miskin 


Owen 


Eandell 


Skelton 


Tongue 


Mitchell 


Owlett 


Eandoll 


Skinner 


Took 


Mockford 


Owsley 


Eapley 


Slyther 


Tornson 


Mois 


Oyne 


Easthall 


Smallman 


Towne 


Momford 


Pace 


Eay 


Smallwood 


Towner 


Mongrove 


Pack 


Eeader 


Smart 


Tracey 


Monroe 


Packham 


Eeed 


Smedley 


Tramper 


Moor 


Paddamore 


Eeeve 


Smith 


Transum 


Moore 


Pagden 


Eeynolds 


Smithie 


Tress 


Morfy 


Page 


Rhodes 


Smout 


Trionner 


Morley 


Pannen 


Richards 


Smyth 


Tritty 


Mortimer 


Paramore 


Eidgeway 


Sneed 


Troul 


Morton 


Par m enter 


Ring 


Somerset 


Tuffe 


Mosen 


Parray 


Ripps 


Soutberan 


Turke 


Mosley 


Parrayan 


Eobertson 


Southwell 


Turner 


Mosling 


Pas field 


Eobins 


Sparrow 


Tye 


Moss 


Patsriman 


Eobinson 


Sped 


Tyler 


Moyse 


Pawley 


Rochester 


Spencer 


Ullutt 


Moulds 


Payne 


Roderick 


Spong 


Upstone 


Murdock 


Pedge 


Rofley 


Springfield 


Usher 


Mylls 


Peek 


Rolfe 


Spurland 


Vallance 


Nash 


Peerless 


Roots 


Squire 


Vallum 


Neal 


Pelts 


Rorsway 


Stanford 


Vane 


Nepeter 


Pemble 


Roth well 


Stark 


Vernon 


Netherway 


Penrose 


Rottenbridge 


Startup 


Vicker 


Newberry 


Perry 


Rowe 


Steddall 


Vidgeon 


Newman 


Pet 


Rowley 


Stedman 


Vigeon 


Newnham 


Peto 


Ruddock 


Stevens 


Vigian 


Newstead 


Phelps 


Rust 


Stevenson 


Vine 


Nibbs 


Phipps 


Sadler 


Stewart 


Viner 


Nicholas 


Piercey 


Sage 


Still 


Wadge 


Nightingale 


Piggott 


Salisbury 


Stimpson 


Waghorn 


Noakes 


Pilcher 


Salmon 


Stone 


Waite 


Norditch 


Pilsen 


Salt 


Stow 


Waiter 


Norman 


Plair 


Sandell 


Streat field 


Wakelyn 


Norris 


Player 


Sanders 


Street 


Walkley 


Norton 


Pledge 


Sarns 


Stretton 


Waller 


Nox 


Politic 


Satten 


Stubberfield 


Walnutt 



FAMILY REGISTERS. 247 

Walton Wheasman Whiting Wilmet Woodyer 

Warburton Wheaten Whitney Wilson Woollett 

Warren Wheeler Whittle Wingrove Worlidge 

Waters Whiffins Wicking Winter Wrey 

Watts Whiskin Wilde Witby Wright 

Wave White Wildish Wolfe Wrothwell 

Wayman Whitebread Wilkins Wolley Yeekley 

Webb Whitehead Wilkinson Wolveridge Yeoman 

Weeks Whiteland Willett Woodcock Yeomans 

Wellard Whitenall Willis Wooden Yorre 
Wells 

Any one who has the patience to examine the above list will find 
many curiosities we might enlarge upon. 

Amongst these we should call attention to the names of " birds " 
as being a designation of many families in the district ; for example, 
we have Blackbird, Bullfinch, Cockerill, Cuckoo, Crow, Dove, Gull, 
Knott, Owlett, Eeeve, Nightingale, Sparrow, and Swan ; and no 
<loubt many similar things will strike the reader. In some of these 
registers we find the notice of the money gathered by briefs. In 
days gone by the way of gathering money for different charitable 
purposes, was to read the order commanding the same by lawful 
authority to be collected in the time of public worship ; and we still 
see that this was authorised to be done during the Offertory 
Sentences before the Prayer for the Church Militant, in the Com- 
munion Service, by the rubric in our Prayer Book. As some of 
these briefs contain very interesting allusions, we mention them. 
From registers we have examined, previous to writing this work, 
we have been struck by the attempt to introduce the Church of 
England into Poland and Russia, as we have several entries of briefs 
for helping the churches in Lithuania, and Courland, where Pro- 
testant ; we have also briefs showing that assistance was given to 
private persons, and in aid of sufferers by fire. Besides these we have 
aids towards helping, amongst others, these parishes in Kent : 

Brenchley Gillingham Benenden 

Clyffe Northfleet Tonbridge 

Gravesend Woolwich Yalding 

St. Margaret's Cliffe. 

In the last two parishes it is distinctly mentioned the purpose is 
for rebuilding the church : in the register of Cranbook we find that 
Is. Qd. was raised by brief for rebuilding West Mailing church. 

Besides, we have a record of 2s. Qd. raised in the same way in 
Snodland, for repairing St. Andrew's Harbour in Scotland ; three 
several sums of 13s. 4cZ., 13s. 2d., and 25s. for the relief of poor slaves 
in Algiers; * and assistance given to the French refugees in 1699. 

* An interesting witness to Moorish corsairs making themselves felt in 
England in the seventeenth century. 



248 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

In Snodland we again find a curious record of some cattle plague : 

' Collected hereupon the cowkeepers' brief August 1st, 1715, three shillings ;'' 
and of other catastrophes the following : 

For sufferers by thunder and hail in the County of Stafford, 12th October, 
1720, one shilling." 

" For sufferers from an inundation at Upchurch in the county of Kent, 
damages 4.290. Paid 4*. Sd." 

' For the oyster dredgers of the river Medway the sum of 2s. 6d." 

" For Folkestone Fishery, 1*. Sd." 

Besides we have briefs on behalf of Strasburg in Alsatia, Dutch 
Berg, Robi and Villarin in the valley of Luzerne for sufferers by 
inundation. 

All these show that collections in church are no new things, as 
some churls would try to persuade the public, but that the church 
even in its most sleepy time was aiding those abroad, and at home ; 
as these records stretch from the middle of the seventeenth to the 
middle of the eighteenth century. There is one record in Addington 
register which is very curious, and we therefore give it particular 
notice. 

" 1660. Paid for ye fighting brave 6s. Od." 

Whether this entry refers to money paid to assist Royalist or 
Parliamentarian troops, or some foreign wars, it were difficult to 
determine, as it is just at the end of the Commonwealth. 

These briefs, no doubt, would furnish useful jottings for the con- 
firmation and the explanation of history, if examined in the various 
parts of the country ; but unfortunately in many cases the accounts 
have been lost. 

Though not connected directly with the registers, many parishes 
have very curious old churchwarden accounts, in which we find that 
money was paid to enable the clergy and churchwardens to attend 
confirmations and visitations, and to provide the poor with Bibles 
and prayer books, and also with the ordinary furniture necessary 
for their homes ; and in many cases money was actually paid for the 
production of so many sparrows' heads, and for the destruction of 
hawks, weasels, badgers or greys, and other creatures considered 
vermin. 

In concluding this chapter the author would state that, were the 
curious old records preserved in our parish chests cherished and 
studied as he has studied them, he has no doubt that much valuable 
information upon the lives, manners, customs and names of our 
forefathers would be gathered ; enough to fill twenty volumes far 
more interesting than much of the literature of the present day, 
and giving some idea as to how deservedly the Church of England 
has received and maintained the name of the nation, which she bears 
as her distinction, as one branch of the Holy Catholic Church of 
Christ. 



A 



CHAPTEK XIII. 

KENTISH PROVERBS. 

S we have had occasion to mention one of the Kentish sayings, 
it may be interesting to our readers to examine into those we 
have collected. There are some that refer to the county. 

(a) " Kent is famed for hops, fair maids, and civility." 

(b) Alluding to the wealth of the inhabitants, we have : 

" A knight of Gales, 

A gentleman of Wales, 
And a laird of the North Conntree ; 

But a yeoman of Kent, 

With his yearly rent, 
Will buy them up all three." 

(c) " Kentshire, 

Hot as fire." 

(d) " As great as the devil and the Earl of Kent." 

(e) "Kent red veal and white bacon." 
if) " Lythe as a lass of Kent." 

(g) " St. Tyburn of Kent." 

(h) " Neither in Kent nor Christendom." 

(i) " A man of Kent, and a Kentish man." A man of Kent is 
one born between the Stour and the Sea ; all others are Kentish 
men. Another opinion says that a Kentish man is one born in 
Kent, but not of Kentish parents, while a man of Kent is one 
whose parents as well as himself are Kentish. 

(&) " Essex styles, Kentish miles, 

Norfolk wiles, man beguiles " 

an allusion to the Kentish labourer's mile being about one and a 
half. 

(I) A Kentish man speaks disdainfully of persons from other 
counties, as coming " out of the shires," and of " silly Sussex " ; while 
Surrey is a sobriquet for a fool. 

(m) " Father to the bough, 

Son to the plough." 

This is an allusion to Kent being under the law of gavelkind, by 
which the son came into his father's property, even though the 
parent were executed for high treason. 

249 



250 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

(n) The word Kentish is frequently vised as an adjective with a 
peculiar significance, as " Kentish ague," " Kentish cherries," and 
" Kentish pippins " refer to special sorts. " Kentish longtails " are 
wild oats ; " Kentish cousins " has a somewhat similar meaning to 
Scotch cousins. A " Kentish stomach " means a strong stomach. 

(o) " Wealth and no Health," " Health and no Wealth," " Health 
and Wealth." The cold and dreary marshes of the coast, and round 
the mouths of the Thames and Medway, producing excellent pasture, 
but in former days being very bad for the ague, were designated 
" Wealth and no Health " ; the high chalk hills, with their barren 
soil, but bracing air, were renowned for " Health and no Wealth " ; 
the sandstone ranges and the Weald, with their smiling valleys, 
fertile fields, and pine- and oak-clad hills, still offer both " Health 
and Wealth." 

(p) Kent having so long led the van in Britain's wars, the name, 
" Strong men O f Kent," passed into a proverb. 

There are, besides these, a number of proverbs referring to 
different parishes and their peculiarities. Of these we give the 
following : 

(ft) " Long, lazy Lewisham. little Lee, 

Dirty Deptford, and Greenwich free." 

(&) " Sutton for mutton, Kirby for beef, 

South Darent for gingerbread, and Dartford for a thief." 

This refers to the fertile meadows along the Darenth, and the fair 
at Dartford. 

The next three refer to the unwholesome marsh-parishes of the 
Medway and the Swale. 

(c) ( - If you'd live a little while 

Go to Bapchild." 

(d) "He that would not live long, 

Let him live in Murston. Teynham, or Tong." 

(e) " He that rides in the hundred of Hoo, 

Besides pilfering seamen, will have dirt enoo'." 

(f) " He that would go to a church miswent, 

Let him go to Cuxton in Kent." 

This appears to allude to the altar of the church having been 
round a corner. 

(g) " Starv'em, Rob'em, and Cheet'em," Strood, Rochester, and 
Chatham. 

(h) A Rochester portion : " Two torn smocks and what Nature 
gave you." The reason for this one cannot find, as indeed for a 
great number of these sayings, such as the following : 

(i) "You've got no calves to your legs like the Pluckley girls, 
and are obliged to wear straight stockings." 

(k) " Huckinge glass breeches where rats run on tiptoe." 



KENTISH PROVERBS. 251 

(I) " Go to Monk's Horton, 

Where pigs play on the organ." 

(m) The reason for 

" Proud Town Mailing, poor people ; 
They built a church to their steeple," 

we have explained in a former part of this book. 

(n) " Poor Lenham." 
This refers, no doubt, to the barrenness of the soil. 

(0) " Smoky Charing lies in a hole, 

It had but one bell and that was stole." 

(p) "Surly Ashford, proud Wye, 

And lousy Kennington lieth hard bye." 

((?) We have the following two specially referring to Canterbury : 
" Canterbury is the higher rack, but Winchester the better 
manger." This is a reference, no doubt, to the bishopric of Win- 
chester being better endowed than the archbishopric of Canterbury. 

" Canterbury is in decay, 
God help who may." 

(r) Together with the neighbouring towns the city is classed as 
follows : 

" Deal savages, Canterbury parrots, 
Dover sharks, and Sandwich carrots." 

(s) Deal and Dover enjoy also the unenviable reputation of the 
next lines : 

"Deal, Dover, and Harwich, 
The devil gave his daughter in marriage, 
And, by a codicil of his will, 
He added Helveot and Brill." 

(t) Dover by itself is the subject of three proverbs : 
"As sure as there is a dog in Dover." 

" From Berwick to Dover, 
Is three hundred miles over." 

" When it's dark in Dover 
'Tis dark all the world over." 

(u} " Conscience is drowned in Sandwich haven," does not speak 
well for that port. 

Another proverb of Sandwich is, " Proud Wingham, wicked Ash, 
and lazy Sandwich." 

() "The vale of Holmesdale, 

Was never won nor ever shall ! " 

(w) " Ramsgate capons, Peter's lings, 

Broadstairs scrubs, and Margate kings," 

speaks of the various products of Thanet. 



252 MEMORIES OF MALLINQ AND ITS VALLEY. 

(x) ' When England wrings, 

The island sings," 

is a reference to the dry nature of Tlianet. 

(y} " Let him set up a shop on Goodwin Sands," is a reference 
to anybody doing anything very foolish. 

(z) " Tenterden church steeple is the cause of Goodwin Sands " 
refers to the stoiy that the men of Kent, being forced to build this 
church by the archbishop, forgot to repair the sea wall of the isle 
of Loamey, and the sea burst in ; and there has been this dangerous 
shoal there ever since. 

(a) " Earl Godwin and his court are hungry." An expression 
used when a storm is blowing up, by the Deal fishermen, referring 
to the swallowing up of the vessels by the Goodwins, which were 
supposed to be his property, and under which they used to believe 
he still kept court. 

(/3) " Cowden play " means any silly way of playing. 

(y) " Get on anyhow, as they do at Rainham." This village, 
between Chatham and Sittingbourne, is not only thus a byword, 
but the author has also heard, "Why, you've only two sticks and a 
piece of paper, like a Rainham fire." 

(0) " A north-east wind in May 

Makes the Shotover man a prey." 

Shotover are mackerel. This proverb refers to the danger of this 
wind in the Channel at this season. 

(e) Folkestone enjoys an unenviable notoriety for silliness. 
Folkestone washerwomen are rain-clouds. 

() Greenwich geese are the old pensioners that used to be at 
the hospital. 

(77) " Frindsbury Clubs " refers to the lads of Frindsbury coming 
to Rochester as a penance with staves. The penance was enjoined 
because, there being no rain, the monks of Rochester were directed 
to make a pilgrimage to Frindsbury, when the men assaulted them 
and beat them. 

(6) The Weald of Kent we are told, is 

" Bad for the rider, 
Good for the abider." 

This refers to the heavy nature of the soil. 

(1) " To be married in Finglesham church." As there is no 
church at this hamlet, this refers to people living together who are 
not married. 

(K) " For company, as Kit went to Canterbury." This proverb 
speaks for itself. 

(A.) " Born down Ryarsh Sandpits " signifies that the person is 
illegitimate. 



KENTISH PROVERBS. 253 

Other sayings besides these are of the cherries : 

" If they blow in April 
You'll have your fill ; 
But if in May 
They'll all go away." 

Of the weather : 

" A drip in June 
Keeps things in tune." 

In addition, the following proverbs appear to be purely Kentish : 
(a) " Pour water into the Thames." 
(6) " Ducks fare well in the Thames." 

(c) " You are as yellow as a peigle," i.e. a cowslip. 

(d) " You prick up your ears like an old sow in beans." 

(e) " That would make a donkey run away from his beans." 
(/) " When the sage blooms, there will be mischief." 

(g) " He wants that as much as a toad wants a side pocket." 

(h) " Don't go groping about like a blind hen looking for a worm 

in a hedge." 

The following two are personal : "As a thorn produces a rose, so 

Godwin begat Editha." 

"At Betshanger a gentleman, at Freclville a squire, 
At Bonnington a noble knight, and at London a liar." 

Certain things have become quite proverbial, as " Folkestone dried 
beef " for dogfish, " Great Church " for Canterbury Cathedral, and 
" Rumbold whiting," alluding to their being best in season about 
St. Rumbold's day. Faversham and Milton oysters, Fordwich trout, 
and Medway shrimps, and smelts, have also almost become proverbial 
for their superiority. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



NATURAL HISTORY. MAMMALS. 

NO work could be at all complete on any part of Kent without 
some attention was called to the large extent to which every 
part of this county is represented in the fauna and flora of the 
British Isles. Let us first examine the mammals. 



Great Bat or Noctule (Vespertilio 
noctula). This bat has been fre- 
quently seen. 

Common Bat or Pipistrelle (Vesper- 
tilio pipistrellus). This also is a 
common Kentish bat. 

Reddish-grey Bat (Vespertilio nat- 
tereri). Has been seen round 
Chislehurst. 

The Serotine Bat (Vespertilio sero- 
tinus). Has been seen near Lon- 
don. 

Whiskered Bat (Vespertilio mysta- 
cinus). Has been discovered at 
Chislehurst. 

Long-eared Bat (Plecotus auritus). 
Frequently seen. 

The Barbastelle (Barbastellus dau- 
bentonii). Has been found near 
Dartford. 

Greater Horseshoe Bat (Rhinolophus 
ferrum equinum). Frequently 
seen. 

The Mole (Talpa vulgaris). 

The Hedgehog (Erinaceus Euro- 
paeus). 

The Common Shrew (Sorex araneus). 

The Water Shrew (Sorex fodiens). 

The Badger (Meles Taxus). By no 
means an uncommon animal in 
the county, and especially in these 
parts. By his old name of " grey" 
he is frequently, as we have already 
shown, spoken of in the parish 
records. 

Common Otter (Lutra vulgaris). 
An animal still occasionally seen 
in the Medway. 



Common Weasel (Mustela vulgaris). 
Known in Kent as the " keyn." 
An animal always common, and 
more useful in extinguishing other 
pests than he is given credit for. 
He and the stoat or puttice (Mus- 
tela erminea) may destroy a few 
young pheasants, or partridges, 
or chickens, or hares ; but their 
assistance to man in clearing off 
rats and mice should afford them 
protection. These little creatures 
are not uncommon in the county ; 
but if they were more plentiful, 
we believe they would prove a 
great boon in extirpating rats. 

Polecat (Mustela putorius). An 
animal once plentiful, but now 
only occasionally seen in this 
county. 

Common Marten (Martes foina). 
Lord Clifton, in a very valuable 
paper which he contributed to 
an early number of the Rocliester 
Naturalist, showed that this little 
animal had long deserted our 
woods. Though we can trace his 
existence here into this century, 
no reliance can be placed upon 
many of the reports of his occur- 
rence in our southern woods for 
a later period. 

Fox (Vulpes vulgaris). 

Squirrel (Sciurus vulgaris). 

Harvest Mouse (Mus messorius). 

Long-tailed Field-mouse (Mus sylva- 
ticus). 

Common Mouse (Mus musculus). 



254 



NATURAL HISTORY. MAMMALS. 



255 



Black Rat (Mus rattus). The author 
has seen several Kentish speci- 
mens. 

Brown Rat (Mus decumanus). 

Water Vole (Arvicola amphibius). 

Field Vole (Arvicola agrestis). 

Common Hare (Lepus timidus). 

Rabbit (Lepus cuniculus). 

Red Deer (Cervus elaphus) and Fallow 
Deer (Cervus dama). Are f oundin 
our Kentish parks, and perhaps 
their ancestors once ran wild in 
our woods : at any rate, the out- 
lying deer seem none the worse 
for the time they spend out of 
captivity. 

The Common Seal (Phoca Vitulina), 
the Dolphin (Delphinus Delphis), 
and the Porpoise (Phocaena Com- 
munis). Have been taken in the 
twin estuary of the Medway and 
the Thames. 



A specimen of the Northern or Ru- 
dolph's Rorqual (Balaenoptera 
borealis). Was stranded in the 
Thames off Tilbury, on October 
19th, 1887. It measured 35ft. 4in., 
and a second was caught at Gill- 
ingham on August 30th, 1888, 
which measured 32ft. 2in. Another 
whale caught at Gravesend in 
September, 1883, appears not to 
have been identified. Of course 
these latter have probably never 
come up the Medway so high 
as our valley, but we think that 
our natural history notes in 
general had better be extended 
to the county than so small a 
district; especially, as in this 
case, whales must have come here 
years ago, since Henry I. gave 
the church at Rochester all the 
whales caught in the Medway. 



CHAPTER XV. 

NATURAL HISTORY BIRDS, REPTILES, FISHES. 

AS to whether all the birds that have been traced in Kent have 
positively occurred in this valley it would be hard to tell, and 
therefore I have contented myself with naming our commoner 
Kentish birds, and then speaking of the rarer sorts. We have fifty-six 
British residents that live with us all the year : 

Merlin Creeper Common Thrush 

Kestrel Nuthatch Blackbird 

Sparrow Hawk Green Woodpecker Hedge Sparrow 

Marsh Harrier Wagtail Redbreast 

Hen Harrier Titlark Wren 

Montague's Harrier Rock Pipit Gold Crest 

Tawny Owl Skylark Wood Pigeon 

Barn Owl Corn Bunting Stock Dove 

Great Tit Reed Bunting Pheasant 

Cole Tit Yellow Ammer Partridge 

Blue Tit Chaffinch Red-legged Partridge 

Marsh Tit Sparrow Lapwing or Peewit 

Long-tailed Tit Greenfinch Moorhen 

Kingfisher Goldfinch Coot 

Carrion Crow Linnet Mute or tame Swan 

Rook Redpole Wild Duck 

Jackdaw Bullfinch' Teal 

Magpie Starling Black-headed Gull 

Jay Missel Thrush 

Besides these we have twenty-one summer visitors : 

Spotted Flycatcher Sand Martin Whitethroat 

Wryneck Grey Wagtail Wood Warbler 

Cuckoo Yellow Wagtail Willow Wren 

Nightjar Tree Pipit Chiffchaff 

Swift Sedge Warbler Turtle Dove 

Swallow Nightingale Landrail or Corncrake 

Martin Blackcap Common Tern 

Our winter visitants are eleven in number : 

Buzzard Brambling Jack Snipe Hooper 

Fieldfare Hooded Crow Bean Goose Woodcock 

Redwing Common Snipe Brent'Goose 

Other birds that have been detected in Kent we mention, with a 
note upon where they were seen : 

256 



BIRDS. 



257 



Erne or Sea Eagle. High Halstow. 

Golden Eagle. Sheppey, between 
Canterbury and Eastwell. 

Bough-legged Buzzard. Three at Cob- 
ham in 1876, two at St. Peter's, 
Isle of Thanet, and one at 
Waltham, near Canterbury. 

Honey Buzzard. Cobham (1881), 
Rainham. 

Osprey. Cobham. 

Kite. Cliffe (1881), Ramsgate (1887), 
Rodmersham. 

Gyrfalcon. Mr. Pemberton Bartlett 
told Mr. Morris this bird was 
rare in Kent. I never met any one 
who had seen it, nor saw it my- 
self. 

Peregrine Falcon. Cobham, Rain- 
ham. 

Hobby. Chattenden Roughs, Rain- 
ham. 

Red-footed Falcon. Hythe (1862). 

Goshawk. Taken at Lydd ; in Mr. 
Jell's collection. 

Orange-legged Hobby. This bird is 
claimed as a native. 

Short-eared Owl. (1881), Chalk, 
Ramsgate. 

Long-eared Owl. This bird has 
been probably seen at Cobham. 
I saw it this last winter at 
Addington. 

The Eagle Owl. Is chronicled in Kent, 
by Morris and Yarrell. 

Snowy Owl. Frinstead (1884). 

Little Owl. Shorne, Sevenoaks. 

Hawk Owl. Labelled Kent in the 
Maidstone museum. 

Tengmalm's Owl. Killed in Kent 
(1885). 

Mottled Owl. Lord Clifton sup- 
poses that the American mottled 
owl was found in the larch 
plantations at Cuxton, but he 
does not appear quite certain. 

Great Shrike. Reported in Kent by 
Morris. 

Red-backed Shrike. Reported from 
Cobham, Shorne, Cuxton, Mere- 
worth, and Great Comp. 

Woodchat. Reported twice in Kent 
by Morris, also seen in 1890 at 
Sittingbourne. 

Pied Flycatcher. At Deal (1850), 
Cobham (1868), Rainham, Rams- 
gate. 

Bearded Tit. Occasionally seen in 
Kent. 



Roller. Rainham. 

Bee-eater. Kingsgate (1827), accord- 
ing to Morris. 

Hoopoe. Ryarsh, where it built for 
some years. 

Cornish Chough. Used to inhabit the 
cliffs near Dover for some years. 

Raven. Thames marshes : destroyed 
at Cobham for attacking the 
Heronry. 

Nutcracker. Reported by Morris, as 
having been once killed in Kent 
during the last century. 

Waxwing. Seen by the author at 
Higham. and others round the 
neighbourhood of Rochester, in 
the winters of 187980, and 1880 
81 ; an occasional, and very 
pretty winter visitor. 

Greater Spotted Woodpecker. Cob- 
ham, Erith. 

Lesser Spotted Woodpecker. Cob- 
. ham. 

Alpine Swift. One was seen at Kings- 
gate, in the Isle of Thanet, ac- 
cording to Morris (1820). 

Grey-headed Wagtail. Dover (1851). 

Red-throated Pipit. Rainham. 

Shore Lark. Two killed at Down, 
according to Mr. Yarrell. 

Snow Bunting. Rainham. 

CM Bunting. Perhaps at Cobham, 
Ramsgate. 

Ortolan Bunting. Lord Clifton thinks 
he saw this at Cobham, but ap- 
pears not quite certain. 

Tree Sparrow. Not uncommon. 

Hawfinch. Not uncommon. 

Siskin. A visitor at Cobham. 

Crossbill. Doddington, Dartf ord, Cob- 
ham, Maidstone. 

Parrot Crossbill. Once observed in a 
flock at Doddington in 1851. 

The Rose-coloured Pastor. One speci- 
men labelled Kent in the Maid- 
stone museum. 

The Dipper. Two specimens labelled 
Kent in the Maidstone museum. 

White's Thrush. Cobham. 

Ring Ousel Cobham, Ramsgate. 

Oriole. According to Morris, found 
between Dover and Walmer in 
1841, and at Elmstone, near Sand- 
wich, in 1849. 

Bluebreast. Found at Margate. Blue- 
throated warbler, probably the 
same species, was shot at Dartford 
in 1881. 

17 



258 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Blackstart, or Black Redstart. 

The Stonechat, the Lesser Whitethroat 
and the Garden Warbler fre- 
quently occur. 

The "Whinchat. Cobhatn, Cuxton, 
Ifield. 

The Wheatear. Several localities. 

Reed Warbler. The marsh-districts. 

Aquatic Warbler. Cliffe (1877). in Dr. 
Plomley's collection of Kentish 
birds. 

Moustached Sedsrechat. Ramsgate 
1888. 

Thrush Nightingale. Morris gives 
Dartford (1852). 

Great Sedge Warbler. Morris gives 
Sittingbourne (1853). 

Bonelli's Willow Wren. Cobham 
(1877). 

Icterine Warbler. Recorded by Dr. 
Plomley, at Eyhorne, near 
Dover. 

Grasshopper Warbler. Several occa- 
sions. 

Dartford Warbler. Several occasions. 

Firecrest. Higham, Cobham. 

The Quail. Cobham. 

Pallas' Sand Grouse. Rochester 
(1888). 

Great Bustard. Ashford, Romney 
(1859). 

Little Bustard. Chatham, according 
to Morris (1834) ; Higham. 

Pratincole. There is a stuffed speci- 
men in Lord's Clifton's col- 
lection, which was the property 
formerly of Sivey. a bird stuffer 
in Gravesend, who declared it to 
have been killed in the county. 

The Courser. Morris gives Wingham 
(1793). 

Great Plover. Frequently seen. 

Golden Plover. Several occasions. 

Kentish Dottrell. The name itself be- 
speaks its occurrence in the 
county. 

Ringed Dottrell. Frequents East 
Kent. 

Common Dottrell. Rainham. 

Grey Plover. Lower Medway (1888). 

Turnstone. Rainham (1888). 

Sanderling. Rainham. 

Heron. There are heronries still in 
Kent, at Chilham, Cobham and 
Penshurst. 

Night Heron. In the Maidstone mu- 
seum ; it has occurred in the 
county. 



Buff-backed Heron. Labelled Kent 

in the Maidstone museum. 
White Stork. Sandwich, Romney, 

Chalk. 

Black Stork. The Weald. 
Bittern. Cobham (1848) Swans- 

combe (1853), Queenborough and 

Stoke (1884), and Snodland and 

Cooling (1890). 
Spoonbill. Sandwich, Wingham, and 

Pegwell Bay (1850). 
Ibis. Swanscombe, according to 

Morris. 

Curlew. Hundred of Hoo, often. 
Whimbrel. Medway, and Swale 

marshes. 
Knot. Medway, and Swale marshes, 

Romney marsh. 

Redshank. Frequently occurs. 
Green Sandpiper. Frequently occurs. 
Dunlin or Oxbird. Frequently occurs. 
Common Sandpiper. Occasionally 

seen. 
Greenshank. Swancombe( 1848), seen 

by Mr. Green, of Rainham. 
Great Snipe. Dover (1848), Dodding. 

ton (1851). 

Sabine's Snipe. Rochester (1824). 
Avocet. Found in Thames marshes. 
Bar-tailed Godwit. Romney marshes 

and Erith, Pegwell Bay. 
Little Stint. Erith, Strood. 
Temminck's Stint. Rainham marshes. 
Wood Sandpiper. On the Medway, 

Ramsgate. 
Curlew Sandpiper. Sandwich (1836), 

Deal (1850), often found at Peg- 
well Bay. 

Purple Sandpiper. Several, in differ- 
ent parts of Kent. 
Spotted Crake. Cliffe, Rainham. 

According to Morris, abundant in 

Kent marshes. 
Baillon's Crake. Two taken at Deal 

(1850 and 1851). 
Water Rail. One observed between 

Nursted and Cobham. 
Grey Phalarope. Once on Thames, 

near Swanscombe. 
White-fronted Goose. Frequents the 

marshes. 

Egyptian Goose. In 1846, five Egyp- 
tian geese were seen in Romney 

marsh. 

Greylag Goose. Rainham marshes. 
Bewick's Swan. Lidsing woods. 
Polish Swan. Thirty were seen, and 

four shot at Sno'dland in 1838. 



BIRDS. 



259 



Sheldrake. Rainham. 

Shoveller. Cobham (1881), Boughton 
Monchelsea (1885). 

Pintail. Cobham (1881). 

The Gadwell. Yarrell declares to be 
a native of Kent. 

The Gargney. Morris says is rare 
in Kent. 

The Widgeon. Several times dis- 
covered. 

Common Scoter. On the Medway 
(1888). Also reported by Mr. 
Green. 

Velvet Scoter. Two labelled Kent in 
Maidstone museum. A stuffed 
specimen, seen by the author, 
which belonged to a countryman, 
who captured it when it entered 
a farmyard at Frindsbnry to 
feed. Mr, Green also reports it. 

Tufted Duck. Reported by Mr. G reen 
of Rainham. 

Red-crested Whistling Duck. Eight- 
een were seen at Erith in 1853. 

The Ferruginous or Red Duck . Killed 
at Dover (1849-50). 

Pochard. Four seen at Cobham. 

Scaup. Perhaps seen at Cobham, but 
it appears to be very uncertain. 

Golden-eye. Cobham. 

Long-tailed Duck. This bird, accord- 
ing to Morris, favours Kent. 

Red-breasted Merganser. Frequents 
the Thames. 

Goosander. Often seen on the 
Thames. 

Hooded Merganser. At Gravesend 
(1870) two were shot. 

Red -breasted Grebe. Morris reports 
as killed in Kent (April 1786), 
afterwards at Sandwich, and at 
Stangate Creek on the Medway, 
(1849). 

Great Crested Grebe. Shot on the 
Medway (1876), Otterham quay ; 
two in Maidstone museum la- 
belled Kent. 

Little Grebe or Dabchick. Breeds at 
Chalk, Cobham (1881), Higham 
(1884), Town Mailing (1891), 
reported by Messrs. Lamb and 
Green, and Lord Clifton. 

Great Northern Diver. Sheerness 
(1842). 



Black-throated Diver. Sittingbourne 

(1840), Sandwich (1842), near 

Erith (1850), Upchurch (1888). 
Red-throated Diver. Often seen in 

the estuary of the Thames and 

Medway. 
Guillemot. Often reported on the 

coast. 
Rotche, or Little Auk. Favours the 

coast, Boxley (1879). 
Sandwich Tern. Its name after our 

Kentish town proclaims it to 

have been recorded in the 

county. 
Lesser Tern. Often seen in the marshes 

of the Hundred of Hoo and 

Grayne. 
Black Tern. Once plentiful in Romney 

marsh. 
Gull-billed Tern. Shot in Kent 

(1839). 
Cormorant. According to Morris, on 

the Thames. 
Gannet. According to Morris shot at 

Greenhithe (1847). 
The Puffin. Recorded by Mr. Green. 
Razor Bill. Recorded by Mr. Green in 

Park Wood, October (1886). 
Black-headed Gull. 
Common Gull. 
Lesser Black-backed 

Gull. 
Great Black-backed 

Gull. 

Herring Gull. 
Little Gull. Sheerness (1840). 
Masked Gull. Ashford (1853). 
Laughing Gull. Morris records five 

seen at Winchelsea in Sussex, in 

1774. As this is close to the 

Kentish border the birds may 

perhaps be recorded as belonging 

to Kent. 

Kittiwake. Reported by Mr. Green. 
Glaucous Gull. Ramsgate (1846.) 
Skua GulL Not unfrequently met 

with. 
Richardson's Skua. Not unfrequently 

met with. 

Pomerine Skua. Dover (1844). 
Cinereous Shearwater. An occasional 

visitor. 

Manx Shearwater. Erith. 
Stormy Petrel. Sometimes seen. 



These birds are 
our commonest 
seen gulls. 
h The Black- 
backed Gull 
goes far inland. 



I have to record my obligations to Lord Clifton, to Mr. Lamb 
of Maidstone, and to Mr. Green of Eainham, for much valuable 



260 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



information that enables me to give what I hope is a fairly complete 
list of the birds that have occurred in this county from time to 
time 



REPTILES. 

Most of the reptiles that have been found in England have been 
reported from Kent. We subjoin a list of those that have been 
seen : 



Sand Lizard. 

Common or Viviparous Lizard. 

Blindwonn. 

Ringed Snake. 

Common Viper. I am inclined to 
think that more than one variety 
of this poisonous snake is to be 
found in this county, from what 
the common people say ; but I, 
myself, have only seen one variety. 

Common Frog. 



Common Toad. 

Natterjack Toad. This toad, Bell 
says, is common on Blackheath 
and in ditches not far from 
Deptford. The author believes 
that a reptile of this species was 
found by him at Higham. It 
was reported to him as occurring 
some years ago at Yalding. 

Common Warty Newt. 

Common Smooth Newt. 



FISH. 

As the Medway has been always a great fish river, and as it 
were difficult to say how far the stray fish ascend or descend a 
stream, we shall mention the chief fish that frequent our Kentish 
waters, specially observing those that we happen to have known 
as the fish of the Medway and its tributary-connected waters. 



Perch (Perca fluviatilis). A very fre- 
quent fish in the Medway and 
Thames. 

Bass (Perca labrax). A fish very fre- 
quent round the Kentish coast. 

Euffe (Perca Cernua). I have caught 
this fish in several ponds in Kent, 
and it is found in the Thames. 

Great Weaver (Trachinus draco). 

Lesser Weaver (Trachinus vipera). 

Striped Bed Mullet (Mullus surmu- 
letus). 

Bed Gurnard (Trigla cuculus). 

Streaked Gurnard (Trigla lineata). 

Grey Gurnard (Trigla Gurnardus). 

Miller's Thumb or Bullhead (Cottus 
gobio). In the upper waters of 
the Medway. 

Armed Bullhead (Cottus cataphrac- 
tus). 

Father Lasher (Cottus bubalis). 



Bough-tailed Three-spined Stickleback 
(Gasterosteus Trachurus). Fre- 
quent in the various dykes near 
the Medway and Thames. 

Half -armed Stickleback (Gasterosteus 
semiarmatus). In the dykes as 
the last. 

Ten-spined Stickleback (Gasterosteus 
pungitius). 

Fifteen-spined Stickleback (Gas- 
terosteus spinachia). 

Sea Bream (Pagellus centrodontus). 

Black Bream (Sparus lineatus). 

Mackerel (Scomber Scombrus). 

Tunny (Thynnus vulgaris). Has been 
taken at the entrance of the 
Thames, according to Bell. 

Dory (Zeus Dorce). 

Atherine or Sandsmelt (Atherina 
presbyter). 

Grey Mullet (Mugil cephalus). The 



FISH. 



261 



Swale estuary is frequented by 
this fish. 

Thick-Lipped Grey Mullet (Mugil 
chelo). Also found in the 
estuary. 

Spotted Gunnel (Blennius gunnellus). 
Mouth of the Thames according 
to Bell. 

Sordid Dragonet (Callionymus Dra- 
cunculus). The fox of the Kent- 
ish coast. 

Ballan Wrasse (Labrus maculatus). 

Common Carp (Cyprinus carpio). In 
the Medway I have seen carp 
caught, when I was young, weigh- 
ing from six to eight pounds. 

Prussian Carp (Cyprinus gibelio). 
Thames. 

Crucian Carp (Cyprinus carassius). 
Thames. 

Barbel (Cyprinus barbus). Thames. 

Gudgeon (Cyprinus gobio). A com- 
mon species in the Medway. 

Tench (Cyprinus tinea). Many Kent- 
ish ponds. 

Bream (Cyprinus bramus). Bream 
weighing four and five pounds 
have been taken in the Medway. 

Pomeranian Bream (Cyprinus bug- 
genhagii). As Bell speaks of 
finding this fish in Dagenham 
Breach, it may possibly find its 
way in the twin waters of the 
Thames and Medway to our 
Kentish shores. 

Dobule Roach (Cyprinus dobula). 
Caught by Bell in the Thames 
below Woolwich. 

Roach (Cyprinus Rutilus). Perhaps 
our commonest fish. 

Dace (Cyprinus leuciscus). Not a 
common Medway fish by any 
means. 

Chub (Cyprinus cephalus). The chub 
often reaches a large size in the 
Medway. 

Rudd (Cyprinus erythrophthalmus). 
Have caught this fish in the 
Swale marshes. 

Bleak (Cyprinus alburnus). A com- 
mon Medway fish. 

Minnow (Cyprinus phoxinus). Not 
uncommon. 

Loach (Cobitis barbatula). In 
streams. 

Pike (Esox lucius). Heavy fish have 
been taken in the different rivers 
and ponds of the county. 



Garfish (Esox belone). 

Salmon (Salmo salar). Though both 
the Medway and Thames are not 
likely to be salmon rivers, still 
an occasional wanderer has been 
found in either stream. 

Common Trout (Salmo fario). The 
trout of Kentish rivers are gene- 
rally good ; those of the Stour at 
Fordwich have been rendered 
famous by the renowned Isaac 
Walton. A trout was caught in 
1884 near Rochester bridge. 

Smelt (Salmo eperlanus). The smelts 
of the Medway, which are caught 
from Snodland to Rochester, have 
long been considered to surpass 
others in flavour. 

Herring (Clupea harengus). 

Pilchard (Clupea pilcardus). 

Sprat (Clupea sprattus). Thames and 
Medway. 

Whitebait (Clupea alba). This, as 
every one knows, is the epicure's 
dish from the Thames. 

Twaite Shad (Clupea alosa). Thames. 

Alice Shad (Alosa communis). River 
Thames. 

Anchovy (Clupea eucrasicolus). Has 
been found in the Thames. 

Haddock (Gadus aeglefinus). Has 
been caught at Rochester bridge. 

Whiting Pout (Gadus luscus). 
Thames and Medway mouth. 

Whiting (Gadus merlangus). 

Hake (Gadus merlucius). 

Five-bearded Rockling (Gadus mus 
tela). 

Plaice (Pleuronectes platessa). Rivers 
Medway and Thames. 

Flounder (Pleuronectes plesus). 
Thames and Medway. 

Dab ( Pleuronectes limanda). Thames 
and Medway. 

Smooth Dab (Pleuronectes levis). 

Turbot (Pleuronectes maximus). 

Brill (Pleuronectes rhombus). 

Muller's Top-knot (Pleuronectes 
punctatus). This fish has been 
taken in the Medway. 

Sole (Pleuronectes solea). 

Lemon Sole (Solea pegusa). 

Bimaculated Sucker (Cyclopterus 
bimaculatus). Has been taken on 
the coast of Kent 

Sharp-nosed Eel (Muraena anguilla), 
Common Eel. Common in the 
Medway. 



262 



MEMORIES OF MAILING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Broad-nosed Eel (Anguilla latirostris). 
About as common as the other. 

Conger Eel (Conger vnlgaris). Med- 
way. Swale, Thames. 

Great Pipe Fish (Syngnathus acus). 

Short-nosed Hippocampus or Sea- 
Horse, (Hippocampus brevir- 
ostris). 

The Sturgeon (Acipenser sturio). 
The sturgeon caught in the Thames 
and the Medway, are considered 
royal fish, and as such are sup- 
posed to belong to the sovereign 
of right, and are expected to be 
forwarded by the catcher to the 
king or queen. 

Small Spotted Dog-fish (Squalus 
canicula). 

Common Tope (Squalus galeus). 



I Smooth Hound (Squalus Mustela). 

I Picked Dog fish (Squalus acanthias). 

| Skate (Pxaia batis). 

' Thornback (Raia clavata). 

} Lamprey (Petromyzon mannus). 
Has been caught in the Thames 
and Medway. 

Lampern (Petromyzon fluviatilis). 
This little fish the author used 
frequently to catch in the Upper 
Medway, together with his school- 
fellows, simply by watching where 
there were a number of them, 
and then taking off boots and 
stockings, and dipping their feet 
in the water, when the fish used 
to adhere to the naked feet and 
allow themselves thus to be drawn 
out of the water. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



PLANTS. 



author will now conclude this short sketch of the Natural 
History of Kent by giving the flora. The greater number of 
plants that are mentioned are found in the district he is des- 
cribing, and have been identified by himself. Where otherwise, the 
authority will be given. 



Clematis vitalba. Wild clematis. 

Thalictrum flavum. Meadow rue. 

Anemone pulsatilla. Pasque flower ; 
reported to the author as occur- 
ring at Wrotham. 

Anemone ranunculoides. Hooker tells 
us is to be found at Wrotham in 
Kent. 

Adonis autumnalis. Mr. Hepworth 
of Rochester has kindly added 
this plant, with several others I 
shall mention with his name, to 
my list. 

Ranunculus circinatus. Rigid-leaved 
water crowfoot. 

Ranununculus fluitans. River crow- 
foot. 

Ranunculus Drouetii. Drouet's water 
crowfoot. 

Ranunculus peltatus. Water crow- 
foot. 

Ranunculus hederaceus. Ivy-leaved 
crowfoot. 

Ranunculus sceleratus. Celery-leaved 
crowfoot. 

Ranunculus flammula. Spearwort. 

Ranunculus lingua. Great , spear- 
wort. 

Ranunculus auricomus. Goldilocks. 

Ranunculus acris. Upright meadow 
buttercup. 

Ranunculus bulbosus. Bulbous but- 
tercup. 

Ranunculus repens. Creeping butter- 
cup. 

Ranunculus parviflorus. Small-flow- 
ered crowfoot. 



Ranunculus arvensis. Corn buttercup. 

Ranunculus ficaria. Lesser celandine. 

Caltha palustris. Marsh marigold. 

Trollius Europaeus. Globe flower ; a 
plant common in Kentish gardens, 
but I cannot find that it has been 
discovered wild in this county. 

Helleborus vtridis. Green hellebore. 
Two localities. 

Helleborus fcetidus. Stinking helle- 
bore. Frequent on the chalk. 

Branthis hyemalis. Winter aconite. 
Perhaps naturalised in one or two 
districts, but certainly not wild. 

Aquilegia vulgaris. Wild columbine. 
This graceful plant is the orna- 
ment of many a Kentish wood. 

Delphinium consolida. Field larkspur. 
The London catalogue gives Ajacis 
only. I have had the Larkspur 
forwarded from East Kent. Mr. 
Hepworth of Rochester has de- 
tected it. The Faversham Floral, 
published many years ago, men- 
tions it, and Hooker also claims it 
for Kent. 

Aconitum napellus. Monk's hood, 
common wolf bane. I have seen 
this plant growing where I had 
reason to think it a native, but, 
as it is a very common garden 
plant, it may have been an escape. 

Berberis vulgaris. Common barberry. 
Occasional. 

Nymphaea alba. White water lily. 

Nuphar lutea. Yellow water lily. 

Papaver somniferum. Opium poppy. 



263 



264 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Very common in parts of the 
county. 

I'apaver rhoeas. Common red poppy. 

Papaver dubium. Long smooth-head- 
ed poppy. 

Papaver argemone. Long rough- 
headed poppy. 

Papaver hybridum. Round rough- 
headed poppy. 

Glaucium fiavum. The horned poppy. 

Chelidonium majus. Greater celar- 
dine. 

Corydalis lutea. Yellow corydalis : 
communicated by Mr. Oliver of 
West Mailing. 

Corydalis claviculata. The climbing 
corydalis. 

Fumaria pallidiflora. Pale fumitory. 

Fumaria officinals. Common fumi- 
tory. 

Fumaria parviflora. Least-flowered 
fumitory. Hooker in his " British 
Flora," and Babington in his 
" Manual of British Botany," claim 
this plant for "Wouldham. 

Matthiolia incana. Hoary shrubby 
stock ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Cheiranthus cheiri. Wallflower. 

Nasturtium officinale. Common 
watercress. 

Nasturtium sylvestre. Creeping yel- 
low cress. 

Barbarea vulgaris. Bitter winter yel- 
low rocket. 

Cardamine amara. Large-flowered 
bitter cress. 

Cardamine pratensis. Lady's smock ; 
cuckoo flower. 

Cardamine hirsuta. Hairy bitter 
cress ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Cardamine flexuosa. Bending bitter 
cress; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Cardamine bulbifera. Bulbous bitter 
cress. 

Alyssum incanum. White alyssum ; 
communicated by Mr. Oliver. 

Alyssum maritimum. Sea-side alys- 
sum ; communicated by Mr. Hep- 
worth. 

Erophila vulgaris. This appears to 
have taken the place of Draba 
Verna or common whitlow grass 
in the last edition of the London 
catalogue ; which is, of course, a 
very common plant. 



Cochlearia officinalis. Common 
scurvy grass. 

Cochlearia Danica. Danish scurvy 
grass. 

Cochlearia Anglica. English scurvy 
grass ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Cochlearia armoracia. Horse radish. 
In several districts, where, if an 
escape originally from gardens, it 
was difficult to trace how it found 
its way. 

Sisymbrium thaliana. Common thale 
cress. 

Sisymbrium officinale. Common 
hedge mustard. 

Sisymbrium Sophia. Flixweed. 

Sisymbrium Alliaria. Common gar- 
lick mustard ; Jack-by-the-hedge. 

Erysimum cheiranthoides. Worm- 
seed treacle .mustard ; in Mr. 
Lamb's (Maidstone) little pamph- 
let we find this plant. 

Erysimum Orientale. Hare's-ear 
treacle mustard ; communicated 
by Professor Holmes. 

Camelina sativa. Common gold of 
pleasure ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Brassica Oleracea. Sea cabbage. 

Brassica napus. Eape. 

Brassica rutabaga, Swede. 

Brassica rapa. Turnip. 

Brassica nigra. Common mustard. 

Brassica sinapis. Charlock. 

Brassica alba. White mustard ; com- 
municated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Diplotaxis tenuifolia. Wall rocket. 

Diplotaxis muralis. Sand rocket ; 
according to Mr. Lamb of Maid- 
stone. 

Capsella bursa pastoris. Shepherd's 
purse. 

Senebiera coronopus. Swinecress. 

Lepidium ruderale. Narrow-leaved 
pepper-wort ; contributed by 
Messrs. Holmes and Hepworth. 

Lepidium campestre. Common Mith- 
ridates pepper-wort. 

Lepidium Smithii. Smooth field 
pepper- wort ; according to Mr. 
Lamb. 

Lepidium draba. Whitlow pepper- 
wort. According to Mr. Lamb. 

Thlaspi arvense. Penny cress. 

Iberis Amaris. Bitter candytuft ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth, 
who adds " probably an escape." 



PLANTS. 



265 



Cakile maritima. Purple sea rocket ; 
Professor Holmes. 

Raphanns rapbanistrum. Badish. 

Reseda lutea. Wild mignonette. 

Reseda luteola. Dyers' rocket ; 
yellow weed. 

Helianthemum chamsecistus. Rock 
rose. 

Viola palustris. Marsh violet. 

Viola odorata. Sweet violet. 

Viola alba. White violet. 

Viola hirta. Hairy violet. 

Viola sylvatica. Wood violet. 

Viola canina. Dog violet. 

Viola tricolor. Heart's-ease or pansy. 

Viola arvensis. Field viola ; commu- 
nicated by Professor Holmes. 

Polygala vulgaris. Common milk- 
wort. 

Polygala amara. Bitter polygala ; late 
Mr. Hanbury. 

Franksenia Isevis. Smooth sea- 
heath; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Dianthus armeria. Deptford pink. 

Dianthus deltoides. Maiden pink. 

Dianthus caryophyllus. Clove pink, 
clove gilliflower, carnation. On 
the ruins of Rochester castle, and 
other castles in the county. From 
this flower came the name Sweet 
William. The tradition is that a 
Scotch baker named William set 
out on a pilgrimage, but was 
murdered at Rochester. His 
shrine in the cathedral was at- 
tended by hundreds of pilgrims 
after he had been canonised. 
The flower growing near his shrine 
got the name of St. William, or 
St. William's flower ; hence Sweet 
William. 

Dianthus prolifcr. Proliferous pink ; 
found at Dover according to 
Hooker. 

Saponaria vaccaria. Cow-wort ; an 
importation discovered some years 
ago near East Mailing ; and, ac- 
cording to Hooker, in the Isle of 
Dogs. 

Haponaria officinalis. Common soap- 
wort. 

Silene maritima. Sea campion ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Silene cucubalus. Bladder campion. 

Silene conica. Striated corn cam- 
pion ; Deal, according to the late 
Mr. Hanbury. 



Silene nutans. Nottingham catch- 
fly ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Silene Italica. Italian catchfly ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Silene noctiflora. Night-flowering 
catchfly. 

Cucubalus baccifer. Berried cucuba- 
lus, Isle of Dogs ; Holmes, Bab- 
ington. 

Silene armeria. Common catchfly ; 
Yalding, according to Hooker. 

Lychnis alba. White lychnis. 

Lychnis diurna. Red lychnis, or 
red campion. 

Lychnis flos-cuculi. Ragged-robin. 

Lychnis githago. Corn cockle. 

Holosteum umbellatum. Umbellifer- 
ous jagged chickweed; commu- 
nicated by Mr. Hepworth of 
Rochester. 

Cerastium tetrandrum. Four-cleft 
mouse-ear chickweed ; commu- 
nicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Cerastium semidecandrum. Little 
mouse-ear chickweed. 

Cerastium glomeratum. Broad-leaved 
mouse-ear chickweed. 

Cerastium triviale. Narrow-leaved 
mouse-ear chickweed. 

Stellaria aquatica. Water stitchwort. 

Stellaria nemorum. Wood stitchwort ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Stellaria media. Common chickweed. 

Stellaria holostea. Greater stitch- 
wort. 

Stellaria graminea. Lesser stitch 
wort. 

Stellaria uliginosa. Bog stitchwort. 

Arenaria trinervis. Three-nerved 
sand wort. 

Arenaria serpyllifolia. Thyme-leaved 
sandwort. 

Sagina maritima. Sea pearlwort ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Sagina apetala. Small-flowered pearl- 
wort ; communicated by Mr. Hep- 
worth. 

Sagina procumbens. Procumbent 
Pearlwort. 

Spergula arvensis. Corn spurrey. 

Lepigonum rubrum. Field sandwort 
spurrey. 

Lepigonum salinum. Sea sandwort 
spurrey. 

Tamarix gallica. The tamarisk. 
Hypericum androssemum. Tutsan. 



266 



MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Hypericum calycinum. Large- 
flowered St. John's-wort ; commu- 
nicated by Mr. Oliver. 

Hypericum perforatum. Perforate St. 
John's-wort. 

Hypericum quadrangulum. Imper- 
forate St. John's-wort. 

flypericum quadratum. Square- 
stalked St. John's-wort. 

Hypericum humifusum. Trailing St. 
John's-wort. 

Hypericum pulchrum. Small St. 
John's-wort. 

Hypericum hirsutum. Hairy St. 
John's-wort. 

Hypericum montanum. Mountain St. 
John's-wort ; communicated by 
Mr. Hepworth. 

Althaea officinalis. Common marsh 
mallow. 

Althaea hirsuta. Rough althaea. 

Malva moschata. Musk mallow. 

Malva sylvestris. Common mallow. 

Malva rotundifolia. Dwarf mallow. 

Malva borealis. Northern mallow ; a 
garden weed near Sevenoaks. 

Tilia intermedia. Intermediate lime 
or linden tree. 

Tilia parviflora. Small flowered lime 
or linden. 

Linum catharticum. Purging flax. 

Linum angustif olium . Narrow-leaved 
flax. 

Linum usitatissimum. Common flax ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Geranium phseum. Dusky crane's- 
bill; communicated by Mr. Hep- 
worth. 

Geranium sylvaticum. Wood crane's- 
bill. 

Geranium pratense. Blue meadow 
crane's-bill. 

Geranium pyrenaicum. Mountain 
crane's-bill. 

Geranium molle. Dove's-foot crane's- 
bill. 

Geranium pusillum. Small-flowered 
crane's-bill. 

Geranium dissectum. Jagged-leaved 
crane's-bill. 

Geranium columbinum. Long-stalk- 
ed crane's-bill. 

Geranium lucidum. Shining crane's- 
bill. 

Geranium Robertianum. Stinking 
crane's-bill or herb Robert. 

Erodium cicutarium. Hemlock stork's 
bill. 



Erodium moschatum. Musky stork's 
bill ; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Oxalis acetosella. Wood sorrel. 

Ilex aquifolium. Holly. 

Euonymuseuropaeus, The spindle tree. 

Rhamnus catharticus. Common 
buckthorn. 

Rhamnus frangula. Alder buckthorn. 

Acer pseudo-platanus. Sycamore. 

Acer campestre. Maple. 

Genista anglica. Needle green weed. 

Genista tinctoria. Dyers' green weed; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Ulex Europaaus. Common gorse. 

Ulex galii. Dwarf furze ; according 
to Professor Holmes. 

Ulex nanus. Dwarf furze. 

Cytisus scoparius. Broom. 

Ononis repens. Common rest harrow. 

Ononis spinosa. Spinous rest harrow : 
communicated by Mr. Oliver. 

Medicago sativa. Lucerne. 

Medicago lupulina. Black medick. 

Medicago maculata. Spotted medick. 

Medicago minima. Little bur medick ; 
according to Mr. Hanbury found 
at New Romney. 

Mellilotus altissima. The melilot. 

Mellilotus alba. White melilot. 

Trifolium subterraneum. Subterra- 
nean trefoil. 

Trifolium pratense. Common purple 
clover. 

Trifolium medium. Zigzag trefoil. 

Trifolium maritimum. Teasel-headed 
trefoil. 

Trifolium incarnatum. Crimson clo- 
ver ; undoubtedly introduced. 

Trifolium arvense. Hare's-foot tre- 
foil. 

Trifolium striatum. Soft-knotted tre- 
foil. 

Trifolium scabrum. Rough trefoil ; 
according to Mr. Lamb. 

Trifolium glomeratum. Round-head- 
ed trefoil. 

Trifolium hybridum. Hybrid trefoil. 

Trifolium repens. White clover. 

Trifolium fragiferum. Strawberry- 
headed trefoil. 

Trifolium resupinatum. Reserved tre- 
foil ; according to Mr. Hepworth. 

Trifolium procumbens. Hop trefoil. 

Trifolium dubium. Lesser yellow tre- 
foil. 

Trifolium filiforme. Slender yellow 
trefoil. 



PLANTS. 



267 



Anthyllis vulneraria. Lady's fingers 
or kidney vetch. 

Lotus corniculatus. Common bird's- 
foot trefoil. 

Lotus Tenuis. Slender bird's-foot 
trefoil. 

Lotus villosus. Hairy bird's-foot tre- 
foil ; Higham, Kent, according to 
Mr. Hooker. 

Lotus pilosus. Narrow-leaved bird's- 
foot trefoil. 

Ornithopus perpusillus. Common 
bird's-foot. 

Astragalus glycyphyllos. Sweet milk- 
wort ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Hippocrepis comosa. Horse-shoe 
vetch. 

Onobrychis sativa. Common sain- 
foin. 

Vicia hirsuta. Hairy tare. 

Vicia tetrasperma. Slender tare. 

Vicia cracca. Tufted vetch. 

Vicia orobus. Wood bitter vetch ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Vicia sylvatica. Wood vetch. 

Vicia sepium. Bush vetch. 

Vicia sativa. Common vetch ; com- 
municated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Vicia angustifolia, Narrow-leaved 
vetch. 

Vicia segetalis. Corn vetch. 

Vicia lathyroides. Spring vetch. 

Vicia bithynica. Rough-podded pur- 
ple vetch ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Vicia bobartii. Bobart's vetch. 

Lathyrus nissolia. Crimson or grass 
vetchling. 

Lathyrus hirsutus. Rough-podded 
vetchling ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Lathyrus pratensis. Meadow vetch- 
ling. 

Lathyrus tuberosus. Tuberous bitter 
vetchling ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Lathyrus sylvestris. Narrow-leaved 
vetchling. 

Lathyrus macrorhizus. Tuberous bit- 
ter vetchling ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Prunus communis. Common sloe. 

Prunus insititia. Common bullace. 

Prunus domestica. Common wild 
plum. 

Prunufi avium. Wild cherry. 

Prunus cerasus. Morello cherry. 



Prnnus padus. Bird cherry. 

Spiraea ulmaria. Meadow-sweet. 

Spiraea filipendula. Common drop- 
wort. 

Rubus Idaeus. Common raspberry. 

Rubus corylifolius. Hazel-leaved 
bramble ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Rubus caesius. Dewberry. 

Rubus carpinifolius. Hornbeam- 
leaved bramble. 

Genm urbanum. Common avens. 

Geum rivale. Water avens ; accord- 
ing to Mr. Lamb. 

Fragaria vesca. Wood strawberry. 

Fragaria elatior. Hautboy straw- 
berry. 

Potentilla fragriastrum. Straw- 
berry-leaved cinquefoil. 

Potentilla tormentilla. Tormentil. 

Potentilla reptans. Creeping cinque- 
foil. 

Potentilla anserina. Silver-weed, 
goose grass. 

Potentilla argentea. Hoary cinque- 
foil. 

Potentilla comarum. Marsh cinque- 
foil. 

Alchemilla arvensis. Field lady's 
mantle or parsley piert. 

Alchemilla vulgaris. Common lady's 
mantle. 

Agrimonia Eupatoria. Common agri- 
mony. 

Poterium sanguisorba. Common salad 
burnet. 

Poterium officinale. Great burnet. 

Rosa spinosissima. Bnrnet-leaved 
rose. 

Rosa tomentosa. Downy-leaved rose. 

Rosa rubiginosa. Sweet briar ; com- 
mon on the chalk hills. 

Rosa canina. Dog rose. 

Rosa stylosa systyla. Close-styled 
rose. 

Rosa arvensis. Trailing dog rose. 

Pyrus torminalis. Wild service tree. 

Pyrus Aria. White beam tree ; an 
ornament to our chalk hills. 

Pyrus aucuparia. Mountain ash, or 
rowan tree. 

Pyrus communis. Wild pear; com- 
municated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Pyrus malus. Wild apple. 

Pyrus malus acerba. Wild codlin. 

Pyrus malus mitis. Wild sweet apple. 
This latter is, I think, probably 
an escape. 



268 



MEMORIES OF CALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Pynis Germanica. The medlar. 
Hooker gives Bidborough, Kent, 
as one of its habitats. 

Cnetaegus oxyacantha. All four 
species of hawthorn have been 
detected in Kent by my friend 
Mr. Hepworth. 

Saxifraga tridactylites. Rue-leaved 
saxifrage. 

Saxifraga granulata. White meadow 
saxifrage. 

Chrysosplenium oppositifolium. 
Common golden saxifrage ; dis- 
covered by Mr. Oliver. 

Chrysosplenium alternifolium. Alter- 
nate-leaved saxifrage. 

Ribes grossularia. Gooseberry ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Ribes rubrum. Red currant. 

Cotyledon umbilicus. Wall penny- 
wort. 

Sedum rhodiola. Rose-root stone- 
crop ; communicated by Messrs. 
Oliver and Hepworth. 

Sedum telephium. Livelong or or- 
pine. 

Sedum al bum. White stonecrop ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Sedum acre. Biting stonecrop, or 
wall- pepper. 

Sedum sexangulare. Tasteless yellow 
stonecrop. Sheppey and Green- 
wich Park, according to Hooker. 

Sedum reflexum. Crooked yellow 
stonecrop ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Sempervivum tectorum. House Leek. 

Drosera rotundifolia. Round-leaved 
sundew ; communicated by Mr. 
Oliver. 

Hippuris vulgaris. Common mare's 
tail. 

Myriophyllum verticillatum. Whorl- 
ed water milfoil. 

Myriophyllum spicatum. Spiked 
water milfoil. 

Callitriche vernalis. Vernal water 
starwort. 

Callitriche stagnalis. Stagnant water 
starwort ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Callitriche truncata. Truncated water 
starwort ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Lythrum salicaria. Spiked purple 
loose strife. 

Peplis portula. Water purslane. 

Epilobium angustifolium. Rose bay 



willow herb ; common in gardens 
but occasionally wild. 

Epilobium hirsutum. Great hairy 
willow herb. 

Epilobium parviflorum. Small flower- 
ed willow herb. 

Epilobium montanum. Broad smooth- 
leaved willow herb. 

Epilobium roseum. Pale smooth- 
leaved willow herb. 

Epilobium tetragonum. Square- 

stalked willow herb. 

Epilobium palustre. Narrow-leaved 
marsh willow herb. 

(Enothera biennis. Common evening 
primrose. 

CircEea lutetiana. Enchanter's night- 
shade. 

Bryonia dioica. Red-berried bryony. 

Hydrocotyle vulgaris. Marsh penny- 
wort. 

Eryngium maritimum. Sea-holly. 

Eryngium campestre. Field eryngo ; 
communicated by Prof. Holmes. 

Sanicula Europasa. Wood sanicle. 

Conium maculatum. Hemlock. 

Smyrnium olusatrum. Alexanders. 

Apium graveolens. Wild celery. 

Apium nodiflorum. Procumbent 
marshwort. 

Cicuta virosa. Cowbaue or water- 
hemlock. 

Carum segetum. Corn parsley. 

Carum carui. Corn caraway. 

Sison amomum. Bastard stone par- 
sley. 

Sium latifolium. Broad-leaved water 
parsnep. 

Sium angustifolium. Narrow-leaved 
water parsnep. 

(Egopodium podagraria. Gout weed. 

Pimpinella saxifraga. Common bur- 
net saxifrage. 

Pimpinella major. Great burnet 
saxifrage. 

Pimpinella dissecta. Divided burnet 
saxifrage ; communicated by 
Messrs. Hepworth and Holmes. 

Conopodium denudatum (Bunium 
Flexuosum). Pignut. 

Chaerophyllum temulentum. The 
chervil. 

Scandix Pecten-Veneris. Shepherd's 
needle. 

Anthriscus vulgaris. Common beaked 
parsley. 

Anthriscus sylvtstris. Wild beaked 
parsley. 



PLANTS. 



Fceniculum officinalc. Common 

fennel. 

Crithmum maritimum. Samphire. 
(Enanthe fistulosa. Common water 

dropwort. 

(Enanthe pimpinelloides. Callous- 
fruited water dropwort. 
CEnanthe lachenalii. Parsley water 

dropwort. 
(Enanthe crocata. Hemlock water 

dropwort. 
CEnanthe phellandrium. Fine-leaved 

water dropwort. 
(Enanthe fluviatilis. River water 

dropwort. 
(Ethusa cynapium. Common fool's 

parsley. 

Silaus pratensis. Pepper saxifrage. 
Angelica sylvestris. Wood angelica. 
Peucedanum officinale. Sea hog's 

fennel ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 
Peucedanum sativum. Common Par- 

snep. 

Heracleum sphondylinm. Hogweed. 
Daucus carota. Wild carrot. 
Daucus gummif er. Communicated by 

Professor Holmes. 
Caucalis arvensis. Spreading hedge 

parsley. 
Caucalis anthriscus. Upright hedge 

parsley. 
Caucalis nodosa. Knotted hedge 

parsley. 

Hedera helix. Ivy. 
Cornus sanguinea. Wild Cornel. 
Adoxa moschatellina. Moschatel. 
Sambucus nigra. Common elder. 
Sambucus ebulus. Dwarf elder. 
Viburnum opulus. Wild guelder-rose. 
Viburnum lantana. Traveller's tree. 
Lonicera caprifolium. Pale perfoliate 

honeysuckle ; communicated by 

Mr. Hepworth. 

Lonicera periclymenum. Honey- 
suckle. 
Galium cruciatum. Cross-leaved bed 

straw. 

Galium verum. Yellow bed straw. 
Galium mollugo. Great hedge bed 

straw. 
Galium saxatile. Smooth heath bed 

straw. 
Galium palustre. White water bed 

straw. 
Galium Witheringii. Withering's bed 

straw ; communicated by Mr. 

Hepworth. 



Galium uliginosum. Rough marsh bed 
straw. 

Galium aparine. Goose grass or 
cleavers. 

Asperula odorata. Woodruff. 

Asperula cynanchica. Squinancy 
wort. 

Sherardia arvensis. Field madder. 

Valeriana dioica. Small marsh 
valerian. 

Valeriana officinalis. Great wild 
valerian. 

Centranthus ruber. Red spur valerian. 

Valerianella olitoria. Lamb's lettuce. 

Valerianella auricula. Sharp-fruited 
corn salad ; according to Mr. 
Lamb. 

Valeriauella dentata. Narrow-fruited 
corn salad; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Dipsacus sylvestris. Wild teasel. 

Dipsacus pilosus. Small teasel. 

Scabiosa succisa. Devil's-bit scabious. 

Scabiosa columbaria. Small scabious. 

Scabiosa arveusis. Field scabious. 

Eupatorium cannabinum. Hemp 
agrimony. 

Solidago virga aurea. Golden rod. 

Bellis perennis. Daisy. 

Aster tripolium. Sea aster, or sea star- 
wort. 

Aster linosyris. Communicated by 
Mr. Hepworth. 

Erigeron Canaclense. Canada flea- 
bane. 

Erigeron acre. Blue fleabane. 

Filago Germanica. Common filago. 

Filago minima. Least filago. 

Gnaphalium uliginosum. Marsh cud- 
weed. 

Gnaphalium sylvaticum. Wood cud- 
weed. 

Inula conyza. Ploughman's spike- 
nard, fleabane. 

Inula crithmoides. Golden samphire ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Pulicaria dysenterica. Common flea- 
bane. 

Pulicaria vulgaris. Small fleabane ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Bidens cernua. Nodding bur mari- 
gold. 

Bidens tripartiba. Trifid bur mari- 
gold. 

Achillaea millefolium. Common 
yarrow. 

Achillaea ptarmica. Sneeze-wort. 

Anthemis cotula. Stinking chamo- 
mile. 



270 



MEMORIES OF DIALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Anthemis arvensis. Corn chamomile. 

Anthemis nobilis. Common chamo- 
mile. 

Chrysanthemum segetum. Corn mari- 
gold. 

Chrysanthemum leucanthemum. Ox- 
eye daisy, wild marguerite. 

Chrysanthemum parthenium. Com- 
mon feverfew. 

Matricaria inodora. Scentless may- 
weed. 

Matricaria chamomilla. Wild chamo- 
mile. 

Tanacetum vulgare. The tansy. 

Artemisia absinthium. Common 
wormwood. 

Artemisia vulgaris. Common mug- 
wort. 

Artemisia maritima. Sea wormwood. 

Tussilago farfara. Colt's-foot. 

Petasites vulgaris. Butterbur. 

Senecio vulgaris. Common groundsel. 

Seneciosylvaticus. Mountain ground- 
sel. 

Senecio viscosus. Stinking ground- 
sel. 

Senecio erucifolius. Hoary rag-wort. 

Senecio Jacobsea. Common rag- 
wort. 

Senecio aquatic us. Marsh rag-wort. 

Senecio saracenius. Broad-leaved 
groundsel ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Carlina vulgaris. Common cotton 
thistle. 

Arctium majus. Greater burdock. 

Arctium minus. Lesser burdock. 

Carduus pycnocephalus. Many-head- 
ed thistle ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Carduus nutans. Musk thistle. 

Carduus crispus. Crisp thistle. 

Carduus acanthoides. Welted thistle. 

Cnicus lanceolatus. Spear plume 
thistle. 

Cnicus eriophorus. Woolly-headed 
plume thistle. 

Cnicus palustris. Marsh plume 
thistle. 

Cnicus pratensis. Meadow plume 
thistle ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Cnicus acaulis. Dwarf plume thistle, 

Cnicus arvensis. Creeping plume 
thistle. 

Onopordum acanthium. Common 
cotton thistle ; communicated by 
Messrs. Hepworth and Holmes. 



Silybum marianum. Milk thistle ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Serratula tinctoria. Common saw- 
wort ; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Centaurea nigra. Black knapweed. 

Centaurea scabiosa. Greater knap- 
weed. 

Centaurea cyanus. Corn bluebottle. 

Centaurea calcitrapa. Common star 
thistle. 

Centaurea solstitialis. Yellow star 
thistle. 

Cichorium intibus. Wild chicory. 

Lapsana communis. Nipple-wort. 

Picris hieracioides. Hawkweed picris. 

Picris echioides. Bristly ox-tongue. 
i Crepis taraxacifolia. Dandelion 

hawk's beard. 

Crepis setosa. Bristly hawk's beard ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Crepis virens. Smooth hawk's beard. 

Crepis biennis. Rough hawk's beard. 

Crepis hieracioides. Hawkweed-like 
hawk's beard ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Crepis paludosa. Marsh hawk's 
beard. 

Hieracium pilosella. Common mouse- 
ear hawkweed. 

Hieracium murorum. Wall hawk- 
weed ; communicated by Mr. 
Oliver. 

Hieracium vulgatum. Wood hawk- 
weed. 

Hieracium umbellatum. Narrow- 
leaved hawkweed. 

H}eracium boreale. Shrubby broad- 
leaved hawkweed ; communicated 
by Professor Holmes. 

Hypochaeris radicata. Long-rooted 
cat's ear. 

Leontodon hirtus. Hairy thrincia. 

Leontodon hispidus. Rough hawkbit. 

Leontodon autumnalis. Autumnal 
hawkbit. 

Taraxacum officinale. Common dan- 
delion. 

Taraxacum erythrospermum. Red- 
seeded dandelion ; communicated 
by Professor Holmes. 

Lactuca virosa. Strong-scented let- 
tuce. 

Lactuca muralis. Ivy-leaved lettuce. 

Sonchus oleraceus. Common annual 
sow thistle. 

Sonchus asper. Sharp-fringed annual 
sow thistle. 



PLANTS. 



271 



Sonchus arvenis. Corn sow thistle. 

Sonchus palustris. Marsh sow thistle. 

Tragopogon pratensis minus. Lesser 
yellow goafs-beard. 

Jasione montana. Annual sheep's-bit ; 
according to Mr. Lamb. 

f Campanula glomerata. Clustered bell 
flower. 

Campanula trachelium. Nettle-leaved 
bell flower. 

Campanula latifolia. Giant bell 
flower ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Campanula rapunculoides. Creeping 
bell flower ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Campanula rotundifolia. Harebell. 

Specularia Hybrida. Corn bell flower ; 
according to Mr. Lamb. 

Vaccinium myrtilus. Bilberry. 

Arbutus unedo. Strawberry tree or 
Arbutus. Though common in some 
parts of Ireland as a wild tree, 
this shrub has never been ac- 
knowledged as an English native. 
In Kent, though only found in 
gardens and shrubberies, it, never- 
theless, with two or three other 
trees (the evergreen or holm oak, 
the deodara, the Chilian or Arau- 
canian pine, the cedar of Lebanon, 
and others), flourishes as if this 
were its native home. Perhaps it 
is merely reintroduced into what 
was once its original habitat. 

Calluna vulgaris. Common ling. 

Erica tetralix. Cross-leaved heath. 

Erica cinerea. Common heath. 

Pyrola rotundifolia. Round-leaved 
winter green ; communicated by 
the late Rev. A. J. Woodhouse, 
vicar of Ide Hill, near Sevenoaks. 

Hypopithys multiflora. The bird's 
nest. 

Statice limonium. Sea lavender. 

Statice auriculaefolia occidentalis. 
Auricula-leaved thrift ; commu- 
nicated by Professor Holmes. 

Statice rariflora. Remote -flowered 
sea-lavender; according to Hooker. 

Armeria maritima. Common thrift or 
sea gilliflower. 

Hottonia palustris. Water violet 

Primula vulgaris. Common primrose. 

Primula acaulis. Stalkless primrose. 

Primulacaulescens. Stalked primrose. 

Primula veris. Cowslip. 

Primula clatior. Oxlip. 



Primula hybrida. Hybrid primrose ; 
the hybrid primroses between 
veris and vulgaris, veris and 
elatior, vulgaris and elatior, have 
all been found by the author in 
the woods around Cobham. 

Cyclamen hederaefolinm. Sow bread ; 
both Hooker and Babington report 
this plant at Sandhurst and Goud- 
hurst, and Lamb mentions it as 
a plant growing round Maidstone 
in 1839. 

Lysimachia vulgaris. Great yellow 
loose strife. 

Lysimachia nummularia. Moneywort 
or creeping Jenny. 

Lysimachia nemorum. Wood loose 
strife. 

Glaux maritima. Sea milk wort. 

Anagallis arvenis. Scarlet pim- 
pernel. 

Anagallis caerulea. Blue pimpernel. 

Anagallis tenella. Bog pimpernel ; 
according to Mr. Lamb. 

Samolus valerandi. Brookweed. 

Fraxinus excelsior. Ash. 

Ligustrum vulgare. Privet. 

Vinca major. Great periwinkle. 

Vinca minor. Lesser periwinkle. 

Blackstonia perfoliata. Perfoliate 
yellow-wort. 

Erythraea centaurium. Common cen- 
taury. 

Gentiana amarella. Small-flowere d 
gentian. 

Gentiana campestris. Field gentian. 

Menyanthes trifoliata. Buckbean. 

Polemonium caeruleum. Jacob's lad- 
der ; this plant has been, found 
once or twice in Kent, but it seems 
doubtful whether it has a claim 
to be considered a native. 

Cynoglossum officinale. Common 
hound's tongue. 

Cynoglossum montanum. Green-leav- 
ed hound's tongue. 

Symphytum officiuale. Comfrey. 

Borago officinalis. Borage ; probably 
an escape. 

Anchusa officinalis. Common al- 
kanet ; probably an escape. 

Lycopsis arvensis. Small bugloss. 

Myosotis caespitosa. Tufted water 
scorpion grass. 

Myosotis palustris. Water scorpion 
grass or forget-me-not. 

Myosotis repens. Creeping water- 
scorpion grass. 



272 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Myosotis sylvatica. Upright wood 
scorpion grass. 

Myosotis arvensis. Field scorpion 
grass. 

Myosotis collina. Early field scorpion 
grass. 

Myosotis versicolor. Yellow and blue 
scorpion grass. 

Lithospermum purpuro-caeruleum. 
Purple gromwell ; according to 
Hooker found at Barenthwood 
and Greenhithe, where the author 
has failed to detect it. He was, 
however, assured by Mr. Car- 
rington-Ley that he had found it 
near Hailing. 

Lithospermum officinale. Common 
gromwell ; according to Mr. 
Lamb. 

Lithospermum arvense. Corn grom- 
well. 

Echium vulgare. Common viper's 
bugloss. 

Calystegia sepium. Greater bind- 
weed. 

Convolvulus arvensis. Small bind- 
weed. 

Cuscuta epithymum. Lesser dodder. 

Cuscuta trifolii. Clover dodder. 

Solanum dulcamara. Woody night- 
shade or bitter sweet. 

Solanum marinum. Sea nightshade. 

Solanum nigrum. Common night- 
shade. 

Atropa belladonna. Deadly night- 
shade or dwale. 

Datura strymonium. Common thorn 
apple. 

Hyoscyamus niger. Common hen- 
bane. 

Verbascum thapsus. Great mullein. 

Verbascum pulverulentum. Yellow 
hoary mullein. 

Verbascum lychnitis. White mullein. 

Verbascum nigrum. Dark mullein. 

Verbascum blattaria. Moth mullein ; 
according to Hooker. 

Verbascum virgatum. Large-flowered 
primrose mullein ; according to 
Hooker. 

Verbascum hybridum. Hybrid mul- 
lein. Of the hybrid mulleins, that 
between thapsus and lychnitis 
and that between nigrum and 
pulverulentum have been found 
by the author. 

Linaria cymbalaria. Ivy-leaved toad 
flax. 



Linaria elatine. Sharp-pointed toad 
flax. 

Linaria spuria. Round-leaved toad 
flax ; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Linaria repens. Creeping toad-flax. 

Linaria vulgaris. Common toad-flax. 

Linaria viscida. Lesser toad flax. 

Linaria origanifolia. Marjoram- 
leaved toad flax. This plant, a 
native of Spain, was found grow- 
ing luxuriantly on the walls of the 
old Abbey at Mailing. It was 
identified in London by Professor 
Holmes of the Pharmaceutical 
Society: it is a native of Spain, 
and is found growing nowhere 
else, we believe, in England, ex- 
cept on Wells cathedral. 

Antirrhinum majus. Greater snap- 
dragon. 

Antirrhinum orontium. Lesser snap- 
dragon. 

Scrophularia aquatica. Water fig- 
wort. 

Scrophularia nodosa. Knotted fig- 
wort. 

Mimulus luteus. Yellow mimulus ; 
found by the author in one place, 
and reported to him by some 
ladies as growing in another ; 
probably an escape. 

Digitalis purpurea. Foxglove. 

Veronica hederaefolia. Ivy-leaved 
speedwell. 

Veronica polita. Gray field speedwell. 

Veronica agrestis. Green procumbent 
speedwell. 

Veronica Buxbaumii. Buxbaum's 
speedwell. I conclude this is 
" Persica " of the London cata- 
logue. 

Veronica arvensis. Wall speedwell. 

Veronica serpyllifolia. Thyme-leaved 
speedwell. 

Veronica officinalis. Common speed- 
well. 

Veronica chamajdrys. Germander 
speedwell. 

Veronica montana. Mountain speed- 
well ; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Veronica scutellata. Marsh Speed- 
well. 

Veronica anagallis. Water speedwell. 

Veronica beccabunga. Brooklime. 

Euphrasia officinalis. Eyebright. 

Bartsia odontites. P>,ed bartsia. 

Pedicularis palustris. March louse 
wort. 



PLANTS. 



273 



Pedicularis sylvatica. Pasture louse 
wort. 

Melampyrum pratense. Cow- wheat. 

Rhi nan thus cristagalli. Yellow rattle. 

Orobanche major. Greater broom 
rape. 

Orobanche caryophyllacea. Clove- 
scented broom rape ; communi- 
cated by Professor Holmes. 

Orobanche elatior. Tall broom rape. 

Orobanche picridis. Picris broom 
rape ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Orobanche minor. Lesser broom rape. 

Orobanche flavescens. Yellow broom 
rape. 

Orobanche amethystea. Bluish broom 
rape ; found by Mr. Hepworth. 

Utriculariavulgaris. Greater bladder- 
wort. 

Verbena officinalis. Common vervain. 

Mentha sylvestris. Horse mint. 

Mentha hirsuta. Water capitate mint. 

Mentha sativa. Marsh whorled mint ; 
communicated by Mr. Oliver. 

Mentha arvensis. Corn mint. 

Mentha pulegium. Penny royal ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Lycopus Europseus. Gypsy wort. 

Origanum vulgare. Sweet marjoram. 

Thymus serpyllum. Wild thyme. 

Calamintha clinopodium. Wild basil. 

Calamintha arvensis. Common basil 
thyme. 

Calamintha officinalis. Wood cala- 
minth. 

Melissa officinalis. Balm ; found by 
Dr. Morton and Mr. Hepworth. 

Salvia verbenaca. Wild sage or clary. 

Salvia pratensis. Meadow sage. 

Nepeta cataria. Cat mint. 

Nepeta glechoma. Ground ivy. 

Scutellaria galericulata. Common 
skull cap. 

Scutellaria minor. Lesser skull cap. 

Prunella vulgaris. Self-heal. 

MaiTubium vulgare. Common white 
horehound. 

Stachys betonica. Wood betony. 

Stachys palustris. Marsh woundwort. 

Stachys sylvatica. Hedge wound- 
wort. 

Stachys arvensis. Corn woundwort. 

Stachys annua. Annual woundwort ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Galeopsis ladanum. Red hemp nettle. 



Galeopsis speciosa. Showy hemp 
nettle. 

Galeopsis tetrahit. Common hemp 
nettle. 

Lamium amplexicaule. Henbit dead 
nettle. 

Lamium intermedium. Intermediate 
dead nettle ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Lamium pnrpnrenm. Red dead nettle. 

Lamium macula turn. Variegated 
dead nettle. 

Lamium album. White dead nettle. 

Lamium galeobdolon. Yellow weasel 
snout. 

Ballota negra. Black horehound. 

Teucrium scorodonia. Wood german- 
der or wood sage. 

Ajuga reptans. The bugle. 

Ajuga chamaepitys. Ground pine. 

Plantago major. Greater plantain. 

Plantago media. Hairy plantain. 

Plantago lanceolata. Ribwort plan- 
tain. 

Plantago maritima. Sea-side plan- 
tain. 

Plantago coronopus. Buck's horn 
plantain. 

Scleranthus annuus. Annual knawel. 

Chenopodinm vulvaria. Stinking 
goosefoot ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Chenopodium album. White goose- 
foot. 

Chenopodium album paganum. Com- 
municated by Mr. Holmes. 

Chenopodium urbicum. Upright 
goosefoot. 

Chenopodium rubrum. Red goose- 
foot. 

Chenopodium bonus Henricus. Good 
king Henry. 

Beta maritima. Sea beet. 

Atriplex littoralis. Grass-leaved sea 
orache ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Atriplex patulaangustifolia. Halbert- 
leaved spreading orache ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Atriplex deltoidea. Triangular- 
leaved orache ; communicated by 
Professor Holmes. 

Atriplex portulacoides. Sea purslane. 

Atriplex pedunculata. Stalked sea 
orache ; communicated by Profes- 
sor Holmes. 

Salicornia herbacea.- Jointed glass- 
wort. 

18 



274 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY, 



Suseda maritima. Annual sea blite ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Salsola kali. Prickly saltwort. 

Polygonum convolvulus. Climbing 
bistort. 

Polygonum dumetorum. Copse bis- 
tort ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Polygonum aviculare. Common 
knapweed. 

Polygonum hydropiper. Biting per- 
sicaria. 

Polygonum persicaria. Spotted per- 
sicaria. 

Polygonum lapathifolium. Pale- 
flowered persicaria. 

Polygonum amphibium. Amphibious 
persicaria. 

Polygonum bistorta. Snakeweed. 

Rumex conglomerate. Sharp dock. 

Rumex obtusifolius. Broad-leaved 
dock. 

Rumex crispus. Curled dock. 

Rumex hydrolapathum. Great water 
dock. 

Rumex acetosa. Common sorrel. 

Rumex acetosella. Sheep's sorrel. 

Aristolochia clematitis. Birthwort. 
My father, the late Dr. Fielding, 
found this on the walls of Ailing- 
ton castle ; but I have not been 
able to identify it, either by friends 
or personally, in Kent. 

Daphne mezerceum. Common meze- 
reon ; according to Mr. Lamb. 

Daphne laureola. Spurge laurel. 

Hippophse rhanmoides. Sea buck- 
thorn ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes and Mr. Hepworth. 

Viscum album. Mistletoe. 

Euphorbia peplis. Purple spurge. 

Euphorbia helioscopia. Sun spurge. 

Euphorbia amygdaloides. Wood 
spurge. 

Euphorbia cyparissias. Cypress 
spurge ; discovered by Mr. Oliver. 

Euphorbia peplus. Petty spurge. 

Euphorbia exigua. Dwarf spurge. 

Buxus sempervirens. Box. 

Mercurialis perennis. Dog's mercury. 

Mercurialis annua. Annual mercury. 

Ulmus montana. Common elm. 

Ulmus campestris. Wych elm. 

Humulus lupulus. The hop. 

Urtica dioica. Great nettle. 

Urtica urens. Small nettle. 

Parietaria officinalis. Common pelli- 
tory of the wall. 



Betula alba. Common birch. 

Alnus glutinosa. Alder. 

Carpinus betulus. Hornbeam. 

Corylus avellana. Hazel. 

Quercus rober. Common British oak. 

Quercus rober pedunculata. 

Quercus rober sessiliflora. 

Castanea sativa. Chestnut. 

Fagus sylvatica. Beech. 

Salix alba. White willow. 

Salix viminalis. Common osier. 

Salix cinerea. Grey sallow. 

Salix caprea. Great round-leaved 
sallow. 

Populus alba. Great white poplar. 

Populus canescens. Grey poplar. 

Populus tremula. The aspen. 

Populus nigra. Black poplar. 

Ceratophyllum demersum. Common 
hornwort. 

Ceratophyllum submersum. Un- 
armed hornwort. 

Juniperus communis. Common juni- 
per. 

Juniperus nana. Dwarf juniper. 

Taxus baccata. The yew. 

Pinus sylvestris. Scotch fir or pine. 

Hydrocharis morsus-ranse. Frog-bit. 

Neottia nidus-avis. Bird's-nest orchis. 

Listera ovata. Twayblade. 

Spiranthesautumnalis. Ladies'tresses. 

Cephalanthera rubra. Purple helle- 
borine. 

Cephalanthera ensifolia. Narrow- 
leaved helleborine. 

Cephalanthera pallens. Pale helle- 
borine. 

Epipactis latifolia. Broad-leaved 
helleborine. 

Epipactis palustris. Marsh helle- 
borine. 

Orchis hircina. Lizard orchis. 

Orchis pyramidalis. Pyramidal or- 
chis. 

Orchis ust-ulata. Dwarf orchis. 

Orchis purpurea. Dark orchis. 

Orchis militaris. Military orchis. 

Orchis simia. Monkey orchis ; my 
father, the late G. H. Fielding, 
Esq., M.D., found this near Dart- 
ford in 1848. 

Orchis mono. Fool's orchis. 

Orchis mascula. Early purple orchis. 

Orchis incarnata. Crimson orchis. 

Orchis lalifolia. Marsh orchis ; re- 
ported to me, but, though I have 
found it elsewhere, I never dis- 
covered it in Kent. 



PLANTS. 



275 



Orchis maculate. Spotted orchis. 

Aceras anthropophera. Man orchis. 

Ophrys apifera. Bee orchis. 

Ophrys aranifera. Early spider or- 
chis. 

Ophrys arachnites. Late spider or- 
chis ; my father had specimens 
of this forwarded from near Wal- 
mer. 

Ophrys fucifera. Drone orchis ; my 
father had specimens of this. 

Ophrys tnuscifera. Fly orchis. 

Herminimnmonorchis. Musk orchis ; 
I have had this shown me by 
several friends. 

Habenaria conopsea. Gadfly orchis. 

Habenaria albida. Whitish orchis. 

Habenaria viridis. Frog orchis. 

Habenaria bifolia. Butterfly orchis. 

Habenaria chloroleuca. Great butter- 
fly orchis. 

Iris fcetidissima. Stinking iris. 

Iris pseudacorus. Common iris. 

Narcissus pseudo narcissus. Daffodil. 

Narcissus poeticus. The poet's nar- 
cissus ; according to Hooker. 

Narcissus biflorus. Pale narcissus ; 
according to Hooker. A friend 
declared he had found this on a 
common, near Rochester, but 
though I know the place I could 
never discover it. 

Galanthus nivalis. Snowdrop. 

Tamus communis. Black bryony. 

Euscus aculeatus. Butcher's broom. 

Convallaria majalis. Lily of the 
valley. 

Allium oleraceum. Streaked field gar- 
lick. 

Allium ursinum. Broad-leaved gar- 
lick. 

Muscari racemosum. Starch grape 
hyacinth ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Scilla nutans. Wild hyacinth. 

Lilium Martagon. Martagon lily ; 
found by the late Dr. Morton 
and Mr. Hepworth. 

Fritillaria meleagris. Fritillary. 

Tulipa sylvestris. Wild tulip. 

Colchicum autumnale. Meadow saf- 
fron ; communicated by Mr. Hep- 
worth. 

Narthecium ossifragum. Bog aspho- 
del ; communicated by Mr. 
Oliver. 

Paris quadrifolia. Herb Paris. 

Jnncus bufonius. Toad rush. 



Juncus glaucus. Hard rush ; com- 
municated by Mr. Hepworth. 
Juncus couglomeratus. Common 

rush. 

Juncus maritimus. Lesser sharp sea 
rush ; communicated by Mr. Hep- 
worth. 

Juncus lamprocarpus. Shining-fruit- 
ed jointed rush. 
Juncus acutiflorus. Sharp-flowered 

rush. 
Lnzula forsteri. Narrow-leaved hairy 

wood rush. 
Luzula pilosa. Broad-leaved hairy 

wood nish. 
Luzula maxima. Great hairy wood 

rush. 

Luzula campestris. Field wood rush. 
Luzula multiflora. Many-flowered 

wood rush. 
Typha latifolia. Great reed mace or 

bull rush. 
Typha angustifolia. Lesser reed mace 

or cat's tail ; communicated 

by Messrs. Hepworth and 

Holmes. 
Sparganium ramosum ; branching bur 

reed. 
Sparganium simplex. Unbranched 

upright bur reed. 
Aram maculatum. Common arum, 

lords and ladies. 

Lemna trisulca. Ivy-leaved duck- 
weed. 

Lemna minor. Lesser duckweed. 
Lemna gibba. Gibbous duckweed. 
Alisma plantago. Great water plan- 
tain. 

Sagittaria sagittifolia. Arrowhead. 
Butomus umbellatus. Flowering 

rush. 
Triglochin palustre. Marsh arrow 

grass. 
Triglochin maritimum. Seaside arrow 

grass. 
Potamogeton natans. Sharp-pointed 

broad-leaved pond weed. 
Potamogeton rufescens. Reddish 

pond weed ; communicated by 

Mr. Hepworth. 
Potamogeton perfoliatus. Perfoliate 

pond weed ; communicated by 

Mr. Hepworth. 
Potamogeton crispus. Curly pond 

weed ; communicated by Mr. 

Hepworth. 

Potamogeton densus. Opposite- 
leaved pond weed. 



276 



MEMORIES OF MALLING AA 7 3 ITS VALLEY. 



Potamogeton pectinatus. Fennel- 
leaved pond weed. 

Zannichellia palustris. Common 
horned pond weed. 

Zostera marina. Broad-leaved grass 
wrack. 

Zostera nana. Dwarf grass ; this 
plant, according to Hooker, is 
found on Dover Beach. 

Scirpus csespitosus. Scaly-stalked 
club rush. 

Scirpus maritimus. Salt marsh club 
rush. 

Scirpus sylvaticus. Wood club rush ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Carex paniculata. Great panicled 
sedge ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Carex vulpina. Great sedge ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Carex muricata. Greater prickly 
sedge; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 

Carex divulsa. Grey sedge ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Carex elongata. Elongated sedge ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Carex ovalis. Oval spiked sedge ; 
communicated by Mr. Hepworth. 

Carex Goodenowii. Common sedge. 

Carex glauca. Glaucous heath sedge ; 
communicated by Messrs. Holmes 
and Hepworth. 

Carex praecox. Vernal sedge. 

Carex pendula. Great pendulous 
sedge ; communicated by Messrs. 
Holmes and Hepworth. 

Carex sylvatica. Pendulous wood 
sedge ; communicated by Messrs. 
Holmes and Hepworth. 

Carex distans. Loose sedge. 

Carex hirta. Hairy sedge ; communi- 
cated by Professor Holmes. 

Carex pseudo-cyperus. Cyperus-like 
sedge ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth'. 

Carex paludosa. Lesser common 
sedge ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Carex riparia. Greater common 
sedge ; communicated by Mr. 
Hepworth. 

Carex depauperata. Starved wood 
sedge ; according to Hooker. 

Setaria glauca. Glaucous bristle 
grass ; communicated by Pro- 
fessor Holmes. 



Phalaris canariensis. Canary grass. 

Phalaris arundinacea. Reed canary 
grass. 

Anthoxanthum odoratum . Sweet- 
scented vernal grass. 

Alopecurus agrestis. Slender foxtail. 

Alopecurus geniculatus. Floating fox 
tail. 

Alopecurus bulbosus. Tuberous fox- 
tail 

Alopecurus pratensis. Meadow fox- 
tail. 

Millium effusum. Spreading millet 
grass. 

Phleum pratense. Timothy grass. 

Agrostis alba. Marsh bent grass. 

Agrostis vulgaris. Fine bent grass. 

Calamagrostis epigeion. Wood small 
reed. 

Gastridium lendigerum. Awned nit 
grass. 

Aira caryophyllea. Silver hair grass. 

Aira prrecox. Early hair grass. 

Deschampia caespitosa. Tufted hair- 
grass. 

Holcus mollis. Creeping soft grass. 

Holcus lanatus. Meadow soft grass. 

Trisetum flavescens. Yellow oat. 

Avena pubescens. Downy oat. 

Avena pratensis. Perennial oat. 

Avena fatua. Wild oat. 

Phragmites communis. Common 
reed. 

Koeleria cristata. Crested koeleria ; 
communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Catabrosia aquatica. Water whorl 
grass ; communicated by Messrs. 
Hepworth and Holmes. 

Melica uniflora. Wood melic grass. 

Dactylis glomerata. Cock's-foot 
grass ; communicated by Messrs. 
Hepworth and Holmes. 

Briza media. Common trembling or 
quaking grass. 

Poa annua. Annual meadow grass. 

Poa nemoralis. Wood meadow grass. 

Poa pratensis. Smooth-stalked mea- 
dow grass. 
| Poa trivialis. Roughish meadow 

grass. 

: Glyceria fluitans. Floating meadow 
grass. 

Glyceria aquatica. Reed meadow 
grass ; communicated by Profes- 
sor Holmes. 

Glyceria maritima. Creeping sea 
meadow grass. 



PLANTS. 



277 



Festuca rigida. Stiff fescue ; com- 
municated by Messrs. Hepworth 
and Holmes. 

Festuca loliacea. Darnel fescue ; com- 
municated by Messrs. Hepworth 
and Holmes. 

Festuca sciuroides. Barren fescue. 

Festuca ovina. Sheep's fescue. 

Festuca ovina capillata. Headed 
sheep's fescue. 

Festuca rubra arenaria. Red sand 
fescue. 

Festuca elatior pratensis. Tall 
meadow fescue ; communicated 
by Professor Holmes. 

Bromus asper. Hairy wood brome 



Bromus erectns. Upright brome grass. 

Bromus sterilis. Barren brome grass. 

Bromus commutatus. Tumid brome 
grass. 

Bromus mollis. Soft brome grass. 

Bromus arvensis. Taper brome grass ; 
communicated by Messrs. Hep- 
worth and Holmes. 

Brachypodium sylvaticum. Slender 
false brome grass. 

Lolium perenne. Beardless rye grass. 

Lolium perenne Italicum. Italian 
beardless rye grass. 

Lolium temulentum. Darnel. 

Agropyron caninum. Fibrous-rooted 
wheat grass. 

Agropyron repens. Couch grass. 

Agropyron junceum. Rush sea wheat 
grass. 

Lepturus filiformis. Sea hard grass. 

Hordeum pratense. Meadow barley. 

Hordeum murinum. Wall barley. 

Hordeum maritimum. Sea-side bar- 
ley. 



Pteris aquilina. Common bracken. 

Lomaria spicant. Hard fern. 

Asplenium fontanum. Smooth rock 
spleenwort. 

Asplenium adiantum nigrum. Black- 
stalked spleenwort. 

Asplenium trichomanes. Common 
wall spleenwort. 

Asplenium ruta muraria. Wall rue. 

Athyrium-filix fcemina. Lady fern. 

Scolopendrium vulgare. Hart's 
tongue fern. 

Polystichum aculeatum. Soft prickly 
shield fern. 

Polystichum angulare. Angular- 
leaved shield fern. 

Lastraea thelypteris. Marsh shield 
fern. 

Lastnea oreopteris. Mountain shield 
fern. 

Lastraea filix mas. Male shield fern. 

Lastraea dilatata. Toothed fern. 

Polypodium vulgare. Common poly- 
pody. 

Ophioglossum vulgatum. Adder's 
tongue. 

Equisetum maximum. Greatest horse 
tail. 

Equisetum arvense. Field horse tail. 

Equisetum sylvaticum. Wood horse 
tail. 

Equisetum palustre. Marsh horse tail. 

Equisetum limosum. Smooth horse 
tail. 

Lycopodium clavatum. Common club 
moss ; communicated by Professor 
Holmes. 

Chara vulgaris. Common chara ; com- 
municated by Professor Holmes. 

Nitella opaca. Dark nitella ; commu- 
nicated by Professor Holmes. 



I cannot but here express my gratitude to those through whom 
I am enabled to give this information on Natural History. As 
regards birds, Lord Clifton, Mr. Green of Rainham, Mr. Lamb of 
Maidstone, and the late Francis Plomley, Esq., M.D., of Maidstone, 
have greatly assisted me. In the matter of the flora I have to thank 
my two first teachers, my own father, the late George Hunsley 
Fielding, Esq., M.D., and the late Reverend Alfred Joseph Wood- 
house, M.A., Vicar of Ide Hill, near Sevenoaks, besides the late 
Doctor Henry Morton, of Brompton, Chatham, Professor Holmes 
of the Pharmaceutical Society,* Mr. Hepworth of Rochester, and 
Mr. Oliver of Town Mailing, and several of the members of the 
* Of Great Britain. 



278 



MEMORIES OF MAILING AND ITS VALLEY. 



Rochester Naturalist's Club. I shall now proceed to give a few 
Kentish expressions for animals, birds, flowers, etc. : 

Anthony pig. The youngest of the Gads. Rushes. 

Galls. Jelly fish. 



litter. 

Aps. An aspen tree. 

August bug, May bug, June bug. July 
bug. Used indiscriminately of 
annoying insects according to 
their time of appearance. 

Ball squab. A just hatched or feather- 
less young bird. 

Bargoose. The sheldrake. 

Bearbine'or bearbind. Wild convol- 
vulus. 

Blue shutters. Jelly fish. 

Boar cat. Tomcat. 

Bread and cheese. The young shoots 
of the hawthorn. 

Bull huss. Dog fish. 

Bull rout. The goby. 

Bunting. A shrimp. 

Cadlock, challock. Charlock. 

Capons. Red herrings. 

Cecksies. A piece of elder hollowed 
out to catch earwigs. 

Cheese bug, pea bug, slater. The 
wood louse. 

Cove keys. Cowslips. 

Crack nuts. Hazel or Spanish nuts. 

Cuckoo bread. Wood-sorrel. 

Cuckoo corn. Spring corn. 

Cuckoo's eyes. Speedwell. 

Cuckoo flower. Lady's smock, or 
wild arum. 

Cuckoo's mate. Wryneck. 

Cuckoo. A fool. 

Culver key. A cowslip. 

Devil's thread, and devil's root, and 
hell root. The dodder and the 
broom rape. 

Dicky hedge poker, and Jimmy hedge 
moper. A hedge sparrow. 

Didapper. The dabchick. 

Dishwasher, generally with Peggy. 
The wagtail. 

Dog daisy. The oxeye. 

Droke. Duckweed. 

Dumbledore. The dor beetle. 

Ess. A large worm. 

Eylebourne or nailbourn. An inter- 
mittent spring. 

Fat Hen. Good King Henry. 

Flitty mouse or flinty mouse. The 
bat. The " y " is frequently added 
by Kentish people to all words. 

Folkestone beef. Dried dog fish. 

French Mav. Lilac. 



Gaskin. A wild plum. 

Gatteridge tree. Spindle tree. 

Gazels. Black currants. 

Gol. A gosling. 

Golding or fly golding. A lady-bird. 

Granada. A golden pippin. 

Grandmother's nightcap. The aconite. 

G reybird . Thrush. 

Gut weed. Sow thistle. 

Heaver. A crab. 

Hen and chickens. Ivy-leaved toad 

flax. 

Hopdog. A caterpillar. 
Horsebuckle. A cowslip. 
Horsenails. Tadpoles. 
Keyn. Weasel. 
Kite legs. Orchis mascula. 
Kitty come down the lane and kiss 

me. Wild arum. 

Kitty run the streets. Wild pansy. 
Kitty Herne, or Kate Hern. Heron. 
Ladies' fingers. Orchis mascula. 
Lady keys. Cowslips. 
Longtails. Kentish wild oats. 
Man sucker. A cuttle fish. 
Mazzard. The wild plum. 
Measuring bug. Caterpillar. 
Milk jugs. Greater stitchwort. 
Miller's eyes. Jelly fish. 
Mollie. The hedge sparrow. 
Moses. A young frog. 
Mother of thousands. Linaria Cym- 

balaria ; ivy-leafed toad flax. 
Nimble Dick. A horsefly. 
None so pretty. London pride. 
Old man. Southernwood. 
Old woman's orchis. Orchis fusca. 
Our Saviour's flannel. The great 

mullein. 

Oxbird. The dunlin. 
Foot bird. Spotted flycatcher. 
Pretty Betsy. Spur valerian. 
Punjer. A large crab. 
Puttice. A stoat. 
Quicken. The mountain ash. 
Rabbits' mouths, or bunnies' mouths. 

Snapdragon. 

Ragged Jack. The ragged robin. 
Red butchers. Orchis mascula. 
Red petticoat. The wild poppy. 
Ruddock. The redbreast. 
Runnet. The yellow bed straw. 
Scags or skegs. Wild plums. 



KENTISH EXPRESSIONS. 



Screech owl. The common swift. 
Sea cob. The sea gull. 
Sea grapes. Eggs of cuttle fish. 
Sea Kitty. Sea gull. 
Sea nettles. Jelly fish. 
Sea snail. The periwinkle. 
Sea starch. Jelly fish. 
Shiny bug. Glow-worm. 
Shorn bug. Stag beetle. 
Shotover. Mackerel. 
Simson. Common groundsel. 
Skegs. Wild plums. 



Snags. Hard insects. 

Snodgog. Gooseberry. 

Targrass. Wild vetch. 

Timnail. Vegetable marrow. 

Tuke. The redshank. 

Uncle owl. The skate. 

Wax dolls. The wild fumitory. 

Winder. Widgeon. 

Wireweed or grass. Knapweed. 

Yellow bottle, blue bottle, or red 

bottle. For certain flowers of this 

colour. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

CHARITIES. 

BESIDES the visual doles of money, bread, coals, etc., which are 
found in most English parishes, certain parishes of the district 
we are considering are specially benefited. 

Ditton was, as we have already stated, one of the manors of Sir 
Thomas Pope, who, in 1554, founded Trinity College, Oxford. He 
ordered that all persons, who were natives of the parish over which 
his manors claimed, should be considered as having preference before 
other students for the emoluments of his foundation. 

Tonbridge School, founded by Sir Andrew Judde in 1553, was 
largely endowed by Sir Thomas Smythe and other benefactors. 
Amongst the exhibitions of the school five are offered annually in 
July, of .90, 80, 70, 60, and 21, each tenable for four years 
at the universities, medical schools, agricultural colleges, School of 
Mines, South Kensington, Woolwich, Sandhurst, Cooper's Hill, or 
other approved place of higher education. Foundation scholarships 
give free tuition in the school. All boys whose parents or guardians 
are living in Kent within ten miles of Tonbridge are on the Founda- 
tion. The town of West Mailing, and perhaps parts of the parishes 
of East Mailing, Ditton, Allington, Addington, Aylesford, Ley- 
bourne, Offham and Ryarsh, are within the above-mentioned 
distance. 

Dr. Plume, by his will, made in the year 1704, left a certain sum 
of money to augment the incomes of incumbents in the ancient 
diocese of Rochester which are under 300 a year. At the present 
time the parishes of 

Addington East Mailing Snodland 

Allington Hailing TrottesclifEe 

Aylesford Leybourne West Mailing 

Birling Offham 

Ditton Ryarsh 

are all thus able to be increased. 

Cobham College was founded, in Edward III.'s reign, by a certain 
Lord Cobham, for five priests or chaplains. In Henry VIII.'s 
reign the master and brethren, foreseeing that what had happened 
to many religious houses might happen to theirs, sold their college 

280 



CHARITIES. 281 

and lands and possessions to George Lord Cobham. His son, Sir 
William Broke, founded what was henceforth known as the New 
College of Cobham, to which twelve parishes have the right of 
nomination. It \ia to keep a married couple as a rule. The wife, 
however, though admitted into the college, has no right to remain 
after her husband's death unless she is re-elected for the vacancy 
caused by her husband's death. The rules enjoin that, notice 
being given on the Sunday or Sunday-week after notice of the 
vacancy has been received, the incumbent, churchwardens, sides- 
men, and overseers, elect, directly after evening service on the same 
Sunday, a person who has lived in that parish at least three years. 
There are twenty inmates of the college, one of whom is warden and 
another sub-warden. Amongst the different parishes that nominate, 
Hailing alone of our parishes has the right to nominate one person 
perpetually. 

Sir Robert Brett, by his will, not only left certain rentals to be 
given in doles to the poor, but also directed that half a sovereign 
should be paid to a lecturer, on market-days, at Mailing. Market- 
days there having become a thing of the past, permission has been 
granted to transfer this lecture or sermon to Friday evening. 

The Rev. Everard Home left a charity to educate the poor of 
Leybourne, East Mailing, and Southborough, which is administered 
by a board of governors. Exhibitions are offered for persons from 
these parishes and Ditton. 

The almshouses at Aylesford have on them this inscription : 

" This house was founded by the Right Honourable Sir William 
Sedley, heir and sole executor unto his brother, John Sedley, Esq., 
for the behalf of the poore persons, with like allowance for ever ; 
six at the charge of the said John Sedley and the residue of the 
said Sir William Sedley; finished primo Aprilis, Anno Dni. 1607. 
Annoque Regni Regis nostri Jacobi Quinto. Gloria Soli Deo, Deo 
Patriae Tibi," with the Sedley arms. And in addition round a 
triangle runs, " Sacrum Deo Uni " ; within, " et Trino," as the 




SACRUM 



diagram shows. The revenues are raised from the Sedley, Savage, 
and Faunce charities, the resources of which are derived from lands 
in Aylesford, East Mailing and Frittenden, all in the county of 
Kent. It is for twelve poor people. 

Dr. Milner appears to have first endowed the schools at Aylesford, 
and Mr. Betts built the Infant school, and the late Mr. Brassey 
largely aided in building the National school. 



282 MEMORIES OF MALLING AND ITS VALLEY. 

The West Mailing schools -were endowed by Mr. Tresse, Dr. 
Kennard, Rev. G. F. Bates, Mr. Bell, and Mr. Peter Sutton. 

Snodland schools have an endowment given them by Mr. May. 

Rev. Paul Baristow left, in 1711, money for establishing a charity 
school at Trottescliffe. 

At East Mailing Miss Smith left provision to keep five poor 
widows in almshouses, with an annuity of ,12 each; and for this 
same parish Lady Jane Twisden, in 1702, left a rental of 4 4s. to 
apprentice children. 

Edward Godden left land, in 1661, rented at 10 a year, to 
apprentice children belonging to Snodland ; and Edward Godden, in 
the 14th of Charles II., left land bringing in a rental of 10 a year 
to apprentice the children of Birling. 

The Rochester Bridge Wardens give preference in their exhibitions 
in the Rochester Grammar School for Girls to girls who are residents 
in the following parishes amongst others : Hailing, Snodland includ- 
ing Paddlesworth, TrottescliSe. 

The Maidstone Grammar School for Girls, which is also endowed 
by the same trust, gives preference to girls that are resident in 
Aylesford, Birling, Ditton, Leybourne, Mailing East, Mailing West, 
and Offham. 

It is a curious thing that though the parishes of Addington, 
Allington, and Ryarsh are among the parishes bound to contribute 
to repairing the piers of Rochester bridge, for some reason they have 
been omitted both from the Maidstone and Rochester scheme in the 
offer of exhibitions for the Girls' Grammar Schools. 

These parishes were probably omitted because they are not men- 
tioned by name as bound to repair Rochester bridge. The ninth 
pier, however, has to be repaired by Snodland, Paddlesworth, and 
" the men in that valley " a phrase no doubt intended to signify the 
people of these parishes. 



A F IT "V TS^" 

A jL L 1 JN 

AND IT'S 

VALLEY. 



SCA LE 
(Vie /n<y? ^ Cnc Mile 




MEMORIES Of MLI IH1 g y KEV c H 




A .f. BOWKfR C f. f.R.6.5. t>Ci 



INDEX. 



ABBESSES of Mailing, 37, 47, 51. 
Abbey of Mailing, 12, 13, 34, 37, 47, 

61, 57, 59, 85, 104, 134. 
Abergavenny or Bnrgavenny, Lords 

of, 40, 43, 50, 56, 84, 101, 125. 
Adams, Rev. Richard, monumental 

inscription, 44, 193. 
Addington Church, 9, 41, 123, 143, 186. 
manor of, 30, 41, 49, 68, 75, 98, 

122. 

Addison, family of, 237, 238. 
John Smith, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 136. 

Mary, monumental inscription, 95. 

Mttstan, 11. 

jElfwitha, 11. 

Akers, Aretas, Esq., J.P., 134. 

Akers-Douglas, Aretas, Esq., M.P., 134. 

Aldene, Rev. Daniel, 203. 

Aldley, Rev. Edmund, 180. 

Alfred, 10. 

Allington Church, 9, 77, 142, 143, 199. 

manor of, 12, 17, 42, 52, 68, 76, 

98, 125. 

Sir Gyles de, 17. 

Andredswolde, 4. 

Anschitil, 17. 

Archbold, Rev. Edward, 156. 

Arsick, Sir William, 19. 

Ashley, family of, 227. 

Assize at Mailing, 27. 

Astley, family of, 68, 76. 

Aston, Rev. John, 192. 

Atte Crouche, Nicholas, 31. 

Attefelde, Rev. John, 187. 

Atterbury, Bishop, 33, 109. 

Attwood, 232. 

Attwood, Rev. Samuel, 156. 

Austen, Sir Edward, monumental 

inscription, 99. 
Aylesford, church of, 9, 30, 202. 

battles of, 6, 12. 

earls of, 101. 



Aylesford, Henry de, 30. 

manor of, 13, 17, 42, 50, 69, 101, 124. 

BACUN, Thomas, 27, 181. 

Badlesmere, de, family of, 35. 

Baker, Mary, monumental inscription, 
114. 

Baker, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 112. 

Baldock, George, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 123. 

Baldock, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 99. 

Banks, family of, 82, 83. 

Sir John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 82. 

Banns of marriage, 78, 145. 

Baptisms, etc., duty on, 146. 

Barling, Mr., 3. 

Barnewell, Rev. Henry, 203. 

Baron, John, monumental inscription, 
71. 

Baristow, Rev. Paul, 156. 

Bartholomew, family of, 98, 230. 

Humphrey, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 116. 

Leonard, 98. 

Bates, Rev. George Fern, 135, 213. 

Bavent, manor of, 33, 109. 

Baxter, Rev. John, 148. 

Baynard, George, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

Beauchamp, family of, 43. 

Beck, Rev. Theophilus, 164. 

Bedlowe, Thomas, 56. 

Belcher, Edward, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 91. 

Bells, Church, 57, 58, 68, 69, 77, 83, 
84, 85, 86, 87, 108, 125, 131, 133, 136, 
137, 141, 148, 155, 164, 168, 169, 170, 
174, 175, 182, 194, 196, 203, 204, 
208, 212, 213, 219. 

Beornmode, 10. 



283 



281 



INDEX. 



Bermondsey Abbey, !(>:>. 

Best. Anne, monumental inscription,??. 

Best, family of, 71!, 77. 

Betts, Edward Ladds, 124. 

Beulton, Robert de, 36, 211. 

Bewley, Elizabeth, monumental in- 
scription, 69. 

Bickley, Eev. Samuel, 148. 

Birling, church of, 9, 126, 114, 163. 

manor of, 18, 2S. 43, 50, G9, 84, 

101. 

Bischoptre, Edward, monumental in- 
scription, 66. 

Bishop, Rev. Samuel, 210. 

Black, John, 142. 

Blacksole field, 50, 127. 

Boghurst. monumental inscription. 
129. 

Bond, Anne, monumental inscription, 
113. 

Boorman, Peter, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

Boraston, Rev. John, 189. 

Borough Bridge, battle of, 29. 

Boteler, Sir Oliver, 69. 

Sir Philip, 101. 

Boundary between Birling and Snod- 
land, 96. 

Bouverie, family of, 101. 

Bowdler, Rev. Thomas, 190. 

Bowles, Rev. Charles, monumental in- 
scription, 115. 

Elizabeth, 111. 

Bowsfell, Rev. Bartholomew, 155. 

Boyd, Miss, 134. 

Boys. Ellen, monumental inscription, 
123. 

Bradbourne, manor of, 3, 70, 102, 131. 

Bradley, Rev. Robert, 187. 

Brarnpton, manor of, 18, 32. 

Brassey, Henry, 124. 

Brent, Robert, 42. 

William, 42. 

Brett, Sir Robert, monumental in- 
scription, 67. 

Brett, Rev. Thomas, 156. 

Brewer, family of, N4. 

Dorothy," 90. 

Martha, 90. 

Millicent, 65. 

Richard, 90. 

- William, 90. 

Briefs, 247, 248. 

Briggs, William, M.D., 88. 

Brihtric, 11. 

Brinton, 46. 

Brockman, Louisa, monumental in- 
scription, 130. 



Brooke, Brydges, 113. 

family of, 109. 

Henry, 67, 73. 

Brownes, of Beechvvood, or Betch- 
worth, 31, 42. 

Brownell, Rev. Robert, 148. 

Bruse, Richard, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 91. 

Buhric, 11. 

Bull, Rev. Thomas, 154. 

Burchebacke, Rev. John, 181. 

Burgh, Hugh de, 29. 

Burghersh, Robert de, 32. 
, Stephen de, 32. 

Burials, laws of (1880), 146. 

Burley, Sir Simon de, 28. 

Burroughs, Rev. William, 129, 210. 

Burvil, Rev. Henry, 169. 

Burwash, Bartholomew Lord, 32. 

Butler, Rev. Joseph, 101, 210. 

Buttanshaw, Rev. Thomas, 169, 189. 

CADE, Jack, 43. 

Caerlaverock, 26, 29. 

Cage at Mailing, 117. 

Cage, Rev. Charles, monumental in- 
scription, 131, 185. 

Calais (Carew's) Court, 40, 106. 

Carey, Rev. J. G. Le Marchant, 138. 

Carmelite Friars, 24, 38, 53. 

Cartwright, Hugh, 57. 

Castle of Allington, 29, 41, 52, 53, 
54, 55. 

Castle of Leybourne, 19, 20, 21, 22, 
24, 25, 26, 52. 

Catigern, 6. 

Cattlen, George, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 92. 

Cement trade, 129. 

Chalk, early notice of the working of, 
60. 

Chamberlayn, Rev. William, 192. 

Chambers family, monumental in- 
scriptions, 92. 

Chapman family, monumental inscrip- 
tions, 92, 114, 125. 

Charities, 280. 

Charles, Alice, 31. 

Richard, 31, 32. 

II., burials act of, 150. 

Chaworth, Rev. Thomas, 45, 187. 

Chekeres family, 30. 

Chetwynd family, 18. 

Cholera year at Aylesford, 125. 

Christchurch, Birling, 141. 

Churchwardens' accounts, 248. 

Clarke, Sir Francis, 85. 

Clifford, Lord, 32. 



INDEX. 



2S5 



Clinton, William de, 27. 

Cobham College, 280. 

deanery of, 2. 

John de, 29. 

Stephen de, 29. 

Cockman, Eev. Thomas, 157, 195. 

Codd, Rev. John, 183. 

Codling, Rev. William, 180. 

Coffin stone, 5. 

Colard, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 44. 

Colcall, Rev. Charles, 204. 

Coldrum, 4. 

Columbarius, William de, 17. 

Colepepper, family of, 18, 31, 42, 49, 
50, 69, 99, 100. 

Colepepper, Sir Thomas, monumental 
inscription, 69. 

Collins, Rev. John, 200. 

Comfort, Frances, monumental in- 
scription, 112. 

Comfort House, Birling, 5, 50, 62. 

Commonwealth marriages, 78, 79, 80. 

Communion plate, 57, 58, 69, 84, 85, 
87, 100, 108, 128, 148, 155, 164, 168, 
175, 184, 189, 195, 200, 204. 

Comp, 27. 

Confirmation at Town Mailing, 88. 

Coosens, Richard, monumental in- 
scription, 95. 

Cornish rebels, 50. 

Corrodium, 35. 

Cossington, John, monumental in- 
scription, 44. 

Cossington Chapel, 29, 38, 53. 

Cosyngton, family of, 29, 42. 

manor of, 29, 42, 77. 

Cottam, Charles, 101. 

Cotton, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 45. 

Countless stones, 5. 

Conrtone, Robert de, 31. 

Covert family, 85, 231. 

Cowling, Galfridus de, 203. 

Cox, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 120. 

Cranmer's registration act, 145. 

Crawford, Rev. William, 158. 

Crescie, family of, 18, 24. 

Crevequeur family, 26, 28. 

Crip, Rev. John, 199. 

Cromp Robert, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 116. 

Cromwell's registration act, 145. 

Thomas, 51. 

Curbespina, Ralph de, 18. 

Cusack-Smith, Sir M., monumental 
inscription, 130. 



DAG WORTH, Nicholas de, 39. 

Dalby, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 45. 

Dalison, Maximilian, 5H, 60, 70, 72. 

Dalton, Charlotte, monumental in- 
scription, 141. 

Dampier, family of, 128. 

Danes, 10, 12. 

Dawes, Rev. Simon, 211. 

De Critz, Francis, monumental in- 
scription 95. 

Delind, Humphrey, 59. 

Dene, Sylvester, brass to, 58. 

Dennington, Rev. John de, 154, 173. 

Deptling, Sir William de, 25. 

Despencer, title of, 50, 127. 

Dethick, arms of, 51. 

Dibley, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 94. 

William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 94. 

Dickens, Charles, 111, 142. 

Dioran, Bishop, 9. 

Ditton, de, family of, 31. 

church of, 9, 143, 208. 

manors of, 18, 31, 57, 69, 84, 

101. 

Dode or Dodecirce, 9, 17, 32, 72, 136, 
143, 179. 

Dolmans, 4, 5, 6. 

Domesday, 13. 

Donam, Robert de, 23, 198. 

Douce, Francis, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 106. 

Drayner, Rev. Edward, 188. 

Drayton, James, the botanist, 99. 

Drury, Rev. William, 182. 

Dryland, Rev. Wynard de, 34, 173. 

Ducke, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

Dugdale, 15. 

Duke, family of, 77. 

Duke, George, 78, 79, 80. 

Dunne, Christopher, 59. 

EABLE, Rev. John, monumental in- 
scription, 142. 

Eccles, manor of, 18, 42, 60, 69. 

Edmund, 10. 

Edward I., 22, 25, 26, 34. 

Eele, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 116. 

Egbert, king of the Angles, 10. 

Egbert, king of Kent, 9. 

Elliston, Peter, monumental inscrip- 
tion, ilo. 

Elton, Rev. John, 157. 

Epitaphs, 117, 11*. 



286 



INDEX. 



Ereby, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 45. 
Estrangea, 17. 

Estryngton, Rev. William, 147. 
Ethelstan, 10. 
Ethelwulf, 10. 

Eveleigh, Rev. William, 111, 204. 
Evesham, 24. 
Ewell, 39. 

FALL of Mailing church, 110. 

Falmouth, Lord, 50. 

Fauuce, family of, 227. 

Sir Robert, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 111. 

Field of the Cloth of Gold, 50, 127. 

Finch, family of, 223, 224. 

Heneage, 101. 

Rev. John, 167. 

Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 77. 

Fitz-Allan, Richard, 29, 43. 

Fitz-Gerald, Amie, 19. 

Fitz-Hugh, Lord, 17. 

Fitz-James, Dame, monumental in- 
scription, 59. 

Fitz-Turold, Richard, 18. 

Fleckno, jeu d'esprit of, 78. 

Fletcher, Rev. Henry, 203, 211. 

Mary, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 88. 

Font, Birling, 12(5, 167. 

Foote, G. T. H. Esq., 104. 

Forbes, Lady, 105. 

Forster, Michael, trial of, 109. 

Fnrner. Richard, monumental inscrip- 
tion,' 114. 

Roger, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 113. 

- Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 91. 

GENERAL names in district, 244, 245, 

246, 247. 

Gentry, names of, 242. 
Giffard, Osbert, de, 17. 
Glanville, Gilbert de, 18. 
Gloucester, earls of, 18. 
Godden, family of, 57, 71, 233, 234. 

Henry, monumental inscrip- 
tion. 142. 

Godmond, Stephen, monumental in- 
scription, 114. 

Rev. Samuel, 195, 196. 

Goldewell, Rev. James, 188. 

Golding, family, 80, 84, 101, 102, 238, 
239, 240, 24L 

monuments to, 120, 128. 



Goring, Lord, 72. 
Gorynge, Lucy, 228. 
Gosling, James, 72. 
Grant, Rev. Anthony, 205. 
Graunger, Rev. John, 187. 
Grene, Rev. Nicholas, 192. 
Grey, Lord Henry, 30. 

Lord John, 30. 

Lord Richard, 24. 

Lord Richard, 42. 

Gundulf, Bishop, 13, 15, 18. 

Gunn, Rev. Thomas, 164. 

Gurnay, William de, 17. 

Gurth, 12. 

Gylhawke, Rev. Launcelot, 56, 219. 

HAIT, Rev. Walter, 219. 

Hailing, chapel of St. Laurence, 48, 142. 

church of, 9, 56, 143, 218. 

manor of, 13, 18, 33. 

palace of, 18, 84, 109, 129, 142. 

Hamo de Heth, 32, 35, 36, 46. 

the sheriff, 18. 

Hanney, Rev. John de, 154. 

Hasted, 15, 41, 70, 88, 136. 

Hastings, John Lord, 27. 

Laurence de, Earl of Pembroke, 

27. 

Hawkes, Henry, story of, 139. 

Hawley, family of, 102, 130, 185, 226, 
227. 

monumental inscriptions, 113, 130. 

Sir Joseph, horses of, 3, 130. 

Head, Meric, monumental inscrip- 
tions, 94, 183. 

Heale, Rev. J. X. 190. 

Henry I., 15, 17. 

Herbert, Rev. Abiezer, 169. 

Hereford, Peter de Aqua Blanche, 
bishop of, 25. 

Herne, Mrs., monumental inscription 
116. 

Hill, Rev. Daniel, 190, 195. 
- Rev. William, 195. 

Hodsoll, family of, 60. 

Holboro, 7. 

Holly Hill, 1, 32. 

Holloway Court, 34, 47, 72, 106. 

Holme, Rev. Edward, 112, 164 

Holmes Elizabeth, monumental in- 
scription, 142. 

Home, Rev. Philip, 167. 

Honeywood, family of, 85, 103, 104. 

Sir John, monument to, 104. 

Hospital of Holy Trinity, Aylesford, 
81, 124. 

Hubble, Benjamin, 105, 106. 

Hugh de Port, 18. 



INDEX. 



287 



Humphrey, Rev. William, 165. 
Eungtingfield, Sir William de, 18, 25, 

32 
Husband, Rev. Richard, 116, 213. 

INFANTA of Kent, 27. 

Inventory of church goods, Ditton, 

108. 
of church goods, Trottescliffe, 

158, 159. 
Isleys of Sundridge, 50. 

JACKSON, Rev. Edmund, 155. 

Jacob, Rev. Richard, 195. 

Jade, Rev. Thomas, 180. 

Jaenberht, 9. 

John the Chaplain, 27. 

John, King, 18, 34. 

Johnson, Dr., 109. 

Jole, Rev. William, 89, 209. 

Jordan, 23, 202. 

Julius Caesar, 4. 

KENNARD, Dr., monumental inscrip- 
tion, 135. 

Kent Nursing Institution, 136. 

committee of, 72. 

Kentish birds, 256, 260. 

fish, 260, 263. 

mammals, 254, 255. 

names for natural objects, 278, 

279. 

plants, 263, 277. 

proverbs, 249, 253. 

reptiles, 260. 

Kid well, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

King's Plain, 11. 

Kit's Coty House, 5. 

LAOY, Rev. Peter de, 173. 

Lambarde, William, 58, 70. 

Lanfranc, 13. 

Larking, Rev. Lambert, 24, 137, 170. 

Lathes, 2. 

Lawry, Rev. John, 204. 

Lee, William, monumental inscription, 
138. 

Legatt, Richard, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 44. 

Leghton. or Lecton, Walter de, 26. 

Leland, 15, 53. 

Lessness Abbey, 37. 

Levinge, Rev. William, 199. 

Levison, Sir Richard, 70, 71. 

Lewes, battte of, 26. 

Leybourne, castle of, 3, 13, 14, 19, 
" 20. 



Leybourne, church of, 9, 26, 60, 143,181. 

manor of, 19, 28, 52, 72, 85, 102. 

de, pedigree of, 19, 28. 

Juliana de, 27. 

Sir Roger de, 19, 24, 25, 26. 

Sir Thomas de, 27. 

Sir William de, 21, 26. 

Lincoln, battle of, 24. 

Liptrott, Rev. John, 149, 169. 

Livett, Rev. Henry, 168. 

Lloyd, Rev. Thomas, 164. 

Longsole, chapel of, 16, 38, 48, 53, 
142, 202. 

Lord, Rev. Abraham, 189, 212. 

Lorkyn, Rev. John, 36, 192. 

Rev. John, 183. 

Losack, family of, 104, 134. 

Lovett, Rev. Dale, monumental in- 
scription, 116. 

Lowe, Bishop, 46. 

Luck, family of (Ditton), 120. 

Thomas (Mailing), monumental 

inscription, 135. 

MADDEN, Annette, monumental in- 
scription, 126. 

Maidstone, civil war at, 72. 

Richard, 38. 

Grammar School for Girls, 282. 

Mailing Abbey, 12, 13, 34, 37, 47, 51, 
67, 103, 134. 

Mailing Deanery, 1. 

Mailing, East, church of, 9, 51, 64, 
97, 133, 143, 192. 

Mailing, East, manor of, 13, 34, 51, 

70, 102, 132. 

Mailing, Town, church of, 9, 110, 144, 

211, 213. 
Mailing, Town, manor of, 13, 34, 51, 

71, 104, 106. 
Mandeville, Roger de, 30. 

Manley, Elizabeth, monumental in- 
scription, 71. 

Manley, family of, 86, 87. 

Manningham, family of, 70. 

Manningham, Richard, monumental 
inscription, 70. 

Maplesden, John, 77. 

Marriages by Justices of Peace, 78. 

Marsh, family of, 233. 

Rev. Garret, 124. 

Marshall, Rev. John, 187. 

Marsham, Rev. G. F. J., 142. 

Rev. Jacob, 200. 

family of, 76, 98, 99, 125. 

Martin, Wykeham, M.P., 28. 

Mason, Abraham, monumental in- 
scription, 93. 



288 



INDEX. 



Masters, Rev. Edward, 148. 

May, death of, 141. 

family of, 107. 

John, monumental inscription, 

112. 

Maynard, Anne, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

Medway, 1, 2, 17. 

Merbury, Rev. Thomas, 180, 219. 

ReV. William, 180, 193. 

Merton, convent of, 167. 

Middleton, William de, 154, 173. 

Miles, Rev. William, 117. 

Miller, Rev. John, 147. 

John, monumental inscription, 
119. 

Millys, Walter, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 44. 

Millys, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 44. 

Millys, Rev. William, 44, 182. 

Milner, Dr., monumental inscription, 
123. 

Milner, General, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 123. 

Milner, family of, 123. 

Montfort, Simon de, 26. 

Morgan, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 119. 

Morton, Rose, 16, 51. 

Mostyn, Lady, 126. 

Mowbray, family of, 29, 40. 

Thomas, duke of Norfolk, 29. 

Muntney, Emulf de, 24. 

NAILBOURNES, 2 

Nepicar, 2. 

Nevill, Edward, baptismal entry of, 62. 

Nevill, family of, 40, 43, 49, 69, 84, 

128, 221, 222. 
Lady Caroline, 128, 135, 136. 

- Right Hon. William, 128, 165. 
Nevills, ancestral window to, 221. 

monuments to, 126, 127. 

New Hythe Chapel, 16, 53, 59, 134, 

142. 

Nicholas, Sir William, 192. 
Normans, 13. 
Northampton, 26. 

Norton, Anthony, confession of, 54. 
Norton, Gylles, 55, 61. 

OCCUPATIONS, 243. 

Odo, 13, 18. 

Offa, 9. 

Offham, church of, 9, 56, 143, 147. 

manors of, 31, 50, 57, 85, 106. 

William de, 31. 



Oliver, 57, 230, 231, 232. 
Omer, Mrs. Rebecca, monumental in- 
scription, 94. 
Organist, 217. 

Oxford, provisions of, 25, 32. 
Oxford, Trinity College, 57. 

PADDLESWOBTH Church, 9, 17, 32, 72, 
136, 143, 179. 

Paddlesworth Manor, 18, 32, 43, 72. 

Palmer, family of, 33. 

Papillon, Philip, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 103. 

Parker, Rev. John, 168. 

Parry, Admiral, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 110. 

Patronage of livings, 97. 

Penchester, Stephen de, 29. 

Penenden Heath, 13. 

Penury, Solomon, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 119. 

Perfect, Dr., 109. 

Perot, Roger, 66. 

Peter the Rector, 27. 

Petley, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 110. 

Pews, special, 96, 107. 

Phelps, Rev. H. D., story of, 126, 140. 

Phillips, James and Mary, .monumen- 
tal inscription, 137. 

Philpot, 15, 17, 29. 

Pickering, A. M., monumental inscrip- 
tion, 123. 

Pierrepoint, monumental inscription. 
52. 

Pilgrim's Path, 4 

Piscina, Ryarsh, 167. 

Plague in Mailing. 216. 

Polhill, Rev. William, 148. 189. 

Pope, H. M. R., monumental inscrip- 
tion, 135. 

Pope, Sir Thomas, 57. 

Povenash, family of, 32. 

Poynings, Richard Lord, 30. 

Pratt, family of, 224. 

Prebends of High Mass, 38, 48. 

Preston, manor of, 18. 31, 42, 50, 58, 
69, 101, 124. 

Prewe, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 69. 

Pugh, Rev. Hugh, 157, 164. 

Pure, Rev. John, 46. 

Pyke, Maria, monumental inscription, 
93, 212. 

QUINTAIN, 65, 106, 136. 
family of, 57. 



INDEX. 



289 



RABBET, Michael, monumental in- 
scription, 89, 149, 164. 

Radnor, earl of, 101. 

Bail ways, 144. 

Raynevelts, family of, 32. 

Rayney, Sir John, 71. 

Registers, 56, 61, 62, 63, 87, 88, 145, 
147, 153, 163, 167, 172, 186, 192, 199, 
202, 208, 211, 218. 

Registration Acts, 146. 

Restoration House, 85. 

Richard, arch bishop of Canterbury, 18. 

Richards, Rev. John, 142, 200. 

Roberts, Captain, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 138. 

Anne, monumental inscription, 

139. 

Rochester Bridge, 59. 

Bridgewardens, 282. 

Castle, 14, 26. 

Deanery, 2. 

Grammar School for Girls, 282. 

Solomon de, 34. 

Rokesley, family of, 18, 30. 
Roman, Rev. Edward, 156. 

remains, 7. 

Romney, earls of, 98, 99, 125. 

Rose, John, monumental inscription, 

45, 211. 

Rowe, Robert, 31. 
Rowe's Place, 31, 59, 69, 80. 
Ruffyn, Ralph, 27. 
Russell, Bishop John, 46. 

John, monumental inscription, 

99. 

Ryarsh, church of, 56, 167. 
manor of, 18, 29, 72. 

Rycaut, Sir Paul, monumental in- 
scription, 82. 

Rychards, family of, 232. 

ST. BLASIUS, 7, 16, 142. 

St. Lawrence in Hailing chapel, and 

chaplains of, 16, 17, 39, 48, 142. 
St. Leonard's Tower, 13. 
St. Mary Graces, 28, 52. 
Sales, John, 31. 

Salsberry, Rev. Robert, 56, 188. 
Sanctilis, Thomas, 61, 159. 
Satterthwaite, Rev. Philip, 164. 
Savage, Captain, 106. 
Patrick, monumental inscription, 

89. 

Thomas, 46. 

Savill, John, monumental inscription, 

56 

Saxby, family of, 102. 
Saxons, 9. 



Bay, Robert, monumental inscription, 
114. 

de, family of, 28. 

William de, 26. 

Scaccario, de, family of, 30. 
Seagrave, Hugh de, 31. 
Hedley, Sir Charles, 68, 80, 

family of, 68, 80, 81. 

Sir William, 80, 81. 

Selby, Maria, monumental inscription, 
126. 

Robert, monumental inscription, 

45. 

Shakerley, Elizabeth, monumental in- 
scription, 69. 

family of, 42, 69. 

Rowland, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 65. 

Shawe, Rev. George, 168. 

Shene, Rev. Thomas, 167. 

Shepherd, Rev. E. J., 141, 158. 

Shibbard, Rev. Henry, 208. 

Sifletone, manor of, 18, 32. 

Skott, William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 65. 

Small, George, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 112. 

Smith, Mary, monumental inscription, 
115. 

Smyth, Rev. Richard, 192. 

Snayth, William, 31, 41. 

Snodland, church of, 9, 137, 144, 172. 

manor of, 13, 18, 33, 47, 87. 
Southwell, Sir Robert, 54, 56, 57. 
Spearman, Elizabeth, monumental in- 
scription, 117. 

Spencer, Rev. Henry, 163. 

Spong, John, monumental inscription, 
111. 

Standen, Rebecca, monumental in- 
scription, 118. 

Stanhope, Lady, 51, 72. 

Staines, Rev. Talbot, 124, 205. 

Stevenson, William, 77. 

Stewart, Admiral, 105, 224. 

Stock, John, 24. 

Storm in Mailing, 88. 

Stratford, family of, 122, 230. 

Hon. John Wingfield, 98. 

Straw, Jack, 31. 

Syliard, Rev. Henry, 188. 

Syn\pson, Lady Jane, monumental in- 
scription, 91. 

Rev. Launcelot, 193. 

TANNER, 15. 

Tassell, Robert, monumental inscrip- 
tions, 129. 

19 



290 



INDEX. 



Taylor, Augustine, monumental in- 
scription, 111. 

James, monumental inscription, 

94. 

Lady, 100. 

Taynton, Rev. Francis, 158. 

Tewkesbury, battle of, 43, 126. 

Textus Roffensis, 14, 17. 

Thanet, earl of, 85, 106. 

Thatcher, Robert, monumental in- 
scription, 99. 

William, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 99. 

Thomas, Richard, monumental in- 
scription, 142. 

Thornhill, James, monumental in- 
scription, 133. 

Thornhurst, Sir GyfEord, monumental 
inscription, 88. 

Thorpe, 27, 29, 33, 52, 88, 92. 

Tilghman, family of, 47, 66, 72, 94. 

Tilson, Rev. Thomas, (the elder), 89, 
110, 204, 209. 

Rev. Thomas, (the younger), 89, 

110, 209. 

Titheron, Thomas, monumental in- 
scription, 99. 

Tomlyn, James, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 114. 

Roger, monumental inscription, 

91. 

Tomlinson, Colonel, 73. 

Tonbridge Castle, 13. 

school, 131. 

Tonebregge, Rev. Simon, de, 187. 

Topp, Rev. Robert, 189. 

Tottmgton, chapel of, 9, 30, 53. 
manor of, 18, 30, 42, 59, 80. 

Towers, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 129. 

Trotterscliffe, church of, 5, 9, 60, 141, 
144, 153. 

manor of, 13, 18, 28. 

palace of, 18, 33, 142, 155. 
Truslove, Rev. Robert, 173. 
Tufton, family of, 50, 72, 85, 10(5. 
Twisden, family of, 73, 75, 102, 103, 

104, 131, 132," 224, 225,. 226. 

monuments of, 74, 75, 102, 103, 
131. 

Kir Thomas, 73, 74. 

Twysden, family of, 73. 
Tyas, William, monumental inscrip- 
tions, 65, 90. 

ULLOCK, Henry, D.D., monumental 

inscription, 94, 184. 
Union, 135. 



Union chaplains, 136, 214. 

VALOR ecclesiasticus, 51 
Valuation of livings, 97. 
Veles. manor of, 34. 
Vigo.'l. 
Vineyards, 33. 
Vitulus, 18. 

WAGHOEN, Lieutenant, monumental 

inscription, 138. 
Wakelyn, Alice de, 18. 

Magminot de, 18. 

Walsingham, Edward, monumental 

inscription, 118. 

- family of, 106, 234, 235, 236. 
John, monumental inscription, 

118. 



Rebekah, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 118. 

Walter, James, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 93. 

Walwyn, John, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 95, 121, 174. 

Warcup, family of, 59, 80. 

Warde, John, monumental inscription, 
111. 

Thomas, monumental inscription, 

89. 

Warenne, earl of, 40. 

William de, 17. 

Wan-en, Rev. John, 156. 

Waryn, Bartholomew, 173. 

Watson, Rev. John, 211. 

Watton. family of, 41, 49, 51, 68, 75, 
98, 228, 229, 230. 

Way, the military, 11. 

Webley, Rev. Edmund, 187. 

Weekley, family of, 115. 

John, monumental inscription, 

115. 

Welling, Rev. David, 180, 208. 

Wells, Rev. John, 193. 

William, monumental inscription, 

123. 

Whales, 17, 255. 

Wheler, Rev. John, 193. 

Whitburn, C. J. Esq., 123. 

White, Thomas, monumental inscrip- 
tion 137. 

Whitaker, family of, 107. 

Whittle, Rev. Robert, 91. 

Whitworth, family of, 102, 228. 

Wigan family, memorials of, 133. 

Wild or Wylde, family of, 227. 

Williams, family of, 86. 

Rev. Hugh, 182, 208. 

Winchecombe, Rev. John de, 187. 



INDEX. 



291 



Wood, Robert, monumental inscrip- 
tion, 112. 

Woodward, Eev. Hugh, 182. 
Worlidge, Rev. Robert, 157. 
Wrays, family of, 96. 
Wriothesley, Thomas Lord, 57. 
Wyatt, Sir Henry, 42. 
Sir Thomas, (the elder) 52, 53. 



Wyatt, Sir Thomas, (the younger) 53, 

64, 55. 

Wykes, monumental inscription, 88. 
Wyndesor, Rev. John, 192. 

YEOMEN, names of, 243. 
ZOUCHE, John, 42, 51.